(By Senators Schoonover, Love, Sharpe, Ross, Blatnik,

Dittmar, Walker, Anderson, Wagner, Helmick, Wooton,

Plymale, Grubb, Bailey, Jackson and Minear)

Recognizing West Virginia Institute of Technology on its one hundredth anniversary as an educational institution.

Whereas, The West Virginia Legislature passed legislation on February 16, 1895, establishing the Montgomery Preparatory School in the city of Montgomery, West Virginia; and
Whereas, The Montgomery Preparatory School was created as the preparatory branch for West Virginia University, providing academic instruction for college-bound students; and
Whereas, In 1931, the school became a full four-year institution by the name of New River State College; and
Whereas, With legislative action on March 5, 1941, the college was directed to offer instruction in industrial, technical and commercial subjects and be named the West Virginia Institute of Technology; and
Whereas, It was believed that the change would place the school in a unique role as the state's only technical college and the college continues today to be a leader in preparing students for careers as engineers, scientists, health care providers and printing industry specialists; and
Whereas, The college consistently meets the needs of a changing world and the challenge to grow. West Virginia Tech honors its heritage and celebrates its future with a tradition of excellence; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate hereby recognizes West Virginia Institute of Technology on its one hundredth anniversary as an educational institution and further recognizes its outstanding contribution to the citizens of West Virginia through its educational excellence; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Senate joins in the celebration of this outstanding institution as it celebrates West Virginia Tech Founders Day on Thursday, February 16, 1995; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward of this resolution to the president of West Virginia Institute of Technology.