‹ Back  |  print page Print

§46B-6-6. Personal property exemptions.

Any consumer residing in this state may set apart and hold personal property to be exempt from execution or other judicial process resulting from rent-to-own transactions, except for the purchase money due on such property, in such amounts as follows: Clothing and other wearing apparel of the consumer, his spouse and any dependents of such consumer, not to exceed the fair market value of $200; furniture, appliances, furnishings and fixtures regularly used for family purposes in the consumer's residence, to the extent of the fair market value of $1,000; children's books, pictures, toys and other such personal property of children; all medical health equipment used for health purposes by the consumer, his or her spouse and any dependent of such consumer; tools of trade, including any income-producing property used in the consumer's principal occupation, to the extent of the fair market value of $1,000; and any policy of life or endowment insurance which is payable to the spouse or children of the insured consumer or to a trustee for their benefit, except the cash value of any accrued dividends thereon. When a consumer claims personal property as exempt under the provisions of this section, he shall deliver a list containing all the personal property owned or claimed by him and all items of such property he claims as exempt hereunder, with the value of each separate item listed according to his best knowledge, to the officer holding the execution or other such process. Such list shall be sworn to by affidavit. If the value of the property named in such list exceeds the amounts specified in this section, the consumer shall state at the foot thereof what part of such property he claims as exempt. If such value does not exceed the amounts specified in this section, the claim of exemption shall be held to extend to the whole thereof without stating more and, if no appraisement is demanded, the property so claimed shall be set aside as exempt. Where the consumer owning exempt property is absent or incapable of acting or neglects or declines to act hereunder, the claim of exemption may be made, the list delivered and the affidavit made by his spouse with the same effect as if the consumer had done so. Upon receipt of such a list, the officer to whom it is given shall immediately exhibit such list to the dealer or his agent or attorney. The rights granted and procedures provided for in article eight, chapter thirty-eight of this code shall apply to any proceeding under this section, except that the provisions of sections one and three of such article shall not apply.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***