SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§16-35-13. Penalties and fines.

(a) The director may impose a civil penalty of not less than $250 and not more than $5,000 for each separate violation of this article or any rules promulgated hereunder. In any case where a person fails to halt work following the issuance of a cease and desist order by the director, the violation shall be presumed to be willful and the person shall be assessed a civil penalty by the director of not less than $10,000 nor more than $25,000 for an initial violation and not less than $25,000 nor more than $50,000 for each subsequent violation. Failure to pay a civil penalty imposed by the director within thirty days of receipt of notification constitutes a separate violation.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, any person who violates any provision of this article or any rule promulgated hereunder is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $250, nor more than $50,000, or confined in the county or regional jail not more than one year, or both fined and confined.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **