‹ Back  |  print page Print

§7-1-1. County commissions corporations; how constituted; election of president.

(a) The county commission, formerly the county court, tribunal or county council in lieu thereof, of every county within the State of West Virginia shall be a corporation by the name of "The county commission of ................... County", or "The County Council of ....................... County" by which name it may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded and contract and be contracted with. (b) A county commission shall consist of three commissioners as provided in section nine, article IX of the Constitution of the State of West Virginia, any two of whom shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(c) A county council, created on or after July 1, 2008, as an alternative to a county commission pursuant to section thirteen, article IX of the Constitution of West Virginia, shall consist of four or more members, a majority of whom shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(d) Unless provided otherwise in an alternative form of government, each county commission or council shall annually, at its first session in each year, or as soon thereafter as practicable, elect one of its commissioners or council members as president of the county commission or council.

(e) Throughout this chapter and the code, the term "county commission" or any reference to a county commission shall include all county councils created in lieu of the county commission.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **