
WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE 

SENATE JOURNAL 
EIGHTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE 
REGULAR SESSION, 2024 

FIFTY-SEVENTH DAY 
____________ 

Charleston, West Virginia, Wednesday, March 6, 2024 

The Senate met at 11:19 a.m. 

(Senator Blair, Mr. President, in the Chair.) 

Prayer was offered by the Honorable Mark R. Maynard, a senator from the sixth district. 

The Senate was then led in recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance by the Honorable Rupie 
Phillips, a senator from the seventh district. 

Pending the reading of the Journal of Tuesday, March 5, 2024, 

At the request of Senator Swope, unanimous consent being granted, the Journal was 
approved and the further reading thereof dispensed with. 

The Senate proceeded to the second order of business and the introduction of guests. 

The Senate then proceeded to the third order of business. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the amendment by that body, 
passage as amended with its House of Delegates amended title, and requested the concurrence 
of the Senate in the House of Delegates amendments, as to 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 504, Relating to felony offense of sexual intercourse, 
intrusion, or contact with student. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the bill was taken up for immediate consideration. 

The following House of Delegates amendments to the bill were reported by the Clerk: 

By striking everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:  

ARTICLE 8B. SEXUAL OFFENSES. 

§61-8B-11b. Prohibiting sexual intercourse, sexual intrusion, or sexual contact, or 
intrusion against students by school employees; exception; penalties. 



2 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

(a) Any teacher, principal, counselor, coach, other employee, volunteer, or school resource 
officer of any private or public elementary or secondary school who engages in sexual intercourse, 
sexual intrusion, or sexual contact, as those terms are defined in §61-8B-1 of this code, with any 
student enrolled in the school any private or public elementary or secondary school regardless of 
the age of the student is guilty of a felony and upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned in a 
state correctional facility for not less than one nor more than five years or fined not more than 
$5,000 or both imprisoned and fined. The fact that the student may have consented to such an 
the act or that the act did not occur on school property or during a school function is not a defense. 

(b) For purposes of this section: 

(1) A private elementary or secondary school means any school enrolling students who are 
exempt from compulsory school attendance under either §18-8-1(b) of this code or §18-8-1 (k) of 
this code; and 

(1) A private elementary or secondary school means any private school or other entity 
authorized to provide an elementary or secondary education to students who are exempt from 
compulsory school attendance pursuant to §18-8-1 of this code; and 

(2) A public elementary or secondary school means any school under the general supervision 
of the West Virginia Board of Education pursuant to section two, article XII of the West Virginia 
Constitution. 

(c) Any student under the age of 18 years currently enrolled in a secondary school and 
engaged in a wage-earning registered youth apprenticeship program, as authorized under §18A-
3-1 of this code or approved by the state board, may not be prosecuted for a violation of 
subsection (a) of this section, including those secondary school students under the age of 18 
years participating in the Grow Your Own teacher pathway or any Career Technical Education 
school service personnel training programs. 

(c) (d) This is a separate and distinct criminal offense from any other applicable offense under 
this code. The penalties set forth in this section are in addition to any other penalties for any other 
applicable offense. 

(d) (e) A final conviction under this section shall cause the permanent forfeiture of any teaching 
or other certificate issued pursuant to §18A-3-2a of this code.; 

And, 

By striking out the title and substituting therefor a new title, to read as follows: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 504—A Bill to amend and reenact §61-8B-11b of the Code 
of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to felony offense involving sexual intercourse, 
intrusion, or contact with a student; clarifying that the offense applies to a school resource officer; 
clarifying that the offense applies to a student of any private or public elementary or secondary 
school; clarifying the definition of private elementary or secondary school; providing an exception 
for certain secondary school students participating in wage-earning registered youth 
apprenticeship programs; and creating criminal penalties. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the Senate concurred in the House of Delegates amendments 
to the bill. 
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Engrossed Committee Substitute for Senate Bill 504, as amended by the House of Delegates, 
was then put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 504) passed with its House of Delegates 
amended title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the concurrence by that body 
in the passage of 

Eng. Senate Bill 613, WV Residential Mortgage Lender, Broker and Servicer Act. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the amendment by that body, 
passage as amended, and requested the concurrence of the Senate in the House of Delegates 
amendment, as to 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 623, Requiring DMV to provide images of certain individuals 
to Secretary of State for voter identification purposes. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the bill was taken up for immediate consideration. 

The following House of Delegates amendment to the bill was reported by the Clerk: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

ARTICLE 2. REGISTRATION OF VOTERS. 

§3-2-11. Registration in conjunction with driver licensing. 

(a) The Division of Motor Vehicles or other division or department that may be established by 
law to perform motor vehicle driver licensing services, shall obtain as an integral and simultaneous 
part of every process of application for the issuance, renewal, or change of address of a motor 
vehicle driver's license, or official identification card pursuant to the provisions of §17B-2-1 et seq. 
of this code, when the division's regional offices are open for regular business, the following 
information from each qualified registrant: 

(1) Full name, including first, middle, last, and any premarital names; 

(2) Date of birth; 

(3) Residence address and mailing address, if different; 
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(4) The applicant's electronic signature and photograph; 

(5) Telephone number, if available; 

(6) Email address, if available; 

(7) Political party membership, if any; 

(8) Driver's license number and last four digits of Social Security number; 

(9) A notation that the applicant has attested that he or she meets all voter eligibility 
requirements; 

(10) United States citizenship status; 

(11) Whether the applicant affirmatively declined to become registered to vote during the 
transaction with the Division of Motor Vehicles; 

(12) Date of application; and 

(13) Any other information specified in rules adopted to implement this section. 

(b) Unless the applicant affirmatively declines to become registered to vote or update their his 
or her voter registration during the transaction with the Division of Motor Vehicles, the Division of 
Motor Vehicles shall release all of the information obtained pursuant to subsection (a) of this 
section to the Secretary of State, who shall forward the information to the county clerk for the 
relevant county to process the newly registered voter or updated information for the already-
registered voter pursuant to law. The Division of Motor Vehicles shall notify the applicant that by 
submitting his or her signature, the applicant grants written consent for the submission of the 
information obtained and required to be submitted to the Secretary of State pursuant to this 
section. 

(c) By no later than January 1, 2020, the Division of Motor Vehicles shall create a regular 
process that allows the Secretary of State to fulfill his or her duties as provided by §3-2-3 of this 
code to confirm that persons who are noncitizens of the United States have not and cannot 
register to vote via the Online Voter Registration portal. 

(c) As soon as practicable, but no later than 90 days following the effective date of 
amendments made during the 2024 Regular Legislative Session, the Division of Motor Vehicles 
shall create a regular process, including but not limited to the requirements of §3-2-11(p) of this 
code, that ensures the Secretary of State can fulfill his or her duties as provided by §3-2-3 of this 
code to confirm that any applicant to register to vote in West Virginia through the Division of Motor 
Vehicles is in fact a U.S. citizen eligible to vote in West Virginia and to ensure that persons who 
are noncitizens of the United States have not and cannot register to vote in West Virginia. 

(d) Information regarding a person's failure to sign the voter registration application is 
confidential and may not be used for any purpose other than to determine voter registration. 

(e) A qualified voter who submits the required information or update to his or her voter 
registration, pursuant to the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, in person at a driver 
licensing facility at the time of applying for, obtaining, renewing, or transferring his or her driver's 
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license or official identification card, and who presents identification and proof of age at that time, 
is not required to make his or her first vote in person or to again present identification in order to 
make that registration valid. 

(f) A qualified voter, who submits, by mail or by delivery by a third party, an application for 
registration on the form used in conjunction with driver licensing, is required to make his or her 
first vote in person and present identification as required for other mail registration in accordance 
with the provisions of §3-2-10(g) of this code. If the applicant has been previously registered in 
the jurisdiction and the application is for a change of address, change of name, change of political 
party affiliation, or other correction, the presentation of identification and first vote in person is not 
required. 

(g) An application for voter registration submitted pursuant to the provisions of this section 
updates a previous voter registration by the applicant and authorizes the cancellation of 
registration in any other county or state in which the applicant was previously registered. 

(h) A change of address from one residence to another within the same county which is 
submitted for driver licensing or nonoperator's identification purposes in accordance with 
applicable law, serves as a notice of change of address for voter registration purposes if requested 
by the applicant after notice and written consent of the applicant. 

(i) Completed applications for voter registration or change of address for voting purposes 
received by an office providing driver licensing services shall be forwarded to the Secretary of 
State within five days of receipt unless other means are available for a more expedited 
transmission. The Secretary of State shall remove and file any forms which have not been signed 
by the applicant and shall forward completed, signed applications to the clerk of the appropriate 
county commission within five days of receipt. 

(j) Voter registration application forms containing voter information which are returned to a 
driver licensing office unsigned shall be collected by the Division of Motor Vehicles, submitted to 
the Secretary of State, and maintained by the Secretary of State's office according to the retention 
policy adopted by the Secretary of State. 

(k) The Secretary of State shall establish procedures to protect the confidentiality of the 
information obtained from the Division of Motor Vehicles, including any information otherwise 
required to be confidential by other provisions of this code. 

(l) A person registered to vote pursuant to this section may cancel his or her voter registration 
at any time by any method available to any other registered voter. 

(m) This section does not require the Division of Motor Vehicles to determine eligibility for 
voter registration and voting. 

(n) Except for the changes made to subsection (b) of this section during the 2017 regular 
legislative session, the changes made to this section during the 2016 regular legislative session 
become effective on July 1, 2021, and any costs associated therewith shall be paid by the Division 
of Motor Vehicles. The Commissioner of the Division of Motor Vehicles, the Secretary of the 
Department of Transportation, and the Secretary of State shall each appear before the Joint 
Committee on Government and Finance and the Joint Standing Committee on the Judiciary, 
during the first interim meetings of such committees occurring after September 1, 2019, to present 
written reports containing a full and complete list of any infrastructure each agency requires to 
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achieve the purposes of this section. Along with the report required by this subsection, the Division 
of Motor Vehicles shall submit a written schedule to both committees outlining how the division 
will implement the requirements of this section by July 1, 2021. 

(o) The Secretary of State shall propose rules for legislative approval in accordance with the 
provisions of §29A-3-1 et seq. of this code to implement the requirements of this section. 

(p) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Code to the contrary, the Division of Motor 
Vehicles shall expeditiously and comprehensively release and forward all information obtained 
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section purporting to document an applicant's status as a U.S. 
citizen to the Secretary of State of any applicant attempting to register to vote in West Virginia. 
This information shall be used for the express purpose of expediting the Secretary of State's 
fulfillment of his or her duties pursuant to §3-2-11(c) and §3-2-3 of this code requiring the 
Secretary of State to confirm that persons who are noncitizens of the United States have not and 
cannot register to vote in the state of West Virginia. 

(q) The amendments to this section enacted by the Legislature in the 2024 Regular Session 
are effective upon passage. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the following amendments to the House of Delegates 
amendment to the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 623) were reported by the Clerk, considered 
simultaneously, and adopted: 

On page 4, subsection (q), by striking out the words "upon passage" and inserting in lieu 
thereof the words "January 1, 2025"; 

And, 

By striking out the title and substituting therefor a new title, to read as follows: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 623—A Bill to amend and reenact §3-2-11 of the Code of 
West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to requiring Division of Motor Vehicles to provide 
images of persons issued any identification or license to the Secretary of State for voter 
identification purposes; requiring Division of Motor Vehicles to create regular process; requiring 
Division of Motor Vehicles to release and forward certain information; and providing an internal 
effective date for the amendments to this section. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the Senate concurred in the House of Delegates amendment, 
as amended. 

Engrossed Committee Substitute for Senate Bill 623, as amended, was then put upon its 
passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Chapman, Clements, 
Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, 
Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, 
Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—33. 

The nays were: Caputo—1. 

Absent: None.  
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So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 623) passed with its Senate amended title. 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect January 1, 2025. 

On this question, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Chapman, Clements, Deeds, Grady, 
Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, 
Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, Weld, 
Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—33. 

The nays were: Caputo—1. 

Absent: None.  

So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 623) takes effect January 1, 2025. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the concurrence by that body 
in the passage, to take effect from passage, of 

Eng. Senate Bill 650, Supplementing and amending appropriations to Higher Education 
Policy Commission, Fairmont State University. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the concurrence by that body 
in the passage, to take effect from passage, of 

Eng. Senate Bill 701, Supplementing and amending appropriations to Department of 
Education, School Construction Fund. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the amendment by that body, 
passage as amended with its House of Delegates amended title, and requested the concurrence 
of the Senate in the House of Delegates amendments, as to 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 714, Transferring duties and licensing from Board of 
Osteopathic Medicine to Board of Medicine. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the bill was taken up for immediate consideration. 

The following House of Delegates amendments to the bill were reported by the Clerk: 

On page 3, §30-3-4, line 3, after the words "Accredited osteopathic" by striking out the word 
"college" and inserting in lieu thereof the words "medical school". 

On page 3, §30-3-4, line 3, after the words "college of" by striking out the word "osteopathy" 
and inserting in lieu thereof the words "osteopathic medicine". 

On page 3, §30-3-4, line 5, after the words "or by the" by striking out the words "college 
accrediting agency of the American Osteopathic Association" and inserting in lieu thereof the 
words "Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA)". 
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On page 3, §30-3-4, line 8, after the words "established by the" by striking out the words 
"American Osteopathic Association" and inserting in lieu thereof the word "COCA". 

On page 5, §30-3-4, line 38, by striking out the words 

""Osteopathy" means a system of healing arts which places the chief emphasis on the 
structural integrity of the body mechanism as being the most important single factor in maintaining 
the well-being of the organism in health and disease" and inserting in lieu thereof the words  

""Osteopathic medicine and surgery" means a complete system of medical care with a 
philosophy that combines the needs of the patient with the current practice of medicine, surgery, 
and obstetrics; that emphasizes the concept of body unity, the interrelationship between structure 
and function; and that has an appreciation of the body's ability to heal itself". 

On page 8, §30-3-5, line 64, after the words "at least" by striking out the remainder of the 
sentence and inserting in lieu thereof the words "five of which shall be allopathic physicians and 
at least five of which shall be osteopathic physicians". 

On page 13, §30-3-7, line 28, after the words "§5A-3-1 et seq." by striking out the words "and 
§5A-6-1 et seq.". 

On page 24, §30-3-10b, line 4, after the word "allopathic" by inserting the words "or 
osteopathic". 

On page 24, §30-3-10b, line 19, after the words "medical school" by inserting the words "or 
accredited osteopathic college". 

On page 24, §30-3-10b, line 22, after the words "practice allopathic" by inserting the words 
"or osteopathic". 

On page 24, §30-3-10b, line 23, after the words "medical school" by inserting the words "or 
accredited osteopathic college". 

On page 36, §30-3-13, line 70, after the word "band" by striking out the words "member, 
cheerleader, mascot" and inserting in lieu thereof the words "members, cheerleaders, mascots". 

On page 49, §30-3-16, line 43, after the word "allopathic" by inserting the words "and 
osteopathic". 

On page 50, §30-3-22, line 1, after the word "funds" by striking out the words "as expended 
pursuant to the authority granted under" and inserting in lieu thereof the words "provided in". 

On page 58, §30-3G-8, line 17, by striking out the word "provide" and inserting in lieu thereof 
the word "providing". 

On page 63, §30-3G-11, line 10, by striking out the words "moral turpitude".; 

And, 

By striking out the title and substituting therefor a new title, to read as follows: 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 714—A Bill to amend and reenact §30-1D-1 of the Code of 
West Virginia, 1931, as amended; to amend and reenact §30-3-1, §30-3-2, §30-3-4, §30-3-5, §30-
3-6, §30-3-7, §30-3-8, §30-3-9, §30-3-10, §30-3-11, §30-3-11a, §30-3-12, §30-3-13, §30-3-13a, 
§30-3-15, §30-3-16, §30-3-17, and §30-3-18 of said code; to amend said code by adding thereto 
three new sections, designated §30-3-10b, §30-3-21, and §30-3-22; to repeal §30-3-7a, §30-3-
11b, and §30-3-11c of said code; to amend said code by adding thereto a new article, designated 
§30-3G-1, §30-3G-2, §30-3G-3, §30-3G-4, §30-3G-5, §30-3G-6, §30-3G-7, §30-3G-8, §30-3G-9, 
§30-3G-10, §30-3G-11, and §30-3G-12; to amend and reenact §30-14-3 of said code; and to 
amend said code by adding thereto two new sections, designated §30-14-18 and §30-14-19, all 
relating to professionals to be licensed by the West Virginia Board of Medicine; requiring criminal 
background checks of any applicant for a license to engage in genetic counseling; making 
legislative findings; including osteopathic physicians within the purpose of a certain article; 
defining terms; providing that the West Virginia Board of Medicine (Board) will be reconstituted 
effective January 1, 2025; providing that the Board is to assume, carry on, and succeed to all of 
the duties, rights, powers, obligations, and liabilities previously belonging to, or exercised by, the 
West Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine effective January 1, 2025; stating the powers and 
duties of the Board; providing for Board membership; providing that the Board may call 
emergency meetings; exempting the Board from certain Purchasing Division requirements; 
repealing certain provisions pertaining to radiologist assistants; providing for certain use of 
electronic signatures; providing for the creation of a complaint file that is separate from and in 
addition to a licensee's historical record; providing requirements for licensure to practice medicine 
and surgery; providing for certain special license types; providing that certain endorsement and 
temporary-license requirements also apply to osteopathic physicians; providing for a license to 
practice administrative medicine; repealing certain provisions relating to the practice of medicine 
and surgery in certain nursing homes; repealing certain provisions pertaining to administrative 
medicine licenses; providing for the renewal of physician licenses; prohibiting certain practices; 
clarifying that osteopathic physicians may also practice telemedicine; providing that a medical 
corporation formed outside of this state for the purpose of engaging in medical acts through one 
or more licensed physician assistants may receive a certificate of authorization; providing for the 
issuance of educational permits; providing that certain provisions shall not apply to the practice 
of osteopathic medicine and surgery prior to January 1, 2025; requiring the development of a 
transition plan; providing for the transfer of certain special revenue funds; providing for the Board's 
special revenue fund; requiring persons to possess a valid license prior to practicing genetic 
counseling; providing licensure requirements for genetic counseling; stating the duties and 
powers of the Board with regard to genetic counseling; providing for the practice of ACS and 
ABGC permittees; authorizing the Board to promulgate rules for legislative approval; providing for 
the expiration, renewal, and reinstatement of licenses to practice genetic counseling; setting 
certain continuing-education requirements; setting a genetic counselor's scope of practice; 
providing for disciplinary proceedings involving genetic counselors; authorizing the Board or the 
Attorney General to seek certain injunctive relief; requiring certain reports from health care 
facilities; prohibiting any genetic counselor or ACS permittee to represent that he or she is a 
licensed physician and providing that any person who violates that prohibition is guilty of a felony 
and, upon conviction, shall be imprisoned for not less than one nor more than two years, or be 
fined not more than $2,000, or both find and imprisoned; allowing members of the current West 
Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine to serve three consecutive terms; terminating the West 
Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine effective December 31, 2024; providing that the West 
Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine shall transfer any and all of its remaining functions to the 
Board effective January 1, 2025; setting forth additional provisions pertaining to the transfer; and 
requiring the development and implementation of a transition plan. 
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Senator Takubo moved that the Senate concur in the House of Delegates amendments to the 
bill. 

Following discussion, 

The question being on the adoption of Senator Takubo's aforestated motion, the same was 
put and prevailed. 

Engrossed Committee Substitute for Senate Bill 714, as amended by the House of Delegates, 
was then put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Clements, Deeds, Grady, 
Jeffries, Maroney, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, 
Tarr, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—23. 

The nays were: Azinger, Chapman, Hamilton, Hunt, Karnes, Martin, Maynard, Rucker, Smith, 
Stover, and Taylor—11. 

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 714) passed with its House of Delegates 
amended title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the amendment by that body, 
passage as amended, and requested the concurrence of the Senate in the House of Delegates 
amendments, as to 

Eng. Senate Bill 827, Providing for regional distribution and dismantling centers. 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the bill was taken up for immediate consideration. 

The following House of Delegates amendments to the bill were reported by the Clerk: 

On page 2, section 2, beginning on line 20, after with word "defined" by inserting the words 
"in this section" and striking the remainder of the sentence; 

And, 

On page 6, section 4, on line 74, by striking the word "licensed" and inserting in lieu thereof 
the word "permitted". 

On motion of Senator Takubo, the Senate concurred in the House of Delegates amendments 
to the bill. 

Engrossed Senate Bill 827, as amended by the House of Delegates, was then put upon its 
passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
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Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. S. B. 827) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the passage by that body, 
to take effect from passage, and requested the concurrence of the Senate in the passage of 

Eng. House Bill 5458—A Bill supplementing and amending the appropriations of public 
moneys out of the Treasury from the balance of moneys remaining as an unappropriated surplus 
balance in the State Fund, General Revenue, to the Higher Education Policy Commission, Higher 
Education Policy Commission – Administration – Control Account, fund 0589, fiscal year 2024, 
organization 0441, by supplementing and amending the appropriations for the fiscal year ending 
June 30, 2024. 

Referred to the Committee on Finance. 

A message from the Clerk of the House of Delegates announced the passage by that body, 
to take effect from passage, and requested the concurrence of the Senate in the passage of 

Eng. House Bill 5699—A Bill supplementing and amending the appropriations of public 
moneys out of the Treasury from the balance of moneys remaining as an unappropriated surplus 
balance in the State Fund, General Revenue, to the Department of Arts, Culture, and History, 
Division of Culture and History, fund 0293, fiscal year 2024, organization 0432, by supplementing 
and amending the appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024. 

Referred to the Committee on Finance. 

Executive Communications 

The following communication from His Excellency, the Governor, was reported by the Clerk: 
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In compliance with Article VI, Section 51 of the Constitution, the Senate consented to receive 
the foregoing amendments to the Budget Bill, which were referred to the Committee on Finance. 

The Clerk then presented the following communication from His Excellency, the Governor, 
regarding bills approved by him: 
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The Senate proceeded to the fourth order of business. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. House Bill 4297, Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act. 

And has amended same. 
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And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. H. B. 4297) 
contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken up for immediate 
consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Woodrum, from the Committee on Government Organization, submitted the following 
report, which was received: 

Your Committee on Government Organization has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4350, Relating to appointment of candidates after filing 
period. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Jack David Woodrum, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4350) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on Government 
Organization was taken up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second 
reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4837, Clarifying the duty of banks to retain and procure 
records. 

With amendments from the Committee on Banking and Insurance pending; 

And has also amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass as amended by the 
Committee on Banking and Insurance to which the bill was first referred; and as last amended by 
the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 
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At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4837) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Grady, from the Committee on Education, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Education has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5158, Relating to making technical corrections to the special 
education code. 

And has amended same. 

And, 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5162, Establish a program to promote creation and expansion 
of registered apprenticeship programs. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that they each do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Amy N. Grady, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bills (Eng. Com. 
Sub. for H. B. 5158 and 5162) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on Education 
were each taken up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Tarr, from the Committee on Finance, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Finance has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5262, Relating generally to teacher's bill of rights. 

With amendments from the Committee on Education pending; 

And has also amended same. 

Now on second reading, having been read a first time and referred to the Committee on 
Finance on March 4, 2024; 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass as amended by the 
Committee on Education to which the bill was first referred; and as last amended by the 
Committee on Finance. 
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Respectfully submitted, 

  Eric J. Tarr, 
    Chair. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. House Bill 5430, Relating to per diem compensation and expenses of newly elected or 
appointed judicial officers receiving education and training prior to taking the oath of office. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. H. B. 5430) 
contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken up for immediate 
consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5561, Relating to permitting the electronic execution of trusts. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5561) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Grady, from the Committee on Education, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Education has had under consideration 
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House Concurrent Resolution 24, To create a study resolution to examine the school aid 
formula. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it be adopted. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Amy N. Grady, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the resolution (H. C. R. 
24) contained in the foregoing report from the Committee on Education was then referred to the 
Committee on Rules. 

The Senate proceeded to the sixth order of business. 

Senator Takubo offered the following resolution: 

Senate Resolution 68—Designating March 7, 2024, as Recovery Community Day at the 
Legislature. 

Which, under the rules, lies over one day. 

Senator Rucker offered the following resolution: 

Senate Resolution 69—Recognizing the month of March as National Social Work Awareness 
Month. 

Which, under the rules, lies over one day. 

The Senate proceeded to the seventh order of business. 

Senate Concurrent Resolution 35, Requesting study on efficiency and accountability of 
county boards of education. 

On unfinished business, coming up in regular order, was reported by the Clerk. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the resolution was 
referred to the Committee on Rules. 

Senate Resolution 67, Designating March 6, 2024, as Suicide Prevention Awareness Day. 

On unfinished business, coming up in regular order, was reported by the Clerk. 

At the request of Senator Weld, unanimous consent being granted, reference of the resolution 
to a committee was dispensed with, and it was taken up for immediate consideration and adopted. 

The Senate proceeded to the eighth order of business. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 644, Supplementing and amending appropriations to 
Department of Commerce, Division of Forestry, and Geological and Economic Survey. 
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On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 644) passed with its title. 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect from passage. 

On this question, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, Deeds, 
Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, 
Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, 
Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 644) takes effect from passage. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 656, Supplementing and amending appropriations to DHHR, 
Division of Human Services. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 656) passed with its title. 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect from passage. 

On this question, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, Deeds, 
Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, 
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Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, 
Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 656) takes effect from passage. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for Senate Bill 665, Supplementing and amending appropriations to DHHR, 
Division of Health. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 665) passed with its title. 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect from passage. 

On this question, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, Deeds, 
Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, 
Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, 
Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for S. B. 665) takes effect from passage. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4709, Relating to vocational and technical education 
programs. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 
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On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4709) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4971, Relating to Critical Materials Manufacturing Tax. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4971) passed. 

The following amendment to the title of the bill, from the Committee on Finance, was reported 
by the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4971—A Bill to amend the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as 
amended, by adding thereto a new article, designated §11-6M-1, §11-6M-2, and §11-6M-3 all 
relating to limiting property tax on silicon and silicon carbide manufacturing property; providing for 
property tax treatment of silicon and silicon carbide manufacturing property as its salvage value; 
providing for rule making authority and administration by the Tax Commissioner; providing an 
effective date for assessments on or after July 1, 2025; and providing a sunset date. 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect July 1, 2025. 

On this question, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, Deeds, 
Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, 
Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, 
Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  
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So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4971) takes effect July 1, 2025. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4986, Relating to computer science and cybersecurity 
instruction for adult learners. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4986) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5013, Relating to Timber Management. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5013) passed. 

On motion of Senator Woodrum, the following amendment to the title of the bill was reported 
by the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5013—A Bill to amend and reenact §11-1C-2 of the Code of 
West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to amending the definition of managed timberland to 
be more inclusive of certain real estate by removing an exception to the program concerning 
subdivisions and planning ordnances; clarifying the definition an exception to the program 
concerning property precluded from development; and allowing land subject to, or that may 
become subject, to a conservation or preservation easement to enter into a timberland 
management agreement.  
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Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. House Bill 5014, Supplementing and amending appropriations to West Virginia 
University General Administration Fund. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

Senator Takubo requested a ruling from the Chair as to whether he should be excused from 
voting under Rule 43 of the Rules of the Senate as he is an Executive Vice President for West 
Virginia University Medicine. 

The Chair replied that any impact on Senator Takubo would be as a member of a class of 
persons and that he would be required to vote. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5014) passed. 

The following amendment to the title of the bill, from the Committee on Finance, was reported 
by the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. House Bill 5014—A Bill supplementing and amending the appropriations of public 
moneys out of the Treasury from the balance of moneys remaining as an unappropriated balance 
in the State Fund, General Revenue, to the Governor's Office – Civil Contingent Fund, fund 0105, 
fiscal year 2024, organization 0100, by supplementing and amending the appropriations for the 
fiscal year ending June 30, 2024. 

Whereas, The Governor submitted an Executive Message to the Legislature on January 10, 
2024, which included a Statement of the State Fund, General Revenue, setting forth therein the 
cash balance as of July 1, 2023, and further included the estimate of revenue for the fiscal year 
2024, less net appropriation balances forwarded and regular and surplus appropriations for the 
fiscal year 2024, and further included recommended expirations to the unappropriated balance of 
the State Fund, General Revenue; and 

Whereas, It appears from the Governor's Statement of the State Fund, General Revenue, 
there now remains an unappropriated balance in the Treasury which is available for appropriation 
during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024; therefore 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect from passage. 

On this question, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, Deeds, 
Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, 
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Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, 
Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5014) takes effect from passage. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5024, Relating to exempting non-grantor trusts administered 
in this state from the personal income tax. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5024) passed. 

The following amendment to the title of the bill, from the Committee on Finance, was reported 
by the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5024—A Bill to amend and reenact §11-21-3, §11-21-4g, §11-
21-18, §11-21-30, §11-21-40, §11-21-51, and §11-21-71a of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as 
amended, all relating to the personal income tax by exempting non-grantor trusts administered 
by licensed private trust companies in this state from the personal income tax. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. House Bill 5056, Relating to substitute service personnel positions. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  
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Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5056) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5082, Exempt those with 25 years holding an insurance 
license from attaining additional CEUs. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

Senators Oliverio and Hamilton, respectively, requested rulings from the Chair as to whether 
they should be excused from voting under Rule 43 of the Rules of the Senate. 

