‹ Back  |  print page Print

§31A-2A-7. Penalties.

(a) Any state, county or local government official or employee who knowingly and willfully discloses financial records with intent to violate this article, or who knowingly and willfully induces or attempts to induce an officer, employee, agent or director of a financial institution to disclose financial records to a state entity with intent to violate this article, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000.

(b) Any customer whose financial records or the information contained therein has been negligently disclosed by a state entity or a financial institution in violation of this article may file an action in any circuit court of this state against the state entity or financial institution and, if the customer proves that the state entity or financial institution negligently disclosed the customer's financial records or the information contained therein, may recover from the state entity or financial institution an amount equal to the sum of:

(1) Up to $1,000 in civil damages, as penalty, without regard to the volume of records involved or lack of actual damages;

(2) Any actual damages sustained by the customer as a result of the disclosure; and

(3) The costs of the action, including reasonable attorney's fees, as may be allowed by the court.

(c) No financial institution or person shall be held liable, notwithstanding subsection (a) or (b) of this section, for the disclosure of financial records pursuant to a subpoena, summons, warrant, court order or administrative order which on its face appears to have been issued upon lawful authority. No financial institution or agent or employee thereof who discloses financial records pursuant to this article: (i) In good faith reliance upon a certificate by any state entity that this article has been complied with; or (ii) pursuant to the provisions of subdivision (13), subsection (a), section four of this article shall be liable under this article or any other law or rule of this state or any political subdivision hereof.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****