SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§31-2A-6. Fines and penalties.

(a) Any railroad company, carrier or railroad violating the provisions of subsection (a), section two of this article is guilty of misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $150; upon a second conviction occurring at the same crossing within one year thereafter, shall be fined not less than $250; and upon a third or subsequent conviction occurring at the same crossing within one year after the first conviction, shall be fined not less than $350.

(b) Any railroad company, carrier or railroad violating the provisions of subsection (b), section two of this article is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $1,000; upon a second conviction occurring at the same crossing within one year thereafter, shall be fined not less than $2,500; and upon a third or subsequent conviction occurring at the same crossing within one year after the first conviction, shall be fined not less than $5,000.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***