‹ Back  |  print page Print

§47-21-7. License fee and exemption from taxes.

(a) A license fee shall be paid to the Tax Commissioner for annual licenses in the amount of $500. A license fee shall be paid to the Tax Commissioner for a limited occasion license in the amount of $50. All revenue from said license fee shall be deposited in the special revenue account established under the authority of section two-a, article nine, chapter eleven of this code and used to support the investigatory activities provided for in said section. The license fee imposed by this section is in lieu of all other license or franchise taxes or fees of this state and no county or municipality or other political subdivision of this state is empowered to impose a license or franchise tax or fee on any raffle or raffle occasion.

(b) The gross proceeds derived from the conduct of a raffle occasion are exempt from state and local business and occupation taxes, income taxes, excise taxes and all special taxes. Any charitable or public service organization conducting a raffle occasion pursuant to the provisions of this article is exempt from payment of consumers sales and service taxes, use taxes and all other taxes on all purchases for use or consumption in the conduct of a raffle occasion and is exempt from collecting consumers sales taxes on any admission fees and sales of raffle tickets.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****