‹ Back  |  print page Print

§10-1-5. Board of library directors -- Qualifications; term of office; vacancies; removal; no compensation.

(a) Whenever a public library is established under this article, the governing authority or authorities shall appoint a board of directors with five members chosen with reference to their fitness for such office, from:

(1) The citizens of the library's service area, as determined by the Library Commission; or

(2) The county in which the library is located.

(b) The board of directors for a regional library shall consist of not less than five nor more than ten members, with a minimum of one member from each county in the region. The total number of directors and the apportionment of directors by county shall be determined by joint action of the governing authorities concerned.

(c) The term of office for a director is five years from July 1, following the appointment. Directors may serve until their successors are appointed and qualified.

(d) For a new board of directors under this article, the initial appointment of the directors shall be staggered. Thereafter all appointments shall be for terms of five years.

(e) Vacancies in the board shall be immediately reported by the board to the governing authority and filled by appointment. Vacancies for an unexpired term shall be immediately reported by the board to the governing authority and filled by appointment for the remainder of the term only.

(f) A director may be removed for just cause in the manner provided by the bylaws of the library board.

(g) No compensation shall be paid to any director.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***