SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§21-14-7. Penalties.

(a) On and after January 1, 2009, a person performing or offering to perform plumbing work without a license issued by the Commissioner of Labor, is subject to a cease and desist order.

(b) Any person continuing to engage in plumbing work after the issuance of a cease and desist order is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, is subject to the following penalties:

(1) For the first offense, a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $1,000;

(2) For the second offense, a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $2,000, or confinement in jail for not more than six months, or both;

(3) For the third and subsequent offenses, a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000, and confinement in jail for not less than thirty days nor more than one year.

(c) A separate offense means each day, after official notice is given, that a person performs plumbing work that is unlawful or is not in compliance with the provisions of this article.

(d) The Commissioner of Labor may institute proceedings in the circuit court of the county where the alleged violation of the provisions of this article occurred or are occurring to enjoin any violation of any provision of this article. A circuit court by injunction may compel compliance with the provisions of this article, with the lawful orders of the Commissioner of Labor and with any final decision of the Commissioner of Labor. The Commissioner of Labor shall be represented in all such proceedings by the Attorney General or his or her assistants.

(e) Any person adversely affected by an action of the Commissioner of Labor may appeal the action pursuant to the provisions of chapter twenty-nine-a of this code.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***