‹ Back  |  print page Print

§17A-3-1. Misdemeanor to violate provisions of article; penalty.

(a) It is unlawful for any person to drive or move or for an owner knowingly to permit to be driven or moved upon any highway any vehicle of a type required to be registered under this article which is not registered or for which a certificate of title has not been issued or applied for or for which the appropriate fee has not been paid when and as required under this article, except as otherwise permitted by the provisions of this chapter: Provided, That in the event of the sale of a vehicle by a person other than a registered dealer, the person purchasing the same may, for a period of not more than ten days, operate such vehicle under the registration of its previous owner and display the registration thereof: Provided, however, That he or she shall have and display on the demand of any proper officer the consent in writing of such previous owner so to use such registration.

(b) Unless otherwise provided for in this article, any person violating the provisions of this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $500; and upon a second or subsequent conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $500, or confined in the county or regional jail not more than six months, or both.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *