‹ Back  |  print page Print

§31B-2-206. Filing in office of Secretary of State.

 (a) Articles of organization or any other record authorized to be filed under this chapter must be in a medium permitted by the Secretary of State and must be delivered to the office of the Secretary of State. Delivery may be made by electronic transmission if permitted by the Secretary of State. Unless the Secretary of State determines that a record fails to comply as to form with the filing requirements of this chapter, and if all filing fees have been paid, the Secretary of State shall file the record and send a receipt for the record and the fees to the limited liability company or its representative.

(b) Upon request and payment of a fee, the Secretary of State shall send to the requester a certified copy of the requested record.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (d) of this section and section 2-207(c), a record accepted for filing by the Secretary of State is effective:

(1) At the time of filing on the date it is filed, as evidenced by the Secretary of State's date and time endorsement on the original record; or

(2) At the time specified in the record as its effective time on the date it is filed.

(d) A record may specify a delayed effective time and date, and if it does so the record becomes effective at the time and date specified. If a delayed effective date but no time is specified, the record is effective at the close of business on that date. If a delayed effective date is later than the ninetieth day after the record is filed, the record is effective on the ninetieth day.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **