SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§16-32-16. Penalties.

The director may impose a civil penalty of not less than $250 and not more than $5,000 for each separate violation of this article or any rules promulgated hereunder.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, any person who violates any provision of this article or any rule or regulation related hereto shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

In any case where a person fails to halt work following the issuance of a cease and desist order by the director, the violation shall be presumed to be willful and shall be assessed a civil penalty by the director of not less than $10,000 nor more than $25,000 for an initial violation and not less than $25,000 nor more than $50,000 for each subsequent violation.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***