(By Delegates Fragale, Cann, Iaquinta and Miley)

Designating an adaptation of "West Virginia Shawl" as the Official Tartan of the State of West Virginia.

Whereas, Several states have recognized their Celtic links, by establishing official state tartans; and
Whereas, A majority of West Virginia's early settlers were descendants of Celtic people, who came from their native lands, to find freedom and adventure in the new world; and
Whereas, These settlers were the pioneers who helped carve this nation out of the wilderness; and
Whereas, Dr. Philip D. Smith, who is not only an accomplished author, professor and recognized world authority on Celtic history and tartan discovered an unknown shawl at the Barboursville "Daughters of the American Revolution Museum"; and
Whereas, He named this shawl in his book entitled "Book of Tartans" as the West Virginia Shawl; and
Whereas, The adaptation of the "West Virginia Shawl" includes the colors which most fully represent our states history, culture and beauty; and
Whereas, The Official West Virginia State Tartan shall be a symmetrical design starting at the dark yellow pivot point and containing the thread count as follows: Dark yellow 4, forest green 4, muted blue 8, forest green 4, azure 6, scarlet 24, white 1, black 6, scarlet 24, forest green 8, scarlet 8, muted blue 8, forest green 4, dark yellow 4; and
Whereas, In order to complement our mountain state the color red is to represent the cardinal; yellow for the fall colors; dark blue for the mountain rivers and lakes; black for the black bear, coal and oil; green for the rhododendron and mountain meadows; azure for the sky above; and white to have all the colors of this great nation intertwined with the State of West Virginia; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Legislature of West Virginia:
That the adaptation, as described above, of the "West Virginia Shawl" be designated the Official Tartan of the State of West Virginia; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates forward a certified copy of this resolution to Dr. Philip D. Smith, J. Kevin Grant, Ronald E. Grant and John A. Grant III.