SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§17A-2-13.  Authority to administer oaths and certify copies of records; information as to registration.

(a) Officers and employees of the division designated by the commissioner are, for the purpose of administering the motor vehicle laws, authorized to administer oaths and acknowledge signatures, and shall do so without fee.

(b) The commissioner and such officers of the division as he or she may designate are hereby authorized to prepare under the seal of the division and deliver upon request in conformance with article two-a of this chapter a certified copy of any record of the division, charging a fee of $1.50 for each document so authenticated, and every such certified copy is admissible in any proceeding in any court in like manner as the original thereof. The Division of Motor Vehicles may adjust this fee every five years on September 1, based on the U. S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics most current Consumer Price Index: Provided, That an increase in such fee may not exceed ten percent of the total fee amount in a single year.

(c) Subject to the provisions of article two-a of this chapter, the commissioner and such officers of the division as he or she may designate may furnish the requested information to any person making a written request for information regarding the registration of any vehicle at a fee of $1.50 for each registration about which information is furnished. The Division of Motor Vehicles may adjust this fee every five years on September 1, based on the U. S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics most current Consumer Price Index: Provided, That an increase in such fee may not exceed ten percent of the total fee amount in a single year.

(d) The provisions of this section enacted in 2017 take effect on July 1, 2017.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **