Eighty-first Legislature

First Regular Session

Held at Charleston

Published by the Clerk of the House


West Virginia Legislature


of the

House of Delegates




Sunday, March 9, 2014


[Mr. Speaker, Mr. Miley, in the Chair]



            The House of Delegates met at 12:15 a.m., and was called to order by the Honorable Timothy R. Miley, Speaker.

            Prayer was offered and the House was led in recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

            The roll being called (Roll No. 495), and 95 members having answered to their names, the Speaker declared the presence of a quorum.

            The Clerk proceeded to read the Journal of Saturday, March 8, 2014, being the first order of business, when the further reading thereof was dispensed with and the same approved.

Leaves of Absence

            At the request of Delegate Boggs, and by unanimous consent, leaves of absence for the day were granted Delegates Andes, Ferns, J. Nelson, Raines and Reynolds.

Miscellaneous Business

            Unanimous consent having been granted, the Clerk of the Housed the members concerning institutional service and the practice and tradition of the House in publically recognizing such service. At the conclusion of his remarks, the Clerk announced the years of service of various members and presented pins to them, as follows:

5 Year Pins

            Delegates Ferro, Frich, Lawrence, Manypenny, L. Phillips, Poore, Skaff, P. Smith and Walker.

10 Year Pins

            Delegates Lane, Longstreth, Manchin, Miley, Moore, Rowan and Wells.

15 Year Pins

            Delegates Armstead, Hunt and Perdue.

20 Year Pins

            Delegates Azinger, Walters, White and Williams.

Thirty Years

Delegate Overington was announced as the special recipient of recognition for thirty years of legislative service. The Clerk then presented him with the Clerk’s Bronze House Medallion suspended from a blue and gold silk ribbon, the first such award to have been presented to a Member of the House.

            At 1:01 a.m., the House of Delegates adjourned until 5:30 p.m., Monday, March 10, 2014.