(By Senators Wagner, Manchin, White, Ross, Sharpe, Bailey, Whitlow, Yoder, Macnaughtan, Bowman, Anderson, Deem, Plymale and Jackson)

Requesting that the 1996-1997 school year be designated as the "Year of the Student" in West Virginia.

Whereas, The students in West Virginia's school system today are our vital resources for our future; and
Whereas, In the past, it has always been the educators and school officials who have received the accolades of a grateful state and never the arduous labor of the students; and
Whereas, West Virginia students possess the ambition, determination and ability to reach the goals that they have set for themselves and the state; and
Whereas, The students of West Virginia now lead the nation with their ability to study and understand computer technology, which is already preparing them for their active participation in West Virginia's workforce; and
Whereas, As we near the end of this century, knowing that the students of today posses the tools, knowledge and ambition to make a better tomorrow, it is fitting to recognize our students with hope and gratitude for their determination and commitment to their education for the betterment of themselves and the state of West Virginia; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate hereby requests that the school year of 1996- 1997 be designated as the "Year of the Student" in West Virginia in tribute to those who study with determination and commitment for the betterment of themselves and the future of West Virginia; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the secretary of education and the arts.