‹ Back  |  print page Print

§21-5E-5. Establishment of the Equal Pay Commission; appointment of members.

(a) The Equal Pay Commission is continued. The commission shall be composed of the following thirteen members:

(1) Five members of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker;

(2) Five members of the Senate, appointed by the President; and

(3) Three state employee representatives, including one labor union member representing state employees, as agreed to by the Speaker and President; the Director of the Women's Commission, or his or her designee; and the Director of the Office of Equal Employment Opportunity, or his or her designee.

(b) The commission shall seek input from and invite the Commissioner of Labor or his or her designee and the Director of the Personnel Division of the Department of Administration or his or her designee to attend meetings of the commission.

(c) One of the members of the Senate and one of the members of the House of Delegates, as designated by the President and the Speaker respectively, shall serve as cochairs of the commission.

(d) The members of the House of Delegates, the members of the Senate and the state employee representative members shall be appointed to serve two-year terms.

(e) Any member whose term has expired shall serve until his or her successor has been duly appointed. Any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall serve only for the unexpired term. Any member is eligible for reappointment.

(f) Any vacancies occurring in the membership of the commission shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the position being vacated. The vacancy shall not affect the power of the remaining members to execute the duties of the commission.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **