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Executive Summary
Issue 1: The  Division  of Motor  Vehicles  Has  Taken

Appropriate Measures in Tightening Laws for
Obtaining  Driverís  Licenses  and  Personal
Identification Cards But it Could Do More.

The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has put security measures in
place to prevent counterfeit and fraudulent driverís licenses and personal
identification cards.  The Division has incorporated a state of the art digitized
system to decrease the possibility of fraudulent IDís.  The Division also has in
place an encrypted bar code on the back of the license which allows authorities
and businesses with scanners to obtain the information on the front of the license.
The Division is establishing an investigative/fraud unit that will investigate the theft
of valid driverís licenses, along with other types of fraud. The Legislative
Auditor commends  the Division of Motor Vehicles on  the security
features in place to prevent fraudulent drivers licenses and IDís.

No matter how state of the art a Driverís License and Identification
System, there is no 100% guarantee against forgery.  Since the  terrorist attacks
on September 11, forty- three states have introduced or enacted new legislation
to make it more difficult to obtain a driverís license as well as increasing the
penalties for having a fraudulent license.  West Virginia is one of the seven
states that have not introduced or enacted new legislation.  The Legislative
Auditor also found that fifteen states have introduced or passed drivers license
legislation that relates to the issue of legal presence, which includes three
surrounding states that have already passed legislation. The legislation ties the
expiration of the license to the individualís legal presence in the United States,
primarily with the visa.  While current requirements for obtaining a license are
adequate, measures should be taken to enhance the security regarding
the issuance of driverís licenses and personal identification cards.

Regarding ways to curb underage drinking, the Legislative Auditor
believes that the Legislature should consider securing an ultraviolet (UV) feature
which can only be viewed by an ultraviolet or black light should be added to the
states driverís license.  The cost of the UV feature would not only be minimal
for the state, but for retailers and bar owners as well, since many bars already
have black lights for decoration and lighting purposes.  All a retailer or bar owner
would have to do is simply place the ID under a black light to determine its validity
and to spot holograms that forgers often arenít able to easily create. Thus, the
Legislative Auditor recommends that the DMV consider adding the
ultraviolet feature to drivers licenses.
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Issue Area 2: The Division of Motor Vehicles Should
Consider Restructuring Its Taxation on
Vehicle Title Transactions.

West Virginia Code ß17A-3-4(b) states that before the Division of
Motor Vehicles issues a title for a vehicle, a 5% tax on the vehicle value must be
paid.  The Division admits that in practice, they will charge a 5% tax on the net
purchase price, not the value of the vehicle as provided by the new owner.  The
Division averages approximately 700,000 title transactions per year.  In FY
2002 there were 98,086 transactions valued at $500 and below, with 28,630
of these vehicles valued at $100 or less.  In fact, the Legislative Auditor
questions how many vehicles valued at less than $500 could pass West
Virginia vehicle inspection.  The DMV commissioner states:

That any vehicle less than $500 should not be on the road.  A
good example  is  that a new set of  tires  is going  to cost more
than  $100.

The Division has recommended that they would like to establish the
minimum value of a traded vehicle at $500.  The Legislative Auditor agrees with
this recommendation of setting the minimum value of a vehicle transaction to
$500 which would be a flat minimum rate charge of $25 on anything below this
standard. The Division would have generated an additional $1,333,589 in
revenues for FY 2002 if the $500 minimum value were implemented.  Of the five
surrounding states, three already have set a minimum value on vehicles for titling
fees.

In order to determine whether vehicles have been reported to DMV as
undervalued, the Legislative Auditor took a sample of vehicle title transfers
valued and taxed for $500 or less. The sample indicated that 86% (all post- 1980
models) of these vehicles carry a Red Book value greater than $500. Only 2 of
the vehicles transacted on August 9, 2002 reported to the DMV as being valued
at $500 or less actually had a sales value of $500 or less, according to the Red
Book. The results of the sample provides supportive evidence of the
Legislative Auditorís recommendation.

Recommendations

1. The Division of Motor Vehicles  should consider all  forms of
legislation to prevent fraudulent drivers licenses and personal
identification cards, such as requiring a picture I.D. for non-
residents  to  obtain  a  drivers  license  or  tying  non-residents
drivers license expiration date with their visa.
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2. The  Division  of Motor  Vehicles  should  consider  the
addition of an ultraviolet hologram to the West Virginia
driverís  license  to  counteract  fraudulent  use  of
identifications for underage drinking.

3. The  Legislature  should  consider  amending  West
Virginia Code ß17A-3-4(1) by creating a minimum value
for vehicle transactions at $500 and set a flat rate on any
transaction $500 and below at $25.

4. The  Division  should  audit  vehicle  transactions  to
determine  the present market value  to ensure  that  the
proper tax is being paid by those conducting used vehicle
transactions.

5. The  Legislative  Auditor  recommends  continuing  the
audit of the Division of Motor Vehicles in 2003.
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Review Objective, Scope and Methodology
This is a Full Performance Review of the West Virginia Division of

Motor Vehicles as required by WVC ß4-10-4.  The Division of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for ensuring the ethical interpretation and
application of motor vehicle and related laws, providing essential motor
vehicle and driver services to the public, promoting highway safety, and
collecting revenue for transportation programs.

Objective

The objective of this review is to examine the following issues:

(1) Has DMV taken appropriate measures to prevent counterfeit and
fraudulent driverís licenses and personal identification cards?

(2) Is the Divisionís taxation on vehicle title transactions providing an
adequate revenue stream?

Scope

The scope of this review is from fiscal year 2001-2002, concerning the
activities from the State of West Virginia and other states. The report also
includes a sample conducted from information provided by the Division.

Methodology

The Legislative Auditorís Office examined data provided by the
Division of Motor Vehicles, which included annual reports, budget documents,
and other data provided by the agency.  The report was developed through
analysis of that data, interviews and information requested from agency
personnel,  interviews  and  information  from  other  states,  government
publications, and information obtained from the internet.  Every aspect of this
evaluation complied with Generally Accepted Government Auditing
Standards (GAGAS).
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Issue 1
The Division of Motor Vehicles Has Taken Appropriate
Measures  in Tightening Laws  for Obtaining Driverís
Licenses and Personal  Identification Cards But  It Could
Do More.

The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has put security measures in
place to prevent counterfeit and fraudulent driverís licenses and personal
identification cards.  The Division has incorporated a state of the art system to
decrease the possibility of fraudulent IDís.  No matter how state of the art a
Driverís License and Identification System, there is no 100% guarantee against
forgery.  Nonetheless, the Division could do more to decrease the forgery of
IDís.

At least four of the nineteen hijackers on September 11 held a Virginia
driverís license, which eased their travel around the United States.  Since the
terrorist attacks, forty- three states have introduced or enacted new legislation
to make it more difficult to obtain a driverís license as well as increasing the
penalties for having a fraudulent license.  West Virginia is one of the seven
states that have not introduced or enacted new legislation.  There is also
a growing concern with fake IDís and underage drinking.  With advancing
computer technology, teens are able to forge a driverís license which allows
them to enter illegally into nightclubs as well as purchasing alcohol.  In January
of 2001, agents of the Alcohol Beverage Control Administration (ABCA)
recently cited half of the two dozen Morgantown businesses it investigated for
selling alcohol to minors.  While the businesses may have been guilty for
intentionally selling alcohol to underage customers, the ABCA Commissioner
called underage drinking problem a ìdisgraceî when visiting the city.  The
Commissioner stated in a letter to the Legislative Auditor that:

...  there  is a  connection between  fake  IDís and underage
drinking.

In addition, the Commissioner went on to state that:

While detecting  fake  IDís would not  eliminate underage
consumption,  it would have a dramatic and positive
effect.

Current Measures

The Division of Motor Vehicles has already implemented some
measures to prevent the use of fraudulent IDís as listed below:
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1. The Division of Motor Vehicles has incorporated a new state of the art
digitized identification system with two biometric identifiers. The first is
a facial recognition program which compares various facial features of
the individual, including the distance between the pupils of the eyes.  If
the photos do not match, the system sends back an immediate warning
to the Division.  West Virginia was one of the first states to incorporate
such a feature.  The second identifier is a voluntary option to include a
fingerprint on their license.  To enhance the law, the Division has
suggested an option to make the fingerprint option mandatory since the
option is available at all drivers licensing  services in West Virginia.

2.  The Division also has in place an encrypted bar code on the back of
the license which allows authorities and businesses with scanners to
obtain the information on the front of the license.  The scanner system
which was developed by the Alcohol Beverage Control Administration
(ABCA) is able to scan IDís from forty-three other states as well as
military IDís.  However, there are some setbacks with this process:

ï The scanning systems are expensive at $1,900 each.
ABCA does provide an incentive to businesses that
purchase a scanner by offering to reduce any fines for
selling alcohol to minors, but the cost is still high,
especially for the small business person.

ï There is no way in determining if the card has been lost
or stolen.

ï The bar code currently does not encode the picture of
the licensee, only the text information.  (DMV is
considering this option)

3. The Division has made major steps in combating fraudulent IDís usage,
and some features recommended by the American Association of Motor
Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) have already been incorporated on
the West Virginia Driverís licenses.

4. The Division is establishing an investigative/fraud unit that will investigate
the theft of valid driverís licenses, along with other types of fraud.  The
unit will be led by two retired State Police officers, and will enhance the
Divisionís ability to track down instances of driverís license fraud.
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Proposed Measures by the Legislative Auditor

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL),
since the terrorist attacks on the United States, twenty one states have enacted
new regulations to make it harder to get drivers licenses and personal identification
cards.  In addition, legislation has been introduced in another twenty two states
to tighten regulations on obtaining driverís licenses. West Virginia is one of the
few states that have not enacted or proposed new legislation.  While current
requirements for obtaining a license are adequate, the state should not risk not
tightening requirements.  Some examples of legislation passed and proposed
are listed below, while the full listing from NCSL is available in Appendix A:

ï California - Requires the DMV to cross-reference thumb or
fingerprints collected at application for driverís license with
the state Department of Justice database.

ï Delaware - Requires social security number and proof of legal
residence in the United States to receive a driverís license.

ï Kentucky - Requires proof of legal residence in the United
States before the issuance of a license.  Also, ties expiration of
driverís license of an non-resident with their visa or one year,
whichever is shorter.

ï Virginia - Increases fines for providing false identification
documents and for employees knowingly issuing a driverís
license to a person providing false information from a Class 2
misdemeanor to a Class 4 felony.

The Legislative Auditor also found that fifteen states have introduced
or passed drivers license legislation that relates to the issue of legal presence.
As shown below nine states have introduced legislation establishing legal
presence of non-residents , and an additional six, including three surrounding
states, have already passed the legislation since September 11.  The legislation
ties the expiration of the license to the individualís legal presence in the United
States, primarily with the visa.  Additionally, other states may already have had
legislation in place before September 11 establishing legal presence of non-
residents, but West Virginia has not.
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As a security matter, the state should reexamine who should be granted a stateís
driverís license or identification card and what documents must be presented at
application.  Currently, West Virginiaís Department of Motor Vehicles requires
two primary documents needed to apply for a driverís license, which are a
birth certificate and social security card.  A DMV official stated that:

At  the moment  the weakest  link  to verifying  identities  is  the
two  primary  documents  to  apply  for  a  driverís  license.
Neither one  includes any  identifiable  features.

While the DMV has current measures in place, the Division could strengthen its
security measures, by requesting legislation or issuing requirements such as legal
presence legislation that has been added in other states.

Ultraviolet Feature Could Possibly Curb Fake IDís Used
to Obtain Alcohol

Regarding ways to curb underage drinking the Legislative Auditor  be-
lieves that the Division should consider securing an ultraviolet (UV) feature
which can only be viewed by an ultraviolet or black light to the states driverís
license. This feature is already used by many credit card companies.  In fact,
many people may be unaware of this UV feature on their credit cards.  Further
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research found that Minnesota and Michigan have already added this feature to
their drivers licenses.  According to an official from Michigan, the cost of the
UV feature was 3.7 cents per card.

The cost of the UV feature would not only be minimal for the state, but
for retailers and bar owners as well, since many bars already have black lights
for decoration and lighting purposes.  Black lights can be purchased for less
than twenty dollars as opposed to the $1,900 scanning system.  All a retailer or
bar owner would have to do is simply place the ID under a black light to
determine its validity and to spot holograms that forgers often arenít able to
easily create.   The ultraviolet feature has worked in the state of Michigan,
because according to an official from that state:

[they] have  seen  very  few  counterfeits  that are  even
        reasonable  since  they  have  used  the UV  security.

The Legislative Auditor finds that the addition of this low cost technol-
ogy could curb some underage drinking.  While the technologically advanced
scanner is beneficial, the ultraviolet feature would be an additional layer of se-
curity to prevent counterfeit IDís.  The scanner system is expensive, and ac-
cording to a letter from a DMV official, there seem to be very few of them in
place.  In addition, businesses that can not afford the scanner system would
have an  additional alternative.  In fact, if the DMV added the ultraviolet fea-
ture, a West Virginia driverís license would be similar to the security features of
a credit card.  A credit card has the text information to enter manually on the
front along with holograms, and the ultraviolet feature.  On the back of the
credit card is a magnetic strip that has the information encoded.  Thus, the
Legislative Auditor recommends that the DMV consider adding the ultraviolet
feature to drivers licenses.
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Conclusion

The Legislative Auditor  commends  the Division of Motor
Vehicles on the security features in place to prevent fraudulent drivers
licenses and IDís.  Some of the features recommended for driverís licenses
by the AAMVA have already been incorporated by the Division.  However, in
lieu of the terrorists attacks, measures should be taken to enhance the security
regarding the issuance of driverís licenses and personal identification cards.  In
addition, DMV should look into adding an ultraviolet feature to the IDís to help
control underage drinking.

Recommendations

1. The Division of Motor Vehicles  should  consider all  forms of
legislation  to prevent  fraudulent drivers  licenses and personal
identification cards, such as requiring a picture I.D. for non-residents
to obtain a drivers license or tying non-residents drivers license
expiration date with their visa.

2. The Division of Motor Vehicles should consider the addition of an
ultraviolet hologram  to  the West Virginia driverís  license  to
counteract fraudulent use of identifications for underage drinking.
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The  Division  of  Motor  Vehicles  Should  Consider
Restructuring Its Taxation on Vehicle Title Transactions.

West Virginia Code ß17A-3-4(b) states that before the Division of
Motor Vehicles issues a title for a vehicle, a 5% tax on the vehicle value must be
paid.  The Division admits that in practice, they will charge a 5% tax on the net
purchase price, not the value of the vehicle as provided by the new owner.  A
sample of vehicle sales valued by the owner at $500 or less, indicated that 86%
(all post-1980 models) of these vehicles carry a Automobile Red Book value
greater than $500. The Legislative Auditor recommends that the Legislature
consider a minimum value for vehicles of $500 or determine other means to
more accurately access this tax, which would in turn increase revenues for the
Division.  The Division would have generated an additional $1,333,589 in
revenues for FY 2002 if the $500 minimum value were implemented.

Issue 2

Fiscal Year 2002 Vehicle Transactions

The Division averages approximately 700,000 title transactions per year.
In FY 2002 there were 98,086 transactions valued at $500 and below, with
28,630 of these vehicles valued at $100 or less.  While the Legislative Auditor
concedes that there are some vehicles valued at less than $500, these would be
minimal at best.  In fact, the Legislative Auditor questions how many
vehicles valued at  less  than $500 could pass West Virginia vehicle
inspection.  The DMV commissioner states:

That any vehicle  less  than $500  should not be on  the  road.
A good  example  is  that a new  set of  tires  is going  to  cost
more  than $100.

According to WV Code ß17A-3-4(1):

If  the  vehicle  is  new,  the  actual  purchase  price  or
consideration  to  the purchaser of  the vehicle  is  the value of
the vehicle.    If  the vehicle  is a used or  secondhand vehicle,
the present market value at  the  time of  transfer or purchase
is  the  value of  the  vehicle  for  the purpose of  this  section.
Provided,  That  so  much  of  the  purchase  price  or
consideration as  is represented by  the exchange of  the other
vehicles on which  the  tax  imposed by  the  section has been
paid by the purchaser shall be deducted from the total actual
price  or  consideration,  paid  for  the  vehicle, whether  the
vehicle be new or  secondhand.
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Individuals Intentionally Lower Market Values to Avoid
Higher Taxes

The impression is given that citizens may be lowering the value of a
vehicle to avoid paying a higher tax.  Thus, the Legislative Auditor has
determined that there is a problem with individuals titling vehicles lower
than the present market value to avoid paying higher titling fees.  In
addition, part of the problem could be that the Division does not monitor or
audit vehicle transactions to determine the market value of the vehicle.  For
example, when a transaction is submitted to the Division, there is no verification
on the part of the Division.  Auditing these transactions would require more
staffing to carry out that task or task readjustments of the current staff.
Nonetheless, the Division is losing potential revenues due to these lowered
valuations.

Creating a Minimum Value

The Legislative Auditor conducted a survey of surrounding states, and
found that  Pennsylvania and Ohio have not set minimum values on vehicles for
titling fees.  The state of Kentucky has set a minimum value of $100, however,
if a vehicle is sold at a price other than the retail value an affidavit must be
signed by both the purchaser and seller.  The affidavit then must be notarized
and submitted to Kentuckyís Department of Motor Vehicles.  Maryland and
Virginia have implemented a structure with minimum values and fixed  rates
which is shown in Table 2 below.  Maryland charges a 5% fee while Virginia
charges 3% fee on the sale price of the vehicle which exceeds their set minimum
values.
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In conversations with officials from West Virginiaís Division of Motor Vehicles,
the Commissioner recommended that they would like to establish the minimum
value of a traded vehicle at $500.  The Legislative Auditor agrees with this
recommendation of setting the minimum value of a vehicle transaction to $500
which would be a flat minimum rate charge of $25 on anything below this
standard.  Transaction figures provided by the Division allowed the Legislative
Auditor to calculate the projected revenues received in FY 2002 if a minimum
value of $500 was in place.  The Division would have generated an additional
$1,333,589  in  revenues  for FY 2002  if  the $500 minimum value were
implemented.  Table 3 below represents how much revenue was received in
FY 2002 and how much would have been received if the minimum value
recommendation was in place:
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Vehicle Sample Further Substantiates the Need for a
Minimum Tax Value

In order to determine whether vehicles have been reported to DMV as
undervalued, the Legislative Auditor took a sample of vehicle title transfers
valued and taxed for $500 or less.  The Legislative Auditor requested from the
Division the number of vehicles sold for $500 or less for the week of August 5
- 9, 2002.  The Division then provided to the Legislative Auditor a listing of
each vehicle sold for the day.   For this particular week, Friday, August 9th had
the  lowest amount of  transactions  for $500 or below, which was 281
transactions.  The Legislative Auditor decided to use August 9th as the sample
date.  The following table shows the breakdown of the sample along with the
reported sales value.

The list of 281 transactions included:  the Vehicle Identification Number;
the make of the vehicle; the model year of the vehicle; the amount of the actual
sale; and the tax paid.  The Legislative Auditor then used data from  the Red
Book.  The Red Book value of each the 281 vehicle transactions was then
determined by inputting the Vehicle Identification Number from each transaction
which then returned the make, model, year, and Red Book sale value of the
car.  In cases where more than one sale value was provided, the Legislative
Auditor chose the lowest of the values.  To clarify, the Red Book sale values
returned were for vehicles which were in what is considered as ìgoodî condition.
The Legislative Auditor has no knowledge of the condition of the vehicles included
in this sample, nor the amount of mileage on the vehicles.  In addition, the Red
Book values were only for vehicles from model year 1981 and above.  Vehicles

Totals 281 100%
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before 1981 are not included in the Red Book and are all just assigned a general
value of $100, although 2 pre-1981 vehicles did return a value.  In this sample
of the 281 transactions, 36 were pre-1981 vehicles, which returned no value.

The results of the sample provides supportive evidence of the
Legislative Auditorís recommendation.  Only 2 of the vehicles transacted
on August 9, 2002 reported to the DMV as being valued at $500 or less
actually had a sales value of $500 or less, according to the Red Book.  These
two vehicles had a Red Book value of $500.  There were no post-1980 vehicles
valued at less than $500.  While more than half of the sample (140 transactions)
was valued at $1,000 or less, 105 transactions had Red Book values over
$1000.  In addition, 55 vehicles, or 20% of the total sample, were valued at
$2,000 or more.  The highest valued vehicle was for a Chevrolet truck, with an
Red Book value of $20,385, and reported to the DMV by the new purchaser
of having a value of $500.  The following table displays the sample results.
Again, while the Legislative Auditor does not know the condition of the vehicles
sold, the sample does show that there is some under reporting of a vehicleís
value to the DMV in order to lower the tax.  The full sample is located in
Appendix B.



Page 22 January 2003

As stated previously, the Division is losing potential revenues due to these
lowered valuations.  On this particular date, the Division received revenues of
$4,033 from vehicles transacted at $500 or less.  If the minimum $500 tax
value would have been in place, the Division would have received $7,025, a
difference of $2,992.  In addition, with the additional revenue generated from
setting a minimum value, the Division could add staff to audit the transactions
that could be possibly undervalued.  The Legislative Auditor analyzed the
potential lost revenues in this sample just from the 109 transactions with Red
Book values of $1,000 or more.  If these transactions were taxed at the
Red Book  values, then the Division would have received $15,493 in
taxes or $13,753 of additional tax revenues.  The added revenues from
these tax receipts in one day could have paid a large portion of a DMV
auditorís salary.  While the Legislative Auditorís sample is only a small
representation of one dayís sales, the results do show justification for a minimum
value.

Division of Motor Vehicles Recommended Values

In  addition, representatives from the Division offered recommendations
for minimum values on all vehicles transacted by model year.  Table 6 displays
the Divisionís recommended values.

If the Division would have had the desired minimum values from Table 6 in
place for FY 2002, an additional  $8,840,685 of revenues would have been
received.  While additional revenues would be raised, the Division states that
several staff would have to be added to offset the increased workload (i.e.
handling complaints and explaining the new values).  The Legislative Auditor
agrees that the minimum value on all vehicles transacted should not be less than
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$500, but cannot make a determination on whether minimum values should be
set as high as the DMV recommends.  While the minimum values do seem fair,
citizens could claim that many vehicles fall well below these values.  The
Legislative Auditor recommends that at a minimum, the rate should be
assessed a minimum value of $500.  In addition, the Legislative Auditor
finds that with the additional revenues created by setting the minimum value to
$500, the DMV could possibly hire additional staff to audit vehicle transactions
for accuracy and legitimacy to determine the present market value of transactions.
With staff to audit vehicle transactions, the Division could in turn create additional
revenues by verifying present market values, which could substantiate the
Divisionís recommended values as shown in Table 6.

Conclusion

According to West Virginia Code, the Division of Motor Vehicles shall
charge a 5% fee on the value of a vehicle before the issuance of the vehicles
title.  However, in practice the Division charges a 5% fee of the purchase price
of the vehicle.  This is a problem for the Division since in some instances
individuals intentionally lower the price of the vehicle to avoid paying a higher
transaction fee.  The Legislative Auditor agrees that individuals are lowering the
sale price of the vehicle in order to pay a lower transaction fee.  A sample of
vehicle sales valued by the owner at $500 or less, indicated that 86% of these
vehicles carry a Red Book  value greater than $500.  The Legislative Auditor
recommends setting a minimum value of a vehicle transaction at $500 with a flat
rate charge of $25 on transactions $500 or less.  DMV would have generated
an additional $1,333,589 in revenues for FY 2002 if the Legislative Auditors
recommendation was in place.  In order to determine if the Division of Motor
Vehicles recommended vehicle values in Table 6 are justifiable, the Legislative
Auditor would like to continue the audit of the Department of Motor Vehicles in
2003.

Recommendations

3. The Legislature  should consider amending West Virginia Code
ß17A-3-4(1) by creating a minimum value for vehicle transactions
at $500 and set a flat rate on any transaction $500 and below at
$25.

4. The Division should audit vehicle transactions to determine the
present market value to ensure that the proper tax is being paid by
those conducting used vehicle transactions.
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5. The Legislative Auditor recommends continuing the audit of the
Division of Motor Vehicles  in 2003  to review all vehicle values
with respect to the sales tax accessed to determine the likelihood
of further abuse.
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Appendix A:    Transmittal Letter
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Appendix B:  2001-2002 Driverís License/State Identification Bills
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Appendix C:  Vehicle Valuation Sample
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Appendix D:  ABCA Response
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Appendix E:  Agency Response
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