SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
STATE LAW
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

West Virginia Code

Search

Chapter 17 C     Entire Code


ARTICLE 1. WORDS AND PHRASES DEFINED.

ARTICLE 2. OBEDIENCE TO AND EFFECT OF TRAFFIC LAWS.

ARTICLE 3. TRAFFIC SIGNS, SIGNALS AND MARKINGS.

ARTICLE 4. ACCIDENTS.

ARTICLE 5. SERIOUS TRAFFIC OFFENSES.

ARTICLE 5A. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES FOR SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF LICENSES FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL, CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES OR DRUGS.

ARTICLE 5B. POSTMORTEM TESTS FOR ALCOHOL IN PERSONS KILLED IN MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENTS.

ARTICLE 5C. OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS.

ARTICLE 5D. OPEN CONTAINER LAWS.

ARTICLE 6. SPEED RESTRICTIONS.

ARTICLE 7. DRIVING ON RIGHT SIDE OF ROADWAY, OVERTAKING AND PASSING, ETC.

ARTICLE 8. TURNING AND STARTING AND SIGNALS ON STOPPING AND TURNING.

ARTICLE 9. RIGHT-OF-WAY.

ARTICLE 10. PEDESTRIANS\' RIGHTS AND DUTIES.

ARTICLE 10A. OPERATION OF ELECTRIC PERSONAL ASSISTIVE MOBILITY DEVICES.

ARTICLE 11. OPERATION OF BICYCLES AND PLAY VEHICLES.

ARTICLE 11A. CHILD BICYCLE SAFETY ACT.

ARTICLE 12. SPECIAL STOPS REQUIRED.

ARTICLE 13. STOPPING, STANDING AND PARKING.

ARTICLE 13A. DIESEL-POWERED MOTOR VEHICLE IDLING ACT.

ARTICLE 14. MISCELLANEOUS RULES.

ARTICLE 15. EQUIPMENT.

ARTICLE 16. INSPECTION OF VEHICLES.

ARTICLE 17. SIZE, WEIGHT AND LOAD.

ARTICLE 17A. REGULATION OF THE COMMERCIAL TRANSPORTATION OF COAL.

ARTICLE 17B. TRANSFER OF CERTAIN JURISDICTION AND EMPLOYEES TO PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION.

ARTICLE 19. PARTIES, PROCEDURE UPON ARREST AND REPORTS IN CRIMINAL CASES.

ARTICLE 20. WEST VIRGINIA TURNPIKE COMMISSION.

ARTICLE 21. EFFECT OF CHAPTER.

ARTICLE 22. RIDESHARING.

ARTICLE 23. FUNERAL PROCESSIONS.

ARTICLE 18. PENALTIES.

§17C-18-1. Violations of chapter; penalties for misdemeanor.

(a) It is a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of this chapter unless such violation is by this chapter or other law of this state declared to be a felony.

(b) Every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter for which another penalty is not provided shall for a first conviction thereof be punished by a fine of not more than $100 or by imprisonment for not more than ten days; for a second such conviction within one year thereafter such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $200 or by imprisonment for not more than twenty days or by both such fine and imprisonment; upon a third or subsequent conviction such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500 or by imprisonment for not more than six months or both such fine and imprisonment.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2020 West Virginia Legislature *