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DRAFTExecutive Summary
The West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board was created by the

1991 Acts of the Legislature (West Virginia Code §21-11-4).  The Board is
mandated to protect the public from unfair, unsafe and unscrupulous bidding
and construction practices.

Issue 1:  Compared to Most States, West Virginia Pro-
vides a Low Level of Consumer Protection Against Finan-
cial Loss from Contractors.

Issue 2:  The Board is Required to Issue a “Grandfathered”
License Ten Years after the Effective Date of the Contrac-
tor Licensing Act.

Issue 3:  The Board Allows a Licensed Contractor to Re-
new a License up to Two Years after the License’s Expira-
tion Date.

A licensed contractor must renew his or her license on or before the
expiration date by submitting a renewal application and paying the $90 annual
license fee.  This renewed license is contingent upon the contractor being in
compliance with the Departments of Tax and Revenue, Workers Compensation,
Employment Security, and the Secretary of State.  If a licensed contractor fails
to renew the license in a timely manner, he or she must pay a penalty fee of $25,
in addition to the $90 annual renewal fee.  However, language in West Virginia
Code §21-11-12 is particularly lenient when it pertains to the length of time a
licensed contractor is given to renew his or her license.  The Code allows a two
year grace period to renew a license.  This means that contractors who
take the full two years to renew their license can get out of paying the
annual license fee during the years that are encompassed by this grace
period.  More importantly, this long grace period increases the risk
that consumers may hire unlicensed contractors.
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Issue 5:  The Contractor Licensing Board Should Con-
sider Adding a Consumer Representative as Part of its
Membership.

Proper representation is an important component in determining how
effective and efficient a board is.  According to statute, the Contractor Licensing
Board has ten members who are appointed by the Governor; however, none
of the ten members are citizen or consumer representatives.  Although the Board
is abiding by the West Virginia Code, the current composition of the Board
could be enhanced in order to become more effective in representing consumers.
Adding one to two consumer representative would enable the Board to become
more balanced in having consumer input involved in Board decisions.  This will
become important when the Board’s consumer complaint process is established
during FY 2003.

Issue 6:  The Board Believes that it has the Authority to
Control the Division of Labor’s Budget as it Pertains to
the Contractor Licensing Operation.

The Contractor Licensing Board has the power and authority to discipline
licensed contractors.  In addition, the Board relies on the Division of Labor to
perform specific administrative duties which are defined in statute.  However,
there has been some confusion as to where certain authority and responsibilities
were placed within the Contractor Licensing Act.  More specifically, the Board
feels that it has the authority to control the funding the Division of Labor receives

Issue 4:  The Current Annual License Fee Needs to be
Increased in Order to Adequately Handle the Expected
Rise in Consumer Complaints.

One of the main functions of the Contractor Licensing Board is the
licensing of contractors.  The Board issues a license that is valid for twelve
months from the date of issuance.  Anyone desiring to become a licensed con-
tractor must pass the applicable written examination, along with being in com-
pliance with the appropriate State agencies, and must pay the appropriate li-
cense fee.  By statute, the Board has the authority to establish an annual license
fee not to exceed $150.  However, the current fee of $90 that the Board has in
place is not high enough to support the new consumer complaint process, which
is estimated to cost an addtional $350,000, that is supposed to go into effect
on November 1, 2002.  The new consumer complaint process was established
by Senate Bill 429, which passed during the 2002 Regular Session.
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5.  In anticipation of the expected increase in consumer complaints, the
Legislature should consider adding a citizen member to the Contractor Licens-
ing Board.

from the Legislature for contractor licensing operations.

Recommendations:

1.  The Legislature should consider amending the West Virginia Code
to allow for some method of financial assurance, such as iinsurance, bonding,
or a recovery fund, to the consumer in order to protect consumers from the
unscrupulous and/or incompetent licensed contractors.  If a recovery fund is to
be used, the Legislature should consider allowing fines collected to be depos-
ited into the recovery fund.

Level of Compliance:  Legislative Action Required and Taken

The Legislature did address this recommendation during the 2002
Legislative Session.  Senate Bill 429, which passed on March 9, 2002, and
is in effect 90 days from passage, revised the West Virginia Contractor
Licensing Act.  West Virginia Code §21-11-7(b) now also addresses the
issue of requiring certain contractors to provide some form of financial
assistance.

2.  The Legislature should conider eliminating the language in §21-11-
7(b) of the West Virginia Code.

Level of Compliance:  Legislative Action Required and Taken

The Legislature also addressed this recommendation during the 2002
Legislative Session.  Senate Bill 429 dealt with the “grandfather clause”
issue, and as a result, West Virginia Code §21-11-7(b) was amended to
eliminate this clause.

3.  The Board should follow through its actions to completion by as-
suring that the legislation be submitted for the reduction of the renewal period
to 90 days and that legislative rules be submitted for the setting of a $25 penalty
for each month the renewal is late until the final expiration period of 90 days
lapses.

4.  The Contractor Licensing Board should conider increasing theh
annual license fee in order to adequately fund the Division of Labor’s
Contractor’s Licensing Section due to the new consumer complaint process.
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6.  The Legislature should consider compensating Contractor Licens-

ing Board members an amount comparable to the Manufactured Housing Con-
struction and Safety Board for meetings attended.

7.  The Legislature should consider drafting legislation that clarifies or
changes the relationship between the Contractors Licensing Board and the
Division of Labor with regard to budgetary matters.



Page 9The Contractor Licensing Board

DRAFTReview Objective, Scope and Methodology
A Compliance Monitoring/Further Inquiry Update of the Contractor

Licensing Board is required and authorized by the West Virginia Sunset Law,
Chapter 4, Article 10, Section 5a of the West Virginia Code, as amended.  As
stated in the Code, an update is performed to determine whether an agency has
complied with recommendations contained in prior performance reviews and
to research further issues relating to the initial evaluation.

Objective

The Legislative Auditor previously issued a report on the Board’s low
level of consumer protection against financial loss, and the Board’s requirement
to issue a “grandfathered” license ten years after the effective date of the
Contractor Licensing Act.  This review of the Contractor Licensing Board is
conducted as a compliance monitoring of the previous issues, and as a further
inquiry into various concerns brought to the Legislative Auditor’s attention.
The primary objectives of the review are to determine the status of the previous
issues as well as to determine the following: 1) Whether the Board’s renewal
grace period is excessive; 2) If the annual license fee needs to be increased; 3)
Whether the Board would benefit from having a consumer representative; and
4) If the Contractor Licensing Act needs further clarification regarding the
Board’s authority and the  Division of Labor’s authority.

Scope

The Contractor Licensing Board Update covers the period from July
2001 through August 2002.

Methodology

Information compiled in this report has been acquired through interviews,
conversations, and correspondence with Division of Labor representatives and
the chairman of the Contractor Licensing Board.  The update also involved
reviewing Board meeting minutes from December 2000 to February 2002;
West Virginia Code §21-11-1; Legislative Rule, Title 28, Series 2; and Senate
Bill 429.  In addition, data was obtained from various states regarding renewal
periods and board membership.  Every aspect of this review complied with
Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (GAGAS).
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Compared to Most States, West Virginia Provides a Low
Level of Consumer Protection Against Financial Loss from
Contractors.

Recommendation 1:

The Legislature should consider amending the West Virginia Code to
allow for some method of financial assurance, such as insurance, bonding, or a
recovery fund, to the consumer in order to protect consumers from unscrupulous
and/or incompetent licensed contractors.  If a recovery fund is to be used, the
Legislature should consider allowing fines collected to be deposited into the
recovery fund.

Level of Compliance: Legislative Action Required and Taken

The Legislature did address this recommendation during the 2002
Legislative Session.  Senate Bill 429, which passed on March 9, 2002, and is in
effect 90 days from passage, revised the West Virginia Contractor Licensing
Act.  West Virginia Code §21-11-14 now also addresses the issue of requiring
certain contractors to provide some form of financial assurance.  West Virginia
Code §21-11-14 states in part:

The board has the power and authority to impose the
following disciplinary actions: ... Order a contractor who
has been found, after a hearing, to have violated any
provisions of this article or the rules of the board to provide,
as a condition of licensure, assurance of financial
responsibility.  The form of financial assurance may include,
but is not limited to, a surety bond, a cash bond, a certificate
of deposit, an irrevocable letter of credit or performance
insurance:  Provided, That the amount of financial
assurance required under this subdivision may not exceed
the total of the aggregate amount of the judgments or liens
levied against the contractor or the aggregate value of any
corrective work ordered by the board or both:  Provided,
however, That the board may remove this requirement
for licensees against whom no complaints have been filed
for a period of five continuous years. (Emphasis added.)

This amendment should allow for the necessary protection that
consumers need from unscrupulous or incompetent licensed contractors.
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The Board is Required to Issue a “Grandfathered”
 License Ten Years after the Effective Date of the
Contractor Licensing Act.

Recommendation 2:

The Legislature should consider eliminating the language in §21-11-
7(b) of the West Virginia Code.

Level of Compliance: Legislative Action Required and Taken

The Legislature also addressed this recommendation during the 2002
Legislative Session.  Senate Bill 429 dealt with the “grandfather clause” issue.
West Virginia Code §21-11-7(b) was amended to read as follows:

A person holding a business registration certificate to
conduct business in this state as a contractor on the thirtieth
day of September, one thousand nine hundred ninety-one,
may register with the board, certify by affidavit the
requirements of subsection (c), section fifteen of this article
and pay such license fee not to exceed one hundred fifty
dollars and shall be issued a contractor’s license without
further examination: Provided, That no license may be
issued without examination pursuant to this subsection
after the first day of April, two thousand two.  (Emphasis
added.)

The elimination of the “grandfather clause” will be beneficial to the Board
in a couple of ways.  First, it will help ease the work load of the Contractor
Licensing staff.  Secondly, most companies who requested to be “grandfathered”
had been working illegally since the inception of the Contractor Licensing Board.
Since the “grandfather clause” is no longer in effect, these companies who are
working illegally will not be able to be “grandfathered” and will have to take an
examination.
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The Board Allows a Licensed Contractor to Renew a
License up to Two Years after the License’s Expiration Date.

A licensed contractor must renew his or her license on or before the
expiration date by submitting a renewal application and paying the $90 annual
license fee.  This renewed license is contingent upon the contractor being in
compliance with the Departments of Tax and Revenue, Workers Compensation,
Employment Security, and the Secretary of State.  If a licensed contractor fails
to renew the license in a timely manner, he or she must pay a penalty fee of $25,
in addition to the $90 annual renewal fee.  However, language in West Virginia
Code §21-11-12 is particularly lenient when it pertains to the length of time a
licensed contractor is given to renew his or her license.  The Code allows a two
year grace period to renew a license.  This means that contractors who take
the full two years to renew their license can get out of paying the annual
license fee during the years that are encompassed by this grace period.
More importantly, this long grace period increases the risk that
consumers may hire unlicensed contractors.

It should be noted that while the Legislative Auditor’s Office was
reviewing this issue, the Board, at its June 27, 2002 meeting, voted to reduce
the renewal grace period from two years to 90 days after the expiration date of
the license.  Since this requires a statutory change, the Board will need to submit
legislation for the 2003 Legislative Session.  For late renewals, the Board also
voted to amend its legislative rules by changing the late fee to $25 for each
month the renewal is late until its final expiration period of 90 days lapses.  The
Board is to be commended for these actions as these changes will improve the
licensing of contractors.  Before these changes to its legislative rules can take
effect, the Board must submit them to the Legislature for approval during the
2003 Regular Session.

Renewal Periods Utilized by Other States

Renewal periods of surrounding states were reviewed.  Of the bordering
states, only Maryland, Virginia and Ohio have contractor licensing boards.  South
Carolina and New Mexico were added in place of Kentucky and Pennsylvania.
As Table 1 shows, West Virginia’s renewal period of two years is rather long
compared to those of the selected states.  All states had a 90 day  period except
for Virginia, which had a six month period.

  “Contractors who take
the full two years to renew
their license can get out of
paying the annual license
fee during the years that
are encompassed by this
grace period...this long
grace period increases the
risk that consumers may
hire unlicensed contrac-
tors.”

  “West Virginia’s renewal
period of two years is
rather long compared to
those of the selected
states.”
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Table 1

Renewal Periods For Selected States*

State Time Frame Given To Renew

Maryland 90 Days

Virginia 6 months

Ohio 90 Days

South Carolina 90 Days

New Mexico 3 months

West Virginia 2 years

*Kentucky and Pennsylvania do not license contractors.

Conclusion

The West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board has a lenient time frame
regarding license renewal.  Allowing a licensee to renew a license up to two
years beyond the expiration date is rather excessive compared to other states.
Reducing the grace period will help prevent contractors from working for up to
two years without a license before they decide to renew.  In addition, not paying
the $90 annual renewal fee for each of the two years that a contractor does not
renew will be eliminated.  Finally, decreasing the two year renewal period will
help keep licensed contractors in compliance with other State agencies and will
help assure consumers that they are dealing with a licensed contractor.   It
should be noted that this issue was discussed during the June 27, 2002 Board
meeting, in which the members voted to reduce the grace period from two
years to 90 days beyond the expiration date, which will require legislation to be
submitted during 2003 Legislative Session.  In addition, the Board voted to
amend its legislative rules changing the late fee to $25 each month the renewal
is late until the final expiration period of 90 days lapses.

Table 1
Renewal Periods For Selected States*
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Recommendation 3:

The Board should follow through its actions to completion by assuring
that the legislation be submitted for the reduction of the renewal period to 90
days and that legislative rules be submitted for the setting of a $25 penalty for
each month the renewal is late until the final expiration period of 90 days lapses.
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The Current Annual License Fee Needs to be Increased
in Order to Adequately Handle the Expected Rise in
Consumer Complaints.

One of the main functions of the Contractor Licensing Board is the
licensing of contractors.  The Board issues a license that is valid for 12 months
from the date of issuance.  Anyone desiring to become a licensed contractor
must pass the applicable written examination, along with being in compliance
with the appropriate State agencies, and must pay the appropriate license fee.
By statute, the Board has the authority to establish an annual license fee not to
exceed $150.  However, the current fee of $90 that the Board has in place is
not high enough to support the new consumer complaint process, which is
estimated to cost an additional $350,000, that is supposed to go into effect on
November 1, 2002.  The new consumer complaint process was established
by Senate Bill 429, which passed during the 2002 Regular Session.

Statute Requirement and Legislative Rule

The Contractor Licensing Board is mandated by statute to establish
application and annual license fees.  West Virginia Code §21-11-8 states in
part:

A license issued under the provisions of this article expires
one year from the date on which it is issued.  The board
shall establish application and annual license fees not to
exceed one hundred fifty dollars.

The Contractor Licensing Board is abiding by this statutory requirement.
Legislative Rule, §28-2-5.3 states in part, “Any person desiring a license
shall, at the time of application, pay the annual fee of $90.00, as established
by the Board.”  The Board had originally established the fee at $100 after the
Contractor Licensing Act went into effect in 1991, and then lowered it to $90
in 1993.

New Legislative Rule and Consumer Complaint Process

Under the authority of West Virginia Code §21-11-14, the Board was
required to propose a legislative rule regarding the investigation and resolution
of all consumer complaints made against licensed contractors.  Legislative Rule,
Title 28, Series 3 has been passed by the Legislature and will be in effect on
November 1, 2002.  This legislative rule establishes criteria for the receipt,

  “...the Board has the
authority to establish an
annual license fee not to
exceed $150...the current fee
of $980 that the Board has
in place is not high enough
to support the new consumer
complaint process.”
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The Board does not Intend to Increase the Annual License Fee

According to Division of Labor representatives, the present level of the
Contractor Licensing Board Fund will not sufficiently support the Contractor
Licensing Section when the new consumer complaint process goes into effect.
As previously mentioned, the Division of Labor has requested approximately
$350,000 in additional funding from the Legislature.  The funds needed could
come from either the State’s general revenue appropriation or by way of an
increase in the annual license fee.  However, the Division of Labor was informed
that general revenue funds simply are not available.  Therefore, the only possible
funding source is an increase in the annual license fee.  Division of Labor
representatives are in favor of a $25 increase in the annual license fee, which
would raise the fee from $90 to $115.  Despite the need to fund the new
consumer complaints process and the fact that WVC §21-11-8 stipulates that
the Board has the authority to raise the annual license fee up to $150, the
current Board does not support increasing the license fee and feels that the $90
fee should remain intact.

Conclusion

Due to the expected rise in the number of consumer complaints the
Board will receive, an increase in staff is warranted to help compensate for this.
The Division of Labor has requested additional funding, first from the Legislature
and then from the Board, of approximately $350,000 for the purpose of setting
up the new consumer complaints process.  The setup of this new process includes
hiring five new field officers, two new clerical positions, and related expenses.
Increasing the annual license fee is the only viable option that the Board has in
order to meet these needs.  However, the Board does not want to increase the

investigation and resolution of complaints against licensed contractors.  In
addition, this rule will make it easier for consumers to file a complaint.  For
instance, instead of a consumer having to obtain either a magistrate or circuit
court judgment against a licensed contractor, the consumer will be able to file a
complaint directly with the Board, and the Board will be responsible for
investigating and resolving those complaints.  As a result, the amount of complaints
should increase significantly.  Since the number of consumer complaints is
expected to increase, the Division of Labor will need to hire more compliance
officers and administrative staff in order to adequately handle the influx.  The
Division has estimated that it will need an increase of approximately $350,000
which will go towards the hiring of five new field officers, two new clerical
positions, and related expenses.

  “...the current Board does
not support increasing the
license fee...”
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annual fee.  On the other hand, Division of Labor representatives feel that a fee
increase is necessary to adequately support the Contractor Licensing Section.

Recommendation 4:

The Contractor Licensing Board should consider increasing the annual
license fee in order to adequately fund the Division of Labor’s Contractor
Licensing Section due to the new consumer complaint process.
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The Contractor Licensing Board Should Consider Adding
a Consumer Representative as part of its Membership.

Proper representation is an important component in determining how
effective and efficient a board is.  According to statute, the Contractor Licensing
Board has ten members who are appointed by the Governor; however, none
of the ten members are citizen or consumer representatives.  Although the
Board is abiding by the West Virginia Code, the current composition of the
Board could be enhanced in order to become more effective in representing
consumers.  Adding one to two consumer representatives would enable the
Board to become more balanced in having consumer input involved in Board
decisions.  This will become important when the Board’s consumer complaint
process is established during FY 2003.

Statute Requirement and the Need for a Consumer
Representative

It is important that the Contractor Licensing Board be well-balanced
and objective.  Since the Board consists of primarily representatives of
the various contracting industries, it has the appearance of being bi-
ased towards the contractor.  However, the Board is adhering to statute.
West Virginia Code §21-11-4 states in part:

The board shall consist of ten members appointed by the
governor by and with the advice and consent of the Senate
for terms of four years.  Such members shall serve until
their successors are appointed and have qualified.  Eight
of the appointed members shall be owners of businesses
engaged in the various contracting industries, with at least
one member appointed from each of the following
contractor classes:  One electrical contractor, one general
building contractor, one general engineering contractor,
one heating, ventilating and cooling contractor, one
multifamily contractor, one piping contractor, one
plumbing contractor and one residential contractor, as
defined in section three hereof.  Two of the appointed
members shall be building code officials who are not
members of any contracting industry...

  “Adding one or two
consumer representatives
would enable the Board to
become more balanced in
having consumer input
involved in Board
decisions.”

  “Since the Board consists
of primarily representatives
of the various contracting
industries, it has the
appearance of being biased
towards the contractor.”
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Although the Board is abiding by this statutory requirement, it does not

have a member who represents the consumer.  When the new consumer com-
plaint process goes into effect on November 1, 2002, it should have a signifi-
cant impact on the amount of complaints that the Board receives.  Since con-
sumer complaints are expected to increase, not having a consumer or citizen
member could give the appearance that the Board is not being as objective as
it should towards consumers.  Therefore, consumer representation on the Board
should be considered.  However, the Board is not in favor of adding a con-
sumer representative as part of its membership.  According to the Board’s
Chairman, including a citizen or consumer representative “would only compli-
cate the procedures.”  On the other hand, Division of Labor representatives
are in favor of adding a consumer or citizen representative to the Board’s mem-
bership.

Composition of Similar Boards in Other States

The Legislative Auditor obtained information regarding the membership
of certain licensing boards throughout the country.  Information was gathered
for the states of Maryland, Virginia, Ohio, South Carolina, and New Mexico.
The results are as follows:  1) Maryland’s Board of Heating, Ventilation, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors utilizes a seven member board;
two of whom are consumer members.  It is worth noting that the two consumer
members serve as Chairman and Vice Chairman; 2) Virginia’s Board for
Contractors is comprised of 13 members which includes seven licensed
contractors, three tradesman, one building official, and two citizen members;
3) The Ohio Construction Industry Examination Board consists of 17 members,
including one member who is a representative of the public; 4) The South
Carolina Contractors’ Licensing Board consists of eight members, including
two consumer members who must be appointed from the public at large; and
5) New Mexico’s Construction Industries Commission has nine members.  One
member must be a resident who is not a licensed contractor or certified
journeyman and represents the people of New Mexico.  Table 2 provides a
summary of how West Virginia compares to these other states regarding
consumer representation on their respective licensing boards.

Table 2
Citizen Membership Status Of Select States

  “...the Board is not in
favor of adding a consumer
representative as part of its
membership.”
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Composition of Other Licensing Boards in West Virginia

Not only do similar licensing boards in other states have citizen members,
but other licensing boards within West Virginia do as well, and every health
professional licensing board within Chapter 30 is required to have consumer
representation.  West Virginia Code §30-1-4a states in part:

Notwithstanding any provisions of this code to the contrary,
the governor shall appoint at least one lay person to
represent the interests of the public on every health
professional licensing board which is referred to in this
chapter.

The Legislative Auditor examined the composition of five other West
Virginia boards.  The results are as follows:  1) The Manufactured Housing
Construction and Safety Board is comprised of six appointed members and the
Commissioner of the Division of Labor, who serves as chairman.  In addition,
at least two of the members must represent and be consumers; 2) The
Board of Architects is comprised of seven members, five of whom are architects,
and two should be lay members; 3) The Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
consists of four professional members and one lay member; 4) The Board of
Pharmacy consists of five practicing pharmacists and two public members;
and 5) The Board of Osteopathy is composed of five members, including two
lay members.  Table 3 provides a summary of how the Contractor Licensing
Board compares to other licensing boards within West Virginia regarding
consumer representation on their respective licensing boards.

Has Consumer/
Citizen Member(s)

Number Of Consumer/
Citizen Member(s)

Maryland

Virginia

Ohio

South Carolina

New Mexico

West Virginia

Table 2
Citizen Membership Status Of Select States

State

Two

Two

One

Two

One

None

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

  “Not only do similar
licensing boards in other
states have citizen
members, but other
licensing boards within
West Virginia do as well...”
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Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

At Least Two

Two

One

Two

Two

None

Architects

Barbers & Cosmetologists

Pharmacy

Osteopathy

Has Citizen/Lay
Members

Table 3
Citizen Membership Status Of Select West Virginia Licensing Boards

Board

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

At Least Two

Two

One

Two

Two

None

Number Of Citizen/Lay
Members

Manufactured Housing
Construction & Safety

Contractor  Licensing

Architects

Barbers & Cosmetologists

Pharmacy

Osteopathy

Has Citizen/Lay
Members

Table 3
Citizen Membership Status Of Select West Virginia Licensing Boards

Board

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

At Least Two

Two

One

Two

Two

None

Number Of Citizen/Lay
Members

Manufactured Housing
Construction & Safety

Contractor  Licensing

Board Receives No Compensation for Its Services

Presently, Contractor Licensing Board members do not receive
compensation for attending Board meetings.  West Virginia Code §21-11-4
states in part, “Board members shall receive no remuneration for their
service, but shall be reimbursed for their actual expenses incurred in the
performance of their duties as such.”   However, the Manufactured Housing
Construction and Safety Board, which is administered by the Division of Labor
as well, does receive compensation.  West Virginia Code §21-9-3 states in
part, “Each member shall receive fifty dollars for each day or portion
thereof spent in attending meetings of the board and shall be reimbursed
for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred incident to his duties
as a member of the board.”  It does not seem equitable that one of these
boards receives compensation while the other one does not.  Compensating
Contractor Licensing Board members would allow them to be on more level
terms with their fellow Manufactured Housing Board members and should
provide an even greater incentive to attend Contractor Licensing Board meetings.

Conclusion

The Contractor Licensing Board is abiding by the statute regarding its
composition.  Although the Board is not mandated to have a consumer
representative, it would benefit the Board and the public to have at least one
member represent the consumer due to the expected increase in consumer
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Table 3
Citizen Membership Status Of Select West Virginia Licensing Boards
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  “...Contractor Licensing
Board members do not
receive compensation for
attending Board meetings.”

   “Compensating Contractor
Licensing Board members
would allow them to be on
more level terms with their
fellow Manufactured
Housing Board members and
should provide an even
greater incentive to attend
Contractor Licensing Board
meetings.”
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favor of consumer representation; however, Board members are not.

Recommendation 5:

In anticipation of the expected increase in consumer complaints, the
Legislature should consider adding a citizen member to the Contractor Licens-
ing Board.

Recommendation 6:

The Legislature should consider compensating Contractor Licensing
Board members an amount comparable to the Manufactured Housing Con-
struction and Safety Board for meetings attended.
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The Board Believes that it has the Authority to Control
the Division of Labor’s Budget as it Pertains to the
Contractor Licensing Operation.

The Contractor Licensing Board has the power and authority to discipline
licensed contractors.  In addition, the Board relies on the Division of Labor to
perform specific administrative duties which are defined in statute.  However,
there has been some confusion as to where certain authority and responsibilities
were placed within the Contractor Licensing Act.  More specifically, the Board
feels that it has the authority to control the funding the Division of Labor receives
from the Legislature for contractor licensing operations.

Confusion Within the Statute

Division of Labor representatives feel that the Contractor Licensing
Act does not provide a precise distinction between the authority of the Board
and that of the Commissioner with respect to the Board’s funding.  This has led
to a difference of opinion between the Contractor Licensing Board and the
Division of Labor regarding who has the authority to control the Division of
Labor’s contractor licensing budget.  Mainly, the confusion stems from West
Virginia Code §21-11-17 which states in part:

The board shall keep a record of all actions taken and
account for moneys received.  All moneys shall be deposited
in a special account in the state treasury to be known as
the “West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board Fund”.
Expenditures from said fund shall be for the purposes set
forth in this article and are not authorized from collections
but are to be made only in accordance with appropriation
by the Legislature and in accordance with the provisions
of article three, chapter twelve of this code and upon the
fulfillment of the provisions set forth in article two, chapter
five-a of this code...

As a result of the aforementioned code site, the Contractor Licensing
Board feels that it has the authority to tell the Division of Labor how much
money should be spent regarding the contractor licensing budget.  However,
the Division of Labor believes that authority belongs to the Legislature.  Therefore,
the Legislative Auditor requested a legal opinion from Legislative Services in
order to provide a distinction between the authority of the Board and that of the
Division of Labor.  Legal staff from Legislative Services responded by stating
that:

   “...the Contractor Licensing
Board feels that it has the
authority to tell the Division
of Labor how much money
should be spent regarding the
contractor licensing budget.
However, the Division of
Labor believes that authority
belongs to the Legislature.”



Page 30 September 2002

DRAFT

Unfortunately, there is no clear answer as to whether the
Board or the Division has the authority in this or similar
situations.  There is an absence of statutory guidance as to
how these parties are to operate in the awkward
arrangement they share... the problem should be addressed
by additional legislation which clarifies or changes the
relationship between these parties.

This problem is related to the issue of funding the consumer complaint
process, mentioned in Issue 4 of this report.  Other possible remedies for this
problem include the Legislature statutorily mandating the Board to raise it’s
contractor licensing fees, or the Legislature appropriating monies from another
source to fund the implementation of the complaint process.  However, this
would not address the long-term problems that exist in the current arrangement
between the Board and the Division.

Recommendation 7:

The Legislature should consider drafting legislation that clarifies or
changes the relationship between the Contractors Licensing Board and the Di-
vision of Labor with regard to budgetary matters.

   “...there is no clear answer
as to whether the Board or the
Division has the authority in
this or similar situations.”
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