‹ Back  |  print page Print

§29-22-11. Prohibited acts; restrictions on sales agents and retailers; unauthorized sales; sales to minors; gifts to minors; prizes to commission officers and staff prohibited; criminal penalties for prohibited acts.

(a) No person may sell lottery tickets or materials unless authorized by the commission to so act. No person may perform the functions of a licensed lottery sales agent unless licensed by the commission. No person may perform the functions of a lottery retailer unless authorized therefor by the commission. No person may sell a lottery ticket or material at a price greater than that established by the commission; except, that nothing in this section may be construed to prevent any person from giving a lottery ticket or material to another as a gift or bonus. No person other than a licensed lottery sales agent or an employee thereof, while acting within the scope of such employment, shall sell lottery tickets, and then only on the premises stated on the license.

(b) No ticket shall be sold to any person under the age of eighteen years. This section does not prohibit the purchase of a ticket by a person eighteen years of age or older for the purpose of making the ticket a gift to a person less than that age.

(c) No ticket may be purchased by and no prizes received by or awarded to any officers or employees of the commission or any member of their immediate household.

(d) Any person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $500, or imprisoned in the county jail not more than one year, or both fined and imprisoned.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **