‹ Back  |  print page Print

§22-15A-8. Waste tires prohibited in certain places; penalty.

The Waste Tire Remediation Program heretofore under the jurisdiction of the Division of Highways is transferred to the Department of Environmental Protection effective upon enactment of this article by the Legislature during the regular session of two thousand five.

(a) No person shall, within this state, place, deposit or abandon any waste tire or part thereof upon the right-of-way of any public highway or upon any other public property nor deposit or abandon any waste tire or part thereof upon any private property unless it is at a licensed monofill, solid waste facility or at any other business authorized by the Department of Environmental Protection to accept, process, manufacture or remanufacture waste tires: Provided, That the Secretary may temporarily accumulate as many waste tires as he or she deems necessary at any location or locations necessary to effectuate the purposes of this article.

(b) No person, except those persons who have received and maintain a valid permit or license from the state for the operation of a solid waste facility, waste tire monofill, waste tire processing facility, or other such permitted activities, shall accumulate more than one hundred waste tires for beneficial use without obtaining a license or permit from the Department of Environmental Protection.

(c) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be guilty of creating an open dump and subject to enforcement actions or prosecution under the provisions of article fifteen of this chapter.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **