(By Senators Plymale, Redd, Bailey, Chafin, Walker, Jackson, Prezioso, Minard, Anderson, Bowman, Helmick, Fanning, Edgell, Kessler, Dittmar, Snyder, Craigo, Wooton, Sharpe, Ross, Ball, Love, Dawson, Hunter, Oliverio, McKenzie, McCabe, Unger, Boley, Deem, Minear, Sprouse and Tomblin, Mr. President)

Recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of Marshall University's football team for the 1999 season.

Whereas, The 1999 football season was a record year for Marshall University's Thundering Herd, which finished the season with a ranking of tenth in both the Associated Press and the ESPN/USA Today final polls; and
Whereas, Marshall University's Thundering Herd ended the 1999 football season with a perfect 13-0 record, the second unbeaten season in four years and the sixth in the school's history; and
Whereas, The Thundering Herd won its third consecutive Mid- American Conference title, becoming only the third school in league history to accomplish this feat; and
Whereas, The Thundering Herd won its second consecutive Motor City Bowl; and
Whereas, The Thundering Herd was successful academically as well as athletically. The team placed forty players on the Dean's List for the fall semester and eight players had perfect 4.0 GPAs. In addition, the team was recognized by the American Football Coaches Association for its academic excellence; and
Whereas, The coach of the Thundering Herd, Bob Pruett, was named the Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. He was also a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award; and
Whereas, The outstanding 1999 season is a credit to the tremendous coaching ability of head coach Bob Pruett, along with the athletic ability and team spirit of each team player; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate hereby recognizes the 1999 Marshall University football team for an outstanding season and for bringing the Mid- American Conference and the Motor City Bowl championships home to the enthusiastic campus of Marshall University and the State of West Virginia; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the president of Marshall University, Dan Angel, head football coach Bob Pruett and each player of Marshall University's 1999 Thundering Herd football team.