Wednesday, March 15, 2006

The House of Delegates met at 6:00 p.m., and was called to order by the Speaker.
Prayer was offered and the House was led in recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.
The Clerk proceeded to read the Journal of Tuesday, March 14, 2006, being the first order of business, when the further reading thereof was dispensed with and the same approved.
Committee Reports

Chairman Browning, from the Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills, submitted the following report, which was received:
Your Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills has examined, found truly enrolled and, on the 13th day of March, 2006, presented to His Excellency, the Governor, for his action, the following bills, signed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Delegates:
H. B. 4069
, Continuing the Rural Health Advisory Panel until July 1, 2009,
H. B. 4239, Continuing the Division of Unemployment Compensation,
H. B. 4310, Continuing of the Board of Risk and Insurance Management,
H. B. 4349, Continuing the Division of Motor Vehicles,
H. B. 4350
, Continuing the Family Protection Services Board,
H. B. 4391, Continuing the State Rail Authority,
H. B. 4603, Authorizing rules for the Higher Education Policy Commission and the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education regarding authorization of degree granting institutions.
Delegate Staton moved to adjourn until 6:00 p.m., Thursday, March 16, 2006, and on this motion, demanded the yeas and nays, which demand was sustained.
The yeas and nays having been ordered, they were taken (Roll No. 672), and there were--yeas 71, nays 17, absent and not voting 12, with the nays and absent and not voting being as follows:
Nays: Amores, Border, Canterbury, Doyle, Fragale, Hall, Howard, Lane, Louisos, Michael, Overington, Perdue, Perry, Porter, Rick Thompson, Walters and G. White.
Absent and Not Voting: Craig, Ferrell, Frederick, Hamilton, Houston, Hunt, Iaquinta, Long, Manchin, Miley, Wakim and Webster.
So, a majority of the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, at 6:13 p.m., the House of Delegates adjourned.