‹ Back  |  print page Print

§20-2-26. Same -- License fee; bond; revocation of license; penalties.

When satisfied as to the applicant's qualifications for an outfitter's or guide's license and upon receipt of a fee of $10 therefor, the director shall issue such license which shall be for the calendar year therein designated.

Immediately upon the issuance of an outfitter's or guide's license and before any outfitter's or guide's services are offered or rendered thereunder, the licensee shall execute a surety bond in the penal sum of $1,000 payable to the State of West Virginia and conditioned upon the faithful and reliable discharge of his services under and pursuant to such license. Such bond shall be approved as to form by the Attorney General and as to surety by the director, and when so executed and approved, shall be filed in the office of the director. Such bond shall be for the life of the license.

The director is hereby authorized to revoke and cancel any such license for failure of the licensee to give the bond herein required, for licensee's violation or disregard of any of the provisions of this chapter, upon licensee's conviction of crime, or for any other reason or cause justifying refusal of the license to the licensee upon a new application therefor. The director shall afford a licensee an opportunity to be heard upon the revocation and cancellation of the license.

No person shall act or serve as a guide or outfitter, as defined in this article, without procuring and having on his person at the time a valid license from the director authorizing him so to do. Any person violating this provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, may be fined not exceeding $100 or confined in the county jail not exceeding ninety days, or, in the discretion of the court, be both fined and imprisoned within the limits herein prescribed.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **