‹ Back  |  print page Print

§21-5-16. Contractors and subcontractors to notify commissioner.

Whenever a person, firm or corporation (hereinafter referred to in this section as "the prime contractor") contracts or subcontracts with an employer and such contract or subcontract contemplates the performance of either construction work or the severance, production or transportation (excluding railroads or water transporters) of minerals or any combination of the foregoing, then the prime contractor shall, within ten days next following the execution of such contract or subcontract, notify the commissioner in writing by certified mail, return receipt requested, of such contract, which notice shall include the employee's name, the location of the job site and the employer's principal business location: Provided, That if it is ascertained by the prime contractor from the commissioner that the commissioner has obtained the information required to be included in such notice from another agency of this state, then the filing of such notice by the prime contractor shall not be required. If the prime contractor is a firm, corporation or association, then any and all of the officers of such firm, corporation or association shall be responsible to see to the proper notification required by this section. If any prime contractor fails to give the notice required by this section when required to do so, such prime contractor is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $5,000.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****