‹ Back  |  print page Print

§17-23-9. Violations declared public nuisance; abatement; injunctions; penalties.

The establishment, operation or maintenance of a salvage yard or any part thereof in violation of any provision of this article is hereby declared to be a public nuisance, and the commissioner or the prosecuting attorney of the county in which such salvage yard or any part thereof is located shall apply to the circuit court or other court of competent jurisdiction of the county in which said salvage yard or any part thereof is located, for an injunction to abate such nuisance. The court shall have authority to hear and decide such questions and grant injunctions or such other relief as the court may deem proper.

Any person violating any provision of this article, whether as principal, agent or employee, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000; and such person shall be guilty of a separate offense for each month during a portion of which any violation of this article is committed, continued or permitted: Provided, however, That in the event of an appeal from any such conviction, the period between the date a notice of appeal is filed and the date of the final order of the court last considering the appeal shall not be considered a period of continuing in violation of this article.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****