Sunday, March 13, 2016





            The House of Delegates met at 12:15 a.m., and was called to order by the Honorable Tim Armstead, Speaker.

            Prayer was offered and the House was led in recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

            The Clerk proceeded to read the Journal of Saturday, March 12, 2016, being the first order of business, when the further reading thereof was dispensed with and the same approved.

            The Speaker recognized the Clerk of the House, who presented service pins to the following members:

5 Year Pins:

            Delegates Border, Ellington, Householder, Marcum and Shott.

10 Year Pins:

            Delegates Cowles, Eldridge, Guthrie, Ireland, Miller, Moye, Reynolds and Rowe.

20 Year Pins:

            Delegate Boggs, Caputo, Fleishchauer and Morgan.

45 Year Pin:

            Delegate Deem.

            Delegate Cowles arose to suggest the absence of a quorum, the Clerk opened the machine for the roll to be taken (Roll No. 662), and 98 members being present, the Speaker declared the presence of a quorum. The absent being as follows:

            Absent:  Cooper and Moore.

Delegate Cooper was also present for part of the session but absent during the quorum call.        

Leaves of Absence

            At the request of Delegate Cowles, and by unanimous consent, leave of absence for the day was granted Delegate Moore.

At 12:39 a.m., the House of Delegates adjourned until 5:00 p.m., Monday, March 14, 2016.