SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§11-9-5. Failure to account for and pay over another's tax.

Any person required by any provision of this chapter or article thirteen-c, chapter eight of this code to collect, or withhold, account for and pay over any tax, who willfully fails to truthfully account for and pay over the tax in the manner required by law, more than thirty days after the date the tax is required to be accounted for and paid over by law, is guilty of a felony if the amount of tax not paid over is $1,000 or more and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $5,000 nor more than $25,000 or imprisoned in a correctional facility not less than one nor more than three years, or, in the discretion of the court, be confined in jail not more than one year, or both fined and imprisoned; or is guilty of a misdemeanor, if the amount of tax not paid over is less than $1,000, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or imprisoned in jail not more than six months, or both fined and imprisoned. Each failure to account for and pay over tax for any tax period under this section is a separate offense and punishable accordingly: Provided, That thirty days prior to instituting a criminal proceeding under this section, the Tax Commissioner shall give the person written notice of the failure to truthfully account for and pay over tax. Notice shall be served on the person by certified mail or personal service.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****