(By Senators, Tomblin, Mr. President, Dugan, Anderson, Bailey,

Blatnik, Boley, Bowman, Buckalew, Chafin, Craigo, Deem, Dittmar,

Grubb, Helmick, Jackson, Kimble, Love, Macnaughtan, Manchin, Miller, Minear, Oliverio, Plymale, Ross, Schoonover, Scott, Sharpe, Wagner, Walker, White, Whitlow, Wiedebush and Wooton)

Recognizing the public service of the Honorable John C. Yoder.

Whereas, The Honorable John C. Yoder was born January 9, 1951, in Newton, Kansas, the son of Gideon G. and Stella H. Yoder; and
Whereas, The Honorable John C. Yoder received his education at Chapman College, where he earned a bachelor of arts degree; the University of Kansas, where he earned a juris doctor degree; and the University of Chicago, where he earned a master of business administration degree; and
Whereas, From 1976 to 1980, the Honorable John C. Yoder served as a District Court Judge in the Ninth Judicial District of Kansas; from 1980 to 1981, he was a Judicial Fellow to the Supreme Court of the United States; from 1981 to 1983, he served as Special Assistant to the Chief Justice of the United States; and, from 1983 to 1984, he served as Director of the Asset Forfeiture Office for the United States Department of Justice; and
Whereas, The Honorable John C. Yoder was elected to the West Virginia Senate in 1992. During his tenure in the Senate, he has served as a member of the Senate Committees on Banking and Insurance; Confirmations; Government Organization; the Judiciary; Natural Resources; Small Business; the Joint Committee on Government Operations; and the Legislative Oversight Committee on Regional Jail and Correctional Facility. He also served as Senate Minority Whip during the seventy-first Legislature; and
Whereas, The dedication, wisdom and legislative expertise of the Honorable John C. Yoder is evidenced by a myriad of worthwhile enactments, conceived and executed by him for the betterment of the citizens of West Virginia; and
Whereas, The Honorable John C. Yoder has decided not to seek reelection to the Senate from the sixteenth senatorial district in 1996. He brings to an end four years of devoted public service to the citizens of the State of West Virginia and will be missed by his fellow colleagues in the Senate; therefore, be it
Resolved by the Senate:
That the Senate of West Virginia hereby extends its heartfelt appreciation and best wishes to the Honorable John C. Yoder; and, be it
Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the Honorable John C. Yoder.