(By Senators Plymale, Jenkins, Kessler (Mr. President), Unger, Snyder, Miller, Laird, Fitzsimmons, McCabe, D. Hall, Cole, Carmichael, Williams, Prezioso, Stollings and Chafin)

Designating February 20, 2013, as "Marshall University Day".
          Whereas, The year 2013 marks the 176th anniversary of Marshall University, the oldest institution of higher education in West Virginia, founded in 1837 as Marshall Academy in honor of Chief Justice John Marshall; and
          Whereas, Marshall University is one of the state's premier institutions of higher education and educates more than 14,000 students at campuses in Huntington, Point Pleasant, South Charleston, Beckley, Logan and Gilbert; and
          Whereas, Marshall University offers degrees at the associate, baccalaureate, master's and doctoral levels; and
          Whereas, Marshall University this year met its goal of raising $15 million in private donations for research which, along with the match from the Bucks for Brains West Virginia Research Trust Fund, has resulted in the creation of sixteen new research endowments and a fifteen-percent increase in the university's overall endowment; and
          Whereas, Marshall University this year added 107 new professional students in its inaugural Physical Therapy and School of Pharmacy programs; and
Whereas, Marshall University has built a national reputation
for research in biotechnology, forensics and medicine; and  
          Whereas, With every dollar the state invests in Marshall University, the university generates nearly $20 spent in the West Virginia economy, resulting in an estimated economic output of $1.5 billion per year; and
          Whereas, The Robert C. Byrd Institute for Advanced Flexible Manufacturing serves all fifty-five state counties providing expertise to manufacturers across West Virginia; and
          Whereas, The Nick J. Rahall, II Appalachian Transportation Institute of Marshall University is setting national standards in transportation; and
          Whereas, Marshall University's Health Sciences train hundreds of West Virginians to serve as doctors, nurses, therapists and health technicians each year; and
          Whereas, Marshall University graduates number nearly 91,000 across the globe; therefore, be it
          Resolved by the Senate:
          That the Senate hereby designates February 20, 2013, as "Marshall University Day"; and, be it
          Further Resolved, That the Senate hereby recognizes Marshall University for its tremendous contributions to the State of West Virginia; and, be it
          Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to Stephen J. Kopp, President of Marshall University.