SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§11-21-14. West Virginia standard deduction of a resident individual.

(a) General. -- The West Virginia standard deduction of a resident individual, or of husband and wife whose West Virginia taxable income is determined jointly, shall be ten per centum of West Virginia adjusted gross income or $1,000, whichever is less.

(b) Husband and wife determining income separately. -- The West Virginia standard deductions of husband and wife whose West Virginia taxable incomes are determined separately (whether or not on a single form) shall not exceed ten per centum of the aggregate of their separate West Virginia adjusted gross incomes or $1,000, whichever is less, but may be taken by either or divided between them in such proportions as they may elect.

(c) Expiration. -- The West Virginia standard deduction provided in this section shall not apply to taxable years beginning after December 31, 1986.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *