(By Senators Plymale and Jenkins)

Recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of the 2002 Marshall University Thundering Herd football team.

Whereas, The Thundering Herd football team, unbeaten at home, had an overall record of 11-2; and
Whereas, The Thundering Herd won its sixth consecutive Mid- American Conference East Division title; and
Whereas, The Thundering Herd participated in its sixth consecutive bowl game, winning the 2002 GMAC Bowl Championship and bringing the Herd its fifth consecutive bowl win; and
Whereas, With 19 consecutive winning seasons, the Thundering Herd is tied for the 25th longest winning streak in NCAA history; and
Whereas, The Thundering Herd finished the season ranked 19th in the nation in the ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll, the third time in the last four seasons that the Herd has finished in the top 25; and
Whereas, Numerous members of the 2002 Thundering Herd football team have received many honors and set records, with Coach Bob Pruett leading the squad with distinction; and
Whereas, The 2002 Thundering Herd football team, coaches and staff are sportsmen on and off the field, bringing pride and recognition to Marshall University, the City of Huntington, Cabell and Wayne counties and the State of West Virginia by displaying courage, enthusiasm, talent and sportsmanship; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate hereby recognizes the 2002 Marshall University Thundering Herd football team and congratulates each team member and the coaching staff on an outstanding season; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to Head Coach Bob Pruett and Marshall University President Dr. Dan Angel.