SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§9-5-4. Penalties for false statements, etc.

Any person who obtains or attempts to obtain, or aids or abets an applicant or recipient in obtaining or attempting to obtain, by means of a willfully false statement or misrepresentation or by impersonation of any other fraudulent device:

(1) Any class of welfare assistance to which the applicant or recipient is not entitled; or

(2) Any class of welfare assistance in excess of that to which the applicant or recipient is justly entitled; shall upon conviction be punished as follows:

(a) If the aggregate value of all funds or other benefits obtained or attempted to be obtained shall be $500 or less, the person so convicted shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, shall be fined not more than $1,000 or confined in jail not exceeding one year; or

(b) If the aggregate value of all funds or other benefits obtained or attempted to be obtained shall exceed $500, the person so convicted shall be guilty of a felony and, shall be fined not more than $5,000 or confined in the penitentiary not less than one year nor more than five years.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *