‹ Back  |  print page Print

§32B-2-2. Enforcement of chapter.

(a) If the commissioner believes, whether or not based upon an investigation conducted under the provisions of section one of this article, that any person has engaged or is about to engage in any act or practice constituting a violation of any provision of this chapter or any rule or order under the provisions of this chapter, then the commissioner may:

(1) Issue a cease and desist order;

(2) Issue an order imposing a civil penalty in amount which may not exceed $10,000 for any single violation or $100,000 for multiple violations in a single proceeding or a series of related proceedings;

(3) Initiate any of the actions specified in subsection (b) of this section; or

(4) Take disciplinary action against a licensed person as specified in section eight, article three of this chapter.

(b) The commissioner may institute any of the following actions in an appropriate court of this state or of another state, in addition to any legal or equitable remedies otherwise available:

(1) A declaratory judgment;

(2) An action for a prohibitory or mandatory injunction to enjoin the violation and to ensure compliance with this chapter or any rule or order of the commissioner;

(3) An action for disgorgement;

(4) An action for appointment of a receiver or conservator for the defendant or the defendant's assets; or

(5) An action to enjoin permanently any person from acting as a commodity broker-dealer or a commodity sales representative, as defined in subsection (a) or (b), section one, article three of this chapter.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *