‹ Back  |  print page Print

§30-38-15. Penalties.

(a) Any person engaging in real estate appraisal activity in this state who is not licensed under this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 and shall be ineligible to obtain a license for a period of one year from the date of his or her conviction of such offense: Provided, That the board, at its discretion, may grant a license within a period of one year upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, and after an administrative hearing.

(b) Any person acting or purporting to act as a certified real estate appraiser who is not certified under this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than $2,500 or imprisoned in the county or regional jail for not more than one year, or both.

(c) If any person receives any money or the equivalent as a fee, commission, compensation or profit by or in consequence of a violation of any provision of this article, he or she shall, in addition to the penalties prescribed above, be subject to a penalty of not less than the sum of money so received nor more than three times the sum as may be determined by the court, which penalty may be recovered in a court of competent jurisdiction by any person aggrieved as a result of any such violation.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *