‹ Back  |  print page Print

§30-34-7. Issuance of license; renewal of license; renewal fee; display of license.

(a) When the board finds that an applicant meets all of the requirements of this article for a license to engage in the practice of respiratory care, it shall forthwith issue to that person a license. Otherwise, the board shall deny the application. The application is to be submitted with a license fee of $200. If any application is rejected, the board shall return the fee less any actual costs incurred in processing the application.

(b) Every licensee shall renew his or her license on or before January 1, of each year by payment of a fee established by the board which shall be no greater than $150. Any license that is not so renewed shall automatically lapse. A license which has lapsed may be renewed within five years of its expiration date by meeting the requirements set forth by the board and payment of a fee equal to that established for the initial license. After the expiration of such five-year period, a license may be renewed only by complying with the provisions relating to the issuance of an original license.

(c) A person currently licensed to practice pursuant to this article may apply for an inactive status by providing written notice to the board and ceasing to engage in the practice of respiratory care in this state: Provided, That the inactive status is granted for no longer than five years. The board shall maintain a list of licensees on inactive status. Any person granted inactive status is not subject to the payment of any fees otherwise required by the board. Prior to engaging in the practice of respiratory care, the person shall submit to the board an application for the renewal of the license and payment of a renewal fee for the current year.

(d) The board may deny any application for renewal of a license for any reason which would justify the denial of an original application for a license as specified by provisions of this article.

(e) The board shall prescribe the form of licenses.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *