(By Senators Redd, McCabe, Unger, Hunter, Dawson, Minear, Deem, Bowman, Plymale, Wooton, Walker, Bailey, Anderson, Snyder, Minard, Prezioso, Jackson, Craigo, Helmick, Fanning, Edgell, Kessler, Dittmar, Sharpe, Ross, Ball, Love, Oliverio, Mitchell, McKenzie, Sprouse, Boley and Tomblin, Mr. President)

Recognizing the accomplishments of the Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority.

Whereas, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., was founded at Howard University in Washington, D. C., in 1908 as the first sorority established by African-American college women in the United States; and
Whereas, Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority is an international organization with approximately two hundred thousand members in 844 chapters in the United States, the Bahamas, Bermuda, Great Britain, Germany, Korea and the Virgin Islands; and
Whereas, Twelve of these chapters are located in communities and on college and university campuses in the State of West Virginia. These West Virginia chapters include the following graduate chapters: Alpha Omicron Omega, Institute; Beta Beta Omega, Charleston; Beta Lambda Omega, Bluefield; Beta Tau Omega, Huntington; Gamma Chi Omega, Logan; and Epsilon Delta Omega, Beckley; and the following undergraduate chapters: Nu, West Virginia State College; Beta Omicron, Bluefield State College; Eta Zeta, Marshall University; and Nu Pi, West Virginia University Insitute of Technology; and
Whereas, Alpha Kappa Alpha is an organization that is committed to community service and has made numerous contributions to the educational, civic and social lives of West Virginia's citizens; and
Whereas, The respective chapter presidents have worked tirelessly to improve the condition of African-American women throughout the world and, since 1922, in the State of West Virginia; and
Whereas, The current leadership is honored for their commitment to service. These leaders include Miss Rafael Hill, Miss Rena Cosby, Mrs. Louise Simmons, Miss Hattie Hope, Miss Sharon Watkins, Mrs. Ora Hagood, Mrs. Linda Pannell, Miss Dana Robinson, Miss Andrea Mitchell, Miss Patricia White and Miss Aleta Aponte; and
Whereas, Mrs. Patricia Petty Wilson, immediate past Great Lakes Regional Director, is only the second West Virginian in the 92-year history of Alpha Kappa Alpha to serve in this capacity. She has worked to improve the status of West Virginians through her service in community, civic and church organizations and has dedicated her life to the uplifting of youth of her community; and
Whereas, Mrs. Rachel A. Mallory is the present Great Lakes Regional Director of the outstanding sisterhood and leads members of the sorority in West Virginia, Ohio, Michigan, western New York and western Pennsylvania. She inspires the current sisterhood's international program, "Blazing New Trails", in the areas of education, health, economics, the arts, the black family and leadership development; and
Whereas, Members of the Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority in the state of West Virginia contribute thousands of volunteer hours implementing service programs in their respective communities and collaborate with civic organizations such as the West Virginia Conference of Branches of the NAACP and the Women in NAACP Organization; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate hereby recognizes the accomplishments of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority for its commitment to community service and its contributions to the educational, civic and social lives of West Virginia's citizens; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the leadership of the Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority.