Member's Press Release

Release Date: 12/13/2011
Contact: House Majority Leader Brent Boggs, (304) 340-3220 and Delegate David Walker, (304) 340-3155

Majority Leader Brent Boggs and Delegate David Walker

Delegates Boggs and Walker Applaud Grants for Waterline Extension Projects

Charleston, WV - House Majority Leader Brent Boggs (D-Braxton) met with representatives from the Braxton and Gilmer County Commissions on Monday after both entities were awarded Small Cities Block Grant funding for waterline extension projects. These grants were part of more than $15 million in Small Cities Block Grant dollars approved by the Governor for 23 infrastructure projects around the state.

$1 million in funding was awarded to the Braxton County Commission for the final phase of the Sugar Creek Public Service District’s Wilsie-Rosedale Waterline Extension Project which will provide water to families in the Rosedale area of Braxton and Gilmer Counties.

The Gilmer County Commission received $200,000 towards a waterline extension project for the Cox’s Mill area. This $3.2 million project will extend water service to approximately 104 households. Staff from Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s office assured Delegate Boggs and Delegate David Walker (D-Clay) that the remaining portion of funding ($1.3 million) for this phase of the Cox’s Mill project will be available next July at the beginning of the new fiscal year. “I applaud Governor Earl Ray Tomblin for his commitment to this project,” Boggs stated. “The $200,000 grant coupled with the $1.3 million that will be awarded next July will ensure that this project remains on schedule and continues to move forward,” Delegate Walker added.

Funding for these critical infrastructure projects will assist the Braxton and Gilmer County Commissions and the local public service districts as they work to meet the basic needs of residents of Rosedale and Cox’s Mill.

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****