Member's Press Release

Release Date: 10/12/2010
Contact: Barbara Evans Fleischauer, (304) 340-3169

Select Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

WV Legislative Committee to Meet with Wife of Joint Chiefs of Staff Chair by Teleconference

CHARLESTON - The Legislature’s Select Committee on Veterans’ Affairs will be using teleconferencing technology to discuss issues facing returning veterans – including women service members, homeless veterans, and families of service members – with the wife of the United States Joint Chiefs of Staff Chairman.

Deborah Mullen, who has been married to Admiral Mike Mullen, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, for 40 years, will share her experiences and observations regarding life in the military with the 13-member joint House-Senate Committee. Mrs. Mullen will be broadcast via teleconference from Washington DC, while the committee meeting will take place 9 a.m. Wednesday at the West Virginia National Guard Facility.

“We are very honored to have Mrs. Mullen addressing us on these important issues.” House Co-Chair Barbara Evans Fleischauer said. “It will be interesting to conduct a legislative interim meeting using videoconferencing. We are looking forward to using this type of technology to connect with speakers who cannot travel to the state Capitol.”

Also during the meeting, the committee will hear from Toney Colagrosso of TRICARE on his company’s healthcare program.

Members of the public and the media are welcome to attend.

The following is the tentative schedule for the meeting:

8:00- 8:15: Committee members to meet on Greenbrier Street, adjacent to the Governor’s Drive to board the transportation to the WVNG facility;

8:15-8:30: Depart the Capitol for the WVNG facility;
8:30-9:00: Welcome by the WVNG and last minute preparations for the VTC with Mrs. Mullen;
9:00-9:30: Meeting is called to order with Mrs. Mullen over VTC;
9:30-10:00: Second half of the meeting featuring Tony Colagrosso on TRICARE;
10:00-12:00 (or earlier): Windshield tour of the updated facilities at the ANG;
12:00 (or earlier): Members return to the Capitol.

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****