Charleston, W. Va., Thursday, March 16, 2006

The Senate met at 11 a.m.
(Senator Tomblin, Mr. President, in the Chair.)

Prayer was offered by John Parsons, Judith A. Herndon Legislative Fellows Program intern, Powellton, West Virginia.
Pending the reading of the Journal of Wednesday, March 15, 2006,
On motion of Senator Prezioso, the Journal was approved and the further reading thereof dispensed with.
The Senate proceeded to the fourth order of business.
Senator White, from the Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills, submitted the following report, which was received:
Your Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills has examined, found truly enrolled, and on the 16th day of March, 2006, presented to His Excellency, the Governor, for his action, the following bill, signed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Delegates:
(Com. Sub. for H. B. No. 4172), Authorizing the Department of Administration to promulgate legislative rules
Respectfully submitted,
C. Randy White,
Chair, Senate Committee.
Richard Browning,
Chair, House Committee.

The Senate proceeded to the twelfth order of business.
Remarks were made by Senators Yoder, Sprouse, Kessler, Bowman, Hunter and Weeks.
Thereafter, at the request of Senator Bowman, and by unanimous consent, the remarks by Senator Kessler were ordered printed in the Appendix to the Journal.
At the request of Senator Weeks, unanimous consent being granted, the remarks by Senators Yoder and Sprouse were ordered printed in the Appendix to the Journal.
Senator Chafin then moved that the Senate adjourn until tomorrow, Friday, March 17, 2006, at 6 p.m.
The question being on the adoption of Senator Chafin's motion, and on this question, Senator Chafin demanded the yeas and nays.
The roll being taken, the yeas were: Barnes, Boley, Bowman, Caruth, Chafin, Deem, Dempsey, Edgell, Facemyer, Foster, Helmick, Hunter, Jenkins, Kessler, Love, McCabe, Minard, Minear, Oliverio, Plymale, Prezioso, Sharpe, Weeks, White and Tomblin (Mr. President)--25.
The nays were: Harrison, McKenzie, Sprouse, Unger and Yoder--5.
Absent: Bailey, Fanning, Guills and Lanham--4.
So, a majority of those present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the President declared Senator Chafin's motion had prevailed.
In accordance with the foregoing motion, the Senate adjourned until tomorrow, Friday, March 17, 2006, at 6 p.m.