‹ Back  |  print page Print

§30-7A-7. Renewal or reinstatement of license.

The license of every person licensed under the provisions of this article shall expire on June 30, next following the date of license. In order for such license to be renewed, the licensee shall comply with such rules and regulations of the board as are applicable to renewals. The renewal fee for all licenses shall be $5, subject to change by the board. Upon receipt of the renewal fee the board shall issue to the licensee a certificate of renewal for the current year, beginning July first and expiring June thirtieth of the following year. Such certificate shall render the holder thereof a legal practitioner for the period stated on the certificate of renewal. Any licensee who allows his or her license to lapse by failing to renew the license as provided above may be reinstated by the board on satisfactory explanation for such failure to renew his or her license and on payment of a reinstatement fee of $5, subject to change by the board, in addition to the renewal fee hereinbefore set out. Any person practicing practical nursing during the time his or her license has lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of this article. A person licensed under the provisions of this article desiring to retire from practice temporarily shall give written notice of such desire to the board. Upon receipt of such notice the board shall place the name of such person upon the nonpracticing list. While remaining on this list the person shall not be subject to the payment of any renewal fees and shall not practice as a licensed practical nurse in the state. When such person desires to resume practice, application for renewal of license and payment of the renewal fee for the current year shall be made to the board.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***