(By Senator Tomblin, Mr. President and Jackson)

Recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of Sherman Junior High School for their selection as a West Virginia National Blue Ribbon School.

Whereas, The state superintendent has announced that six West Virginia schools have been selected by the United States Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools; and
Whereas, Among the schools selected was Sherman Junior High School of Seth, West Virginia; and
Whereas, The Blue Ribbon Schools Program was established in 1982 and honors elementary and secondary schools in alternate years and has recognized more than three thousand since its inception; and
Whereas, A national awards ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., when schools also will receive a special flag to be flown over the school and a plaque commemorating their achievements; and
Whereas, Blue Ribbon Schools serve as centers of educational excellence in their communities and are often visited by educators from across the country who study their success; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate of West Virginia hereby congratulates Sherman Junior High School for their national recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the principal of Sherman Junior High School.