‹ Back  |  print page Print

§60-6-12. Transportation of alcoholic liquors into or through state; permits; bond of permittee.

The commission may adopt regulations governing the transportation of alcoholic liquors, lawfully acquired, within, into or through the state in quantities in excess of one gallon as it may deem necessary to confine such transportation to legitimate purposes and may issue transportation permits in accordance with such regulations, collect a fee therefor, and shall require each person to whom such a permit is issued to furnish a bond in such form and amount and with such surety as the commission shall direct, conditioned that he will exercise the privileges granted by such permit in conformity with the provisions of this chapter and the regulations of the commission, or in default thereof forfeit to the state school fund the sum of $100 for each breach recoverable by motion upon ten days' notice in any court having jurisdiction of the parties.

A person who, without authorization under this chapter, transports alcoholic liquors in quantities in excess of one gallon or in any amount for the purpose of sale or in any amount manufactured or acquired contrary to the provisions of this chapter, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction shall be fined not less than one hundred nor more than $500, or confined in jail not to exceed one year, or both such fine and imprisonment for the first offense. Upon conviction of a second or subsequent offense, he shall be guilty of a felony and, confined in the penitentiary of this state for a period of not less than one nor more than three years.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2019 West Virginia Legislature **