Introduced Version House Resolution 10 History

   |  Email

hr10 intr
H. R. 10

[By Mr. Speaker, Mr. Thompson, and Delegates Morgan,

Craig, C. Miller, Reynolds, Sobonya, Stephens and Perdue)

(Introduced February 18, 2009.]

"Designating February 18, 2009, as 'Marshall University Day'."
Whereas, Marshall University is one of the State's premier institutions of higher education; and
Whereas, Marshall University educates more than 14,000 students at campus locations in Huntington, Point Pleasant, South Charleston, Beckley, Logan and Gilbert and offers degrees at the associate, baccalaureate, master's and doctoral levels; and
Whereas, Marshall University is building a national reputation for research in biotechnology, forensics and medicine through its College of Science and the Joan C. Edwards Schools of Medicine; and
Whereas, Marshall University has established a goal of creating new, high-value job opportunities through the Marshall Institute for Interdisciplinary Research as part of West Virginia's "Bucks for Brains" initiative; and
Whereas, With every dollar the state invests in Marshall University, the University generates nearly $8 spent in the West Virginia economy, resulting in an estimated output generated by Marshall of $547 million per year; and
Whereas, Earlier this month Marshall University opened a 123,000 square-foot recreation center that will improve the health of the Marshall community while increasing enrollment and retention at the university; and
Whereas, Marshall University's engineering program moved closer to accreditation with the opening last fall of the Arthur Weisberg Family Engineering Laboratories; and
Whereas, Also, last fall Marshall University opened 782-bed freshman residence halls that will meet the needs of students for many years to come; and
Whereas, The Robert C. Byrd Institute for Advanced Flexible Manufacturing is providing services to all 55 state counties providing expertise to more than 4,300 small and medium-sized manufacturers that employ more than 73,000 individuals across West Virginia; and
Whereas, The Nick J. Rahall Transportation Institute of Marshall University is setting national standards in transportation; and
Whereas, Marshall University's Health Sciences train hundreds of West Virginians to serve as doctors, nurses, therapists and health technicians each year; and
Whereas, Marshall University alumni number more than 90 thousand across the globe; therefore, be it
Resolved by the House of Delegates:
That the House of Delegates hereby designates February 18, 2009, as "Marshall University Day"; and
Further Resolved, That the House of Delegates hereby recognizes Marshall University for its tremendous contributions to the State of West Virginia; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates forward a copy of this resolution to Stephen J. Kopp, President of Marshall University.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **

Print On Demand