Member's Press Release

Release Date: 07/13/2011
Contact: Delegate Armstead at (304) 340-3240

Minority Leader Tim Armstead

Minority Whip, Republican Caucus Chair Named

CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA – House Minority Leader Tim Armstead has named Delegate Mitch Carmichael (R-Jackson) to serve as Minority Whip for the remainder of the 80th Legislature. As Minority Whip, Delegate Carmichael will play a key role in advancing the Republican goals and objectives and will work with all members of the Republican Caucus to achieve those goals.

Minority Leader Armstead said of the appointment of Delegate Carmichael, “Mitch Carmichael’s intelligent approach to the challenges facing our citizens and his willingness to fight for bold and aggressive solutions to meet those challenges are tremendous assets in the West Virginia Legislature. I know that he will put those talents to good use as the Minority Whip.”

Delegate Carmichael has served for seven years as the Republican Caucus Chair. Minority Leader Armstead also named current Assistant Caucus Chair Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha) to replace Delegate Carmichael as the Caucus Chair and Delegate Daryl Cowles (R-Morgan) has been named to replace Delegate Lane as Assistant Caucus Chair. “Delegates Lane and Cowles are articulate and talented members of the House who will help develop and advance a positive, pro-jobs agenda to help move our state forward in the upcoming Legislative session,” added Minority Leader Armstead.

The Minority Whip position became vacant as a result of the recent passing of Delegate Larry Border (R-Wood). Delegate Border had been Minority Whip for the past seven years. “Delegate Larry Border served admirably as the Minority Whip of the House and his advice, leadership and dedication to our state will be deeply missed,” said Minority Leader Armstead.

For more information, please contact the House Minority Office at 340-3240.

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *