‹ Back  |  print page Print

§20-2-23d. Bond; revocation of license; licensing carrying requirement; criminal penalties.

(a) Immediately upon the issuance of a whitewater outfitter's license and before any whitewater outfitter's services are offered or rendered thereunder, the licensee shall execute a surety bond in the penal sum of $1,000 payable to the State of West Virginia and conditioned upon the faithful and reliable discharge of his or her services under and pursuant to the license. The bond shall be approved as to form by the Attorney General and as to surety by the director, and when so executed and approved, shall be filed in the office of the director of the Division of Natural Resources. The bond shall be for the life of the license.

(b) The whitewater commission is hereby authorized to revoke and cancel any whitewater outfitter's license for failure of the licensee to give the bond required by this section, for a licensee's violation or disregard of any of the provisions of this chapter, upon a licensee's conviction of a crime, or for any other reason or cause justifying refusal of the whitewater outfitter's license to the licensee upon a new application therefor. The commission shall afford a licensee an opportunity to be heard upon the revocation and cancellation of the license.

(c) No person shall act or serve as a whitewater outfitter, as defined in this article, without procuring and having on his or her person at the time a valid whitewater outfitter's license from the commission authorizing them to do so.

(d) Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section or of section twenty-three-a of this article, or any rule promulgated by the director of the Division of Natural Resources or who misrepresents any material fact in an application, record, report or other document filed or required to be maintained under the provisions of this article, or any rules promulgated hereunder by the director of the Division of Natural Resources, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500 per violation not to exceed a total penalty of $7,500 or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six months, or both fined and imprisoned.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **