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Real Estate Commission

Executive Summary
Issue �: The Real Estate Commission Has in a Few 
 Incidences Violated §�0-�0-�0 by not Allowing 
 Licensees the Opportunity to First Respond  to 

Complaints Filed Against Them Before Prob-
able Cause Is Determined and a Consent Decree 
Is Issued.

 The Legislative Auditor had a concern that the Real Estate 
Commission may have violated i ts  enabling statute in i ts 
resolution of complaints.  Upon review of the Commission’s 
complaint process, the Legislative Auditor found that in four incidences, the 
Commission had violated West Virginia Code §30-40-20 that requires the 
Commission to allow licensees 20 days to respond to a complaint before it 
determines probable cause against licensees.  In these cases, the Commission  
submitted to some licensees consent decrees before it had provided 
licensees with the opportunity to first respond to the initial complaint 
against them.  The consent decrees essentially indicated that the 
Commission had already determined probable cause of licensure 
violations before the licensees were aware of the complaints against 
them.  The consent decrees informed licensees of the violations, the 
disciplinary actions that would be taken if the licensees signed the consent 
decrees.  If the consent decrees were not signed, the Commission indicated 
that a formal hearing would be held.  In addition, the Legislative Auditor 
found that, contrary to his earlier performance report on the Real Estate 
Commission, the Commission has not promulgated procedural rules that 
specify its procedure for investigating and resolving all complaints against 
licensees, as required by the general provisions of Chapter 30 (§30-1-8).

Recommendations

1. The Real Estate Commission should comply with its enabling statute 
§30–40-20 in the investigation and resolution of all complaints 
against licensees which requires that licensees receive a copy of 

 allegations against them and be given 20 days to respond to the 
 allegations prior to probable cause being determined by the 
 Commission.

2. The Real Estate Commission should comply with the general 
 provisions of Chapter 30, Article 1, Section 8 that requires 
 procedural rules be adopted that describe the Commission’s 
 complaint investigation and resolution process for all 
 complaints.

In these cases, the Com-
mission  submitted to some 
licensees consent decrees 
before it had provided licens-
ees with the opportunity to 
first respond to the initial 
complaint against them.  
The consent decrees es-
sentially indicated that the 
Commission had already 
determined probable cause 
of licensure violations be-
fore the licensees were 
aware of the complaints 
against them.
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Review Objective, Scope and Methodology
 This Special Report on the Real Estate Commission is 
authorized by West Virginia Code §4-2-5, as amended.  This review was 
initiated by the Legislative Auditor out of a concern that the Real Estate 
Commission was violating West Virginia Code §30-40-20 during the resolution 
process of complaints against some licensees.  This statute requires that 
the Commission forward complaints to licensees and give them 20 days 
to respond before the Commission determines probable cause.  The 
Legislative Auditor had information that suggested that in certain cases 
the Commission was determining probable cause before licensees knew 
that a complaint had been filed against them.

Objective

 The objective of this review was to determine if the Real Estate 
Commission is in violation of West Virginia Code §30-40-20 as it pertains 
to resolving complaints against licensees.

Scope

 The scope of this review is strictly on the complaint resolution 
process.  The scope was not restricted to any particular year.  Complaints 
that were resolved in violation of §30-40-20 were reviewed regardless of 
the year of the complaint.

Methodology

 The methodology for this review involved an examination of 
complaints that the Commission identified as being conducted in a 
manner to expedite the complaint process.  The Legislative Auditor 
reviewed these cases to determine if they were resolved in violation of 
§30-40-20.  The Commission’s enabling statute and its rules were also 
reviewed.  The executive director of the Real Estate Commission was 
interviewed during this review as well.  The only component of the 
Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards that was not complied 
with was referencing the draft report (GAS 8.45), which is a quality control 
measure.  The workload of the auditing staff precluded the availability of 
an independent auditor to review the accuracy of the report.  The affect of 
not following this standard likely had minimal affect on the audit, given 
that the Commission acknowledged the accuracy of the report.
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Issue �
The Real Estate Commission Has in a Few Incidences 
Violated §�0-�0-�0 by not Allowing Licensees the 
Opportuni ty  to  F irs t  Respond to  Compla ints 
Fi led Against  Them Before Probable Cause Is 
Determined and a Consent Decree Is Issued.

Issue Summary

 The Legislative Auditor initiated a review of the complaint 
process of the Real Estate Commission in response to a concern 
that the Commission may have violated its enabling statute in its 
investigation of complaints.  This review found that in a few incidences, the 
Commission submitted to some licensees consent decrees before it had 
provided licensees with the opportunity to first respond to the initial 
complaint against them.  The consent decrees essentially informed the 
licensees that the Commission had determined that licensure violations 
had occurred before the licensees were aware of the complaint and 
before they were given the opportunity to respond to the 
allegations.  This practice is in clear violation of the Commission’s statute 
(§30-40-20) that indicates the Commission is to send a copy of the 
complaint to licensees for their response.  In addition, the Legislative 
Auditor found that, contrary to his earlier performance report on the Real 
Estate Commission, the Commission has not promulgated procedural rules 
that specify its procedure for investigating and resolving all complaints 
against licensees, as required by the general provisions of Chapter 30 
(§30-1-8).

In Its Attempt to Expedite the Complaint Resolution Process, 
the Commission Violated Statutory Provisions for Certain 
Licensees.

 The Real Estate Commission’s enabling statute (§30-40-20) 
specifies how licensees are to be notified of complaints filed against them:

Upon initiation or receipt of the complaint, the commission 
shall provide a copy of the complaint to the licensee for his 
or her response to the allegations contained in the com-
plaint.  The accused party shall file an answer within twenty 
days of the date of service. . . . After receiving the licensee’s 
response and reviewing any information obtained through 

This  review found that 
in a few incidences, the 
Commission submitted to 
some licensees consent decrees 
before it had provided licens-
ees with the opportunity to first 
respond to the initial complaint 
against them.  The consent 
decrees essentially informed 
the licensees that the Com-
mission had determined that 
licensure violations had 
occurred before the licensees 
were aware of the complaint and 
before they were given the 
opportunity to respond to 
the allegations. 
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investigation, the commission shall determine if probable 
cause exists that the licensee has violated any provision of 
this article or the rules.

 The law clearly indicates that the Commission is to forward the 
complaint to the licensee and give the licensee 20 days of the date of service 
to respond to the allegations.  The Legislative Auditor found four cases in 
which the Commission sent consent decrees to licensees as the first point of 
communication.  One was sent in 2003, two were sent in 2004, and another 
in 2006.  In the proposed consent decrees, the allegations are presented as 
having been completely investigated, found to be true, with orders to the 
licensees and the offer to sign the consent decree as an acknowledgment 
of the violation and as a means to resolve the matter.  In each case, the 
licensee is given the choice to execute or not execute the consent decree.  
If the consent decree is not executed, the licensee was informed that a 
formal hearing process would be initiated.  The language in the attached 
letter to the consent decrees suggests that the Commission followed this 
course of action in order to expedite the complaint resolution process.

 The allegations in these cases involved serious violations and the 
Commission’s proposed consent decrees involved disciplinary action 
such as fines and suspension of licenses.  However, by law, the licensee is 
to be given the opportunity to first respond to the allegations.  The 
Commission is to then determine probable cause upon receipt of the 
licensee’s response to the allegations.  In the above four cases, the 
Commission had determined probable cause prior to the licensees 
receiving the allegations and responding to the allegations.  In 
all four cases, the Real Estate Commission violated its statutory 
responsibilities under §30-40-20.  In essence, licensees were treated as guilty of 
licensure violations prior to the opportunity to respond to the 
allegations.

 In addition, the Real Estate Commission has not adopted 
procedural rules that specify the Commission’s procedure for 
investigating and resolving all complaints against licensees.  
Chapter 30, Article 1, Section 8 requires that such procedural rules 
be filed on or before July 1, 2001.  The Real Estate Commission 
became subject to the general provisions of Chapter 30 in 2002.  
Nevertheless, the Commission has had ample time to comply with 
§30-1-8.

 The Legislative Auditor’s Office conducted a performance audit 
on the Commission in 2005.  The audit determined that the Commission 

The law clearly indicates 
that the Commission is to 
forward the complaint to 
the licensee and give the 
licensee 20 days of the 
date of service to respond 
to the allegations.  The 
Legislative Auditor found 
four cases in which the 
Commission sent consent 
decrees to licensees as the 
first point of communica-
tion.

In essence,  l icensees 
were treated as guilty of 
l i c e n s u r e  v i o l a t i o n s 
prior to the opportu-
nity to respond to the 
allegations.
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had procedural rules in place that described its process of complaint 
investigation and resolution.  However, upon reviewing this current 
issue, it was noticed that the Commission’s legislative rules (§174-1-15.1) 
were mistaken by the Legislative Auditor’s Office as a description of the 
Commission’s complaint resolution process, when in fact it is actually 
a description of how a complaint is to be filed with the Commission.  
The Commission needs to come into compliance with §30-1-8 by filing 
procedural rules that describe how the Commission will investigate and 
resolve all complaints when they have been received.

Conclusions

 The Legislative Auditor had concerns that the Commission 
may have violated its enabling statute (§30-40-20) with respect to its 
investigation and resolution of complaints against licensees.  Upon 
review of this issue, the Legislative Auditor found four cases in which the 
Commission did not give licensees an opportunity to first respond to 
allegations against them before probable cause was determined and 
consent decrees were issued by the Commission.  Instead, the 
Commission provided consent decrees as the first point of contact with these 
licensees.  The attached letters to the consent decrees make statements that 
indicate that the Commission had already determined probable cause and 
suggested to the licensees that signing the consent decree would resolve 
the complaint.  This procedure is in clear violation of West Virginia Code 
§30-40-20, which indicates that probable cause should be determined after 
a copy of the complaint has been forwarded to the licensee and the licensee 
has had 20 days to respond to the allegations.  The manner in which the 
Commission resolved these four complaints comes across as determining 
the licensees guilty of licensure violations before the licensees had the 
opportunity to respond to the allegations.  One of the four cases was as 
recently as of March 2006.  Furthermore, the Commission does not have 
procedural rules in place that describe the complaint investigation and 
resolution process as required by §30-1-8.

The Commission needs 
to come into compliance 
with §30-1-8 by filing 
procedural rules that 
describe how the Commis-
sion will investigate and 
resolve all complaints when 
they have been received.

Upon review of this issue, 
the Legislative Auditor 
found four cases in which
the Commission did not 
give licensees an oppor-
tunity to first respond to 
allegations against them 
before probable cause 
was  de t e rmined  and 
consent decrees were 
i s s u e d  b y  t h e  C o m -
mission.  Instead, the 
Commission provided 
consent decrees as the 
first  point of contact 
wi th  these  l icensees . 
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Recommendations

1. The Real Estate Commission should comply with its enabling 
statute §30–40-20 in the investigation and resolution of all com-
plaints against licensees which requires that licensees receive a 
copy of allegations against them and be given 20 days to respond 
to the allegations prior to probable cause being determined by the 

 Commission.

2. The Real Estate Commission should comply with the general 
 provisions of Chapter 30, Article 1, Section 8 that requires 
 procedural rules be adopted that describe the Commission’s 
 complaint investigation and resolution process for all 
 complaints.
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Appendix A: Transmittal Letter 
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Appendix B: Agency Response 
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