‹ Back  |  print page Print

§20-2-42n. Class N resident and Class NN nonresident antlerless deer hunting stamp.

A Class N stamp is a resident deer hunting stamp for antlerless deer. A Class NN stamp is a nonresident deer hunting stamp for antlerless deer. These stamps entitle the licensee to hunt and take antlerless deer of either sex during the Class N season. The fee for a Class N stamp is $10 and the fee for a Class NN stamp is $25. Class N and NN stamps may be issued only for the purpose of removing antlerless deer when the Director determines it essential for proper management of the wildlife resources. The Director may promulgate rules governing the issuance and use of the Class N and NN stamps as deemed necessary to limit, on a fair and equitable basis, the number of persons who may hunt for antlerless deer in a county, or part of a county. When the Director determines it essential that a Class N or NN season be held in a particular county or part of a county, that season shall be set by the Natural Resources Commission as provided in section seventeen, article one of this chapter. Bona fide resident landowners or their resident children, or resident parents, bona fide resident tenants of such land and bona fide resident stockholders of resident corporations which are formed for the primary purpose of hunting or fishing and which are the fee simple owners of no less than one thousand acres of land upon which the antlerless deer may be hunted are not required to have a Class N stamp in their possession while hunting antlerless deer on their own land during the Class N season. A resident hunter, including those not required to purchase a license pursuant to section twenty-seven of this article, must purchase and carry a valid Class N stamp. A nonresident hunter must purchase and carry a valid Class NN stamp. These stamps require that the licensee purchase the appropriate base license before participating in the activities specified in this section, except as noted.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2019 West Virginia Legislature ***