The Chair replied that any impact on Senators Oliverio and Hamilton would be as members 
of a class of persons and that they would be required to vote. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Phillips, Plymale, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, 
Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—32. 

The nays were: Oliverio and Queen—2. 

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5082) passed. 

The following amendment to the title of the bill, from the Committee on Banking and Insurance, 
was reported by the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5082—A Bill to amend and reenact §33-12-8 of the Code of 
West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to reducing the continuing education requirement for 
individual insurance producer who have been licensed as such for 25 years or more. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. House Bill 5170, Increasing the size of matching grants for local economic development 
from $30,000 to $50,000. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  
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Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5170) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

Eng. House Bill 5213, To allow Gold Star spouses to receive one free Gold Star vehicle 
registration for personal use. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5213) passed. 

The following amendment to the title of the bill, from the Committee on Military, was reported 
by the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. House Bill 5213—A Bill to amend and reenact §17-3-14b, the Code of West Virginia, 
1931, as amended, relating to providing for one free Gold Star Family license plate to a Gold Star 
spouse. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5223, To create the Southern Coalfield Resiliency and 
Revitalization Program. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5223) passed with its title. 
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Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5294, Revising state law regulating farm wineries. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, with the Judiciary committee amendment 
pending, and with the right having been granted on March 4, 2024, for further amendments to be 
received on third reading, was read a third time. 

At the request of Senator Trump, as chair of the Committee on the Judiciary, and by 
unanimous consent, the Judiciary committee amendment to the bill (shown in the Senate Journal 
of Monday, March 4, 2024, pages 23 to 70, inclusive) was withdrawn. 

On motion of Senator Trump, the following amendment to the bill was reported by the Clerk: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

CHAPTER 11. TAXATION. 

ARTICLE 16. NONINTOXICATING BEER. 

§11-16-6a. Brewer and resident brewer license to manufacture, sell, and provide 
complimentary samples. 

(a) Legislative findings. — The Legislature hereby finds that it is in the public interest to 
regulate, control, and support the brewing, manufacturing, distribution, sale, consumption, 
transportation, and storage of nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft beer and its industry 
in this state in order to protect the public health, welfare, and safety of the citizens of this state, 
and promote hospitality and tourism. Therefore, this section authorizes a licensed brewer or 
resident brewer with its principal place of business and manufacture located in this state to have 
certain abilities in order to promote the sale of nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft beer 
manufactured in this state for the benefit of the citizens of this state, the state's growing brewing 
industry, and the state's hospitality and tourism industry, all of which are vital components for the 
state's economy. 

(b) Sales of nonintoxicating beer. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer with its principal 
place of business and manufacture located in the State of West Virginia may offer only 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer manufactured by the licensed brewer or resident 
brewer for retail sale to customers from the brewer's or resident brewer's licensed premises for 
consumption off of the licensed premises only in the form of kegs, bottles, cans, or growlers for 
personal consumption and not for resale. A licensed brewer or resident brewer may not sell, give, 
or furnish nonintoxicating beer for consumption on the premises of the principal place of business 
and manufacture located in the State of West Virginia, except for the limited purpose of 
complimentary samples as permitted in subsection (c) of this section. 

(c) Complimentary samples Samples. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer with its principal 
place of business and manufacture located in the State of West Virginia may only offer 
complimentary samples of nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer brewed at the 
brewer's or resident brewer's principal place of business and manufacture located in the State of 
West Virginia. The complimentary samples may be no greater than two ounces per sample per 
patron, and a sampling shall not exceed 10 complimentary two-ounce samples per patron per 
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day. A licensed brewer or resident brewer providing complimentary samples shall provide 
complimentary food items to the patron consuming the complimentary samples; and prior to any 
sampling, verify, using proper identification, that the patron sampling consuming the samples is 
21 years of age or over and that the patron is not visibly intoxicated. 

(d) Retail sales. — Every licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section shall comply 
with all the provisions of this article as applicable to nonintoxicating beer retailers when conducting 
sales of nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer and shall be is subject to all applicable 
requirements and penalties in this article. In the interest of promoting tourism throughout the state, 
every licensed brewer or resident brewer manufacturing nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating 
craft beer in this state is authorized, with a limited off-site retail privilege at private fair fairs and 
festivals, for on-premises consumption sales and off-premises consumption sales of only the 
brewer or resident brewer's sealed nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer. At least five 
days prior to an approved private fair and festival, an authorized brewer or resident brewer shall 
provide a copy of a written agreement to sell only nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft 
beer manufactured by the brewer or resident brewer at the private fair and festival's licensed 
premises. If approved, an authorized brewer or resident brewer may conduct on-premises and 
off-premises consumption sales of their nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer from a 
designated booth at the private fair and festival as set forth in §60-7-8a of this code. All authorized 
and approved brewers or resident brewers conducting the on-premises and off-premises 
consumption sales shall comply with all retail requirements in §11-16-1 et seq. of this code, and 
specifically with respect to all markups, taxes, and fees. Additionally, an authorized brewer or 
resident brewer may provide, sell, and serve its nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer 
complimentary samples in the amount set forth in subsection (c) of this section and its 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer by the glass or drink, or by the bottle or can for 
on-premises consumption when licensesd as set forth in this article to patrons who are 21 years 
of age or over and who are not intoxicated in the amounts set forth in subsection (c). 

(e) Payment of taxes and fees. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section 
shall pay all taxes and fees required of licensed nonintoxicating beer retailers, in addition to any 
other taxes and fees required, and meet applicable licensing provisions as required by this 
chapter and by rule of the commissioner. 

(f) Advertising. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section may advertise a 
particular brand or brands of nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer produced by the 
licensed brewer or resident brewer and the price of the nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating 
craft beer subject to state and federal requirements or restrictions. The advertisement may not 
encourage intemperance. 

(g) Growler requirements. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section shall fill 
a growler and patrons are not permitted to access the secure area or fill a growler. A licensed 
brewer or resident brewer under this section shall sanitize, fill, securely seal, and label any growler 
prior to its sale. A licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section may only offer for retail 
sale growlers no larger than 128 fluid ounces of nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer 
manufactured by the licensed brewer or resident brewer for personal consumption off of the 
licensed premises and not for resale. A licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section may 
refill a growler subject to the requirements of this section. A licensed brewer or resident brewer 
shall visually inspect any growler before filling or refilling it. A licensed brewer or resident brewer 
may not fill or refill any growler that appears to be cracked, broken, unsafe, or otherwise unfit to 
serve as a sealed beverage container. 
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(h) Growler labeling. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer under this section selling 
growlers shall affix a conspicuous label on all sold and securely sealed growlers listing the name 
of the licensee selling the growler, the brand of the nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft 
beer in the growler, the alcohol content by volume of the nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating 
craft beer in the growler, and the date the growler was filled or refilled. and, further, all All labeling 
on the growler shall be consistent with all federal labeling and warning requirements. 

(i) Growler sanitation. — A licensed brewer or resident brewer authorized under this section 
shall clean and sanitize all growlers he or she fills or refills in accordance with all state and county 
health requirements prior to its sealing. In addition, the licensed brewer or resident brewer shall 
sanitize, in accordance with all state and county health requirements, all taps, tap lines, pipelines, 
barrel tubes, and any other related equipment used to fill or refill growlers. Failure to comply with 
this subsection may result in penalties under §11-16-23 of this code. 

(j) Fee. — There is no additional fee for a licensed brewer or resident brewer authorized under 
this section to sell growlers. 

(k) Limitations on licensees. — To be authorized under this section, a licensed brewer or 
resident brewer may not produce more than 25,000 barrels per calendar year at the brewer's or 
resident brewer's principal place of business and manufacture located in the State of West 
Virginia. No more than one brewer or resident brewer license may be issued to a single person 
or entity and no person may hold both a brewer and a resident brewer license. A licensed brewer 
or resident brewer under this section may only conduct tours, give complimentary samples, and 
sell growlers during the hours of operation set forth in §11-16-18(a)(1) of this code. A licensed 
brewer or resident brewer authorized under this section shall be is subject to the applicable 
penalties under §11-16-23 of this code for violations of this section. 

(l) (1) Contract Brewing Services Alternating Proprietorship Agreements. - A licensed brewer 
or resident brewer may enter into contract brewing services alternating proprietorship agreements 
with another licensed brewer or resident brewer with its principal place of business and 
manufacture located in the State of West Virginia for purposes of sharing brewing equipment or 
facilities as part of the manufacture of nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer. Any such 
contract brewing services alternating proprietorship agreement shall be provided to the West 
Virginia Alcohol Beverage and Control Administration and set forth the following terms and 
conditions: 

(A) The licensed brewer or resident brewer serving as the brewer of record and retaining 
ownership, rights, title, and interest in the nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer recipe 
and brand; 

(B) The licensed brewer or resident brewer who will be responsible for executing any brew of 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer; 

(C) The location of the facilities to be utilized used for the manufacture of the nonintoxicating 
beer or nonintoxicating craft beer; 

(D) Specifications regarding the packaging of all nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft 
beer manufactured under the contract brewing services agreement; and 

(E) The manner of payment of any and all federal and state excise taxes associated with the 
manufactured nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer.  
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(2) The licensed brewer or resident brewer serving as the brewer of record is responsible for 
the transportation of the finished and packaged product to their its licensed facility, where it must 
come to rest be tax determined. Any nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer 
manufactured pursuant to a contract brewing services an alternating proprietorship agreement 
shall be credited to the specified brewer of record for purposes of the barrel limitations set forth 
in §11-16-6a(k) of this code, and not the licensed brewer or resident brewer responsible for 
executing any brew on behalf of the brewer of record.  

(m) Rules. — The commissioner, in consultation with the Bureau for Public Health concerning 
sanitation, may propose rules for legislative approval, pursuant to §29A-3-1 et seq. of this code, 
to implement this section. 

§11-16-11a. Nonintoxicating beer sampling. 

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, a Class A retail licensee or 
Class B retail licensee may, with the written approval of the commissioner, conduct a 
nonintoxicating beer sampling event on a designated nonintoxicating beer sampling day. 

(b) At least five business days prior to the nonintoxicating beer sampling, the Class A retail 
licensee or Class B retail licensee shall submit a written proposal to the commissioner requesting 
to hold a nonintoxicating beer sampling event, including: 

(1) The day of the event; 

(2) The location of the event; 

(3) The times for the event; 

(4) The names of up to three specific brands, types, and flavors, if any, of the nonintoxicating 
beer to be sampled; and 

(5) A statement indicating that all the nonintoxicating beer brands have been registered and 
approved for sale in the state by the commissioner. 

(c) Upon approval by the commissioner, a Class A retail licensee or Class B retail licensee 
may serve the complimentary nonintoxicating beer samples of the approved brands, types, and 
flavors that are purchased by the Class A retail licensee or Class B retail licensee, with all taxes 
paid, from its inventory. 

(d) The complimentary nonintoxicating beer sample on any nonintoxicating beer sampling day 
shall not exceed: 

(1) One Three separate and individual sample servings per brand, type, and flavor per 
customer verified to be 21 years of age or older; and 

(2) Two Four ounces in total volume per brand, type, and flavor. 

(e) Servers at the nonintoxicating beer sampling event shall: 

(1) Be employees of the Class A retail licensee or Class B retail licensee; 

(2) Be at least 21 years of age or older; and 

https://code.wvlegislature.gov/11-16-6a
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(3) Have specific knowledge of the nonintoxicating beer being sampled to convey to the 
customer. 

(f) All servers at the nonintoxicating beer sampling event shall verify the age of the customer 
sampling nonintoxicating beer by requiring and reviewing proper forms of identification. Servers 
at the nonintoxicating beer event may not serve any person who is: 

(1) Under the age of 21 years; or 

(2) Intoxicated. 

(g) A nonintoxicating beer sampling event shall: 

(1) Occur only inside the Class A retail licensee's or Class B retail licensee's licensed 
premises; and 

(2) Cease on or before 9:00 p.m. on any approved nonintoxicating beer sampling day. 

(h) Any nonintoxicating beer bottle or can used for sampling must be from the inventory of the 
licensee, and clearly and conspicuously labeled "SAMPLE, NOT FOR RESALE". If the seal is 
broken on any nonintoxicating beer bottle or can, or if any nonintoxicating beer bottle or can is 
opened, then that nonintoxicating beer bottle or can must be removed from the licensed premises 
immediately following the event. 

(i) Violations of this section are subject to the civil and criminal penalties set forth in §11-16-
18, §11-16-19, §11-16-20, §11-16-22, §11-16-23, §11-16-24 and §11-16-25 of this code. 

(j) To implement the provisions of this section, the commissioner may promulgate emergency 
rules pursuant to the provisions of §29a-3-1 of this code or propose rules for legislative approval 
in accordance with the provisions of §29a -3-1 et seq. of this code. 

CHAPTER 60. STATE CONTROL OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUORS. 

ARTICLE 3A. SALES BY RETAIL LIQUOR LICENSEES 

§60-3A-3a. Liquor sampling. 

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, a Class A retail licensee or 
Class B retail licensee may conduct a liquor sampling event on a designated sampling day. 

(b) At least five business days prior to the liquor sampling, the Class A retail licensee or Class 
B retail licensee shall submit a written proposal to the commissioner informing the Commissioner 
that the Class A licensee or Class B retail licensee will hold a liquor sampling event, including: 

(1) The day of the event; 

(2) The location of the event; 

(3) The times for the event; and 

(4) The specific brand and flavor of the West Virginia product to be sampled. 
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(c) Upon approval by the commissioner, a Class A retail licensee or Class B retail licensee 
may serve a complimentary liquor sample of the approved brand and flavor of the West Virginia 
product that is purchased by the Class A retail licensee, Class B retail licensee, or from the 
commissioner. Alternatively, a licensed representative may purchase a sealed bottle of West 
Virginia product at retail in West Virginia from the Class A retail licensee or Class B retail licensee 
for use at the licensee's liquor sampling event on an approved sampling day. The licensed 
representative must submit a promotions form and receive approval prior to purchasing and 
furnishing a sealed bottle of West Virginia product at retail in West Virginia for a Class A retail 
licensee or Class B retail licensee. The licensed representative may, upon approval of the 
licensee, serve the complimentary samples subject to the requirements of this section. Any 
licensed representative that participates in purchasing sealed bottles of West Virginia product for 
licensees must make this same or equivalent sampling opportunity available to any Class A retail 
licensee or Class B retail licensee upon request by the licensee. 

(d) The complimentary liquor samples on any sampling day shall not exceed: 

(1) Three four separate and individual half ounce samples serving per customer verified to be 
21 years of age or older; and totaling not more than two ounces of liquor. 

(2) One and one-half ounces in total volume. Samples may be mixed with each other or with 
non-alcoholic liquids as long as the total amount of the liquor sampled does not exceed one and 
one-half two ounces. 

(e) Servers at the liquor sampling event shall: 

(1) Be employees of the Class A retail licensee, or Class B retail licensee; and 

(2) Be at least 21 years of age or older. 

(f) All servers at the liquor sampling event shall verify the age of the customer sampling liquor 
by requiring and reviewing proper forms of identification. Servers at the liquor sampling event may 
not serve any person who is: 

(1) Under the age of 21 years; 

(2) Intoxicated. 

(g) A liquor sampling event shall: 

(1) Occur only inside the Class A retail licensee's licensed premises or Class B retail licensee's 
restricted area on the licensed premises; and 

(2) Cease on or before 9:00 p.m. on any approved sampling day. 

(h) Any liquor bottle used for sampling must be from the inventory of the licensee, and clearly 
and conspicuously labeled "SAMPLE, NOT FOR RESALE". If the seal is broken on any liquor 
bottle or if any liquor bottle is opened, then that liquor bottle must be removed from the licensed 
premises immediately following the event. 

(i) Violations of this section are subject to the civil and criminal penalties set forth in §60-3A-
24, §60-3A-25a, §60-3A-26, and §60-3A-27 of this code; 
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ARTICLE 4. LICENSES.  

§60-4-3a. Distillery, mini-distillery, and micro-distillery license to manufacture and sell. 

(a) Sales of liquor. — An operator of a distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery may offer 
liquor for retail sale to customers from the distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery for 
consumption off-premises only. Except for complimentary samples offered pursuant to §60-6-1 of 
this code, customers may not consume any liquor on the premises of the distillery, mini-distillery, 
or micro-distillery, and except for a distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery that obtains a private 
manufacturer club license set forth in §60-7-1 et seq. of this code, and a Class A retail dealer 
license set forth in §11-16-1 et seq. of the code: Provided, That a licensed distillery, mini-distillery, 
or micro-distillery may offer complimentary samples of alcoholic liquors as authorized by this 
subsection when alcoholic liquors are manufactured by that licensed distillery, mini-distillery, or 
micro-distillery for consumption on the licensed premises. Notwithstanding any other provision of 
law to the contrary, a licensed distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery may sell, furnish, and 
serve alcoholic liquors when licensed accordingly beginning at 6:00 a.m. unless otherwise 
determined by the residents of the county pursuant to §7-1-3ss of this code.  

(b) Retail on-premises and off-premises consumption sales. — Every licensed distillery, mini-
distillery, or micro-distillery shall comply with the provisions of §60-3A-9, §60-3A-11, §60-3A-13, 
§60-3A-16, §60-3A-17, §60-3A-18, §60-3A-19, §60-3A-22, §60-3A-23, §60-3A-24, §60-3A-25, 
and §60-3A-26 of this code, and the provisions of §60-3-1 et seq., and §60-4-1 et seq., and §60-
7-1 et seq. of this code, applicable to liquor retailers, and distillers. In the interest of promoting 
tourism throughout the state, every licensed distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery 
manufacturing liquor in this state is authorized, with a limited off-site retail privilege at private fair 
fairs and festivals, for on-premises consumption sales served by the drink or glass, off-premises 
consumption sales by the bottle of only the licensed distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery's 
sealed liquor. At least five days prior to an approved private fair and festival, an authorized 
distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery shall provide a copy of a written agreement to sell only 
liquor manufactured by the licensed distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery at the private fair 
and festival's licensed premises. If approved, an authorized distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-
distillery may conduct on-premises and off-premises consumption sales of their its liquor from a 
designated booth at the private fair and festival as set forth in §60-7-8a of this code. All authorized 
and approved distilleries, mini-distilleries, and micro-distilleries' off-premises consumption sales 
shall comply with all retail requirements in §60-3A-1 et seq. of this code, and specifically §60-3A-
17 of this code with respect to all markups, taxes, and fees and also all retail requirements of §60-
7-1 et seq. of this code when applicable. Additionally, every authorized distillery, mini-distillery, 
and micro-distillery may provide complimentary samples to patrons who are 21 years of age and 
older and who are not intoxicated. The complimentary liquor samples of the licensed distillery, 
mini-distillery, or micro-distillery's product on any sampling day shall not exceed: 

(1) Three separate and individual samples sample servings per customer verified to be 21 
years of age or older; and 

(2) One and one-half Six ounces in total volume. Samples may be mixed with each other or 
with non-alcoholic liquids as long as the total amount of the liquor sampled does not exceed one 
and one-half six ounces. 

(c) Payment of taxes and fees. — The distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery shall pay all 
taxes and fees required of licensed retailers and meet applicable licensing provisions as required 
by this chapter and by rule of the commissioner, except for payments of the wholesale markup 
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percentage and the handling fee provided by rule of the commissioner: Provided, That all liquor 
for sale to customers from the distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery for off-premises 
consumption is subject of a five percent wholesale markup fee and an 80 cents per case bailment 
fee to be paid to the commissioner: Provided, however, That liquor sold by the distillery, mini-
distillery, or micro-distillery shall not be priced less than the price set by the commissioner 
pursuant §60-3A-17 of this code. 

(d) Payments to market zone retailers. — Each distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery shall 
submit to the commissioner two percent of the gross sales price of each retail liquor sale for the 
value of all sales at the distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery each month. Any sales by a 
distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery at a private fair and festival are treated as occurring on 
their licensed premises for purposes of this market zone calculation. This collection shall be 
distributed by the commissioner, at least quarterly, to each market zone retailer located in the 
distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery's market zone, proportionate to each market zone 
retailer's annual gross prior years pretax value sales. The maximum amount of market zone 
payments that a distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery shall submit to the commissioner is 
$15,000 per annum. 

(e) Limitations on licensees. — A distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery may not produce 
more than 50,000 gallons per calendar year. The commissioner may issue more than one 
distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery license to a single person or entity and a person may 
hold both a distillery and a mini-distillery license. The owners of a licensed distillery, mini-distillery, 
or micro-distillery may operate a winery, farm winery, brewery, or as a resident brewer as 
otherwise specified in the code. 

(f) Building code and tax classification. — Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the 
contrary, the mere addition of a distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery licensed under this 
article on a property does not change the nature or use of the property which otherwise qualifies 
as agricultural use for building code and property tax classification purposes. 

(g) A political subdivision of this state may not regulate any of the following activities of a 
distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery licensed and operating in accordance with this section: 

(1) The on-premises sale, tasting, or consumption of liquor during business hours set forth in 
§60-7-12 of this code; 

(2) The storage, warehousing, and wholesaling of liquor in accordance with the rules of the 
commissioner and federal law or regulations; or 

(3) The sale of liquor related items including but not limited to the sale of pre-packaged food 
not requiring kitchen preparation that are incidental to the sale of liquor and on-premises 
consumption. 

§60-4-3b. Winery and farm winery license to manufacture and sell. 

(a) An operator of a winery or farm winery may offer wine produced by the winery, farm winery, 
or a farm entity authorized by §60-1-5c of this code, for retail sale to customers from the winery 
or farm winery for consumption on-premises or off the off-premises only. Customers may 
consume wine on the on-premises by the glass or drink or by the bottle when consumed by the 
glass when an operator of a winery or farm winery offers complimentary samples pursuant to this 
section and §60-6-1 of this code, and when the winery or farm winery is licensed as a private wine 
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restaurant, or the winery or farm winery is licensed as a private manufacturer club. Customers 
may not consume any wine on the licensed premises of the winery, farm winery, or a farm entity 
authorized by §60-1-5c of this code, unless the winery, farm winery, or farm entity has obtained 
a multi-capacity winery or farm winery license: Provided, That under this subsection, a licensed 
winery or farm winery may offer complimentary samples of wine manufactured by that licensed 
winery or farm winery for consumption on the on-premises only on Sundays beginning at 6:00 
a.m. in any county in which the same has been approved as provided in §7-1-3ss during the hours 
of operation set forth in §60-8-34 of this code. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the 
contrary, a licensed winery or farm winery may sell, serve, and furnish wine, for on-premises 
consumption when licensed accordingly, beginning at 6:00 a.m., and for off-premises 
consumption beginning at 6:00 a.m. on any day of the week, during the hours of operation set 
forth in §60-8-34 of this code unless otherwise determined by the residents of the county pursuant 
to §7-1-3ss of this code. 

(b) Restriction by a political subdivision upon activities and events of farm wineries licensed 
in accordance with §60-4-3b of the code, to market and sell their products shall be reasonable 
and shall take into account the economic impact on the farm winery of such restriction, the 
agricultural nature of such activities and events, and whether such activities and events are usual 
and customary for farm wineries throughout the state of West Virginia and adjacent states. Usual 
and customary activities and events at farm wineries shall be permitted without local regulation 
unless there is a substantial impact on the health, safety, or welfare of the public. No local 
ordinance regulating noise, other than outdoor amplified music, arising from activities and events 
at farm wineries shall be more restrictive than that in the general noise ordinance. In authorizing 
outdoor amplified music at a farm winery, the political subdivision shall consider the effect on 
adjacent property owners and nearby residents. 

(b) (c) A political subdivision may not regulate any of the following activities of a farm winery 
licensed and operating in accordance with this section: 

(1) The production and harvesting of fruit and other agricultural products and the 
manufacturing of wine; 

(2) The on-premises sale, tasting, or consumption of wine during business hours set forth in 
§60-8-34 of this code;  

(3) The direct sale and shipment of wine by common carrier to consumers in accordance with 
the requirements of §60-8-6 and §60-8-6a of this code and the rules of the West Virginia Alcohol 
Beverage Control Commissioner; 

(4) The storage, warehousing, and wholesaling of wine in accordance with the rules of the 
West Virginia and federal law or regulations; or 

(5) The sale of wine-related items, including, but not limited, to the sale of pre-packaged food 
not requiring kitchen preparation, that are incidental to the sale of wine and on-premises 
consumption. 

(6) To serve and sell wine by the glass or drink and by the bottle when consumed by the glass 
for consumption on- premises consumption, without the requirement to serve prepared food with 
the wine or application of any local health department limitations for food service in the area in 
which the wine is served. 
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(d) No political subdivision may treat private personal gatherings held by the owner of a 
licensed farm winery who resides at the farm winery or on property adjacent thereto that is owned 
or controlled by such owner at which gatherings wine is not sold or marketed and for which no 
consideration is received by the farm winery or its agents differently from private personal 
gatherings by other citizens. 

 (b) Complimentary samples (e) Samples allowed by the provisions of this section may not 
exceed two three fluid ounces and no more than three six samples may be given to a patron in 
any one day. 

 (c)Complimentary samples (f) Samples may be provided only for on-premises consumption. 

 (d) (g) A winery, farm winery, or farm entity, pursuant to §60-1-5c of this code, may offer for 
retail sale from their its licensed premises sealed original container bottles of wine for off-premises 
consumption only. 

 (e) (h) A winery, farm winery, or farm entity licensed pursuant to §60-1-5c of this code, holding 
a multi-capacity license and a private wine restaurant license or private manufacturer club license 
may offer for sale wine by the drink or glass in a private wine restaurant located or wine by the 
bottle when consumed by the glass on the property of the winery, farm winery, or farm entity 
licensed pursuant to §60-1-5c of this code. 

 (f) (i) Every licensed winery or farm winery shall comply with the provisions of §60-3-1 et seq., 
§60-4-1 et seq., and §60-8-1 et seq. of this code as applicable to wine retailers, wineries, and 
suppliers when properly licensed in such capacities. 

 (g) (j) (1) The winery or farm winery shall pay all taxes and fees required of licensed wine 
retailers and meet applicable licensing provisions as required by this chapter and by rules 
promulgated by the commissioner.  

(2) Each winery or farm winery acting as its own supplier shall submit to the Tax Commissioner 
the liter tax for all sales at the winery or farm winery each month, as provided in §60-8-1 et seq. 
of this code. 

(3) The five percent wine excise tax, levied pursuant to §60-3-9d of this code, or pursuant to 
§8-13-7 of this code, may not be imposed or collected on purchases of wine in the original sealed 
package for the purpose of resale in the original sealed package, if the final purchase of the wine 
is subject to the excise tax or if the purchase is delivered outside this state. 

(4) A liter tax shall not be collected on wine sold in the original sealed package for the purpose 
of resale in the original sealed package if a subsequent sale of the wine is subject to the liter tax.  

(5) This section shall not be interpreted to authorize a purchase for resale exemption in 
contravention of §11-15-9a of this code. 

 (h) (k) A winery or farm winery may advertise a particular brand or brands of wine produced 
by it. The price of the wine is subject to federal requirements or restrictions. 

 (i) (l) A winery or farm winery shall maintain separate winery or farm winery supplier, retailer, 
and direct shipper licenses when acting in one or more of those capacities and shall pay all 
associated license fees, unless the winery or farm winery holds a license issued pursuant to the 



42 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

provisions of §60-8-3(b)(12) of this code. A winery or farm winery, if holding the appropriate 
licenses or a multi-capacity winery or farm winery license, may act as its own supplier; retailer for 
off-premises consumption of its wine as specified in §60-6-2 of this code; private wine restaurant; 
and or direct shipper for wine produced by the winery or farm winery. A winery or farm winery that 
has applied, paid all fees, and met all requirements may obtain a private manufacturer club license 
subject to the requirements of §60-7-1 et seq. of this code, and a Class A retail dealer license 
subject to the requirements of §11-16-1 et seq. of this code. All wineries shall use a distributor to 
distribute and sell their wine in the state, except for farm wineries. Wineries or farm wineries may 
enter into alternating wine proprietorship agreements, pursuant to §60-1-5c of this code. 

 (j) (m) The owners of a licensed winery or farm winery may operate a distillery, mini-distillery, 
or micro-distillery, brewery, or as a resident brewer, as otherwise specified in the code. 

 (k) (n) For purposes of this section, terms have the same meaning as provided in §8-13-7 of 
this code. 

 (l) (o) Building code and tax classification. — Notwithstanding any provision of this code to 
the contrary, the mere addition of a winery or farm winery licensed under this article on a property 
does not change the nature or use of the property which otherwise qualifies as agricultural use 
for building code and property tax classification purposes. 

 (m) (p) In the interest of promoting tourism throughout the state, every licensed winery or 
farm winery manufacturing wine in this state is authorized, with a limited off-site retail privilege at 
private fair fairs and festivals, for on-premises consumption sales and off-premises consumption 
sales of only the winery or farm winery's sealed wine. At least five days prior to an approved 
private fair and festival, an authorized winery or farm winery shall provide a copy of a written 
agreement to sell only wine manufactured by the licensed winery or farm winery at the private fair 
and festival's licensed premises. If approved, an authorized licensed winery or farm winery may 
conduct on-premises and off-premises consumption sales of their its wine from a designated 
booth at the private fair and festival as set forth in §60-7-8a of this code. All authorized and 
approved wineries and farm wineries' on-premises and off-premises consumption sales shall 
comply with all retail requirements in §60-8-1 et seq. of this code, and specifically with respect to 
all markups, taxes, and fees. Additionally, an authorized winery, farm winery, or unlicensed 
winery, as referenced in §60-8-3 of this code or may provide, sell, and serve complimentary wine 
samples of its wine in the amounts set forth in subsection (b) of this section, wine by the glass or 
drink, or drinks wine by the bottle, or when consumed by the glass, for on-premises consumption 
to patrons who are 21 years of age and older and who are not intoxicated in the amounts set forth 
in subsection (b).  

(q) Farm Wineries. – A farm winery is permitted to serve and sell wine as authorized by this 
section without the requirement to serve prepared food or the application of any local health 
department requirements for food service. Prior to the sale, the licensee shall verify, using proper 
identification, that any patron purchasing wine is 21 years of age or over and that the patron is 
not visibly intoxicated. 

(r) All Farm Wineries may serve and sell wine at any fair or festival in the state of West Virginia 
consistent with the requirements of §60-8-3 and §60-8-8 of this code. 

ARTICLE 6. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS. 

§60-6-1. When lawful to possess, use or serve alcoholic liquors. 
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The provisions of this chapter may not prevent: 

(1) A person from keeping and possessing alcoholic liquors in his or her residence for the 
personal use of himself or herself, his or her family, his or her employee, or his or her guests if 
the alcoholic liquors have been lawfully acquired by him or her; 

(2) A person, his or her family, or employee from giving or serving such alcoholic liquors to 
guests in the residence, when the gift or service is not for the purpose of evading the provisions 
of this chapter; 

(3) The holder of a winery or a farm winery license from serving complimentary samples of its 
wine in moderate quantities for tasting on the winery or the farm winery premises; and 

(4) The holder of a distillery, mini-distillery, or a micro-distillery license from serving 
complimentary samples of its alcoholic liquor in moderate quantities for tasting on the distillery, 
mini-distillery, or micro-distillery premises. 

ARTICLE 7. LICENSES TO PRIVATE CLUBS. 

§60-7-2. Definitions; authorizations; requirements for certain licenses. 

Unless the context in which used clearly requires a different meaning, as used in this article: 

(1) "Applicant" means a private club applying for a license under the provisions of this article. 

(2) "Code" means the official Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended. 

(3) "Commissioner" means the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Commissioner. 

(4) "Licensee" means the holder of a license to operate a private club granted under this 
article, which remains unexpired, unsuspended, and unrevoked. 

(5) "Private club" means any corporation or unincorporated association which either:  

(A) Belongs to or is affiliated with a nationally recognized fraternal or veterans' organization 
which is operated exclusively for the benefit of its members, which pays no part of its income to 
its shareholders or individual members, which owns or leases a building or other premises to 
which club are admitted only duly-elected or approved dues-paying members in good standing of 
the corporation or association and their guests while in the company of a member and to which 
club the general public is not admitted, and which maintains in the building or on the premises a 
suitable kitchen and dining facility with related equipment for serving food to members and their 
guests;  

(B) Is a nonprofit social club, which is operated exclusively for the benefit of its members, 
which pays no part of its income to its shareholders or individual members, which owns or leases 
a building or other premises to which club are admitted only duly-elected or approved dues-paying 
members in good standing of the corporation or association and their guests while in the company 
of a member and to which club the general public is not admitted, and which maintains in the 
building or on the premises a suitable kitchen and dining facility with related equipment for serving 
food to members and their guests;  
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(C) Is organized and operated for legitimate purposes which has at least 100 duly- elected or 
approved dues-paying members in good standing, which owns or leases a building or other 
premises, including any vessel licensed or approved by any federal agency to carry or 
accommodate passengers on navigable waters of this state, to which club are admitted only duly- 
elected or approved dues-paying members in good standing of the corporation or association and 
their guests while in the company of a member and to which club the general public is not 
admitted, and which club maintains in the building or on the premises a suitable kitchen and dining 
facility with related equipment and employs a sufficient number of persons for serving meals to 
members and their guests; or 

(D) Is organized for legitimate purposes and owns or leases a building or other delimited 
premises in any state, county, or municipal park, or at any airport, in which building or premises 
a club has been established, to which club are admitted only duly-elected and approved dues-
paying members in good standing and their guests while in the company of a member and to 
which the general public is not admitted, and which maintains in connection with the club a 
suitable kitchen and dining facility and related equipment and employs a sufficient number of 
persons for serving meals in the club to the members and their guests.  

(6) "Private bakery" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club license that 
has a primary function of operating a food preparation business that produces baked goods, 
including brownies, cookies, cupcakes, confections, muffins, breads, cakes, wedding cakes, and 
other baked goods where the applicant or licensee desires to sell baked goods infused with liquor, 
wine, or nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, either: included: (A) In the icing, syrup, 
drizzle, or some other topping; (B) as an infusion where the alcohol is not processed or cooked 
out of the baked goods; or (C) the alcohol can be added by the purchaser from an infusion packet 
containing alcohol no greater than 10 milliliters where the purchaser adds the alcohol. This 
applicant or licensee may not sell liquor, wine, or nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft 
beer for on on-premises or off-premises consumption. The applicant or licensee may sell the 
baked goods with alcohol added as authorized for on-premises and off-premises consumption. 
Further, the applicant or licensee shall:  

(i) Have at least 50 members; 

(ii) Operate a kitchen that produces baked goods, as specified in this subdivision, including at 
least: (I) A baking oven and a four-burner range or hot plate; (II) a sink with hot and cold running 
water; (III) a 17 cubic foot refrigerator or freezer, or some combination of a refrigerator and freezer 
which is not used for alcohol cold storage; (IV) baking utensils and pans, kitchen utensils, and 
other food consumption apparatus as determined by the commissioner; and (V) food fit for human 
consumption available to be served during all hours of operation on the licensed premises;  

(iii) Maintain, at any one time, a food inventory capable of being prepared in the private 
bakery's kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner shall include television 
dinners, bags of chips or similar products, microwavable food or meals, frozen meals, pre-
packaged foods, baking items such as flour, sugar, icing, and other confectionary items, or 
canned prepared foods;  

(iv) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner for the purpose of verifying 
that persons under the age of 21 who are in the private bakery are not sold items containing 
alcoholic liquors, nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, or wine. A person under 21 
years of age may enter the shop and purchase other items not containing alcoholic liquors; and 
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(v) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements.  

(7) "Private cigar shop" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club licensee 
that has a primary function of operating a cigar shop for sales of premium cigars for consumption 
on or off the licensed premises. Where permitted by law, indoor on-premises cigar consumption 
is permitted with a limited food menu, which may be met by using a private caterer, for members 
and guests while the private club applicant or licensee is selling and serving liquor, wine, or 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer for on-premises consumption. Further, the 
applicant or licensee shal shall:  

(A) Have at least 50 members; 

(B) Operate a cigar shop and bar with a kitchen, including at least: (i) A two-burner hot plate, 
air fryer, or microwave oven; (ii) a sink with hot and cold running water; (iii) a 17 cubic foot 
refrigerator or freezer, or some combination of a refrigerator and freezer which is not used for 
alcohol cold storage; (iv) kitchen utensils and other food consumption apparatus as determined 
by the commissioner; and (v) food fit for human consumption available to be served during all 
hours of operation on the licensed premises;  

(C) Maintain, at any one time, not less than a food inventory capable of being prepared in the 
private club bar's kitchen or have on hand at least $150 in food provided by a private caterer. In 
calculating the food inventory, the commissioner shall include television dinners, bags of chips or 
similar products, microwavable food or meals, frozen meals, pre-packaged foods, or canned 
prepared foods;  

(D) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner for the purpose of verifying 
that persons under the age of 21 who are in the private club bar are accompanied by a parent or 
legal guardian, and if a person under 21 years of age is not accompanied by a parent or legal 
guardian, that person may not be admitted as a guest; and 

(E) Meet and is subject to all other private club requirements. 

(8) "Private caterer" means a licensed private club restaurant, private hotel, or private resort 
hotel authorized by the commissioner to cater and serve food and sell and serve alcoholic liquors, 
or non-intoxicating beer or non-intoxicating craft beer. A private caterer shall purchase wine sold 
or served at a catering event from a wine distributor. A private caterer shall purchase 
nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft beer sold or served at the catering event from a 
licensed beer distributor. A private caterer shall purchase liquor from a retail liquor outlet 
authorized to sell in the market zone, where the catering event is held. The private caterer or the 
persons or entity holding the catering event shall: 

(A) Have at least 10 members and guests attending the catering event;  

(B) Have obtained an open container waiver or have otherwise been approved by a 
municipality or county in which the event is being held; 

(C) Operate a private club restaurant on a daily operating basis; 

(D) Only use its employees, independent contractors, or volunteers to sell and serve alcoholic 
liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer who have received certified training 
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in verifying the legal identification, the age of a purchasing person, and the signs of visible, 
noticeable, and physical intoxication; 

(E) Provide to the commissioner, at least seven days before the event is to take place: 

(i) The name and business address of the unlicensed private venue where the private caterer 
is to provide food and alcohol for a catering event; 

(ii) The name of the owner or operator of the unlicensed private venue; 

(iii) A copy of the contract or contracts between the private caterer, the person contracting 
with the caterer, and the unlicensed private venue; 

(iv) A floorplan of the unlicensed private venue to comprise the private catering premises, 
which shall only include spaces in buildings or rooms of an unlicensed private venue where the 
private caterer has control of the space for a set time period and where the space safely accounts 
for the ingress and egress of the stated members and guests who will be attending the private 
catering event at the catering premises. The unlicensed private venue's floorplan during the set 
time period as stated in the contract shall comprise the private caterer's licensed premises, which 
is authorized for the lawful sale, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors, nonintoxicating 
beer and nonintoxicating craft beer, and wine throughout the licensed private catering premises: 
Provided, That the unlicensed private venue shall: (I) Be inside a building or structure; (II) have 
other facilities to prepare and serve food and alcohol; (III) have adequate restrooms and sufficient 
building facilities for the number of members and guests expected to attend the private catering 
event; and (IV) otherwise be in compliance with health, fire, safety, and zoning requirements; 

(F) Not hold more than 15 private catering events per calendar year. Upon reaching the 16th 
event, the unlicensed venue shall obtain its own private club license; 

(G) Submit to the commissioner, evidence that any noncontiguous area of an unlicensed 
venue is within 150 feet of the private caterer's submitted floorplan and may submit a floorplan 
extension for authorization to permit alcohol and food at an outdoor event; 

(H) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements; and 

(I) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner.  

(9) "Private club bar" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club licensee 
that has a primary function for the use of the licensed premises as a bar for the sale and 
consumption of alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer and wine 
when licensed for those sales, while providing a limited food menu for members and guests, and 
meeting the criteria set forth in this subdivision which: 

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Operates a bar with a kitchen, including at least: (i) A two-burner hot plate, air fryer, or 
microwave oven; (ii) a sink with hot and cold running water; (iii) a 17 cubic foot refrigerator or 
freezer, or some combination of a refrigerator and freezer which is not used for alcohol cold 
storage; (iv) kitchen utensils and other food consumption apparatus as determined by the 
commissioner; and (v) food fit for human consumption available to be served during all hours of 
operation on the licensed premises;  
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(C) Maintains, at any one time, a food inventory capable of being prepared in the private club 
bar's kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner shall include television dinners, 
bags of chips or similar products, microwavable food or meals, frozen meals, prepackaged foods, 
or canned prepared foods;  

(D) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner for the purpose of verifying 
that persons under the age of 18 who are in the private club bar are accompanied by a parent or 
legal guardian. If a person under 18 years of age is not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian 
that person may not be admitted as a guest; and 

(E) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements. 

(10) "Private food truck" means an applicant for a private club, licensed private club licensee, 
or licensed private manufacturer's club licensee that has a primary function of operating a food 
preparation business using an industrial truck, van, or trailer to prepare food and meals for sale 
at various locations within the state while using a propane or electric generator powered kitchen. 
The private food truck applicant shall obtain county or municipal approval to operate for food and 
liquor, wine, hard cider, and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer sales and service, 
while providing a food menu for members and guests. The private food truck applicant shall:  

(A) Have at least 10 members; 

(B) Operate with a kitchen, including at least: (i) A two-burner hot plate, air fryer, or microwave 
oven; (ii) a sink with hot and cold running water; (iii) at least a 10 cubic foot refrigerator or freezer, 
or some combination of a refrigerator and freezer which is not used for alcohol cold storage; and 
(iv) plastic or metal kitchen utensils and other food consumption apparatus as determined by the 
commissioner;  

(C) Maintain, at any one time, not less than $200 of food inventory that is fit for human 
consumption and capable of being prepared and served from the private food truck's kitchen 
during all hours of operation;  

(D) Is sponsored, endorsed, or approved by the governing body or its designee of the county 
or municipality in which the private food truck is to be located and operated. Each location shall 
have a bounded and defined area and set hours for private food truck operations, sales, and 
consumption of alcohol that are not greater than a private club's hours of operation; 

(E) Provide the commissioner with a list of all locations, including a main business location, 
where the private food truck operates, and is approved for sales pursuant to subsection paragraph 
(D) of this section, and immediately update the commissioner when new locations are approved 
by a county or municipality;  

(F) Require all nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft beer sold, furnished, tendered, 
or served pursuant to the license created by this section to be purchased from the licensed 
distributor where the private food truck has its home location or from a resident brewer acting in 
a limited capacity as a distributor, all in accordance with §11-16-1 et seq. of this code. 

(G) Require wine or hard cider sold, furnished, tendered, or served pursuant to the license 
created by this section to be purchased from a licensed distributor, winery, or farm winery in 
accordance with §60-8-1 et seq. of this code. 
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(H) Require liquor sold, furnished, tendered, or served pursuant to the license created by this 
section shall be purchased from a licensed retail liquor outlet in the market zone or contiguous 
market zone where the private food truck has its main business location, all in accordance with 
§60-3A-1 et seq. of this code. 

(I) A licensee authorized by this section shall use bona fide employees to sell, furnish, tender, 
or serve the nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, or liquor. 

(J) A brewer, resident brewer, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery 
may obtain a private food truck license; 

(K) Licensed representatives of a brewer, resident brewer, beer distributor, wine distributor, 
wine supplier, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-distillery, micro-distillery, and liquor broker 
representatives may attend a location where a private food truck is located and discuss their 
respective products but may not engage in the selling, furnishing, tendering, or serving of any 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, or liquor. 

(L) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner for the purpose of verifying 
that persons under the age of 21 who are in the private club bar are not permitted to be served 
any alcoholic liquors, nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, or wine but may be 
permitted to purchase food or other items;  

(M) Obtain all permits required by §60-6-12 of this code; and 

(N) Meet and be subject to all other applicable private club requirements. 

(11) "Private club restaurant" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club 
licensee that has a primary function of using the licensed premises as a restaurant for serving 
freshly prepared meals and dining in the restaurant area. The private club restaurant may have a 
bar area separate from or commingled with within the restaurant where seating requirements for 
members and guests shall be are met by including the restaurant area. The applicant for a private 
club restaurant license is an applicant which:  

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Operate a restaurant and full kitchen with at least: (i) Ovens and four-burner ranges; (ii) 
refrigerators or freezers, or some combination of refrigerators and freezers greater than 50 cubic 
feet, or a walk-in refrigerator or freezer; (iii) other kitchen utensils and apparatus as determined 
by the commissioner; and (iv) freshly prepared food fit for human consumption available to be 
served during all hours of operation on the licensed premises; 

(C) Maintains, at any one time, fresh food capable of being prepared in the private club 
restaurant's full kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner may not include 
television dinners, bags of chips or similar products, microwavable meals, frozen meals, pre-
packaged foods, or canned prepared foods; 

(D) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner for the purpose of verifying 
that persons under 18 years of age who are in the bar area of a private club restaurant are 
accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. The licensee may not seat a person in the bar area 
who is under the age of 18 years and who is not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, but 
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may allow that person, as a guest, to dine for food and nonalcoholic beverage purposes in the 
restaurant area of a private club restaurant: 

(E) May uncork and serve members and guests up to two bottles of wine that a member 
purchased from a wine retailer, wine specialty shop, an applicable winery or farm winery when 
licensed for retail sales, or a licensed wine direct shipper when the purchase is for personal use 
and, not for resale. The licensee may charge a corkage fee of up to $10 dollars per bottle. In no 
event may a member or a group of members and guests exceed two sealed bottles or containers 
of wine to carry onto the licensed premises for uncorking and serving by the private club restaurant 
and for personal consumption by the member and guests. A member or guest may cork and 
reseal any unconsumed wine bottles as provided in §60-8-3 (j) of this code and the legislative 
rules for carrying unconsumed wine off the licensed premises; 

(F) Has at least two restrooms for members and their guests: Provided, That this requirement 
may be waived by the local health department upon supplying a written waiver of the requirement 
to the commissioner: Provided, however, That the requirement may also be waived for a historic 
building by written waiver supplied to commissioner of the requirement from the historic 
association or district with jurisdiction over a historic building: Provided, further That in no event 
may a private club restaurant have less than one restroom; and 

(G) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements. 

(12) "Private manufacturer club" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club 
licensee which is also licensed as a distillery, mini-distillery, micro-distillery, winery, farm winery, 
brewery, or resident brewery that manufacturers liquor, wine, nonintoxicating beer or 
nonintoxicating craft beer, which may be sold, served, and furnished to members and guests for 
on-premises consumption at the licensee's licensed premises and in the area or areas denoted 
on the licensee's floorplan, and which:  

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Offers tours, may offer complimentary samples, and may offer space as a conference 
center or for meetings; 

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, four-burner ranges, a refrigerator, or 
freezer, or some combination of a refrigerator and freezer, and other kitchen utensils and 
apparatus as determined by the commissioner on the licensed premises and serves freshly 
prepared food at least 15 hours per week: Provided, That a licensee required by the provisions of 
this code to serve food on premises in order to lawfully serve alcoholic liquors, beer 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, or hard cider may meet the requirement 
of having on-premises food preparation facilities by, during all hours alcoholic liquors, beer, wine, 
and hard cider are offered for sale or sampling, having on-site an operating food truck or other 
portable kitchen: Provided, however, That the approval of the commissioner and the appropriate 
health department is required to operate as allowed by subsection (a) of this section; 

(D) Maintains, at any one time fresh food capable of being prepared in the private 
manufacturer club's full kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner may not 
include television dinners, bags of chips or similar products, microwavable meals, frozen meals, 
pre-packaged foods, or canned prepared foods; 
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(E) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses space which is contiguous, bounded, or 
fenced real property sufficient to safely operate the licensed premises that would be listed on the 
licensee's floorplan and may be used for large events such as weddings, reunions, conferences, 
meetings, and sporting or recreational events; 

(F) Lists the entire property from paragraph (E) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private manufacturer club's floorplan that would comprise the licensed 
premises, which would be authorized for the lawful sale, service, and consumption of alcoholic 
liquors, nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, and wine throughout the licensed 
premises, whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on 
the private manufacturer club's licensed premises, and as noted on the private manufacturer 
club's floorplan; 

(G) Identifies a person, persons, an entity, or entities who or which have the right, title, and 
ownership or lease interest in the real property, buildings, and structures located on the proposed 
licensed premises;  

(H) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner; and  

(I) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements. 

(13) "Private fair and festival" means an applicant for a private club or a licensed private club 
licensee meeting the requirements of §60-7-8a of this code for a temporary event, and the criteria 
set forth in this subdivision which: 

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Has been sponsored, endorsed, or approved, in writing, by the governing body, or its duly 
elected or appointed officers, of either the municipality or of the county in which the festival, fair, 
or other event is to be conducted;  

(C) Prepares, provides, or engages a food vendor to provide adequate freshly prepared food 
or meals to serve its stated members and guests who will be attending the temporary festival, fair, 
or other event, and further shall provide any documentation or agreements to the commissioner 
prior to approval;  

(D) Does not use third-party entities or individuals to purchase, sell, furnish, or serve alcoholic 
liquors, nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer;  

(E) Provides adequate restroom facilities, whether permanent or portable, to serve the stated 
members and guests who will be attending the festival, fair, or other event;  

(F) Provides a floorplan for the proposed premises with a defined and bounded area to safely 
account for the ingress and egress of stated members and guests who will be attending the 
festival, fair, or other event;  

(G) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner; and 

(H) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements. 
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(14) "Private hotel" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club licensee 
meeting the criteria set forth in this subsection which: 

(A) Has at least 2,000 members; 

(B) Offers short-term, daily rate accommodations or lodging for members and their guests 
amounting to at least 30 separate bedrooms, and also offers a conference center for meetings; 

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, four-burner ranges, walk-in freezers, 
and other kitchen utensils and apparatus as determined by the commissioner on the licensed 
premises and serves freshly prepared food at least 20 hours per week; 

(D) Maintains, at any one time, fresh food capable of being prepared in the private hotel's full 
kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner may not include microwavable, 
frozen, or canned foods; 

(E) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting to more than one acre 
but fewer than three acres, which are contiguous acres of bounded or fenced real property which 
would be listed on the licensee's floorplan and would be used for hotel and conferences and large 
contracted-for group-type events such as weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, and 
sporting or recreational events; 

(F) Lists the entire property from paragraph (E) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private hotel's floorplan which would comprise the licensed premises, which 
would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises whether these 
activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private hotel's licensed 
premises and as noted on the private hotel's floorplan; 

(G) Has an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership or lease 
interest in the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(H) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner;  

(I) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements; and 

(J) May provide members and guests who are verified by proper form of identification to be 
21 years of age or older to have secure access via key or key card to an in-room mini-bar in their 
rented short-term accommodation; the mini-bar may be a small refrigerator not in excess of 1.6 
cubic feet for the sale of nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, hard cider, and 
liquor sold from the original sealed container, and the refrigerator may contain: (i) Any combination 
of 12 fluid ounce cans or bottles not exceeding 72 fluid ounces of nonintoxicating beer or 
nonintoxicating craft beer; (ii) any combination of cans or bottles of wine or hard cider not 
exceeding 750 ml of wine or hard cider; (iii) liquor in bottles sized from 50 ml, 100 ml, and 200 ml, 
with any combination of those liquor bottles not exceeding 750 ml; and (iv) any combination of 
canned or packaged food valued at least $50. All markups, fees, and taxes shall be charged on 
the sale of nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, liquor, and hard cider. All 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer available for sale shall be purchased from the 
licensed distributor in the area where licensed. All wine or hard cider available for sale shall be 
purchased from a licensed wine distributor or authorized farm winery. All liquor available for sale 
shall be purchased from the licensed retail liquor outlet in the market zone of the licensed 
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premises. The mini-bar shall be checked daily and replenished as needed to benefit the member 
and guest.  

(15) "Private resort hotel" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club 
licensee which:  

(A) Has at least 5,000 members; 

(B) Offers short term, daily rate accommodations or lodging for members and their guests 
amounting to at least 50 separate bedrooms; 

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, six-burner ranges, walk-in freezers, and 
other kitchen utensils and apparatus as determined by the commissioner on the licensed 
premises and serves freshly prepared food at least 25 hours per week; 

(D) Maintains, at any one time, fresh food capable of being prepared in the private resort 
hotel's full kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner may not include 
microwavable, frozen, or canned foods; 

(E) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting to at least 10 contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property which would be listed on the licensee's floorplan and 
would be used for destination, resort, and large contracted-for group-type events such as 
weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, and sporting or recreational events; 

(F) Lists the entire property from paragraph (E) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private resort hotel's floorplan comprising the licensed premises which 
would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises whether these 
activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private resort hotel's 
licensed premises; 

(G) Has an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership or lease 
interest in the real property, buildings, and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(H) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner;  

(I) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements;  

(J) May have a separately licensed resident brewer with a brewpub license inner-connected 
via a walkway, doorway, or entryway, all as determined and approved by the commissioner, for 
limited access during permitted hours of operation for tours and complimentary samples at the 
resident brewery; and 

(K) May provide members and guests who are verified by proper form of identification to be 
21 years of age or older to have access via key or key card to an in-room mini-bar in their rented 
short-term accommodation. The mini-bar may be a small refrigerator not in excess of 3.2 cubic 
feet for the sale of nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, hard cider, and liquor 
sold from the original sealed container, and the refrigerator may contain: (i) Any combination of 
12 fluid ounce cans or bottles not exceeding 144 fluid ounces of nonintoxicating beer or 
nonintoxicating craft beer; (ii) any combination of cans or bottles of wine or hard cider not 
exceeding one and a half liters of wine or hard cider; (iii) liquor in bottles sized from 50 ml, 100 
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ml, 200 ml, and 375 ml with any combination of such liquor bottles not exceeding one and a half 
liters; and (iv) any combination of canned or packaged food valued at least $100. All markups, 
fees, and taxes shall be charged on the sale of nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, 
hard cider, wine, and liquor. All nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer available for 
sale shall be purchased from the licensed distributor in the area where licensed. All wine or hard 
cider available for sale shall be purchased from a licensed wine distributor or authorized farm 
winery. All liquor available for sale shall be purchased from the licensed retail liquor outlet in the 
market zone of the licensed premises. The mini-bar shall be checked daily and replenished as 
needed to benefit the member and guest. 

(16) "Private golf club" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club licensee 
which: 

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Maintains at least one 18-hole golf course with separate and distinct golf playing holes, 
not reusing nine golf playing holes to comprise the 18 golf playing holes, and a clubhouse; 

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, as determined by the commissioner, on 
the licensed premises and serves freshly prepared food at least 15 hours per week; 

(D) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting to at least 80 contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property which would be listed on the private golf club's floorplan 
and could be used for golfing events and large contracted-for group-type events such as 
weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, and sporting or recreational events; 

(E) Lists the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subsection and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private golf club's floorplan comprising the licensed premises which would 
be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises whether these 
activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private golf club's 
licensed premises;  

(F) Has an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property, buildings, and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner; and 

(H) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements. 

(17) "Private nine-hole golf course" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private 
club licensee which: 

(A) Has at least 50 members; 

(B) Maintains at least one nine-hole golf course with separate and distinct golf playing holes; 

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, as determined by the commissioner, on 
the licensed premises and serves freshly prepared food at least 15 hours per week; 
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(D) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting to at least 30 contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property which would be listed on the private nine-hole golf 
course's floorplan and could be used for golfing events and large contracted for group-type events 
such as weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, and sporting or recreational events; 

(E) Lists the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private nine-hole golf course's floorplan comprising the licensed premises 
which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises whether these 
activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private nine-hole golf 
course's licensed premises; 

(F) Has an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner; and 

(H) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements. 

(18) "Private tennis club" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club 
licensee which: 

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Maintains at least four separate and distinct tennis courts, either indoor or outdoor, and a 
clubhouse or similar facility; 

(C) Has a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, as determined by the commissioner, on the 
licensed premises which is capable of serving freshly prepared food; 

(D) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting to at least two 
contiguous acres of bounded or fenced real property which would be listed on the private tennis 
club's floorplan and could be used for tennis events and large events such as weddings, reunions, 
conferences, tournaments, meetings, and sporting or recreational events; 

(E) Lists the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private tennis club's floorplan comprising the licensed premises which would 
be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors throughout the 
licensed premises whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors 
while on the private tennis club's licensed premises; 

(F) Has identified a person, persons, an entity, or entities who or which has right, title, and 
ownership interest in the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed 
premises;  

(G) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements; and  

(H) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner. 

(19) "Private college sports stadium" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private 
club licensee that operates a college or university stadium or coliseum for Division I, II, or III sports 
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and what that involves a college public or private or university that is a member of the National 
Collegiate Athletic Association, or its successor, and uses the facility for football, basketball, 
baseball, soccer, or other Division I, II, or III sports, reserved weddings, reunions, conferences, 
meetings, or other special events and does not maintain daily or regular operating hours as a bar 
or restaurant. The licensee may sell alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating 
craft beer when conducting or temporarily hosting non-collegiate sporting events. This license 
may be issued in the name of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I, II, or III 
college or university or the name of the primary food and beverage vendor under contract with 
that college or university. All alcohol sales shall take place within the confines of the college or 
university stadium: Provided, That any outside area approved for alcohol sales and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer shall be surrounded by a fence or other barrier 
prohibiting entry except upon the college or university's express permission, and under the 
conditions and restrictions established by the college or university, so that the alcohol sales area 
is closed in order to prevent entry and access by the general public. Further the applicant shall: 

(A) Have at least 100 members; 

(B) Maintain an open-air or enclosed stadium or coliseum venue primarily used for sporting 
events, such as football, basketball, baseball, soccer, or other Division I, II, or III sports, and also 
weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other events where parties shall reserve the 
college stadium venue in advance of the event;  

(C) Operate a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens and equipment that is equivalent or 
greater than a private club restaurant, as determined by the commissioner, on the licensed 
premises that is capable of serving freshly prepared food or meals to its stated members, guests, 
and patrons who will be attending the event at the private college sports stadium; 

(D) Own or lease, control, operate, and use acreage amounting to at least two contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property, as determined by the commissioner, which would be 
listed on the private college stadium's floorplan and could be used for contracted-for temporary 
non-collegiate sporting events, group-type weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other 
events; 

(E) List the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private college sports stadium's floorplan which would comprise the licensed 
premises, which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic 
liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises 
whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private 
college sports stadium's licensed premises and as noted on the private college sports stadium's 
floorplan; 

(F) Have an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements; and  

(H) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner.  

(20) "Private professional sports stadium" means an applicant for a private club or licensed 
private club licensee that is only open for professional sporting events when the events are 
affiliated with or sponsored by a professional sporting association, reserved weddings, reunions, 
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conferences, meetings, or other special events and does not maintain daily or regular operating 
hours as a bar or restaurant. The licensee may not sell alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer 
or nonintoxicating craft beer when conducting or hosting non-professional sporting events, and 
further the applicant shall: 

(A) Have at least 1,000 members; 

(B) Maintain an open-air or enclosed stadium venue primarily used for sporting events, such 
as football, baseball, soccer, auto racing, or other professional sports, and also weddings, 
reunions, conferences, meetings, or other events where parties reserve the stadium venue in 
advance of the event;  

(C) Operate a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, as determined by the commissioner, on 
the licensed premises which is capable of serving freshly prepared food or meals to serve its 
stated members, guests, and patrons who will be attending the event at the private professional 
sports stadium; 

(D) Own or lease, control, operate, and use acreage amounting to at least three contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property, as determined by the commissioner, which would be 
listed on the professional sports stadium's floorplan and could be used for contracted- for 
professional sporting events, group-type weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other 
events; 

(E) List the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private professional sports stadium's floorplan comprising the licensed 
premises which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic 
liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises 
whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private 
professional sports stadium's licensed premises; 

(F) Have an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements; and  

(H) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner. 

(21) "Private farmers market" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club 
licensee that operates as an association of bars, restaurants, and retailers who sell West Virginia- 
made products among other products, and other stores who open primarily during daytime hours 
of 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., but may operate in the day or evenings for special events where the 
sale of food and alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer may occur 
for on-premises consumption, such as reserved weddings, reserved dinners, pairing events, 
tasting events, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other special events and does not maintain 
daily or regular operating hours as a bar or restaurant. All businesses that are members of the 
association shall agree in writing to be liable and responsible for all sales, service, furnishing, 
tendering, and consumption of alcoholic liquors, nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, 
wine, and hard cider occurring on the entire licensed premises of the private farmer's market, 
including indoor and outdoor bounded areas, and further the applicant shall: 

(A) Have at least 100 members; 
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(B) Have one or more members operating a private club restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, 
four-burner ranges, a refrigerator or freezer or some combination of a refrigerator and freezer, 
and other kitchen utensils and apparatus as determined by the commissioner on the licensed 
premises and serve freshly prepared food at least 15 hours per week; 

(C) Have one or more members operating a private club restaurant who maintain, at any one 
time, fresh food capable of being prepared for events conducted at the private farmers market in 
the private club restaurant's full kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner may 
not include television dinners, bags of chips or similar products, microwavable meals, frozen 
meals, pre-packaged foods, or canned prepared foods; 

(D) Have an association that owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting 
to more than one acre, which is contiguous acreage of bounded or fenced real property which 
would be listed on the licensee's floorplan and would be used for large contracted-for reserved 
weddings, reserved dinners, pairing events, tasting events, reunions, conferences, meetings, or 
other special events; 

(E) Have an association that lists in the application for licensure the entire property and all 
adjoining buildings and structures on the private farmers market's floorplan which would comprise 
the licensed premises, which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption 
of alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed 
premises whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on 
the private farmers market's licensed premises and as noted on the private farmers market's 
floorplan; 

(F) Have an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership or lease 
interest in the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Have at least two separate and unrelated vendors applying for the license and certifying 
that all vendors in the association have agreed to the liability responsibility associated with a 
private farmers market license; 

(H) Only use its employees, independent contractors, or volunteers to purchase, sell, furnish, 
or serve liquor, wine, nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer;  

(I) Provide adequate restroom facilities, whether permanent or portable, to serve the stated 
members and guests who will be attending the private farmers market;  

(J) Provide a copy of a written agreement between all the vendors of the association that is 
executed by all vendors stating that each vendor is jointly and severally liable for any violations 
of this chapter committed during the event; 

(K) Provide a security plan indicating all vendor points of service, entrances, and exits in order 
to verify members', patrons', and guests' ages, to verify whether a member, patron, or guest is 
intoxicated, and to provide for the public health and safety of members, patrons, and guests; 

(L) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner; and  

(M) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements. 



58 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

(22) "Private wedding venue or barn" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private 
club licensee that is only open for reserved weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other 
events and does not maintain daily or regular operating hours, and which: 

(A) Has at least 25 members; 

(B) Maintains a venue, facility, barn, or pavilion primarily used for weddings, reunions, 
conferences, meetings, or other events where parties reserve or contract for the venue, facility, 
barn, or pavilion in advance of the event;  

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, as determined by the commissioner, on 
the licensed premises that is capable of serving freshly prepared food, or engages a food caterer 
to provide adequate freshly prepared food or meals to serve its stated members, guests, and 
patrons who will be attending the event at the private wedding venue or barn. The applicant or 
licensee shall provide written documentation including a list of food caterers or written agreements 
regarding any food catering operations to the commissioner prior to approval of a food catering 
event; 

(D) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses space sufficient to safely operate the 
licensed premises. The applicant or licensee shall verify that, the property is not less than two 
acres and is remotely located, subject to the commissioner's approval. The bounded or fenced 
real property may be listed on the private wedding venue's or barn's floorplan and may be used 
for large events such as weddings, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other events; 

(E) Lists the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private wedding venue or barn's floorplan that would comprise the licensed 
premises which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic 
liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises 
whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on the private 
wedding venue or barn's licensed premises; 

(F) Has an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements; and  

(H) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner. 

(23) "Private multi-sport complex" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private 
club licensee that is open for multiple sports events to be played at the complex facilities, reserved 
weddings, concerts, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other special events, and which: 

(A) Has at least 100 members; 

(B) Maintains an open-air multi-sport complex primarily for use for sporting events, such as 
baseball, soccer, basketball, tennis, frisbee, or other sports, but may also conduct weddings, 
concerts, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other events where parties reserve the parts of the 
sports complex in advance of the sporting or other event;  

(C) Operates a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens in the licensee's main facility, as 
determined by the commissioner, on the licensed premises which is capable of serving freshly 
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prepared food, or meals to serve its stated members, guests, and patrons who will be attending 
the event at the private multi-sport complex. A licensee may contract with temporary food vendors 
or food trucks for food sales only, but not on a permanent basis, in areas of the multi-sport 
complex not readily accessible by the main facility;  

(D) Maintains, at any one time, fresh food capable of being prepared in the private multi-sport 
complex's full kitchen. In calculating the food inventory, the commissioner may not include 
television dinners, bags of chips or similar products, microwavable meals, frozen meals, 
prepackaged foods, or canned prepared foods; 

(E) Owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses acreage amounting to at least 50 contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property, as determined by the commissioner, which would be 
listed on the private multi-sport complex's floorplan and could be used for contracted-for sporting 
events, group-type weddings, concerts, reunions, conferences, meetings, or other events; 

(F) Lists the entire property from paragraph (E) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private multi-sport complex's floorplan which would comprise the licensed 
premises, which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic 
liquors, nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, and hard cider throughout the licensed 
premises whether these activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on 
the private multi-sport complex's licensed premises and as noted on the private multi-sport 
complex's floorplan. The licensee may sell alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or 
nonintoxicating craft beer from a golf cart or food truck owned or leased by the licensee and also 
operated by the licensee when the golf cart or food truck is located on the private multi-sport 
complex's licensed premises; 

(G) Has an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(H) Meets and is subject to all other private club requirements; and  

(I) Uses an age verification system approved by the commissioner. 

(24) "Private coliseum or center" means an applicant for a private club or licensed private club 
licensee that is open for various events including, but not limited to, musical concerts, bands, 
sporting events, monster trucks, sports entertainment events, circuses, expos, hobby events, 
tradeshows, health events, reserved weddings, reunions, retreats, conventions, conferences, 
meetings, or other special events. The licensee may not sell alcoholic liquors, nonintoxicating 
beer or wine when conducting or hosting events focused on patrons who are less than 21 years 
of age, and further the applicant shall: 

(A) Have at least 5,000 members; 

(B) Maintain an enclosed coliseum or center venue with at least 80,000 square feet of event 
space primarily used for events as noted above, where parties reserve the coliseum or center 
venue in advance of the event;  

(C) Operate a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, as determined by the commissioner, on 
the licensed premises and be capable of serving freshly prepared food or meals to its stated 
members, guests, and patrons who will be attending events at the private coliseum or center; 
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(D) Own or lease, control, operate, and use acreage amounting to at least two contiguous 
acres of bounded or fenced real property, as determined by the commissioner, which would be 
listed on the private coliseum or center's floorplan and could be used for contracted-for events, 
as noted above, or a private fair and festival, as authorized by the commissioner per dual licensing 
requirements as set forth in §60-7-2a of this code; 

(E) List the entire property from paragraph (D) of this subdivision and all adjoining buildings 
and structures on the private coliseum or center's floorplan comprising the licensed premises 
which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, and consumption of alcoholic liquors and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer throughout the licensed premises whether these 
activities were conducted in a building or structure or outdoors while on private coliseum or 
center's licensed premises; 

(F) Have an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership interest in 
the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises;  

(G) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements; and  

(H) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner. 

(25) "Private food court" means an applicant who qualifies for a private club restaurant or 
licensed private club restaurant licensee that operates in a facility within a licensed premises with 
one licensed floorplan that includes an association of other inter-connected licensed private club 
restaurants or unlicensed restaurants that operate legally without alcohol sales, where all 
businesses that are licensed members of the association have agreed in writing to be liable and 
responsible for all sales, service, furnishing, tendering, and consumption of alcoholic liquors and 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer occurring on the entire licensed premises of the 
private food court, and further the applicant shall: 

(A) Have at least 100 members; 

(B) Have at least one member of its association who qualifies for a private club restaurant 
containing a full kitchen with ovens, four-burner ranges, a refrigerator or freezer or some 
combination of a refrigerator and freezer, and other kitchen utensils and apparatus as determined 
by the commissioner on the licensed premises and be capable of serving freshly prepared food 
at least 15 hours per week in the private food court; 

(C) Have at least one member of its association who qualifies for a private club restaurant 
who maintains, at any one time, fresh food capable of being prepared in the private club 
restaurant's full kitchen, and in calculating the food inventory the commissioner may not include 
television dinners, bags of chips or similar products, microwavable meals, frozen meals, pre-
packaged foods, or canned prepared foods; 

(D) Have an association that owns or leases, controls, operates, and uses a facility that meets 
requirements of this article, and the entire facility is listed on the licensee's floorplan as its licensed 
premises; 

(E) Have an association that lists in the application for licensure the entire facility and any 
inter-connected and adjoining structures on the private food court's floorplan which would 
compromise the licensed premises, and which would be authorized for the lawful sales, service, 
and consumption of alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer 
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throughout the licensed premises whether these activities were conducted in a building or 
structure while on the private food court's licensed premises and as noted on the private food 
court's licensed floorplan; 

(F) Have an identified person, persons, or entity that has right, title, and ownership or lease 
interest in the real property buildings and structures located on the proposed licensed premises; 

(G) Have at least one separate and unrelated business applying for the license and certifying 
that all licensed businesses in the association have agreed to the liability responsibility associated 
with a private food court license; 

(H) Only use its employees, independent contractors, or volunteers to purchase, sell, furnish, 
or serve liquor, wine, nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer; 

(I) Provide adequate restroom facilities, whether permanent or portable, to serve the stated 
members and guests who will be attending the private food court; 

(J) Provide a copy of a written agreement between all the vendors of the association that is 
executed by all businesses stating that each licensed vendor is jointly and severally liable for any 
violations of this chapter committed on the licensed premises; 

(K) Provide a security plan indicating all businesses who will be selling and serving alcoholic 
liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, list non-licensees who will be selling 
and serving food, list all entrances, and list all exits, provide a plan to verify the ages of members, 
patrons, and guests, a plan to verify whether a member, patron, or guest is intoxicated, and a 
plan to provide for the public health and safety of members, patrons, and guests; 

(L) Use an age verification system approved by the commissioner; and 

(M) Meet and be subject to all other private club requirements. 

The Department Division of Natural Resources, the authority governing any county or 
municipal park, or any county commission, municipality, other governmental entity, public 
corporation, or public authority operating any park or airport may lease, as lessor, a building or 
portion thereof or other limited premises in any park or airport to any corporation or unincorporated 
association for the establishment of a private club pursuant to this article. 

§60-7-8a. Special license for a private fair and festival; licensee fee and application; license 
fee; license subject to provisions of article; exception. 

(a) There is hereby created a special license designated Class S2 private fair and festival 
license for the retail sale of alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer, and nonintoxicating craft 
beer for on-premises consumption. 

(b) To be eligible for the license authorized by subsection (a) of this section, the private fair 
and festival or other event shall:  

(1) Be sponsored, endorsed, or approved by the governing body or its designee of the county 
or municipality in which the private fair and festival or other event is located; 
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(2) Make application with the commissioner at least 15 days prior to the private fair, festival, 
or other event; 

(3) Pay a nonrefundable non-prorated license fee of $500; and 

(4) Be approved by the commissioner to operate the private fair, festival, or other event. 
 (c) A private fair and festival license under this section shall be for a duration of no more 
than 10 consecutive days. 

(d) Nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft beer sold, furnished, tendered, or served 
for on-premises consumption by the private fair and festival pursuant to the license created by 
this section shall be purchased from licensed distributors that service the area in which the private 
fair and festival is held or from a resident brewer acting in a limited capacity as a distributor, all in 
accordance with §11-16-1 et seq. of this code. Sealed containers of nonintoxicating 
Nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer may be sold and served for by the drink or 
glass, or by the bottle or can for on-premises consumption and in sealed bottles or cans for off-
premises consumption if the nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft beer is being sold by 
an authorized brewer or resident brewer, as set forth in §11-16-6a(d) of this code, who 
manufactures the nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer in this state. The on-premises 
and off-premises consumption sales shall be made pursuant to a written agreement between the 
private fair and festival and an authorized brewer or resident brewer. Prior to the start of the 
private fair or festival, an authorized brewer or resident brewer who agrees to offer on-premises 
and off-premises consumption sales of their nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer 
from a booth or other facility on the private fair and festival's licensed premises must meet the 
requirements of §11-16-6a(d) of this code. The written agreement with each authorized brewer or 
resident brewer shall account for lawful sales of nonintoxicating beer and nonintoxicating craft 
beer sold for off-premises consumption as set forth in §11-16-1 et seq. of this code. The 
authorized and approved brewer, resident brewer, or its licensed representatives may give or sell 
approved promotional items to private fair and festival members and guests, but not to the private 
fair and festival's volunteers, independent contractors, or employees. 

(e) Wine or hard cider sold, furnished, tendered, or served for on-premises consumption by 
the private fair and festival pursuant to the license created by this section shall be purchased from 
a licensed wine or hard cider distributor or farm winery in accordance with §60-8-1 et seq. of this 
code and §60-8A-1 et seq. of this code, as applicable. Sealed containers of wine Wine or hard 
cider may be sold and served for on-premises consumption by the drink or glass, or by the bottle 
when consumed by the glass and by the sealed bottle for off-premises consumption by the sealed 
bottle if the wine or hard cider is being sold by an authorized winery or farm winery, as set forth 
in §60-4-3b(m) and §60-8A-5(c) of this code, who manufactures that wine or hard cider in this 
state. The on-premises and off-premises consumption sales shall be made pursuant to a written 
agreement between the private fair and festival and an authorized winery or farm winery. An 
authorized winery or farm winery who which agrees to offer for sale and service their its wine or 
hard cider for on-premises consumption by the drink or glass, or by the bottle when consumed by 
the glass pursuant to §60-7-1 et seq. of this code and for off-premises consumption sealed bottle 
sales from a booth or other facility on the private fair and festival's licensed premises prior to the 
start of the private fair or festival shall meet the requirements of §60-4-3b(m) and §60-8A-5(c) of 
this code, as applicable. The written agreement with each authorized winery or farm winery shall 
account for lawful sales of wine or hard cider sold for on premises or off-premises consumption 
as set forth in §60-8-1 et seq. of this code and §60-8A-1 et seq. of this code, as applicable. The 
authorized and approved winery, farm winery or its licensed representatives may give or sell 
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approved promotional items to private fair and festival members and guests, but not to the private 
fair and festival's volunteers, independent contractors, or employees. 

(f) Liquor sold, furnished, tendered, or served for on-premises consumption by the private fair 
and festival pursuant to the license created by this section shall be purchased from a licensed 
retail liquor outlet in the market zone or contiguous market zone where the private fair or festival 
is occurring, all in accordance with §60-3A-1 et seq. of this code. Sealed containers of liquor 
Liquor may be sold and served for on-premises consumption by the drink off-premises 
consumption by the sealed bottle if the liquor is being sold by an authorized distillery, mini-
distillery, or micro-distillery, as set forth in §60-4-3a of this code, who manufactures their its liquor 
in this state. Off-premises consumption sales shall comply with §60-3A-17 of this code and §60-
4-3a(c) of this code shall not apply to these sales. The on-premises and off-premises consumption 
sales shall be made pursuant to a written agreement between the private fair and festival and an 
authorized distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery. An authorized licensed distillery, mini-
distillery, or micro-distillery who agrees to offer off-premises consumption sales of their 
manufactured liquor by the bottle from a booth or other facility on the private fair and festival's 
licensed premises prior to the start of the private fair, festival, or other event must meet the 
requirements as set forth in §60-4-3a of this code. An authorized licensed distillery, mini-distillery, 
or micro-distillery which agrees to offer on-premises consumption sales of its manufactured liquor 
by the drink or glass from a booth or other facility on the premises of the licensed fair and festival 
must meet the requirements set forth and in §60-7-1 et seq. of this code. The written agreement 
with each authorized distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery shall account for lawful sales of 
liquor sold for off-premises consumption as set forth in §60-3A-1 et seq. of this code. An 
authorized and approved distillery, mini-distillery, micro-distillery or its licensed representatives 
may give or sell approved promotional items to private fair and festival members and guests, but 
not to the private fair and festival's volunteers, independent contractors, or employees. 

(g) A licensee authorized by this section may use bona fide employees, volunteers, or in 
limited circumstances licensed representatives to sell, furnish, tender, or serve the nonintoxicating 
beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, liquor, or hard cider. 

(h) Licensed representatives of an authorized and approved brewer, resident brewer, beer 
distributor, wine distributor, wine supplier, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-distillery, micro-
distillery, and liquor broker representatives may attend a private fair and festival and discuss their 
respective products but shall not and may engage in the selling, furnishing, tendering, or serving 
of any nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, hard cider, or liquor. However, 
licensed representatives of a brewer, resident brewer, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-
distillery, or micro-distillery that has agreed in writing to conduct sampling, and on-premises 
consumption sales, and off-premises consumption sales of their respective licensee's products at 
the private fair and festival, may discuss their respective products and engage in the limited giving 
of complimentary samples sampling in accordance with §11-16-6a (c) and (d), §60-4-3a (a) and 
(b), and §60-4-3b (b) and (m) of this code; and the selling of sealed bottles or cans of their 
respective nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, hard cider, or liquor products for 
on-premises consumption or off-premises consumption as specified in this section. All taxes and 
fees must be paid on lawful sales.  

(i) A license issued under this section and the licensee are subject to all other provisions of 
this article and the rules and orders of the commissioner: Provided, That the commissioner may 
by rule or order allow certain waivers or exceptions with respect to those provisions, rules, or 
orders as the circumstances of each private fair and festival require, including without limitation, 
the right to revoke or suspend immediately any license issued under this section prior to any 
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notice or hearing, notwithstanding §60-7-13a of this code: Provided, however, That under no 
circumstances may the provisions of §60-7-12 of this code be waived or an exception granted 
with respect thereto;  

(j) Dual licensing is permitted for private fairs and festivals pursuant to §60-7-2a of this code, 
including but not limited to a dual licensing simultaneous to any other qualified permit holders as 
defined in §60-7-1, et seq. of this code.  

(k) A private fair and festival licensee who executes a written agreement with a licensed 
brewer, resident brewer, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-distillery, micro-distillery, or their its 
licensed representatives is jointly liable and responsible for any violations of this article. 

(l) A private fair and festival licensee who executes a written agreement with a licensed 
brewer, resident brewer, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery to conduct 
limited on-premises and off-premises consumption sales shall not have any pecuniary interest, 
share, or percentage in any sales of sealed nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, 
hard cider, or liquor.  

(m) A private fair and festival licensee who executes a written agreement with a licensed 
brewer, resident brewer, winery, farm winery, distillery, mini-distillery, or micro-distillery to conduct 
limited on-premises and off-premises consumption sales may charge them a flat booth rental fee. 

(n) A private fair and festival licensee, licensed brewer, resident brewer, winery, farm winery, 
distillery, mini-distillery, micro-distillery, or their licensed representatives who permits permit 
members or guests to consume, on the private fair and festival's licensed premises, any 
nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer, wine, hard cider, or liquor, that was purchased 
as an off-premises consumption sale, shall have their its respective license immediately 
suspended, and that conduct is grounds for revocation of their license. 

§60-7-8d. Where private clubs may sell and serve alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating 
beer or nonintoxicating craft beer. 

(a) With prior approval of the commissioner a private club licensee may sell, serve, and furnish 
alcoholic liquor and, if also licensed to sell, serve, and furnish nonintoxicating beer or 
nonintoxicating craft beer to be consumed on premises in a legally demarcated area which may 
include a temporary private outdoor dining area or temporary private outdoor street dining area. 
A temporary private outdoor street dining area shall be approved by the municipal government or 
county commission in which the licensee operates. The commissioner shall develop and make 
available an application form to facilitate the purposes of this subsection.  

(b) The private club licensee shall submit to the commissioner: (1) the municipal or county 
approval of the private outdoor dining area or private outdoor street dining area; and, (2) a revised 
floorplan requesting to sell alcoholic liquors, and when licensed for nonintoxicating beer or 
nonintoxicating craft beer, then nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer, subject to the 
commissioner's requirements, in an approved and bounded outdoor area. The approved and 
bounded area need not be adjacent to the licensee's licensed premises, but in close proximity, 
for private outdoor street dining or private outdoor dining. For purposes of this subsection, "close 
proximity" means an available area within 150 300 feet of a licensee's licensed premises and 
under the licensee's control and with right of ingress and egress.  
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(c) This private outdoor dining or private outdoor street dining may be operated in conjunction 
with a private wine outdoor dining or private wine outdoor street dining area set forth in §60-8-32a 
of this code and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer outdoor dining or outdoor street 
dining set forth in §11-16-9 of this code.  

(d) For purposes of this section, private outdoor dining and private outdoor street dining 
include dining areas that are:  

(1) Outside and not served by an HVAC system for air handling services and use outside air;  

(2) Open to the air; and 

(3) Not enclosed by fixed or temporary walls; however, the commissioner may seasonally 
approve a partial enclosure with up to three temporary or fixed walls. 

Any area where seating is incorporated inside a permanent building with ambient air through 
HVAC is not considered outdoor dining pursuant to this subsection.  

(e) A private club restaurant or a private manufacturer club licensed for craft cocktail growler 
sales must provide food or a meal along with sealed craft cocktail growler sales as set forth in this 
article to a patron who is in-person or in-vehicle while picking up food or a meal, and a sealed 
craft cocktail growler order-to-go, subject to verification that the purchasing person is 21 years of 
age or older, and not visibly, or noticeably intoxicated, and as otherwise specified in this article.  

ARTICLE 8. SALE OF WINES.  

§60-8-2. Definitions. 

Unless the context in which used clearly requires a different meaning, as used in this article: 

"Commissioner" or "commission" means the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control 
Commissioner. 

"Distributor" means any person whose principal place of business is within the State of West 
Virginia who makes purchases from a supplier to sell or distribute wine to retailers, grocery stores, 
private wine bed and breakfasts, private wine restaurants, private wine spas, private clubs, or 
wine specialty shops and that sells or distributes nonfortified dessert wine, port, sherry, and 
Madeira wines to wine specialty shops, private wine restaurants, private clubs, or retailers under 
authority of this article and maintains a warehouse in this state for the distribution of wine. For the 
purpose of a distributor only, the term "person" means and includes an individual, firm, trust, 
partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company, association, or corporation. Any trust 
licensed as a distributor or any trust that is an owner of a distributor licensee, and the trustee or 
other persons in active control of the activities of the trust relating to the distributor license, is 
liable for acts of the trust or its beneficiaries relating to the distributor license that are unlawful 
acts or violations of this article, notwithstanding the liability of trustees in §44D-10-1 et seq. of this 
code. 

"Fortified wine" means any wine to which brandy or other alcohol has been added where the 
alcohol content by volume does not exceed 24 percent, and includes nonfortified dessert wines 
where the alcohol content by volume is greater than 17 percent and does not exceed 24 percent. 
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"Grocery store" means any retail establishment, commonly known as a grocery store, 
supermarket, delicatessen, caterer, or party supply store, where food, food products, and supplies 
for the table are sold for consumption off the premises with average monthly sales (exclusive of 
sales of wine) of not less than $500 and an average monthly inventory (exclusive of inventory of 
wine) of not less than $500. The term "grocery store" also includes and means a separate and 
segregated portion of any other retail store which is dedicated solely to the sale of food, food 
products, and supplies for the table for consumption off the premises with average monthly sales 
with respect to the separate or segregated portion, exclusive of sales of wine, of not less than  
$500 and an average monthly inventory, exclusive of inventory of wine, of not less than $500. 

"Hard Cider" means a type of wine that is derived primarily from the fermentation of apples, 
pears, peaches, honey, or another fruit, or from apple, pear, peach, or another fruit juice 
concentrate and water; contains no more than 0.64 grams of carbon dioxide per 100 milliliters; 
contains at least one half of one percent and less than 12 and one-half percent alcohol by volume; 
and is advertised, labeled, offered for sale, or sold, as hard cider or cider containing alcohol, and 
not as wine, wine product, or as a substitute for wine.  

"Hard Cider Distributor" means any person whose principal place of business is within the 
State of West Virginia who makes purchases from a supplier to sell or distribute hard cider, but 
not other types of wine, to retailers, grocery stores, private wine bed and breakfasts, private wine 
restaurants, private wine spas, private clubs, or wine specialty shops under authority of this code 
and maintains a warehouse in this state for the distribution of hard cider, but not other types of 
wine. For the purpose of a hard cider distributor, the term "person" means and includes an 
individual, firm, trust, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company, association, or 
corporation. Any trust licensed as a distributor or any trust that is an owner of a distributor 
licensee, and the trustee, or any other person or persons in active control of the activities of the 
trust relating to the distributor license, is liable for acts of the trust or its beneficiaries relating to 
the distributor license that are unlawful acts or violations of this article, notwithstanding the liability 
of trustees in §44D-10-1 et seq. of this code. 

"Licensee" means the holder of a license granted under the provisions of this article. 

"Nonfortified dessert wine" means a wine that is a dessert wine to which brandy or other 
alcohol has not been added, and which has an alcohol content by volume of at least 15.6 percent 
and less than or equal to 17 percent. 

"Person" means and includes an individual, firm, partnership, limited partnership, limited 
liability company, association, or corporation. 

"Private wine bed and breakfast" means any business with the sole purpose of providing, in a 
residential or country setting, a hotel, motel, inn, or other such establishment properly zoned as 
to its municipality or local ordinances, lodging and meals to its customers in the course of their 
stay at the establishment, which business also: (1) Is a partnership, limited partnership, 
corporation, unincorporated association, or other business entity which as part of its general 
business purpose provides meals on its premises to its members and their guests; (2) is licensed 
under the provisions of this article as to all of its premises or as to a separate segregated portion 
of its premises to serve wine to its members and their guests when the sale accompanies the 
serving of food or meals; and (3) admits only duly elected and approved dues-paying members 
and their guests while in the company of a member and does not admit the general public. 
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"Private wine restaurant" means a restaurant which: (1) Is a partnership, limited partnership, 
corporation, unincorporated association, or other business entity which has, as its principal 
purpose, the business of serving meals on its premises to its members and their guests; (2) is 
licensed under the provisions of this article as to all of its premises or as to a separate segregated 
portion of its premises to serve wine to its members and their guests when the sale accompanies 
the serving of food or meals; and (3) admits only duly elected and approved dues-paying members 
and their guests while in the company of a member and does not admit the general public. Private 
clubs that meet the private wine restaurant requirements numbered (1), (2), and (3) in this 
definition shall be considered private wine restaurants: Provided, That, a private wine restaurant 
shall have at least two restrooms: Provided, however, That the two restroom requirement may be 
waived by a written waiver provided from a local health department to the commissioner: And 
provided further, That a private wine restaurant located in an historic building may also be relieved 
of the two restroom requirement if a historic association or district with jurisdiction over a historic 
building provides a written waiver of the requirement to the commissioner:  And provided further, 
That in no event shall a private wine restaurant have less than one restroom. And provided further, 
That a winery or farm winery holding a private wine restaurant license or a multi-capacity winery 
or farm winery license is not subject to the food service requirements of this subdivision. 

"Private wine spa" means any business with the sole purpose of providing commercial 
facilities devoted especially to health, fitness, weight loss, beauty, therapeutic services, and 
relaxation, and may also be a licensed massage parlor or a salon with licensed beauticians or 
stylists, which business also: (1) Is a partnership, limited partnership, corporation, unincorporated 
association, or other business entity which as part of its general business purpose provides meals 
on its premises to its members and their guests; (2) is licensed under the provisions of this article 
as to all of its premises or as to a separate segregated portion of its premises to serve up to two 
glasses of wine to its members and their guests when the sale accompanies the serving of food 
or meals; and (3) admits only duly elected and approved dues-paying members and their guests 
while in the company of a member, and does not admit the general public. 

"Retailer" means any person licensed to sell wine at retail to the public at his or her established 
place of business for off-premises consumption and who is licensed to do so under authority of 
this article. 

"Supplier" means any manufacturer, producer, processor, winery, farm winery, national 
distributor, or other supplier of wine who sells or offers to sell or solicits or negotiates the sale of 
wine to any licensed West Virginia distributor. 

"Table wine" means a wine with an alcohol content by volume between 0.5 percent and 15.5 
percent. 

"Tax" includes within its meaning interest, additions to tax, and penalties. 

"Taxpayer" means any person liable for any tax, interest, additions to tax, or penalty under 
the provisions of this article, and any person claiming a refund of tax. 

"Varietal wine" means any wine labeled according to the grape variety from which the wine is 
made. 

"Vintage wine" or "vintage-dated wine" means wines from which the grapes used to produce 
the wine are harvested during a particular year, or wines produced from the grapes of a particular 
harvest in a particular region of production. 
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"Wine" means any alcoholic beverage obtained by the natural fermentation of the natural 
content of grapes, other fruits, or honey or other agricultural products containing sugar to which 
no alcohol has been added and includes table wine, hard cider, nonfortified dessert wine, wine 
coolers, and other similar wine-based beverages. Fortified wine and any product defined as or 
contained within the definition of nonintoxicating beer under the provisions of §11-16-1 et seq., of 
this code are excluded from this definition of wine.  

"Wine specialty shop" means a retailer who deals principally in the sale of table wine, 
nonfortified dessert wines, wine accessories, and food or foodstuffs normally associated with wine 
and: (1) Who maintains a representative number of wines for sale in his or her inventory which 
are designated by label as varietal wine, vintage, generic, and/or according to region of production 
and the inventory shall contain not less than 15 percent vintage or vintage-dated wine by actual 
bottle count; and (2) who, any other provisions of this code to the contrary notwithstanding, may 
maintain an inventory of port, sherry, and Madeira wines having an alcoholic content of not more 
than 22 percent alcohol by volume and which have been matured in wooden barrels or casks. All 
wine available for sale shall be for off-premises consumption except where wine tasting or wine 
sampling is separately authorized by this code.  

§60-8-3. Licenses; fees; general restrictions. 

(a) No person may engage in business in the capacity of a winery, farm winery, supplier, 
distributor, retailer, private wine bed and breakfast, private wine restaurant, private wine spa, or 
wine specialty shop without first obtaining a license from the commissioner, nor shall a person 
continue to engage in any activity after his or her license has expired, been suspended, or 
revoked. No person may be licensed simultaneously as a distributor and a retailer. No person, 
except for a winery or farm winery, may be licensed simultaneously as a supplier and a retailer. 
No person except for a winery or farm winery holding a multi-capacity winery or farm winery 
license may be licensed simultaneously as a supplier and a private wine bed and breakfast, 
private wine restaurant, or a private wine spa. No person may be licensed simultaneously as a 
distributor and a private wine bed and breakfast, a private wine restaurant, or a private wine spa. 
No person except for a winery or farm winery or holding a multi-capacity winery or farm winery 
license may be licensed simultaneously as a retailer and a private wine bed and breakfast, a 
private wine restaurant, or a private wine spa. Any person who is licensed to engage in any 
business concerning the manufacture, sale, or distribution of wine may also engage in the 
manufacture, sale, or distribution of hard cider without obtaining a separate hard cider license.  

(b) The commissioner shall collect an annual fee for licenses issued under this article as 
follows: 

(1) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a supplier's license; 

(2) Two thousand five hundred dollars per year for a distributor's license and each separate 
warehouse or other facility from which a distributor sells, transfers, or delivers wine shall be 
separately licensed and there shall be collected with respect to each location, the annual license 
fee of $2,500 as provided in this subdivision; 

(3) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a retailer's license; 

(4) Two hundred fifty dollars per year for a wine specialty shop license, in addition to any other 
licensing fees paid by a winery or retailer holding a license. Except for the amount of the license 
fee and the restriction to sales of winery or farm winery wines, a winery, or farm winery acting as 
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a wine specialty shop retailer is subject to all other provisions of this article which are applicable 
to a wine specialty shop retailer as defined in §60-8-2 of this code; 

(5) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a wine tasting license; 

(6) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a private wine bed and breakfast license. Each 
separate bed and breakfast from which a licensee sells wine shall be separately licensed and 
there shall be collected with respect to each location the annual license fee of $150 as provided 
in this subdivision; 

(7) Two hundred fifty dollars per year for a private wine restaurant license. Each separate 
restaurant from which a licensee sells wine shall be separately licensed and there shall be 
collected with respect to each location the annual license fee of $250 as provided in this 
subdivision; 

(8) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a private wine spa license. Each separate private 
wine spa from which a licensee sells wine shall be separately licensed and there shall be collected 
with respect to each location the annual license fee of $150 as provided in this subdivision; 

(9) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a wine sampling license issued for a wine specialty 
shop under subsection (n) of this section; 

(10) No fee for a special one-day license under subsection (p) of this section or for a heritage 
fair and festival license under subsection (q) of this section;  

(11) One hundred fifty dollars per year for a direct shipper's license for a licensee who sells 
and ships only wine and $250 per year for a direct shipper's license who ships and sells wine, 
nonfortified dessert wine, port, sherry, or Madeira wines;  

(12) Three hundred fifty dollars per year for a multi-capacity winery or farm winery license 
which enables the holder to operate as a retailer, wine specialty shop, supplier, and direct shipper 
without obtaining an individual license for each capacity; and 

(13) Two hundred fifty dollars per year for a hard cider distributor's license. Each separate 
warehouse or other facility from which a distributor sells, transfers, or delivers hard cider shall be 
separately licensed and there shall be collected with respect to each location the annual license 
fee of $250 as provided in this subdivision: Provided, That if a licensee is licensed as a 
nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating beer distributor, then there is no additional license fee to 
distribute hard cider. 

(c) The license period begins on July 1 of each year and ends on June 30 of the following 
year and if granted for a less period, the same fee shall be computed semiannually in proportion 
to the remainder of the fiscal year. 

(d) No retailer may be licensed as a private club as provided by §60-7-1 et seq. of this code, 
except as provided by subsection (k) of this section. 

(e) No retailer may be licensed as a Class A retail dealer in nonintoxicating beer as provided 
by §11-16-1 et seq. of this code: Provided, That a delicatessen, a caterer, or party supply store, 
which is a grocery store as defined in §60-8-2 of this code, and which is licensed as a Class A 
retail dealer in nonintoxicating beer may be a retailer under this article: Provided, however, That 
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any delicatessen, caterer, or party supply store licensed in both capacities shall maintain average 
monthly sales exclusive of sales of wine and nonintoxicating beer which exceed the average 
monthly sales of nonintoxicating beer. 

(f) A wine specialty shop under this article may also hold a wine tasting license authorizing 
the retailer to serve complimentary samples of wine in moderate quantities for tasting. The wine 
specialty shop shall organize a wine taster's club, which has at least 50 duly elected or approved 
dues-paying members in good standing. The club shall meet on the wine specialty shop's 
premises not more than one time per week and shall either meet at a time when the premises are 
closed to the general public, or meet in a separate segregated facility on the premises to which 
the general public is not admitted. Attendance at tastings shall be limited to duly elected or 
approved dues-paying members and their guests. 

(g) A retailer who has more than one place of retail business shall obtain a license for each 
separate retail establishment. A retailer's license may be issued only to the proprietor or owner of 
a bona fide grocery store or wine specialty shop. 

(h)(1) The commissioner may issue a license for the retail sale of wine at any festival or fair 
fair or festival which is endorsed or sponsored by the governing body of a municipality or a county 
commission. The license shall be issued for a term of no longer than 10 consecutive days and 
the fee for the license is $250 regardless of the term of the license. The application for the license 
shall contain information required by the commissioner and shall be submitted to the 
commissioner at least 30 days prior to the first day when wine is to be sold at the any festival or 
fair fair or festival.  

(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, if the applicant for the festival or fair fair 
or festival license is the manufacturer of the wine, a winery, or a farm winery as defined in §60-1-
5a of this code, and the event is located on the premises of a winery or a farm winery, then the 
license fee is $50 per festival or fair fair or festival. 

(3) A licensed winery or a farm winery, which has the festival or fair fair or festival licensee's 
written authorization and approval from the commissioner, may, in addition to, or in conjunction 
with the festival and fair fair and festival licensee, exhibit, conduct complimentary tastings, or sell 
samples not to exceed three six, two three-fluid ounce, tastings or samples per patron, or serve 
wine by the glass for consumption on the premises during the operation of a festival or fair fair or 
festival only; and may sell wine by the bottle for on-premises consumption, when consumed by 
the glass, and sealed bottles of wine for off-premises consumption only: Provided, That for 
licensed wineries or farm wineries at a licensed festival or fair fair or festival; tastings, samples, 
on-premises sales, and off-premises sales shall occur under the hours of operation as required 
in this article, except on Sunday, tastings, samples, and off-premises sales are unlawful between 
the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. 

(4) A festival or fair fair or festival license may be issued to a "wine club" as defined in this 
subdivision for a license fee of $250. The festival or fair committee or the governing body shall 
designate a person to organize a club under a name which includes the name of the festival or 
fair fair or festival and the words "wine club". The license shall be issued in the name of the wine 
club. A licensee may not sell wine as provided in this subdivision until the wine club has at least 
50 dues-paying members who have been enrolled, and to whom membership cards have been 
issued. Thereafter, new members may be enrolled and issued membership cards at any time 
during the period for which the license is issued. A wine club licensed under the provisions of this 
subdivision may sell wine only to its members, and in portions not to exceed eight ounces per 
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serving. The sales shall take place on-premises or in an area cordoned or segregated so as to be 
closed to the general public, and the general public shall not be admitted to the premises or area. 
A wine club licensee under the provisions of this subdivision may serve complimentary samples 
of wine in moderate quantities for tasting. A wine club may not make wine purchases from a direct 
shipper where the wine may be consumed on the licensed premises of any Class A private wine 
retail license licensee or private club licensee. A wine club which violates the provisions of this 
subdivision is subject to the penalties in this article. 

(5) A licensed winery or farm winery approved to participate in a festival or fair fair or festival 
under the provisions of this section and the licensee holding the license, or the licensed winery or 
farm winery approved to attend a licensed festival or fair fair or festival, is subject to all other 
provisions of this article and the rules and orders of the commissioner relating to the license: 
Provided, That the commissioner may by rule or order provide for certain waivers or exceptions 
with respect to the provisions, rules, or orders required by the circumstances of each festival or 
fair fair or festival, including, without limitation, the right to revoke or suspend any license issued 
pursuant to this section prior to any notice or hearing notwithstanding the provisions §60-8-27 and 
§60-8-28 of this code: Provided, however, That under no circumstances shall the provisions of 
§60-8-20(c) or §60-8-20(d) of this code, be waived nor shall any exception be granted with respect 
to those subsections. 

(6) A license issued under the provisions of this section and the licensee holding the license 
are not subject to the provisions of subsection (g) of this section. 

(7) An unlicensed winery temporarily licensed and meeting the requirements set forth in 
subsection (q) of this section may conduct the same sampling and sales set forth in subsection 
(q) of this section at a licensed fair and festival upon approval of the licensee holding the fair and 
festival license and temporary and limited licensure by the commissioner. An unlicensed winery 
is subject to the same limits, fees, requirements, restrictions, and penalties set forth in subsection 
(q) of this section: Provided, That the commissioner may by rule or order provide for certain 
waivers or exceptions with respect to the provisions, rules, or orders required by the 
circumstances of each festival or fair fair or festival. The commissioner may revoke or suspend 
any license issued pursuant to this section prior to any notice or hearing notwithstanding the 
provisions §60-8-27 and §60-8-28 of this code: Provided, however, That under no circumstances 
shall the provisions of §60-8-20(c) or §60-8-20(d) of this code be waived nor shall any exception 
be granted with respect to those subsections. 

(i)(1) The commissioner may issue a special license for the retail sale of wine in a professional 
baseball stadium. A license to sell wine granted pursuant to this subsection entitles the licensee 
to sell and serve wine for consumption in a professional baseball stadium. For the purpose of this 
subsection, "professional baseball stadium" means a facility constructed primarily for the use of 
a major or minor league baseball franchisee affiliated with the National Association of Professional 
Baseball Leagues, Inc., or its successor, and used as a major or minor league baseball park. Any 
special license issued pursuant to this subsection shall be for a term beginning on the date of 
issuance and ending on the next following June 30, and its fee is $250 regardless of the length of 
the term of the license. The application for the special license shall contain information required 
by the commissioner and must be submitted to the commissioner at least 30 days prior to the first 
day when wine is to be sold at the professional baseball stadium. The special license may be 
issued in the name of the baseball franchisee or the name of the primary food and beverage 
vendor under contract with the baseball franchisee. These sales must take place within the 
confines of the professional baseball stadium. The exterior of the area where wine sales may 
occur shall be surrounded by a fence or other barrier prohibiting entry except upon the 
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franchisee's express permission, and under the conditions and restrictions established by the 
franchisee, so that the wine sales area is closed to free and unrestricted entry by the general 
public. 

(2) A license issued under this subsection and the licensee holding the license are subject to 
all other provisions of this article and the rules and orders of the commissioner relating to the 
special license: Provided, That the commissioner may by rule or order grant certain waivers or 
exceptions to those rules or orders required by the circumstances of each professional baseball 
stadium. The commissioner may revoke or suspend any license issued pursuant to this section 
prior to any notice or hearing notwithstanding §60-8-27 and §60-8-28 of this code: Provided, 
however, That under no circumstances may §60-8-20(c) or §60-8-20(d) of this code be waived 
nor shall any exception be granted concerning those subsections. 

(3) The commissioner may propose legislative rules for promulgation in accordance with 
§29A-3-1 et seq. of this code to implement this subsection. 

(j) A license to sell wine granted to a private wine bed and breakfast, private wine restaurant, 
private wine spa, or a private club under the provisions of this article entitles the operator to sell 
and serve wine, for consumption on the premises of the licensee, when the sale accompanies the 
serving of food or a meal to its members and their guests in accordance with the provisions of 
this article: Provided, That a licensed private wine bed and breakfast, private wine restaurant, 
private wine spa, or a private club may permit a person over 21 years of age to purchase wine, 
consume wine, and recork or reseal, using a tamper resistant cork or seal, up to two separate 
bottles of unconsumed wine in conjunction with the serving of food or a meal to its members and 
their guests in accordance with the provisions of this article and in accordance with rules 
promulgated by the commissioner for the purpose of consumption of the wine off premises: 
Provided, however, That a licensed private wine restaurant or a private club may offer for sale, 
for consumption off the off-premises, sealed bottles of wine to its customers provided that no more 
than one bottle is sold per each person over 21 years of age, as verified by the private wine 
restaurant or private club, for consumption off the off-premises. The licensees may keep and 
maintain on their its premises a supply of wine in quantities appropriate for the conduct of 
operations thereof. Any sale of wine is subject to all restrictions set forth in §60-8-20 of this code. 
A private wine restaurant may also be licensed as a Class A retail dealer in nonintoxicating beer 
as provided by §11-16-1 et seq. of this code. 

(k) With respect to subsections (h), (i), (j), (o), and (p) of this section, the commissioner shall 
propose legislative rules for promulgation in accordance with §29A-1-1 et seq. of this code, 
including, but not limited to, the form of the applications and the suitability of both the applicant 
and location of the licensed premises. 

(l) The commissioner shall propose legislative rules for promulgation in accordance with the 
provisions of §29A-1-1 et seq. of this code to allow restaurants to serve wine with meals and to 
sell wine by the bottle for off-premises consumption as provided in subsection (j) of this section. 
Each licensed restaurant shall be charged an additional $100 per year fee. 

(m) The commissioner shall establish guidelines to permit wines to be sold in all stores 
licensed for retail sales. 

(n) Wineries and farm wineries may advertise off premises as provided in §17-22-7 of this 
code. 
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(o) A licensed wine specialty shop under this article may also hold a wine sampling license 
authorizing the wine specialty shop to conduct special wine sampling events at a licensed wine 
specialty shop at its location during regular hours of business. The wine specialty shop may serve 
up to three six complimentary samples of wine, consisting of no more than two three fluid ounces 
each, to any one consumer in one per day. Persons serving the complimentary samples shall be 
21 years of age or older and an authorized representative of the licensed wine specialty shop, 
winery, farm winery, or a representative of a distributor or registered supplier. Distributor and 
supplier representatives attending wine sampling events shall register with the commissioner. No 
licensee, employee, or representative may furnish, give, sell, or serve complimentary samples of 
wine to any person less than 21 years of age or to a person who is physically incapacitated due 
to the consumption of alcoholic liquor or the use of drugs. The wine specialty shop shall notify 
and secure permission from the commissioner for all wine sampling events 30 days prior to the 
event. Wine sampling events may not exceed six hours per calendar day. Licensees shall 
purchase all wines used during these events from a licensed farm winery or a licensed distributor. 

(p) The commissioner may issue special one-day licenses to duly organized, nonprofit 
corporations and associations allowing the sale and serving of wine, and may, if applicable, also 
allow the charitable auctioning of certain sealed bottles of wine for off-premises consumption only, 
when raising money for athletic, charitable, educational, or religious purposes. "Auction or 
auctioning", for the purposes of this subsection, means any silent, physical act, or verbal bid 
auction, whether or not the auction requires in-presence bidding or online Internet-based 
electronic bidding through a secure application or website, but shall not include any action in 
violation of §47-20-10, §47-20-11, or §61-10-1 et seq. of this code. The license application shall 
contain information required by the commissioner and shall be submitted to the commissioner at 
least 30 days prior to the event. Accompanying the license application, the applicant shall submit 
a signed and notarized statement that at least 80 percent of the net proceeds from the charitable 
event will be donated directly to the nonprofit corporation or organization. Wines used during 
these events may be donated by, or purchased from, a licensed retailer, a distributor, winery, or 
a farm winery. A licensed winery or farm winery which is authorized in writing by a representative 
of the duly organized, nonprofit corporation or association which has obtained the one-day 
license; is in good standing with the state; and obtains the commissioner's approval prior to the 
one-day license event may, in conjunction with the one-day licensee, exhibit, conduct 
complimentary tastings, or sell samples not to exceed three six, two three-fluid ounce tastings or 
samples per patron, sell wine by the glass or by the bottle, when consumed by the glass, for 
consumption on the on-premises during the operation of the one-day license event; and may sell 
certain sealed wine bottles manufactured by the licensed winery or farm winery for off-premises 
consumption: Provided, That for a licensed winery or farm winery at a licensed one-day event, 
the tastings, samples, on-premises sales, and off-premises sales of its wine shall occur under the 
hours of operation permitted by this article, except on Sunday, tastings, samples, on-premises 
sales, and off-premises sales of its wine are unlawful between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 
a.m., from the one-day licensee's submitted floor plan for the event subject to the requirements 
in the code and rules. Under no circumstances may the provisions of §60-8-20(c) or §60-8-20(f) 
of this code be waived nor may any exception be granted with respect to those subsections.  

(q)(1) In addition to the authorization granted to licensed wineries and farm wineries in 
subsections (h) and (p) of this section, an unlicensed winery, regardless of its designation in 
another state, but that is duly licensed in its domicile state, may pay a $150 nonrefundable and 
nonprorated non-prorated fee and submit an application for temporary licensure on a one-day 
basis for temporary sampling and sale of wine in sealed containers for off-premises consumption 
at a special one-day license nonprofit event. 
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(2) The application shall include, but is not limited to, the person or entity's name, address, 
taxpayer identification number, and location; a copy of its licensure in its domicile state; a signed 
and notarized verification that it produces 50,000 gallons or less of wine per year; a signed and 
notarized verification that it is in good standing with its domicile state; copies of its federal 
certificate of label approvals and certified lab alcohol analysis for the wines it desires to 
temporarily provide samples and temporarily sell wine in sealed containers for off-premises 
consumption at a special one-day license for a nonprofit event issued under subsection (p) of this 
section; and any other information as the commissioner may reasonably require; Provided, That 
the background investigation requirement set forth in §60-8-16 of this code is inapplicable to 
licenses authorized by this subdivision. 

(3) The applicant winery shall include a list of all wines proposed to be temporarily sampled 
and temporarily sold by the glass or bottle, when consumed by the glass, for on-premises 
consumption or in sealed containers for off-premises consumption at a special one-day license 
for a nonprofit event so that the wines may be reviewed in the interest of public health and safety. 
Once approved, the submitted wine list creates a temporary wine brand registration for up to two 
special one-day licenses for a nonprofit event for no additional fee. 

(4) An applicant winery that receives this temporary special one-day license for a nonprofit 
event shall provide the commissioner a signed and notarized written agreement acknowledging 
that the applicant winery understands its responsibility to pay all municipal, local, and sales taxes 
applicable to the sale of wine in West Virginia. 

(5) An application must be submitted per for each special one-day license for a nonprofit event 
the applicant winery desires to attend, and the license fee shall cover up to two special one-day 
license licenses for nonprofit events before an additional fee would be is required. In no 
circumstance would the winery be permitted to attend more than four special one-day licensed 
events. Any applicant or unlicensed winery desiring to attend more than four special one-day 
license for nonprofit events per year or otherwise operate in West Virginia would need to seek 
appropriate licensure as a winery or a farm winery in this state. 

(6) Notwithstanding the provisions of this article and requirements for licensure, wine brand 
registration, payment of wine liter tax, and the winery's appointment of suppliers and distributors, 
this temporary special one-day license for a nonprofit event, once granted, permits a winery to 
operate in this limited capacity only at the approved specific, special one-day license for a 
nonprofit event subject to the limitations contained in this section. 

(7) The applicant winery shall also apply for and receive a transportation permit to legally 
transport wine in the state per §60-6-12 of this code. 

(8) The applicant winery is subject to all applicable violations and/or penalties under this article 
and the legislative rules that are not otherwise excepted by this subsection: Provided, That the 
commissioner may by rule or order provide for certain waivers or exceptions with respect to the 
provisions, rules, or orders required by the circumstances of each festival or fair fair or festival. 
The commissioner may revoke or suspend any license issued pursuant to this article, prior to any 
notice or hearing. 

(r) The commissioner may issue special licenses to heritage fairs and festivals allowing the 
sale, serving, and sampling of wine from a licensed farm winery. The license application shall 
contain information required by the commissioner and shall be submitted to the commissioner at 
least 30 days prior to the event. Wines used during these events may be donated by or purchased 
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from a licensed farm winery. Under no circumstances may the provision of §60-8-20(c) of this 
code be waived nor may any exception be granted with respect thereto. The commissioner shall 
propose rules for legislative approval in accordance with §29A-3-1 et seq. of this code to 
implement the provisions of this subsection. 

(s)(1) The commissioner may issue a special license for the retail sale of wine in a college or 
university stadium. A license to sell wine granted pursuant to this subsection entitles the licensee 
to sell and serve wine for consumption in a college or university stadium. For the purpose of this 
subsection, "college stadium" means a facility constructed primarily for the use of a Division I, II, 
or III college or university that is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association, or its 
successor, and used as a football, basketball, baseball, soccer, or other Division I, II, or III sports 
stadium. A special license issued pursuant to this subsection shall be for a term beginning on the 
date of its issuance and ending on the next following June 30, and its fee is $250 regardless of 
the length of the term of the license. The application for the special license shall contain 
information required by the commissioner and must be submitted to the commissioner at least 30 
days prior to the first day when wine is to be sold. The special license may be issued in the name 
of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I, II, or III college or university or the name 
of the primary food and beverage vendor under contract with that college or university. All sales 
must take place within the confines of the college or university stadium: Provided, That the exterior 
of the area where wine sales may occur shall be surrounded by a fence or other barrier prohibiting 
entry except upon the college or university's express permission, and under the conditions and 
restrictions established by the college or university, so that the wine sales area is closed to free 
and unrestricted entry by the general public. 

(2) A license issued under this subsection and the licensee are subject to the other 
requirements of this article and the rules and orders of the commissioner relating to the special 
license: Provided, That the commissioner may by rule or order grant certain waivers or exceptions 
to those rules or orders as required by the circumstances of each the college or university stadium. 
The commissioner may revoke or immediately suspend any license issued pursuant to this 
section prior to any notice or hearing notwithstanding §60-8-27 and §60-8-28 of this code: 
Provided, however, That §60-8-20(c) or §60-8-20(d) of this code may not be waived, nor shall any 
exception be granted concerning those subsections. 

(3) The commissioner may propose legislative rules for promulgation in accordance with 
§29A-3-1 et seq. of this code to implement this subsection. 

§60-8-6c. Winery and farm winery license to sell wine growlers and provide complimentary 
samples prior to purchasing a wine growler. 

(a) Legislative findings. — The Legislature hereby finds that it is in the public interest to 
regulate, control, and support the brewing, manufacturing, distribution, sale, consumption, 
transportation, and storage of wine and its industry in this state to protect the public health, 
welfare, and safety of the citizens of this state, and promote hospitality and tourism. Therefore, 
this section authorizes a licensed winery or farm winery with its principal place of business and 
manufacture located in this state to have certain abilities to promote the sale of wine manufactured 
in this state for the benefit of the citizens of this state, the state's growing wine industry, and the 
state's hospitality and tourism industry, all of which are vital components for the state's economy. 

(b) Sales of wine. — A licensed winery or farm winery with its principal place of business and 
manufacture located in the State of West Virginia may, when licensed under this section, offer 
only wine manufactured by the licensed winery or farm winery for retail sale to customers from 
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the winery or farm winery's licensed premises for consumption off of the licensed off-premises 
only in the form of original container sealed wine kegs, wine bottles, or wine cans, or also a sealed 
wine growler for personal consumption, and not for resale. A licensed winery or farm winery may 
not sell, give, or furnish its wine for consumption on the premises of the principal place of business 
and manufacture located in the State of West Virginia, except for the limited purpose of 
complimentary samples as permitted in subsection (c) of this section, or unless separately 
licensed for on-premises sales in accordance with §60-4-3b of this code, or for on-premises sales 
when separately licensed as a private wine restaurant or a private manufacturer club. 

(c) Complimentary s Samples. — A licensed winery or farm winery with its principal place of 
business and manufacture located in the State of West Virginia may offer complimentary samples 
of wine as set forth in §60-4-3b of this code. 

(d) Retail sales. — Every licensed winery or farm winery under this section shall comply with 
all the provisions of this article as applicable to wine retailers when conducting wine growler sales 
and is subject to all applicable requirements and penalties in this article. 

(e) Payment of taxes and fees. — A winery or farm winery licensed under this section shall 
pay all taxes and fees required of licensed wine retailers, in addition to any other taxes and fees 
required, and shall meet applicable licensing provisions as required by this chapter and by rule of 
the commissioner. 

(f) Advertising. — A licensed winery or farm winery under this section may advertise a 
particular brand or brands of wine produced by the licensed winery or farm winery and the price 
of the wine subject to state and federal requirements or restrictions. The advertisement may not 
encourage intemperance or target minors. 

(g) Wine Growler defined. — For purposes of this section and section §60-8-6d of the code, 
"wine growler" means a container or jug that is made of glass, ceramic, metal, or other material 
approved by the commissioner, that may be no larger than 128 fluid ounces in size and is capable 
of being securely sealed. The growler may be used by an authorized licensee for purposes of off-
premises sales only of wine for personal consumption, and not for resale. The wine served and 
sold in a sealed wine growler may include ice or water mixed with the wine to create a frozen 
alcoholic beverage. Any frozen alcoholic beverage machine used for filling wine growlers shall be 
sanitized daily and shall be under control and served by the licensee from the secure area. 
Notwithstanding any other provision of this code to the contrary, a securely sealed wine growler 
is not an open container under state and local law. A wine growler with a broken seal is an open 
container under state and local law unless it is located in an area of the motor vehicle physically 
separated from the passenger compartment. For purpose of this article, a secure seal means 
using a tamper evident seal, such as: (1) A plastic heat shrink wrap band, strip, or sleeve 
extending around the cap or lid of wine growler to form a seal that shall be is broken when the 
container is opened; or (2) A screw top cap or lid that breaks apart when the wine growler is 
opened. 

(h) Wine Growler requirements. — A winery or farm winery licensed under this section shall 
prevent patrons from accessing the secure area where the winery or farm winery fills a wine 
growler and prevent patrons from filling a wine growler. A licensed winery or farm winery under 
this section shall sanitize, fill, securely seal, and label any wine growler prior to its sale. A licensed 
winery or farm winery under this section may refill a wine growler subject to the requirements of 
this section. A winery or farm winery shall visually inspect any wine growler before filling or refilling 
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it. A winery or farm winery may not fill or refill any wine growler that appears to be cracked, broken, 
unsafe, or otherwise unfit to serve as a sealed beverage container. 

(i) Wine Growler labeling. — A winery or farm winery licensed under this section selling wine 
growlers shall affix a conspicuous label on all sold and securely sealed wine growlers listing the 
name of the licensee selling the wine growler, the brand of the wine in the wine growler, the 
alcohol content by volume of the wine in the wine growler, and the date the wine growler was 
filled or refilled. All labeling on the wine growler shall be consistent with all federal labeling and 
warning requirements. 

(j) Wine Growler sanitation. — A licensed winery or farm winery authorized under this section 
shall clean and sanitize all wine growlers it fills or refills in accordance with all state and county 
health requirements prior to its filling and sealing. In addition, the licensed winery or farm winery 
shall sanitize, in accordance with all state and county health requirements, all taps, tap lines, 
pipelines, barrel tubes, and any other related equipment used to fill or refill growlers. Failure to 
comply with this subsection may result in penalties under this article. 

(k) Fee. — There is no additional fee for a licensed winery or farm winery authorized under 
this section to sell wine growlers, but the licensee shall meet all other requirements of this section. 

(l) Limitations on licensees. — To be authorized under this section, a licensed winery or farm 
winery may not produce more than 10,000 gallons of wine per calendar year at the winery or farm 
winery's principal place of business and manufacture located in the State of West Virginia. A 
licensed winery or farm winery authorized under this section is subject to the applicable penalties 
under this article for violations of this section. 

(m) Rules. — The commissioner, in consultation with the Bureau for Public Health, may 
propose legislative rules concerning sanitation for legislative approval, pursuant to §29A-3-1 et 
seq. of this code, to implement this section. 

 §60-8-8. Authorizing wineries and farm wineries to sell and serve wine at fairs and 
festivals. 

All wineries and farm wineries also possessing a Class A wine license or private manufacturer 
club license may serve and sell wine as set forth in §60-4-3b and §60-8-3 of this code at any 
licensed fair or festival in the state of West Virginia, subject to the fair or festival licensee granting 
the winery or farm winery permission to do so in writing. 

§60-8-32a. Where wine may be sold and consumed for on-premises consumption. 

(a) With prior approval of the commissioner, a Class A wine licensee may sell, serve, and 
furnish wine for on premises consumption in a legally demarcated area which may include a 
temporary private wine outdoor dining area or a temporary private wine outdoor street dining area. 
A temporary private wine outdoor street area shall be approved by the municipal government or 
county commission in which the licensee operates. The commissioner shall develop and make 
available an application form to facilitate the purposes of this subsection. 

(b) The Class A wine licensee shall submit to a municipality or county commission for the 
approval of the private wine outdoor dining area or private wine outdoor street dining area and 
submit to the municipality or county commission a revised floorplan requesting to sell wine, 
subject to the commissioner's requirements, in an approved and bounded outdoor area. For 
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private wine outdoor street dining or private wine outdoor dining the approved and bounded 
outdoor area need not be adjacent to the licensee's licensed premises, but in close proximity and 
under the licensee's control and with right of ingress and egress. For purposes of this section, 
"close proximity," means an available area within 150 300 feet of the licensee's licensed premises.  

(c) This private wine outdoor dining or private wine outdoor street dining may be operated in 
conjunction with a private outdoor dining or private outdoor street dining area set forth in §60-7-
8d of this code, and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer outdoor dining or outdoor 
street dining set forth in §11-16-9 of this code.  

(d) For purposes of this section, "private wine outdoor dining and private wine outdoor street 
dining" include dining areas that are:  

(1) Outside and not served by an HVAC system for air handling services and use outside air;  

(2) Open to the air; and 

(3) Not enclosed by fixed or temporary walls; however, the commissioner may seasonally 
approve a partial enclosure with up to three temporary or fixed walls. 

Any areas where seating is incorporated inside a permanent building with ambient air through 
HVAC is not considered outdoor dining pursuant to this subsection.  

(e) Class A licensees licensed for on-premises sales shall provide food, which may be pre-
packaged food not requiring kitchen preparation, or a meal along with sealed wine in the original 
container or a sealed wine growler sales and service as set forth in this section and in §60-8-3 of 
this code, to a patron who is in-person or in-vehicle while picking up food and sealed wine in the 
original containers or sealed wine growlers ordered-to-go, subject to verification that the 
purchasing person is 21 years of age or older, and not visibly, or noticeably intoxicated, and as 
otherwise specified in this article.  

(f) West Virginia farm wineries possessing a Class A license may serve and sell wine by the 
glass or by the bottle in accordance with §60-4-3b and §60-8-32a of this code. 

ARTICLE 8A. MANUFACTURE AND SALE OF HARD CIDER. 

§60-8A-5. Winery or farm winery licensee's authority to manufacture, sell, and provide 
complimentary samples; growler sales; advertisements; taxes; fees; rulemaking. 

(a) Sales of hard cider. — A licensed winery or farm winery with its principal place of business 
or manufacturing facility located in the State of West Virginia may offer hard cider manufactured 
by the licensed winery or farm winery for retail sale to customers from the winery's or farm winery's 
licensed premises for consumption off of the licensed off-premises only in approved and 
registered hard cider kegs, bottles, or cans, or also sealed wine growlers for personal 
consumption and not for resale. A licensed winery or farm winery may not sell, give, or furnish 
hard cider for consumption on the premises of the principal place of business or manufacturing 
facility located in the State of West Virginia, except for the limited purpose of complimentary 
samples as permitted in subsection (b) of this section. "Wine Growler" has the meaning set forth 
in §60-8-6c(g) of this code. Customers may consume hard cider on-premises when an operator 
of a winery or farm winery is licensed as a private wine restaurant or a private manufacturer club. 
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(b) Complimentary Samples. — A licensed winery or farm winery with its principal place of 
business or manufacturing facility located in the State of West Virginia may offer complimentary 
samples of hard cider manufactured at the winery's or farm winery's principal place of business 
or manufacturing facility located in the State of West Virginia. The complimentary samples may 
be no greater than two three fluid ounces per sample per patron, and a sampling shall not exceed 
six complimentary two three fluid ounce samples per patron per day. A licensed winery or farm 
winery providing complimentary samples shall provide complimentary food, which may be pre-
packaged food not requiring kitchen preparation, items to the patron consuming the 
complimentary samples; and prior to any sampling, verify, using proper identification, that the 
patron sampling is 21 years of age or older and that the patron is not noticeably or visibly 
intoxicated. The winery or farm winery is subject to the hours of operation set forth in §60-8-34 of 
this code. 

(c) Retail sales. — Every licensed winery or farm winery under this section shall comply with 
all the provisions applicable to wine retailers when conducting sales of hard cider and is subject 
to all applicable requirements and penalties. A winery or a farm winery holding a private wine 
restaurant license or private manufacturer club license may offer for sale and service hard cider 
by the drink or glass or cider by the bottle when consumed by the glass on the property of the 
winery or farm winery. In the interest of promoting tourism throughout the state, every licensed 
winery or farm winery manufacturing cider in this state is authorized, with a limited off-site retail 
privilege at private fair and festivals, for off-premises consumption sales of only the winery or farm 
winery's sealed hard cider. At least five days prior to an approved private fair and festival, an 
authorized winery or farm winery shall provide a copy of a written agreement to sell only hard 
cider manufactured by the licensed winery or farm winery at the private fair and festival's licensed 
premises. If approved, an authorized winery or farm winery may conduct on-premises and off-
premises consumption sales of their hard cider from a designated booth at the private fair and 
festival as set forth in §60-7-8a of this code. All authorized and approved wineries and farm 
wineries' on-premises and off-premises consumption sales of hard cider shall comply with all retail 
requirements in §60-8-1 et seq. of this code and §60-8A-1 et seq. of this code, and specifically 
with respect to all markups, taxes, and fees. Additionally, an authorized winery or farm winery 
may provide, sell, and serve hard cider samples in the amounts set forth in subsection(b) of this 
section, hard cider by the glass or drink, or hard cider by the bottle when consumed by the glass 
of its hard cider for on-premises consumption to patrons who are 21 years of age and older and 
who are not intoxicated. 

(d) Payment of taxes and fees. — A licensed winery or farm winery under this section shall 
pay all taxes and fees required of licensed wine retailers, in addition to any other taxes and fees 
required, and meet applicable licensing provisions as required by law and by rule of the 
commissioner. 

(e) Advertising. — A licensed winery or farm winery may advertise a particular brand or brands 
of hard cider produced by the licensed winery or farm winery and the price of the hard cider 
subject to state and federal requirements or restrictions. The advertisement may not encourage 
intemperance or target minors. 

(f) Growler requirements. — A licensed winery or farm winery, if offering wine growler filling 
services, shall meet the filling, labeling, sanitation, and all other wine growler requirements in §60-
8-6c of this code. 

(g) Fee. — There is no additional fee for a licensed winery or farm winery authorized under 
§60-8-6c of this code, to sell wine growlers, if a winery or farm winery only desires to sell hard 
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cider in the wine growler, and no other wine, then the annual non-prorated and nonrefundable 
license fee is $50. 

Senator Smith requested a ruling from the Chair as to whether he should be excused from 
voting under Rule 43 of the Rules of the Senate. 

The Chair replied that any impact on Senator Smith would be as a member of a class of 
persons and that he would be required to vote. 

The question being on the adoption of Senator Trump's amendment to the bill, the same was 
put and prevailed. 

Engrossed Committee Substitute for House Bill 5294, as just amended, was then put upon its 
passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, 
Jeffries, Maroney, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Rucker, Stover, Stuart, Swope, 
Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—24. 

The nays were: Azinger, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Karnes, Martin, Maynard, Roberts, 
and Smith—10. 

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5294) passed. 

At the request of Senator Trump, as chair of the Committee on the Judiciary, and by 
unanimous consent, the unreported Judiciary committee amendment to the title of the bill was 
withdrawn. 

On motion of Senator Trump, the following amendment to the title of the bill was reported by 
the Clerk and adopted: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5294—A Bill to amend and reenact the provisions of §11-16-
6a and §11-16-11a of the Code of West Virginia, as amended; to amend and reenact §60-3A-3a 
of said code; to amend and reenact §60-4-3a and §60-4-3b; to amend and reenact §60-6-1 of 
said code; to amend and reenact §60-7-2, §60-7-8a, and §60-7-8d of said code; to amend and 
reenact §60-8-2, §60-8-3, §60-8-6c, and to amend said code by adding thereto a new section 
designated §60-8-8; to amend and reenact §60-8-32a of said code and to amend and reenact 
§60-8A-5 of said code all relating to alcoholic liquors and non-intoxicating beer generally; 
removing requirement that certain samples must be complimentary; allowing on-premises 
consumption of alcoholic beverages at wineries, farm wineries, distilleries, mini distilleries, micro 
distilleries, brewers or resident brewers under specified conditions; increasing number of samples 
per patron per day; allowing licensed alcohol representatives to purchase West Virginia product 
for approved sampling events; modifying sample sizes; authorizing alcohol manufacturers to 
attend private fairs and festivals, wine festivals, and one day charitable events and sell their 
manufactured alcohol by the drink or glass for on-premises consumption or by the bottle off-
premises consumption; clarifying that certain alcohol manufacturers may sell sealed bottles for 
off-premises consumption; modifying definition of close proximity to 300 feet; removing the ability 
of political subdivisions to regulate certain conduct of alcohol manufacturers and wine, wineries 
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and farm wineries; removing private manufacturer club licensees 15 hours per week food service 
requirement; authorizing simultaneous duel licensing in some circumstances; allowing sale and 
serving of alcohol, wine, nonintoxicating beer, nonintoxicating craft beer and cider in various types 
of containers, including glasses and bottles by specified licensees on specified premises; 
authorizing Class B retail licensees to conduct nonintoxicating beer and liquor sampling events; 
modifying sample sizes for Class A retail licenses and Class B retail licenses; authorizing licensed 
brewers and resident brewers to enter into alternating partnership agreements; providing that 
wineries or farm wineries possessing certain licenses are not subject to the food requirements for 
private wine restaurants; authorizing licensed representatives to purchase bottles for Class A retail 
licenses and Class B retail licenses who conduct events; permitting licensed representatives to 
serve samples; providing for market zone calculations; allowing Class A wine licensees to serve 
food that does not require kitchen preparation; allowing wineries or farm wineries providing hard 
cider samples to serve food that does not require kitchen preparation; and exempting out of state 
wineries requesting a temporary license from background investigation requirements. 

Senator Takubo moved that the bill take effect May 1, 2024. 

On this question, the yeas were: Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, Clements, Jeffries, 
Maroney, Nelson, Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Rucker, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—24. 

The nays were: Azinger, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Karnes, Martin, Maynard, Roberts, 
and Smith—10. 

Absent: None.  

So, two thirds of all the members elected to the Senate having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5294) takes effect May 1, 2024. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5617, Authorizing the Public Service Commission to 
promulgate rules for maintenance, flushing, flow testing, and marking of fire hydrants owned by 
water utilities. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, 
Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, 
Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—33. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: Maroney—1. 

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5617) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 
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Eng. House Bill 5632, Relating generally to West Virginia Real Estate License Act. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, Oliverio, 
Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, Taylor, 
Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—33. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: Maroney—1. 

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5632) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate. 

Eng. House Bill 5696, Relating to the upper Ohio Valley Trail Network. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5696) passed with its title. 

Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Eng. House Bill 5697, Relating to public charter schools code provisions. 

On third reading, coming up in regular order, was read a third time and put upon its passage. 

On the passage of the bill, the yeas were: Azinger, Barrett, Boley, Caputo, Chapman, 
Clements, Deeds, Grady, Hamilton, Hunt, Jeffries, Karnes, Maroney, Martin, Maynard, Nelson, 
Oliverio, Phillips, Plymale, Queen, Roberts, Rucker, Smith, Stover, Stuart, Swope, Takubo, Tarr, 
Taylor, Trump, Weld, Woelfel, Woodrum, and Blair (Mr. President)—34. 

The nays were: None.  

Absent: None.  

So, a majority of all the members present and voting having voted in the affirmative, the 
President declared the bill (Eng. H. B. 5697) passed with its title. 
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Ordered, That the Clerk communicate to the House of Delegates the action of the Senate and 
request concurrence therein. 

Pending announcement of meetings of standing committees of the Senate, including the 
Committee on Rules, 

On motion of Senator Takubo, at 12:34 p.m., the Senate recessed until 4 p.m. today. 

The Senate reconvened at 5:16 p.m. and proceeded to the ninth order of business. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4190, Relating to the establishment of an alert system for 
missing cognitively impaired persons. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on the Judiciary, was reported by 
the Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following 

3A. AMBER ALERT PLAN. 

§15-3A-7. Providing for the use of video image recording devices for search purposes 
during an Amber Alert or , Silver Alert, or Purple Alert Activation. 

(a) The State Police and the Division of Highways shall coordinate a process to utilize all 
available video recording and monitoring devices for the purpose of monitoring Amber Alert or, 
Silver, or Purple Alert suspect vehicles. This program shall be called the "Guardian Angel Video 
Monitoring" Program. 

(b) The Secretary of Military Affairs and Public Safety the Department of Homeland Security 
shall also develop a plan to provide for the State Police to monitor and utilize use video recording 
and monitoring devices during an Amber Alert or, Silver Alert, or Purple Alert. This "Guardian 
Angel Video Monitoring" implementation plan shall include at a minimum, the following: 

(1) UtilizationUse of any state or local video recording and monitoring devices upon agreement 
with the department, agency, or political subdivision in control of the video recording device; and, 

(2) Development of policies and initiatives relating to facilitating sharing of information with 
neighboring states wherein in which suspect vehicles in Amber Alerts or, Silver Alerts, or Purple 
Alerts may be crossing state lines. 

(c) The secretary shall submit the plan to the Joint Committee on Government and Finance 
no later than December 1, 2008 develop a plan for implementation no later than July 1, 2025. The 
plan shall include an analysis of all related costs for equipping and using a statewide video 
recording and monitoring system during the duration of an Amber Alert, Silver Alert, or Purple 
Alert, and recommendations for any additional legislation or actions necessary to further facilitate 
the implementation of the "Guardian Angel Video Monitoring" program. 

ARTICLE 3B. SILVER ALERT PLAN. 

§15-3B-2. Findings and declarations relative to "Silver Alert Plan". 
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(a) The Legislature finds that: 

(1) Public alerts can be one of the most effective tools in locating missing cognitively impaired 
persons or senior citizens; 

(2) Law-enforcement officers and other professionals specializing in the field of missing 
persons agree that the most critical moments in the search for a missing person are the first few 
hours immediately following the discovery that the individual is missing, asserting that if he or she 
is not found within twenty-four 24 hours, it is unlikely that he or she will be found alive or without 
serious injury. The rapid dissemination of information, including a description of the missing 
cognitively impaired person or senior citizen, details of how he or she became missing, and of 
any vehicle involved, to the citizens of the affected community and region is, therefore, critical; 

(3) Alerted to the situation, the citizenry become an extensive network of eyes and ears 
serving to assist law enforcement in quickly locating and safely recovering a missing cognitively 
impaired person or senior citizen; 

(4) The most effective method of immediately notifying the public of a missing cognitively 
impaired person or senior citizen is through the broadcast media; and 

(5) All forms of developing technologies are required to assist law enforcement in rapidly 
responding to these alerts and are an additional tool for assuring the well-being and safety of our 
cognitively impaired senior citizenry. Thus, the use of traffic video recording and monitoring 
devices for the purpose of surveillance of a suspect vehicle adds yet another set of eyes to assist 
law enforcement and aid in the safe recovery of the cognitively impaired person or senior citizen. 

(b) The Legislature declares that given the successes other states and regions have 
experienced in using broadcast media alerts to quickly locate and safely recover missing persons, 
and, with the recent development of highway video recording and monitoring systems, it is 
altogether fitting and proper, and within the public interest, to establish these programs for West 
Virginia. 

§15-3B-3. Establishment of "Silver Alert" program. 

(a) The Secretary of the Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety Homeland Security 
shall establish a "Silver Alert" program authorizing the broadcast media, upon notice from the 
State Police, to broadcast an alert to inform the public of a missing cognitively impaired person or 
a missing senior citizen, subject to the criteria established in section four of this article. The 
program shall be a voluntary, cooperative effort between state law-enforcement and the broadcast 
media. 

(b) As used in this article:  

(1) "Cognitively impaired" means a person having a deficiency in his or her short-term or long-
term memory, orientation as to person, place, and time, deductive or abstract reasoning, or 
judgment as it relates to safety: Provided, That the cognitive impairment is not caused by the use 
of alcohol or drugs not legally prescribed by a physician; and 

(2) "Senior citizen" means a person over sixty-five 65 years of age. 
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(c) The secretary shall notify the broadcast media serving the State of West Virginia of the 
establishment of "Silver Alert" program and invite their voluntary participation. 

(d) The secretary shall submit a plan to the Joint Committee on Government and Finance no 
later than December 1, 2009. The plan shall include "Silver Alert" activation protocols, evaluation 
of first responder training requirements and needs as related to cognitively impaired persons and 
senior citizens, coordination and utilization of established programs and analysis of any costs. 
The secretary shall also make recommendations for any additional legislation or actions 
necessary to further facilitate the implementation of the "Silver Alert" program. 

§15-3B-4. Activation of Silver Alert. 

The following criteria shall be met before the State Police activate the Silver Alert: 

(1) The person is believed to be cognitively impaired or is a senior citizen; 

(2) The person is believed to be missing, regardless of circumstance; 

(3) A person who has knowledge that the person is missing has submitted a missing person's 
report to the State Police or other appropriate law-enforcement agency; 

(4) The missing person may be in danger of death or serious bodily injury; 

(5) The missing person is domiciled or believed to be located in the State of West Virginia; 

(6) The missing person is, or is believed to be, at a location that cannot be determined by an 
individual familiar with the missing person, and the missing person is incapable of returning to the 
missing person's residence without assistance; and 

(7) There is sufficient information available to indicate that a Silver Alert would assist in locating 
the missing person. 

§15-3B-6. Aid to missing cognitively impaired adult or senior citizen; immunity from civil 
or criminal liability. 

NoA person or entity who in good faith follows and abides by the provisions of this article is 
not liable for any civil or criminal penalty as the result of any act or omission in the furtherance 
thereof unless it is alleged and proven that the information disclosed was false and disclosed with 
the knowledge that the information was false. 

ARTICLE 3F. PURPLE ALERT PLAN. 

§15-3F-1. Short Title. 

This article shall be known and may be cited as the "Purple Alert Plan". 

§15-3F-2. Findings and declarations relative to "Purple Alert Plan". 

(a) The Legislature finds that: 

(1) Public alerts can be one of the most effective tools in locating a missing person who has 
a cognitive impairment; 
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(2) Law-enforcement officers and other professionals, specializing in the field of missing 
persons, agree that the most critical moments in the search for a missing person are the first few 
hours immediately following the discovery that the individual is missing, asserting that if he or she 
is not found within 24 hours, it is unlikely that he or she will be found alive or without serious injury. 
The rapid dissemination of information, including a description of the missing cognitively impaired 
person, details of how he or she became missing, and of any vehicle involved, to the citizens of 
the affected community and region is, therefore, critical; 

(3) Alerted to the situation, the citizenry become an extensive network of eyes and ears 
serving to assist law enforcement in quickly locating and safely recovering a missing person who 
has a cognitive impairment; 

(4) The most effective method of immediately notifying the public of a missing person who has 
a cognitive impairment is through the broadcast media: and  

(5) All forms of developing technologies are required to assist law enforcement in rapidly 
responding to these alerts and are an additional tool for assuring the well-being and safety of our 
cognitively impaired citizenry. Thus, the use of traffic video recording and monitoring devices for 
the purpose of surveillance of a suspect vehicle adds yet another set of eyes to assist law 
enforcement and aid in the safe recovery of the cognitively impaired person. 

(b) The Legislature declares that given the successes other states and regions have 
experienced in using broadcast media alerts to quickly locate and safely recover missing persons, 
and, with the recent development of highway video recording and monitoring systems, it is 
altogether fitting and proper, and within the public interest, to establish these programs for West 
Virginia. 

§15-3F-3. Definition of Cognitive Impairment 

For the purposes of this article, "cognitive impairment" means a substantial disorder of thought, 
mood, perception, orientation, or memory that grossly impairs judgement, behavior, or the ability 
to live independently or provide self-care, and includes but is not limited to: 

(1) Alzheimer's disease or other related dementias; 

(2) An intellectual or developmental disability; 

(3) A brain injury; or 

(4) Another mental disability not related to substance abuse. 

§15-3F-4. Establishment of "Purple Alert" program. 

(a) The Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security shall establish a "Purple Alert" 
program authorizing the broadcast media, upon notice from the State Police, to broadcast an alert 
to inform the public of a missing person who has a cognitive impairment; 

(b) The Secretary shall notify the broadcast media serving the State of West Virginia of the 
establishment of the "Purple Alert" program and invite their voluntary participation. 
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(c) The Secretary shall develop a plan for implementation no later than July 1, 2025. The plan 
shall include "Purple Alert" activation protocols, evaluation of first responder training requirements 
and needs as related to a cognitively impaired person, coordination and use of established 
programs, and analysis of any costs. The Secretary shall also make recommendations for any 
additional legislation or actions necessary to further facilitate the implementation of the "Purple 
Alert" program. 

§15-3F-5. Activation of Purple Alert. 

The following criteria shall be met before the State Police activate the Purple Alert: 

(1) The person is believed to have a cognitive impairment; 

(2) The person is believed to be missing, regardless of circumstance; 

(3) An individual who has knowledge that the person is missing has submitted a missing 
person's report to the State Police or other appropriate law-enforcement agency; 

(4) The missing person may be in danger of death or serious bodily injury; 

(5) The missing person is domiciled or believed to be located in the State of West Virginia; 

(6) The missing person is, or is believed to be, at a location that cannot be determined by an 
individual familiar with the missing person, and the missing person is incapable of returning to his 
or her residence without assistance;  

(7) There is sufficient information available to indicate that a Purple Alert would assist in 
locating the missing person; and  

(8) The missing cognitively impaired person does not qualify for a Silver Alert or a Missing 
Endangered Child Alert. 

§15-3F-6. Notice to participating media; broadcast of alert. 

(a) To participate, the media may agree, upon notice from the State Police via email or 
facsimile, to transmit information to the public about a missing cognitively impaired person that 
has occurred within their broadcast service region. 

(b) The alerts shall include a description of the missing person, any known details of the 
circumstances surrounding the person becoming missing, and any other information as the State 
Police may consider pertinent and appropriate. The State Police shall in a timely manner update 
the broadcast media with new information when appropriate concerning the missing cognitively 
impaired person. 

(c) The alerts also shall provide information concerning how those members of the public who 
have information relating to the missing cognitively impaired person may contact the State Police 
or other appropriate law-enforcement agency. 

(d) Concurrent with the notice provided to the broadcast media, the State Police shall also 
notify the Department of Transportation, the Division of Highways, and the West Virginia Turnpike 
Commission of the "Purple Alert" so that the department and the affected authorities may, if 
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possible, through the use of their variable message signs, inform the motoring public that a 
"Purple Alert" is in progress. The department and the affected authorities may provide information 
relating to the missing cognitively impaired person and information on how motorists may report 
any information they have to the State Police or other appropriate law-enforcement agency. 

(e) The alerts shall terminate upon notice from the State Police. 

(f) The Secretary shall develop and undertake a campaign to inform law-enforcement 
agencies about the "Purple Alert" program established under this article. 

§15-3F-7. Immunity from civil or criminal liability. 

A person or entity who in good faith follows and abides by the provisions of this article is not 
liable for any civil or criminal penalty as the result of any act or omission in the furtherance thereof, 
unless it is alleged and proven that the information disclosed was false and disclosed with the 
knowledge that the information was false 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4190), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. House Bill 4292, Providing for enhanced damages for non-payment of royalties due 
from oil, natural gas, or natural gas liquids production. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was reported by the Clerk. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill was laid over 
one day, retaining its place on the calendar. 

Eng. House Bill 4305, Relating to granting in-state resident status to economic development 
participants. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on Finance, was reported by the 
Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

ARTICLE 10. FEES AND OTHER MONEY COLLECTED AT STATE INSTITUTIONS OF 
HIGHER EDUCATION. 

§18B-10-1d. Resident tuition rates for economic development participants.  

(a) The term "resident" or "residency", or any other term or expression used to designate a 
West Virginia resident student, when used to determine the rate of tuition to be charged students 
attending state institutions of higher education, may be construed to include economic 
development participants.  

(b) To meet the definition of "economic development participant" under this section, the 
following criteria must be met: 

(1) The person or the person's parent or legal guardian received economic development 
incentives to locate to West Virginia, offered pursuant to §5B-2-3b of this code; and  
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(2) The person files with that institution of higher education a letter of intent to establish 0 
residency in this state. 

(c) An economic development participant who qualifies as a resident on the first day of the 
semester or term of the institution of higher education may be charged resident tuition rates. 

The bill (Eng. H. B. 4305), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4552, To ensure party affiliation is consistent with candidate's 
voter registration. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on the Judiciary, was reported by 
the Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

ARTICLE 5. PRIMARY ELECTIONS AND NOMINATING PROCEDURES. 

§3-5-7. Filing certificates of announcements of candidacies; requirements; withdrawal of 
candidates when section applicable. 

(a) Any person who is eligible and seeks to hold an office or political party position to be filled 
by election in any primary or general election held under the provisions of this chapter shall file a 
certificate of announcement declaring his or her candidacy for the nomination or election to the 
office. 

(b) The certificate of announcement shall be filed as follows: 

(1) Candidates for the House of Delegates, the State Senate, circuit judge, family court judge, 
and any other office or political position to be filled by the voters of more than one county shall file 
a certificate of announcement with the Secretary of State. 

(2) Candidates for an office or political position to be filled by the voters of a single county or 
a subdivision of a county, except for candidates for the House of Delegates, State Senate, circuit 
judge or family court judge, shall file a certificate of announcement with the clerk of the county 
commission. 

(3) Candidates for an office to be filled by the voters of a municipality shall file a certificate of 
announcement with the recorder or city clerk. 

(c) The certificate of announcement shall be filed with the proper officer not earlier than the 
second Monday in January before the primary election day and not later than the last Saturday in 
January before the primary election day and must be received before midnight, eastern standard 
time, of that day or, if mailed, shall be postmarked by the United States Postal Service before that 
hour. This includes the offices of Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals, Judge of the 
Intermediate Court of Appeals, circuit court judge, family court judge and magistrate, which are to 
be filled on a nonpartisan and division basis at the primary election: Provided, That on the final 
day of a political filing period, the office of the Secretary of State shall be open from 9:00 a.m. 
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until 11:59 p.m. The offices of the County Clerk in all counties of the state shall be open on that 
final day of a political filing period from 9:00 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. 

(d) The certificate of announcement shall be on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State 
on which the candidate shall make a sworn statement before a notary public or other officer 
authorized to administer oaths, containing the following information: 

(1) The date of the election in which the candidate seeks to appear on the ballot; 

(2) The name of the office sought; the district, if any; and the division, if any; 

(3) The legal name of the candidate and the exact name the candidate desires to appear on 
the ballot, subject to limitations prescribed in §3-5-13 of this code; 

(4) The county of residence and a statement that the candidate is a legally qualified voter of 
that county; and the magisterial district of residence for candidates elected from magisterial 
districts or under magisterial district limitations; 

(5) The specific address designating the location at which the candidate resides at the time of 
filing, including number and street or rural route and box number and city, state, and zip code; 

(6) For partisan elections, the name of the candidate's political party on the date the certificate 
of announcement is submitted and a statement that the candidate: (A) Is a member of and 
affiliated with that political party as evidenced by the candidate's current registration as a voter 
affiliated with that party; and (B) has not been registered as a voter affiliated with any other political 
party for a period of 60 days before the date of filing the announcement; 

(7) For candidates for delegate to national convention, the name of the presidential candidate 
to be listed on the ballot as the preference of the candidate on the first convention ballot; or a 
statement that the candidate prefers to remain "uncommitted"; 

(8) A statement that the person filing the certificate of announcement is a candidate for the 
office in good faith; 

(9) The words "subscribed and sworn to before me this ______ day of _____________, 
20____" and a space for the signature of the officer giving the oath. 

(e) The Secretary of State or the board of ballot commissioners, as the case may be, may 
refuse to certify the candidacy or may remove the certification of the candidacy upon receipt of a 
certified copy of the voter's registration record of the candidate showing that the candidate was 
registered as a voter in a party other than the one named in the certificate of announcement during 
the 60 days immediately preceding the filing of the certificate: Provided, That unless a signed 
formal complaint of violation of this section and the certified copy of the voter's registration record 
of the candidate are filed with the officer receiving that candidate's certificate of announcement 
no later than 10 days following the close of the filing period, the candidate may not be refused 
certification for this reason: Provided, however, That prior to accepting a Certificate of 
Announcement for filing for an office which is elected in a partisan election, the Secretary of 
State's Office, clerk of the county commission, recorder or city clerk shall electronically verify a 
candidate's current party affiliation as subscribed and sworn to by the candidate. If a candidate's 
current party affiliation is not as stated on the Certificate of Announcement, the filing shall be 
refused. 
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(f) The certificate of announcement shall be subscribed and sworn to by the candidate before 
some officer qualified to administer oaths, who shall certify the same. Any person who knowingly 
provides false information on the certificate is guilty of false swearing and shall be punished in 
accordance with §3-9-3 of this code. 

(g) Any candidate for delegate to a national convention may change his or her statement of 
presidential preference by notifying the Secretary of State by letter received by the Secretary of 
State no later than the third Tuesday following the close of candidate filing. When the rules of the 
political party allow each presidential candidate to approve or reject candidates for delegate to 
convention who may appear on the ballot as committed to that presidential candidate, the 
presidential candidate or the candidate's committee on his or her behalf may file a list of approved 
or rejected candidates for delegate and the Secretary of State shall list as "uncommitted" any 
candidate for delegate who is disapproved by the presidential candidate. 

(h) A person may not be a candidate for more than one office or office division at any election: 
Provided, That a candidate for an office may also be a candidate for President of the United 
States, for membership on political party executive committees or for delegate to a political party 
national convention: Provided, however, That an unsuccessful candidate for a nonpartisan office 
in an election held concurrently with the primary election may be appointed under the provisions 
of section nineteen of this article to fill a vacancy on the general ballot. 

(i) A candidate who files a certificate of announcement for more than one office or division and 
does not withdraw, as provided by §3-5-11 of this code, from all but one office prior to the close 
of the filing period may not be certified by the Secretary of State or placed on the ballot for any 
office by the board of ballot commissioners. 

(j) The amendments to this section enacted by the Legislature in the 2024 Regular Session 
are effective January 1, 2025. 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4552), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. House Bill 4721, Require Surveyors to offer to record surveys of property. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on Government Organization, was 
reported by the Clerk: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

ARTICLE 13A. LAND SURVEYORS. 

§30-13A-10. Scope of Practice. 

(a) A licensee may measure a parcel of land and ascertain its boundaries, corners and 
contents or make any other authoritative measurements and, in the case of measuring a parcel 
of land, the licensee shall offer to record the map or plat of the measurements of the survey, for 
a reasonable fee, for the landowner, in the office of the clerk of the county commission of the 
county in which the land is located. The practice of surveying can be any of the following, but not 
limited to: 
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(1) The performance of a boundary, cadastral, construction, geodetic control, hydrographic, 
land, mortgage/loan inspection, oil or gas well, partition, photogrammetry, retracement, 
subdivision or surface mine survey; or 

(2) The location, relocation, establishment, reestablishment, laying out or retracement of any 
property line or boundary of any parcel of land or of any road or utility right-of-way, easement, 
strip or alignment or elevation of any fixed works by a licensed surveyor. 

(b) Activities that must be performed under the responsible charge of a professional surveyor, 
unless specifically exempted in subsection (c) of this section, include, but are not limited to, the 
following: 

(1) The creation of maps and georeferenced databases representing authoritative locations 
for boundaries, the location of fixed works, or topography; 

(2) Maps and georeferenced databases prepared by any person, firm, or government agency 
where that data is provided to the public as a survey product; 

(3) Original data acquisition, or the resolution of conflicts between multiple data sources, when 
used for the authoritative location of features within the following data themes: Geodetic control, 
orthoimagery, elevation and hydrographic, fixed works, private and public boundaries, and 
cadastral information; 

(4) Certification of positional accuracy of maps or measured survey data; 

(5) Adjustment or authoritative interpretation of raw survey data; 

(6) Geographic Information System (GIS) - based parcel or cadastral mapping used for 
authoritative boundary definition purposes wherein land title or development rights for individual 
parcels are, or may be, affected; 

(7) Authoritative interpretation of maps, deeds, or other land title documents to resolve 
conflicting data elements; 

(8) Acquisition of field data required to authoritatively position fixed works or cadastral data 
relative to geodetic control; and 

(9) Analysis, adjustment or transformation of cadastral data of the parcel layer(s) with respect 
to the geodetic control layer within a GIS resulting in the affirmation of positional accuracy. 

(c) The following items are not included as activities within the practice of surveying: 

(1) The creation of general maps: 

(A) Prepared by private firms or government agencies for use as guides to motorists, boaters, 
aviators, or pedestrians; 

(B) Prepared for publication in a gazetteer or atlas as an educational tool or reference 
publication; 

(C) Prepared for or by education institutions for use in the curriculum of any course of study; 
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(D) Produced by any electronic or print media firm as an illustrative guide to the geographic 
location of any event; or 

(E) Prepared by laypersons for conversational or illustrative purposes. This includes 
advertising material and users guides. 

(2) The transcription of previously georeferenced data into a GIS or LIS by manual or 
electronic means, and the maintenance thereof, provided the data are clearly not intended to 
indicate the authoritative location of property boundaries, the precise definition of the shape or 
contour of the earth, and/or the precise location of fixed works of humans. 

(3) The transcription of public record data, without modification except for graphical purposes, 
into a GIS- or LIS-based cadastre (tax maps and associated records) by manual or electronic 
means, and the maintenance of that cadastre, provided the data are clearly not intended to 
authoritatively represent property boundaries. This includes tax maps and zoning maps. 

(4) The preparation of any document by any federal government agency that does not define 
real property boundaries. This includes civilian and military versions of quadrangle topographic 
maps, military maps, satellite imagery, and other such documents. 

(5) The incorporation or use of documents or databases prepared by any federal agency into 
a GIS/LIS, including but not limited to federal census and demographic data, quadrangle 
topographic maps, and military maps. 

(6) Inventory maps and databases created by any organization, in either hard-copy or 
electronic form, of physical features, facilities, or infrastructure that are wholly contained within 
properties to which they have rights or for which they have management responsibility. The 
distribution of these maps and/or databases outside the organization must contain appropriate 
metadata describing, at a minimum, the accuracy, method of compilation, data source(s) and 
date(s), and disclaimers of use clearly indicating that the data are not intended to be used as a 
survey product. 

(7) Maps and databases depicting the distribution of natural resources or phenomena 
prepared by foresters, geologists, soil scientists, geophysicists, biologists, archeologists, 
historians, or other persons qualified to document such data. 

(8) Maps and georeferenced databases depicting physical features and events prepared by 
any government agency where the access to that data is restricted by statute. This includes 
georeferenced data generated by law enforcement agencies involving crime statistics and 
criminal activities. 

On motion of Senator Woodrum, the following amendment to the Government Organization 
committee amendment to the bill (Eng. H. B. 4721) was reported by the Clerk and adopted: 

On page 1, section 10, line 4, by striking out the words "land owner" and inserting in lieu 
thereof the word "client". 

The question now being on the adoption of the Government Organization committee 
amendment to the bill, as amended, the same was put and prevailed. 

The bill (Eng. H. B. 4721), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4812, Capping amount of moneys to third party vendors who 
collect business and occupation taxes on behalf of cities. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 

Eng. House Bill 4822, Creating the Certified Sites and Development Readiness Program. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4829, Relating to employment of service personnel and 
removing the requirement for a high school diploma or general education development certificate. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendments to the bill, from the Committee on Education, were reported by the 
Clerk, considered simultaneously, and adopted: 

On page 1, section 5, line 10, by striking out the word "section" and inserting in lieu thereof 
the word "paragraph"; 

And, 

On page 1, section 5, line 11, by striking out the word "custodians". 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4829), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4851, To allow for public and private schools in West Virginia 
to employ security personnel. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on the Judiciary, was reported by 
the Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

ARTICLE 5. COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION. 

§18-5-51. Public school West Virginia Guardian Program.  

(a) Purpose. — County boards of education may contract with an independent contractor who 
is an honorably discharged veteran, former state trooper, former municipal police officer, former 
deputy sheriff, or former federal law-enforcement officer to provide West Virginia Guardian 
services as that term is defined in this section. The purpose of the contract is to provide public 
safety and/or security on public school grounds and buildings. Any county board of education may 
contract with as many independent contractors as the county school board considers necessary.  

(b) Definitions. — For purposes of this section, the following words have the following 
meanings:  
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"Contract" means an agreement between a county board of education and an independent 
contractor relating to the procurement of public safety or security services.  

"County school board" means the same as that term is used in §18-5-1 et seq. of this code.  

"Independent contractor" means the same as that term is used in §21-5I-4 of this code.  

"Public safety or security" means the protection of students, faculty, and staff of a public school 
from violence, bullying, theft, substance abuse, the sale or use of illegal substances, exposure to 
weapons, and threats on school grounds.  

"Former deputy sheriff" means the same as that term is used in §7-14C-1 of this code, but 
who has retired from service. 

"Former municipal police officer" means an individual previously employed as a member of a 
police department by a West Virginia municipality or municipal subdivision, and who has retired 
from service; 

"Former state trooper" means a state police officer employed pursuant to the provisions of 
§15-2-1 et seq. of this code, and who has retired pursuant to the provisions of §15-2-27 of this 
code.  

"Former federal law-enforcement officer" means a federal law-enforcement officer employed 
pursuant to the provisions of §15-10-5(b) of this code, who was classified as an 1811 Investigator, 
and who has retired from service.  

"Honorably discharged veteran" means an honorably discharged veteran of the armed forces 
of the United States, reserve, or National Guard. 

"West Virginia Guardian" means an independent contractor under contract to a county school 
board for the purposes of providing public safety and/or security on school grounds. Persons 
contracted to provide these services shall include an honorably discharged veteran, a former state 
trooper, a former municipal police officer, a former deputy sheriff, or a former federal law-
enforcement officer. A West Virginia Guardian is considered an authorized individual for purposes 
of the Gun-Free School Zones Act of 1990, 18 U.S.C. §921 and §922.  

(c) Authority. — Notwithstanding the provisions of §61-7-11a of this code or any applicable 
rule, an independent contractor acting as a West Virginia Guardian may carry a concealed 
weapon upon meeting all the requirements of this section. A West Virginia Guardian is not law 
enforcement and may not arrest. They are to provide public safety and security to protect life and 
property as set forth in this section, including, but not limited to, detention of individuals as may 
be necessary pending the arrival of law enforcement. 

(d) Requirements for participation. — Prior to entering into a contract with a West Virginia 
Guardian, the county school board shall require an applicant to provide proof that he or she:  

(1) Is a citizen of the United States and a resident of the state of West Virginia;  

(2) Has received a high school diploma or a General Educational Development diploma known 
as a GED;  
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(3) Has met and passed all the requirements for a concealed carry permit as set forth in §61-
7-4 of this code;  

(4) Has completed and passed all the following training courses and examinations:  

(A) The Law Enforcement Professional Standards program at the West Virginia State Police. 
The cost of this program shall be paid by the independent contractor;  

(B) A fitness for duty examination that shall include a physical examination, vision 
examination, a psychiatric examination, and a pre-employment drug screen. The cost of these 
each shall be paid by the independent contractor; and  

(C) A firearm and less than lethal use of force course. To maintain firearm proficiency, the 
independent contractor must complete yearly training in firearm and less than lethal use of force 
course.  

(5) Has either been honorably discharged from the United States armed services or is retired 
from his or her employment as a state trooper, municipal police officer, deputy sheriff, or federal 
law-enforcement officer; 

(6) Is current in any obligation, including taxes, to the state of West Virginia; and  

(7) Any other requirements imposed by the county school board which may include, but are 
not limited to, a pre-employment written examination and a pre-employment polygraph exam. A 
county school board may also require an independent contractor to carry appropriate liability 
insurance at his or her expense.  

(e) Exclusions from participation. — Any of the following shall preclude an independent 
contractor from participation as a West Virginia Guardian:  

(1) A dishonorable or less than honorable discharge from the United States armed services;  

(2) Having not retired from service as a state trooper, municipal police officer, or deputy sheriff;  

(3) Having not retired from service as a federal law-enforcement officer; 

(4) Credible evidence of illegal drug use by the independent contractor in the preceding five-
year period;  

(5) A disqualifying criminal offense, which shall include, but is not limited to:  

(A) Domestic violence as set forth in §61-2-28 of this code;  

(B) Driving under the influence as set forth in §17C-5-2 of this code;  

(C) Child abuse as set forth in §61-8D-1 et seq. of this code; or 

(D) Unlawful manufacture, delivery, or possession with intent to deliver any controlled 
substance as set forth in §60A-4-1 et seq. of this code; or 

(E) Any other misdemeanor or felony conviction deemed exclusionary for contracting with the 
independent contractor by the county school board.  
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(f) Liability. — A county school board may not be held civilly liable or be criminally prosecuted 
for any action of a West Virginia Guardian acting within the scope of the duties for which their 
services were contracted unless the county school board can be shown to be grossly negligent 
or committed willful misconduct. 

(g) Miscellaneous. —  

(1) In contracting for the services set forth in this section, county school boards are not subject 
to the purchasing requirements set forth in §5A-3-1 et seq. of this code.  

(2) Nothing in this section requires a county board of education to contract with a West Virginia 
Guardian. Participation by a county of board of education is voluntary and subject to the 
availability of county funds. Any county board of education that opts to participate shall do so at 
its own expense. The provisions of this section place no obligation for the state to appropriate 
money for the purposes set forth in this section. 

(3) As an independent contractor, a West Virginia Guardian is not eligible for participation in 
the public employee insurance plan, workers' compensation, additional state retirement credited 
to employment as a West Virginia Guardian, or any other state-sponsored or state-offered benefit 
plan.  

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4851), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4867, Require pornography websites to utilize age verification 
methods to prevent minors from accessing content. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on the Judiciary, was reported by 
the Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

CHAPTER 49A. CHILD ONLINE PROTECTION AND LIABILITY. 

ARTICLE 1. LIABILITY FOR PUBLISHERS AND DISTRIBUTORS OF SEXUAL MATERIAL 
HARMFUL TO MINORS. 

§49A-1-101. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter: 

"Application" means, as used in this section, a computer software program designed to run 
on a smartphone, computer tablet, mobile device, smart television, laptop, desktop, or other 
application enabled devices. 

"Commercial entity" includes a for-profit or non-profit corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, limited partnership, sole proprietorship, or other legally recognized entity. 

"Digital identification" means information stored on a digital network that may be accessed by 
a commercial entity and that serves as proof of the identity of an individual. It includes, but is not 
limited to, the West Virginia Mobile ID. 
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"Distribute" means to issue, sell, give, provide, deliver, transfer, transmute, circulate, or 
disseminate by any means. 

"Intentionally" means conduct that is willfully engaged and the consequences of such conduct 
results in a violation of this article. 

"Internet" means the international computer network of both federal and non-federal 
interoperable packet switched data networks. 

"Knowingly" means, with respect to conduct or to a circumstance described by a statute 
defining an offense, that a person is aware by documentation or action that the person's conduct 
is of that nature or that the circumstance exists. 

"Minor" means any person under 18 years old. 

"News-gathering organization" means any of the following: 

(1) an employee of a newspaper, news publication, or news source, printed or on an online or 
mobile platform, of current news and public interest, while operating as an employee as provided 
in this subsection, who can provide documentation of employment with the newspaper, news 
publication, or news source; or 

(2) an employee of a radio broadcast station, television broadcast station, cable television 
operator, or wire service while operating as an employee as provided in this subsection, who can 
provide documentation of employment. 

"Personally identifiable information" means any information about an individual maintained by 
an agency, including: 

(1) any information that can be used to distinguish or trace an individual's identity, such as 
name, social security number, date and place of birth, mother's maiden name, or biometric 
records; and  

(2) any other information that is linked or linkable to an individual, such as medical, 
educational, financial, and employment information. 

"Publish" means to communicate or make information available to another person or entity on 
a publicly available Internet website or application. 

"Sexual conduct" means actual or explicitly simulated acts of masturbation, sexual 
intercourse, or physical contact in an act of apparent sexual stimulation or gratification with a 
person's clothed or unclothed genitals, pubic area, buttocks, or breast.  

"Sexual excitement" means the condition of human male or female genitals when in a state of 
sexual stimulation or arousal.  

"Sexual material harmful to minors" means any description or representation of sexual 
conduct or sexual excitement when it:  

(1) appeals to the prurient, shameful, or morbid interest to minors;  
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(2) is patently offensive to prevailing standards in the adult community as a whole with respect 
to what is suitable material for minors; and 

(3) is, when taken, as a whole, lacking in serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific value 
for minors.  

"Substantial portion" means more than 33-1/3% of total material on a website or application 
which meets the definition of "sexual material harmful to minors" as defined in this section. 

"Transactional data" means a sequence of information that documents an exchange, 
agreement, or transfer between an individual, commercial entity, or third party used for the 
purpose of satisfying a request or event. Transactional data includes records from mortgage, 
education, and employment entities. 

§49A-1-102. Reasonable age verification methods. 

(a) Any commercial entity that knowingly and intentionally publishes or distributes sexual 
material harmful to minors on an Internet website that contains a substantial portion of such 
materials shall, in order to prove that an individual is 18 years of age or older, require an individual 
to: 

(1) provide digital identification; or 

(2) comply with a commercial or governmental age verification system that verifies age using: 

(A) government-issued identification which may be digital identification; or 

(B) a commercially reasonable method that relies on public or private transactional data to 
verify the age of an individual. 

(b) Any commercial entity or third party that performs the required age verification shall not 
retain any identifying information of the individual after access has been granted to the material: 
Provided, That nothing in this subsection shall be interpreted to require the deletion of data that 
was otherwise held or obtained by a commercial entity or third party which the commercial entity, 
or third party, held prior to the age verification or which is, or was, otherwise held by a commercial 
entity or third party and was not gained or compiled as a part of the age verification process. 

§49A-1-103. Applicability of Article. 

(a) This article may not be construed to affect the rights of a news-gathering organization or 
public interest broadcasts.  

(b) An Internet service provider, or its affiliates or subsidiaries, a search engine, or a cloud 
service provider shall not be held to have violated the provisions of this article solely for proving 
access or connection to or from a website or other information or content on the internet or on a 
facility, system, or network, including transmission, downloading, intermediate storage, access 
software, or other services to the extent the provider or search engine is not responsible for the 
creation of the content that constitutes sexual material harmful to minors. 
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§49A-1-104. Liability for failing to perform reasonable age verification for sexual material 
harmful to minors; damages; liability for retention of data; damages; creation of cause 
of action; and statute of limitations. 

(a) Any commercial entity that knowingly and intentionally publishes or distributes sexual 
material harmful to minors on the internet from a website, or through an application, that contains 
a substantial portion of sexual material harmful to minors shall be held liable if the entity fails to 
perform reasonable age verification methods to verify the age of an individual attempting to 
access the material. A commercial entity that is found to have violated this section shall be liable 
for damages resulting from a minor child's access to such material, and the individual who brings 
an action on behalf of the minor shall be entitled to: 

(1) Actual damages for financial, physical, and emotional harm incurred by the person bringing 
the action, if the court determines that the harm is a direct consequence of the violation or 
violations; and 

(2) An award of reasonable attorney fees and court costs. 

(b) An award of damages pursuant to this section may not be imposed for violations occurring 
more than five years before the action is brought and no award of damages may be imposed for 
any violation that occurred prior to the enactment of this section during the 2024 Regular Session 
of the West Virginia Legislature. 

§49A-1-105. Injunction by action of attorney general; civil penalties; basis of civil penalties; 
and statute of limitations. 

(a) If the attorney general believes that a commercial entity is knowingly and intentionally 
violating or has knowingly violated this article, and the action is in the public interest, the attorney 
general may bring an action in the circuit court located where a minor child, or individual, has 
accessed the sexual material harmful to minors, or in the circuit court located where an individual 
resides who has had any identifiable information improperly retained, used, shared, or sold, 
against a commercial entity or third party to enjoin the violation, recover a civil penalty for violating 
this article. If a court of competent jurisdiction finds that the commercial entity has engaged in a 
violation of this article, it may assess a civil penalty for each violation of this article in addition to 
any other damages that may have been incurred, as follows: 

(1) $10,000 per day that the commercial entity operates an Internet website in violation of the 
age verification requirements of this article; and 

(2) $10,000 per instance when the commercial entity retains identifying information in violation 
of subsection (b) of this section. 

(b) The Legislature hereby creates a statute of limitations for the filing of any civil action under 
this section and an action shall be filed within five years after the discovery of the violation of the 
provisions of this section, or in the exercise of reasonable diligence should have known of the 
violation of the provisions of this section. A civil penalty pursuant to this section may not be 
imposed for violations occurring prior to the enactment of this section during the 2024 Regular 
Session of the West Virginia Legislature. The attorney general may recover reasonable and 
necessary attorney's fees and costs incurred in a civil action under this article. 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4867), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4880, Relating to personal income tax social security 
exemption. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on Finance, was reported by the 
Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

ARTICLE 21. PERSONAL INCOME TAX. 

§11-21-12. West Virginia adjusted gross income of resident individual. 

(a) General. — The West Virginia adjusted gross income of a resident individual means his or 
her federal adjusted gross income as defined in the laws of the United States for the taxable year 
with the modifications specified in this section. 

(b) Modifications increasing federal adjusted gross income. — There shall be added to federal 
adjusted gross income, unless already included therein, the following items: 

(1) Interest income on obligations of any state other than this state or of a political subdivision 
of any other state unless created by compact or agreement to which this state is a party; 

(2) Interest or dividend income on obligations or securities of any authority, commission or 
instrumentality of the United States, which the laws of the United States exempt from federal 
income tax but not from state income taxes; 

(3) Any deduction allowed when determining federal adjusted gross income for federal income 
tax purposes for the taxable year that is not allowed as a deduction under this article for the 
taxable year; 

(4) Interest on indebtedness incurred or continued to purchase or carry obligations or 
securities the income from which is exempt from tax under this article, to the extent deductible in 
determining federal adjusted gross income; 

(5) Interest on a depository institution tax-exempt savings certificate which is allowed as an 
exclusion from federal gross income under Section 128 of the Internal Revenue Code, for the 
federal taxable year; 

(6) The amount of a lump sum distribution for which the taxpayer has elected under Section 
402(e) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, to be separately taxed for federal 
income tax purposes; and 

(7) Amounts withdrawn from a medical savings account established by or for an individual 
under §33-15-20 or §33-16-15 of this code that are used for a purpose other than payment of 
medical expenses, as defined in those sections. 

(c) Modifications reducing federal adjusted gross income. — There shall be subtracted from 
federal adjusted gross income to the extent included therein: 
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(1) Interest income on obligations of the United States and its possessions to the extent 
includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes; 

(2) Interest or dividend income on obligations or securities of any authority, commission or 
instrumentality of the United States or of the State of West Virginia to the extent includable in 
gross income for federal income tax purposes but exempt from state income taxes under the laws 
of the United States or of the State of West Virginia, including federal interest or dividends paid 
to shareholders of a regulated investment company, under Section 852 of the Internal Revenue 
Code for taxable years ending after June 30, 1987; 

(3) Any amount included in federal adjusted gross income for federal income tax purposes for 
the taxable year that is not included in federal adjusted gross income under this article for the 
taxable year; 

(4) The amount of any refund or credit for overpayment of income taxes imposed by this state, 
or any other taxing jurisdiction, to the extent properly included in gross income for federal income 
tax purposes; 

(5) Annuities, retirement allowances, returns of contributions and any other benefit received 
under the West Virginia Public Employees Retirement System, and the West Virginia State 
Teachers Retirement System, including any survivorship annuities derived therefrom, to the 
extent includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes: Provided, That notwithstanding 
any provisions in this code to the contrary this modification shall be limited to the first $2,000 of 
benefits received under the West Virginia Public Employees Retirement System, the West Virginia 
State Teachers Retirement System and, including any survivorship annuities derived therefrom, 
to the extent includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes for taxable years 
beginning after December 31, 1986; and the first $2,000 of benefits received under any federal 
retirement system to which Title 4 U.S.C. §111 applies: Provided, however, That the total 
modification under this paragraph shall not exceed $2,000 per person receiving retirement 
benefits and this limitation shall apply to all returns or amended returns filed after December 31, 
1988; 

(6) Retirement income received in the form of pensions and annuities after December 31, 
1979, under any West Virginia police, West Virginia Firemen's Retirement System or the West 
Virginia State Police Death, Disability and Retirement Fund, the West Virginia State Police 
Retirement System or the West Virginia Deputy Sheriff Retirement System, including any 
survivorship annuities derived from any of these programs, to the extent includable in gross 
income for federal income tax purposes; 

(7) (A) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2000, and ending prior to January 1, 
2003, an amount equal to two percent multiplied by the number of years of active duty in the 
Armed Forces of the United States of America with the product thereof multiplied by the first 
$30,000 of military retirement income, including retirement income from the regular Armed 
Forces, Reserves and National Guard paid by the United States or by this state after December 
31, 2000, including any survivorship annuities, to the extent included in gross income for federal 
income tax purposes for the taxable year. 

(B) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2000, the first $20,000 of military 
retirement income, including retirement income from the regular Armed Forces, Reserves and 
National Guard paid by the United States or by this state after December 31, 2002, including any 
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survivorship annuities, to the extent included in gross income for federal income tax purposes for 
the taxable year. 

(C) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017, military retirement income, 
including retirement income from the regular Armed Forces, Reserves and National Guard paid 
by the United States or by this state after December 31, 2017, including any survivorship 
annuities, to the extent included in federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year. For taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2018, retirement income from the uniformed services, 
including the Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard, Public Health Service, National 
Oceanic Atmospheric Administration, reserves, and National Guard, paid by the United States or 
by this state after December 31, 2018, including any survivorship annuities, to the extent included 
in federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year. 

(D) In the event that any of the provisions of this subdivision are found by a court of competent 
jurisdiction to violate either the Constitution of this state or of the United States, or is held to be 
extended to persons other than specified in this subdivision, this subdivision shall become null 
and void by operation of law. 

(8) Decreasing modification for social security income. 

(A) For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2020, 35 percent of the amount of 
social security benefits received pursuant to Title 42 U.S.C., Chapter 7, including, but not limited 
to, social security benefits paid by the Social Security Administration as Old Age, Survivors and 
Disability Insurance Benefits as provided in §42 U.S.C. 401 et. seq. or as Supplemental Security 
Income for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled as provided in §42 U.S.C. 1381 et. seq., included in 
federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year shall be allowed as a decreasing modification 
from federal adjusted gross income when determining West Virginia taxable income subject to 
the tax imposed by this article, subject to the limitation in §11-21-12(c)(8)(D) of this code. 

(B) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, 65 percent of the social security 
benefits received pursuant to Title 42 U.S.C., Chapter 7, including, but not limited to, social 
security benefits paid by the Social Security Administration as Old Age, Survivors and Disability 
Insurance Benefits as provided in §42 U.S.C. 401 et. seq. or as Supplemental Security Income 
for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled as provided in §42 U.S.C. 1381 et. seq., included in federal 
adjusted gross income for the taxable year shall be allowed as a decreasing modification from 
federal adjusted gross income when determining West Virginia taxable income subject to the tax 
imposed by this article, subject to the limitation in §11-21-12(c)(8)(D) of this code. 

(C) (A) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, 100 percent of the social 
security benefits received pursuant to Title 42 U.S.C., Chapter 7, including, but not limited to, 
social security benefits paid by the Social Security Administration as Old Age, Survivors and 
Disability Insurance Benefits as provided in §42 U.S.C. 401 et. seq. or as Supplemental Security 
Income for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled as provided in §42 U.S.C. 1381 et. seq., included in 
federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year shall be allowed as a decreasing modification 
from federal adjusted gross income when determining West Virginia taxable income subject to 
the tax imposed by this article, subject to the limitation in §11-21-12(c)(8)(D) §11-21-12(c)(8)(B) 
of this code. 

(D) (B) The deduction allowed by §11-21-12(c)(8)(A), §11-21-12(c)(8)(B), and §11-21-
12(c)(8)(C) §11-21-12(c)(8)(A) of this code are allowable only when the federal adjusted gross 



104 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

income of a married couple filing a joint return does not exceed $100,000, or $50,000 in the case 
of a single individual or a married individual filing a separate return.  

(C) For taxable years on and after January 1, 2025, and at the beginning of every tax year 
thereafter until the decreasing modification on personal income tax payable on social security 
benefits reaches 100 percent, social security benefits received pursuant to Title 42 U.S.C., 
Chapter 7, including, but not limited to social security benefits paid by the Social Security 
Administration as Old Age, Survivors and Disability Insurance Benefits as provided in §42 U.S.C. 
401 et. seq. or as Supplemental Security Income for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled as provided 
in §42 U.S.C. 1381 et. seq., included in federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year may 
be allowed as a decreasing modification from federal adjusted gross income when determining 
West Virginia taxable income subject to the tax imposed by this article and the limitations as set 
forth in this paragraph, as follows: 

(i) Any decreasing modifications or personal income tax payable on social security benefits 
allowed by this paragraph are allowable only when the federal adjusted gross income of a married 
couple filing a joint return exceeds $100,000, or $50,000 in the case of a single individual or a 
married individual filing a separate return. 

(ii) In tax years when the Secretary of Revenue has determined pursuant to the provisions of 
§11-21-4h of this code that a reduction in the rate of personal income tax is at the maximum 
allowable rate of 10 percent, no decreasing modification for personal income tax payable on social 
security benefits as set forth in this paragraph shall be allowed for that taxable year.  

(iii) In tax years when the Secretary of Revenue has determined pursuant to the provisions of 
§11-21-4h of this code that a reduction in the rate of personal income is allowable in a percentage 
amount less than the maximum allowable 10 percent, on January 1 of that taxable year the 
decreasing modification for personal income tax payable on social security benefits as set forth 
in this paragraph shall be set at whichever of the following provides the greatest benefit to the 
taxpayer: 

(I) Thirty-five percent of the personal income tax payable on social security benefits received; 
or  

(II) A percentage amount rounded to the nearest whole percentage equal to the difference 
between what the rate reduction allowable pursuant to §11-21-4h for personal income tax would 
be and the maximum allowable 10 percent: Provided, That the nearest whole percentage may 
not exceed 100 percent of the personal income tax payable on social security benefits received. 

(iv) In tax years when the Secretary of Revenue has determined pursuant to the provisions of 
§11-21-4h of this code that no reduction in the rate of personal income tax is permissible, on 
January 1 of that taxable year the decreasing modification for personal income tax payable on 
social security benefits paid as set forth in this paragraph shall be 100 percent of the personal 
income tax payable on social security benefits received.  

(v) Decreasing modifications to personal income tax payable on social security benefits as set 
forth in this paragraph shall be cumulative in nature. The decreasing modification for personal 
income tax payable on social security benefits allowed pursuant to the provisions of this 
paragraph shall continue until such time as the decreasing modification for personal income tax 
payable on social security benefit payments is 100 percent. Once the decreasing modification of 
personal income tax payable on social security benefits has reached 100 percent, the Tax 
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Commissioner shall notify the Joint Committee on Government and Finance and the decreasing 
modification for personal income tax payable on social security benefits shall remain at 100 
percent.  

(vi) When necessary, the Secretary of Revenue and the State Auditor will certify to the Tax 
Commissioner that a percentage change in the decreasing modification on the personal income 
tax payable on social security benefits is required as soon as the new percentage is determined. 
The certification will provide the percentage of the decreasing modification of personal income 
tax payable on social security benefits, the remaining percentage of the decreasing modification 
of personal income tax payable on social security benefits, and the amount of the reduction in the 
personal income tax as set forth in §11-21-4h, if any.  

(vii) The Tax Commissioner shall prepare an annual report to the Joint Committee on 
Government and Finance due by September 30 of each year after the effective date of this 
paragraph, detailing any modifications to the decreasing modification of personal income tax 
payable on social security benefits.  

(viii) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, the Tax Commissioner may 
propose rules for legislative approval in accordance with the provisions of §29A-3-1 et seq. of this 
code to implement the provisions of this paragraph.  

(9) Federal adjusted gross income in the amount of $8,000 received from any source after 
December 31, 1986, by any person who has attained the age of 65 on or before the last day of 
the taxable year, or by any person certified by proper authority as permanently and totally 
disabled, regardless of age, on or before the last day of the taxable year, to the extent includable 
in federal adjusted gross income for federal tax purposes: Provided, That if a person has a medical 
certification from a prior year and he or she is still permanently and totally disabled, a copy of the 
original certificate is acceptable as proof of disability. A copy of the form filed for the federal 
disability income tax exclusion is acceptable: Provided, however, That: 

(i) Where the total modification under subdivisions (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of this 
subsection is $8,000 per person or more, no deduction shall be allowed under this subdivision; 
and 

(ii) Where the total modification under subdivisions (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of this 
subsection is less than $8,000 per person, the total modification allowed under this subdivision 
for all gross income received by that person shall be limited to the difference between $8,000 and 
the sum of modifications under subdivisions (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of this subsection; 

(10) Federal adjusted gross income in the amount of $8,000 received from any source after 
December 31, 1986, by the surviving spouse of any person who had attained the age of 65 or 
who had been certified as permanently and totally disabled, to the extent includable in federal 
adjusted gross income for federal tax purposes: Provided, That: 

(i) Where the total modification under subdivisions (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of this 
subsection is $8,000 or more, no deduction shall be allowed under this subdivision; and 

(ii) Where the total modification under subdivisions (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of this 
subsection is less than $8,000 per person, the total modification allowed under this subdivision 
for all gross income received by that person shall be limited to the difference between $8,000 and 
the sum of subdivisions (1), (2), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of this subsection; 



106 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

(11) Contributions from any source to a medical savings account established by or for the 
individual pursuant to §33-15-20 or §33-16-15 of this code, plus interest earned on the account, 
to the extent includable in federal adjusted gross income for federal tax purposes: Provided, That 
the amount subtracted pursuant to this subdivision for any one taxable year may not exceed 
$2,000 plus interest earned on the account. For married individuals filing a joint return, the 
maximum deduction is computed separately for each individual; and 

(12) Any other income which this state is prohibited from taxing under the laws of the United 
States including, but not limited to, tier I retirement benefits as defined in Section 86(d)(4) of the 
Internal Revenue Code. 

(d) Modification for West Virginia fiduciary adjustment. — There shall be added to or 
subtracted from federal adjusted gross income, as the case may be, the taxpayer's share, as 
beneficiary of an estate or trust, of the West Virginia fiduciary adjustment determined under §11-
21-19 of this code. 

(e) Partners and S corporation shareholders. — The amounts of modifications required to be 
made under this section by a partner or an S corporation shareholder, which relate to items of 
income, gain, loss or deduction of a partnership or an S corporation, shall be determined under 
§11-21-17 of this code. 

(f) Husband and wife. — If husband and wife determine their federal income tax on a joint 
return but determine their West Virginia income taxes separately, they shall determine their West 
Virginia adjusted gross incomes separately as if their federal adjusted gross incomes had been 
determined separately. 

(g) Effective date. – 

(1) Changes in the language of this section enacted in the year 2000 shall apply to taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2000. 

(2) Changes in the language of this section enacted in the year 2002 shall apply to taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2002. 

(3) Changes in the language of this section enacted in the year 2019 shall apply to taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2018. 

(4) Changes in the language of this section enacted in the year 2024 shall apply to taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 2024. 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4880), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4882, Extending in-state tuition rates to all members and 
veterans of the National Guard, reserves, and armed forces as well as their spouses and 
dependents. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4919, Relating to the Promise Scholarship. 



2024] JOURNAL OF THE SENATE 107 
 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 

Eng. House Bill 4945, Relating generally to the Hope Scholarship Program. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, and by unanimous consent, the bill was advanced to third 
reading with the unreported Finance committee amendment pending and the right for further 
amendments to be considered on that reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4956, Creating the Oral Health and Cancer Rights Act. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was reported by the Clerk. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill was laid over 
one day, retaining its place on the calendar. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4967, Relating to the administration of the Voluntary 
Remediation and Redevelopment Act to provide new liability protections for persons and 
companies who wish to purchase and redevelop former industrial properties. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on the Judiciary, was reported by 
the Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:  

ARTICLE 22. VOLUNTARY REMEDIATION AND REDEVELOPMENT ACT. 

§22-22-1. Legislative findings; legislative statement of purpose. 

(a) The Legislature finds there is property in West Virginia that is not being put to its highest 
productive use because it is contaminated or it is perceived to be contaminated as a result of past 
activity on the property.  

(b) The Legislature further finds that abandonment or under use underutilization of 
contaminated or potentially contaminated industrial sites results in inefficient use of public facilities 
and services and increases the pressure for development of uncontaminated pristine land. Since 
existing industrial areas frequently have transportation networks, utilities, and an existing 
infrastructure, it can be less costly to society to redevelop existing industrial areas than to relocate 
amenities for industrial areas at pristine sites.  

(c) The Legislature further finds that the existing legal structure creates uncertainty regarding 
the legal effect of remediation upon liability. Legal uncertainty serves as a further disincentive to 
productive redevelopment of brownfields. Therefore, incentives should be put in place to 
encourage voluntary redevelopment of contaminated or potentially contaminated sites. 

(d) The Legislature further finds that an administrative program should be established to 
encourage persons to voluntarily develop and implement remedial plans without the need for 
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enforcement action by the Division Department of Environmental Protection. Therefore, it is the 
purpose of this article to:  

(1) Establish an administrative program to facilitate voluntary remediation activities and 
brownfield revitalization;  

(2) Provide financial incentives to entice investment at brownfield sites; and 

(3) Establish limitations on liability under environmental laws and rules for those persons who 
remediate sites in accordance with applicable standards established under this article. 

§22-22-2. Definitions. 

As used in this article, unless otherwise provided or indicated by the context: 

"Abandoned property" means real property for which the current owner cannot be determined 
or cannot be located or property which has been forfeited to or acquired by the State for the 
nonpayment of taxes pursuant to State law; 

(a) "Applicable standards", mean the remediation levels established in or pursuant to section 
three of this article; 

"Bona fide prospective purchaser" means a person or a tenant of a person who acquires 
ownership, or proposes to acquire ownership, of real property after the release of hazardous 
substances occurred; 

(b) "Brownfield" means any industrial or commercial property, the expansion, redevelopment, 
or reuse of which may be complicated by the presence or potential presence of a hazardous 
substance, pollutant, or contaminant; which is abandoned or not being actively used by the owner 
as of the effective date of this article, but shall not include any site subject to a unilateral 
enforcement order under §104 through §106 of the "Comprehensive Environmental Response, 
Compensation and Liability Act", 94 Stat. 2779, 42 U.S.C. §9601, as amended, or which has been 
listed or proposed to be listed by the United States environmental protection agency on the 
priorities list of Title I of said act, or subject to a unilateral enforcement order under §3008 and 
§7003 of the "Resource Conservation Recovery Act" or any unilateral enforcement order for 
corrective action under this chapter; 

(c) "Certified laboratory" means any laboratory approved by the director under laboratory 
certification rules adopted pursuant to section fifteen, article one of this chapter. 

"Brownfields Revolving Fund" means the special revenue fund established to provide loans 
for site assessments and remediation of eligible brownfield sites; 

(d) "Contaminant" or "contamination" means any man made or man induced alteration of the 
chemical, physical, or biological integrity of soils, sediments, air, and surface water or 
groundwater resulting from activities regulated under this article, in excess of applicable standards 
in this chapter, including any hazardous substance, petroleum, or natural gas; 

(e) "Controls" means to apply engineering measures, such as capping or treatment, or 
institutional measures, such as deed restrictions, to contaminated sites; 
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"Department" means the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection; 

(f) "Development Authority" means any authority as defined in article twelve, chapter seven 
§7-12-1, et seq. of this code or the state Development Office as defined in article two, chapter 
five-b §2-5B-1, et seq. of this code. 

(g) "Director" means the director of the Division of Environmental Protection or such other 
person to whom the director has delegated authority or duties pursuant to this article; 

(h) "Division" means the Division of Environmental Protection of the State of West Virginia;  

(i) "Engineering controls" means remedial actions directed exclusively toward containing or 
controlling the migration of contaminants through the environment. These include, but are not 
limited to, slurry walls, liner systems, caps, leachate collection systems, and groundwater 
recovery trenches; 

(j) "Hazardous substance" means any substance identified as a hazardous substance 
pursuant to the "Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act,", 94 
Stat. 2779, 42 U.S.C. §9601 9604-9606, as amended; 

"Innocent land owner" means a person who holds any title, security interest, or any other 
interest in a brownfield site and who acquired ownership of the real property after the release of 
hazardous substances occurred; 

(k) "Institutional controls" means legal or contractual restrictions on property use that remain 
effective after the remediation action is completed and are used to meet applicable standards. 
The term may include, but is not limited to, deed and water use restrictions; 

(l) "Industrial activity" means commercial, manufacturing, public utility, mining, or any other 
activity done to further either the development, manufacturing, or distribution of goods and 
services, intermediate and final products, and solid waste created during such activities, including, 
but not limited to, administration of business activities,; research and development,; warehousing,; 
shipping,; transport,; remanufacturing,; stockpiling of raw materials,; storage, repair, and 
maintenance of commercial machinery or equipment; and solid waste management; 

"Institutional controls" means legal or contractual restrictions on property use that remain 
effective after the remediation action is completed and are used to meet applicable standards. 
The term may include, but is not limited to, deed and water use restrictions; 

(m) "Land-use covenant" means an environmental covenant within the meaning of §22-22B-
2(4) of this code, and is a document or deed restriction issued by the director Secretary on 
remediated sites which have attained and demonstrate continuing compliance with site-specific 
standards for any contaminants at the site and which is agreed to by the owner of the property. 
The covenant shall be recorded by deed in the office of the county clerk of the county wherein the 
site is situated. The document or covenant shall be included by any grantor or lessor in any deed 
or other instrument of conveyance or any lease or other instrument whereby real property is let 
for a period of one year or more, as more fully set forth in sections thirteen and fourteen of this 
article; 
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(n) "Licensed remediation specialist" means a person certified by the director Secretary 
pursuant to rules adopted under section three of this article as qualified to perform professional 
services and to supervise the remediation of contaminated sites; 

(o) "Mitigation measure" means any remediation action performed by a person prior to or 
during implementation of a remediation plan to protect human health and the environment; 

(p) "Natural gas" means natural gas, natural gas liquids, liquefied natural gas, coalbed 
methane, synthetic gas usable for fuel, or mixtures of natural gas and synthetic gas; 

(q)(r) "Nonresidential property" means any real property on which commercial, industrial, 
manufacturing or any other activity is performed. done to further the development, manufacturing 
or distribution of goods and services, intermediate and final business activities, research and 
development, warehousing, shipping, transport, remanufacturing, stockpiling of raw materials, 
storage, repair and maintenance of commercial machinery and equipment, and solid waste 
management. This term shall not include schools, day care centers, nursing homes, or other 
residential-style facilities or recreational areas;  

(r) "Owner" means any person owning or holding legal or equitable title or possessory interest 
in property or, where title or control of property was conveyed due to bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax 
delinquency, abandonment, or similar means to this state or a political subdivision of this state, 
or any person who owned the property before the conveyance; 

"Operator" means the person responsible for the overall operation of a facility site. A person 
who executes a voluntary remediation agreement with the Secretary may be considered an 
operator for the purpose of carrying out the activities required by the government; 

"Owner" means any person owning or holding legal or equitable title or possessory interest in 
property or, where title or control of property was conveyed due to bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax 
delinquency, abandonment, or similar means to this state or a political subdivision of this state; 

(t) "Person" means any public or private corporation, institution, association, firm, or company 
organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state or country; the state of West Virginia; 
governmental agency, including federal facilities; political subdivision; county commission; 
municipal corporation; partnership; trust; estate; person or individuals acting individually or as a 
group; or any legal entity whatever; 

(u) "Petroleum" means oil or petroleum of any kind and in any form, including, without 
limitation, crude oil or any fraction thereof, oil sludge, oil refuse, used oil, substances or additives 
in the refining or blending of crude petroleum or petroleum stock; 

(v) "Practical quantitation level" means the lowest analytical level that can be reliably achieved 
within specified limits of precision and accuracy under routine laboratory conditions for a specified 
matrix. It is based on quantitation, precision, and accuracy under normal operation of a laboratory 
and the practical need in a compliance-monitoring program to have a sufficient number of 
laboratories available to conduct the analyses; 

(w) "Property" means any parcel of real property, and any improvements thereof; 

(x) "Related" means the persons who are related to the third degree of consanguinity or 
marriage;  
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(y) "Release" means any spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, discharging, 
injecting, escaping, leaching, migrating, dumping, or disposing of any contaminant or regulated 
substance into the environment, including, without limitation, the abandonment or improper 
discarding of barrels, containers, or any other closed receptacle containing any contaminant; 

(z) "Remediation" or "remedial action" means to cleanup, mitigate, correct, abate, minimize, 
eliminate, control, and contain or prevent a release of a contaminant into the environment in order 
to protect the present or future public health, safety, welfare, or the environment, including 
preliminary actions to study or assess the release; 

(aa) "Remediation contractor" means any person who enters into and is carrying out a contract 
to cleanup, remediate, respond to or remove a release or threatened release of a contaminant 
and includes any person who the contractor retained or hired to provide services under a 
remediation contract; 

 (bb) "Residential" means any real property or portion thereof which is designed for the 
housing of human beings and does not meet the definition of "nonresidential" property set forth 
above; 

(cc) "Risk" means the probability that a contaminant, when released into the environment, will 
cause an adverse effect in exposed humans or other living organisms; 

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection or any other 
person to whom he or she has delegated authority or duties in accordance with §22-1-6 or §22-
1-8 of this code; 

(dd) "Site" means any property or portion thereof which contains or may contain contaminants 
and is eligible for to participate in the voluntary remediation program as provided under this article; 

(ee) "Unilateral enforcement order" means a written final order issued by a federal or state 
agency charged with enforcing environmental law, which compels the fulfillment of an obligation 
imposed by law, rule against a person without their voluntary consent; and 

(ff) "Voluntary remediation" means a series of measures that may be self-initiated by a person 
to identify and address potential sources of contamination of property and to establish that the 
property complies with applicable remediation standards. 

§22-22-3. Rule-making authority of the director Secretary.  

Within one year after the effective date of this section, The director Secretary, in accordance 
with chapter twenty-nine-a of this code, shall propose, and subsequently may amend, suspend, 
or rescind, rules that do the following: 

(a) Establish an administrative program for both brownfield revitalization and voluntary 
remediation, including application procedures; 

(b) Establish procedures for the licensure of remediation specialists, including, but not limited 
to establishing licensing fees, testing procedures, disciplinary procedures, and methods for 
revocation of licenses; 

(c) Establish procedures for community notification and involvement; 
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(d) Establish risk-based standards for remediation; 

(e) Establish standards for the remediation of property; 

(f) Establish a risk protocol for conducting risk assessments and establishing risk-based 
standards. The risk protocol shall:  

(1) Require consideration of existing and reasonably anticipated future human exposures 
based on current and reasonably anticipated future land and water uses and significant adverse 
effects to ecological receptor health and viability;  

(2) Include, at a minimum, both central tendency and reasonable upper bound estimates of 
exposure;  

(3) Require risk assessments to consider, to the extent practicable, the range of probabilities 
of risks actually occurring, the range or size of populations likely to be exposed to risk, and 
quantitative and qualitative descriptions of uncertainties; 

(4) Establish criteria for what constitutes appropriate sources of toxicity information;  

(5) Address the use of probabilistic modeling;  

(6) Establish criteria for what constitutes appropriate criteria for the selection and application 
of fate and transport models;  

(7) Address the use of population risk estimates in addition to individual risk estimates;  

(8) To the extent deemed considered appropriate and feasible by the director Secretary 
considering available scientific information, define appropriate approaches for addressing 
cumulative risks posed by multiple contaminants or multiple exposure pathways;  

(9) Establish appropriate sampling approaches and data quality requirements; and 

(10) This protocol shall Include public notification and involvement provisions so that the public 
can understand how remediation standards are applied to a site and provide for clear 
communication of site risk issues, including key risk assessment assumptions, uncertainties, 
populations considered, the context of site risks to other risks, and how the remedy will address 
site risks; 

(g) Establish chemical and site-specific information, where appropriate for purpose of risk 
assessment. Risk assessments should use chemical and site-specific data and analysis, such as 
toxicity, exposure, and fate and transport evaluations in preference to default assumptions. Where 
chemical and site-specific data are not available, a range and distribution of realistic and plausible 
assumptions should be employed; 

(h) Establish criteria to evaluate and approve methods for the measurement of contaminants 
using the practical quantitation level and related laboratory standards and practices to be used 
by certified laboratories; 
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(i) Establish standards and procedures for the utilization use of certificates of completion, land 
use covenants, and other legal documents necessary to effectuate the purposes of this article; 
and 

(j) Establish any other rules necessary to carry out the requirements and the legislative intent 
of this act. 

§22-22-4. Voluntary remediation program; eligibility application and fee; information 
available to public; confidentiality of trade secrets; information; criminal penalties; 
requirements of site assessment; rejection or return of application; appeal of rejection. 

(a) Any site is eligible for participation in the voluntary remediation program, except those sites 
subject to a federal environmental protection agency unilateral enforcement order, under §§ 104 
through §106 of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act 
(CERCLA), 94 Stat. 2779, 42 U.S.C. §§9601 9604-9006, as amended, or which have been listed 
or proposed to be listed by the United States Environmental Protection Agency ("USEPA") on the 
priorities list of Title I of said act, or which is subject to a unilateral enforcement order under §3008 
and §7003 of the Resource Conservation Recovery Act ("RCRA"), 42 U.S.C. § 6928 or § 6973, 
or which is subject to any unilateral enforcement order for corrective action under this chapter: 
Provided, That the release which is subject to remediation was not created through gross 
negligence or willful misconduct. In order to participate in the voluntary remediation program, a 
person must submit an application to the director and enter into a voluntary remediation 
agreement as set forth in section seven of this article.  

(b) Any person who desires to participate in the voluntary remediation program must shall 
submit to the division Department an application and an application fee established by the director 
Secretary. The application shall be on a form provided by the director Secretary and contain the 
following information: The applicant's name, address, financial and technical capability to perform 
the voluntary remediation, a general description of the site, a site assessment of the actual or 
potential contaminants made prepared by a licensed remediation specialist, and all other 
information required by the director Secretary. 

(c) The director Secretary shall promulgate a legislative rule establishing a reasonable 
application fee. Fees collected under this section shall be deposited to the credit of the Voluntary 
Remediation Fund in the State Treasury as established in §22-22-6 of this code section six of this 
article. 

(d) Information obtained by the division Department under this article shall be available to the 
public, unless the director Secretary certifies such information to be confidential. The director 
Secretary may make such certification where any person shows, to the satisfaction of the director 
Secretary, that the information or parts thereof, if made public, would divulge methods, processes, 
or activities entitled to protection as trade secrets. In submitting data under this article, any person 
required to provide such confidential data may designate the data which that person believes is 
entitled to protection under this section and submit such designated data separately from other 
data submitted under this article. This designation request shall be made in writing. Any person 
who divulges or discloses any information entitled to protection under this section is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned in 
a county jail for not more than one year, or both fined and imprisoned. 

(e) The site assessment must include a legal description of the site; a description of the 
physical characteristics of the site, and the general operational history of the site to the extent that 
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the history is known by the applicant; and information of which the applicant is aware concerning 
the nature and extent of any known contamination at the site and immediately contiguous to the 
site, or wherever the contamination came to be located.  

(f) The director Secretary may reject or return an application if: 

(1) A federal requirement precludes the eligibility of the site; 

(2) The application is not complete and accurate; or 

(3) The site is ineligible under the provisions of this article. 

(g) The director Secretary shall act upon all applications within forty-five 45 days of receipt, 
unless an extension of time is mutually agreed to and confirmed in writing. If an application is 
returned by the director Secretary because it is not complete or accurate, the director Secretary 
shall provide the applicant a list of all information that is needed to make the application complete 
or accurate. The applicant may resubmit an application without submitting an additional 
application fee. 

(h) If the director Secretary rejects the application, then he or she shall notify the applicant 
that the application has been rejected and provide an explanation of the reasons for the rejection. 
The applicant may, within twenty-five 25 days of rejection, indicate his or her desire to resubmit 
the application. Upon final determination by the director Secretary, if the application is rejected, 
the director Secretary shall return one half of the application fee. The applicant may appeal the 
director's Secretary's rejection of the application to the Environmental Quality Board established 
under article three, chapter twenty-two-b of this code §22B-3-1, et seq. of this code. 

(i) Upon withdrawal of an application, the applicant is entitled to the refund of one half of the 
application fee, provided the application has not been accepted by the Secretary. 

§22-22-5. Brownfields Revolving Fund applicant eligibility application; loans; remediation 
process; brownfield remediation; eligibility; application; remediation loan; and 
obtaining information from director public notification. 

(a) For brownfield property, A person may be eligible for Brownfields Revolving Fund moneys 
when any environmental remediation is undertaken pursuant to this article, by a development 
authority or any and the person who did not cause or contribute to the contamination on the 
property. A person receiving Brownfields Revolving Fund moneys shall comply with the 
appropriate standards established by the director Secretary pursuant to this article and rules 
promulgated hereunder.  

(b) After conferring with the director Secretary, the person may apply to the director Secretary 
for a site assessment or remediation loan under section six of this article §22-22-6 of this code. A 
site assessment must be conducted to establish existing contamination of the site. An application 
for brownfield remediation money from the Brownfields Revolving Fund must be submitted along 
with the an application fee to be established by the Secretary. The procedures established for 
voluntary remediation set forth in section four must be followed. The director shall establish a 
reasonable application fee.  



2024] JOURNAL OF THE SENATE 115 
 

(b)(c) Brownfields sites being remediated by persons who did not cause or contribute to the 
contamination of the site are also eligible for consideration for remediation loans established 
under article fifteen, chapter thirty-one of this code §15-31-1, et seq. of this code. 

(c)(d) Persons undertaking brownfield remediation, who did not cause or contribute to the 
contamination of the brownfield site, may obtain all information relating to contamination at the 
site in the possession of the director prior to engaging in a site assessment receiving Brownfields 
Revolving Fund moneys to perform remediation and revitalization of brownfield sites shall comply 
with the following public notice and involvement requirements: 

(1) Submit a notice of intent to remediate to the Department. This notice shall provide, to the 
extent known, a brief description of the location of the site; a listing of the contaminants involved; 
and the proposed remediation measures. The Department shall publish an acknowledgment 
noting the receipt of the notice of intent in a Department publication of general circulation. At the 
time a notice of intent to remediate a site is submitted to the Department, a copy of the notice 
shall be provided to the municipality and the county in which the site is located. A summary of the 
notice of intent shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation serving the area in which 
the site is located; 

(2) Provide a 30-day public, county, and municipal comment period for the notice required by 
this subsection during which the public, county, and municipality may request to be involved in 
the development of the remediation and reuse plans for the site. If requested by the public, county, 
municipality, or the Secretary, the person undertaking the remediation shall develop and 
implement a public involvement program plan which meets the requirements set forth by the 
Secretary; and 

(3) Adhere to other public notice requirements as stipulated by federal or other grantors that 
provide moneys to the Brownfields Revolving Fund, or as promulgated in the rules developed by 
the Secretary. 

§22-22-6. Voluntary remediation administrative fund established; voluntary remediation 
fees authorized; Brownfields revolving fund established; disbursement of funds 
moneys; employment of specialized persons authorized. 

(a) There is hereby created reauthorized and continued in the State Treasury a special 
revenue fund known as the Voluntary Remediation Administrative Fund. The fund shall operate 
as a special fund whereby all deposits and payments thereto do not expire to the General 
Revenue Fund but shall remain in the fund and be available for expenditure in succeeding fiscal 
years. This fund shall consist of fees collected by the director Secretary in accordance with the 
provisions of this article as well as interest earned on investments made from moneys deposited 
in the fund. Moneys from this fund shall be expended by the director Secretary for the 
administration, licensing, enforcement, inspection, monitoring, planning, research, and other 
activities required by this article.  

The director Secretary shall promulgate legislative rules in accordance with the provisions of 
chapter twenty-nine-a §29A-3-1 et seq. of this code establishing a schedule of voluntary 
remediation fees applicable to persons who conduct activities subject to the provisions of this 
article. The fees may include an appropriate assessment of other program costs not otherwise 
attributable to any specific site but necessary for the administrative activities required to carry out 
the provisions of this article. 
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(b) There is hereby created reauthorized and continued in the State Treasury a special 
revenue fund known as the Brownfields Revolving Fund. The fund shall be comprised of moneys 
allocated to the state by the federal government expressly for the purposes of establishing and 
maintaining a state brownfields redevelopment revolving fund, all receipts from loans made from 
the fund, any moneys appropriated by the Legislature, all income from the investment of moneys 
held in the fund, and all other sums designated for deposit to the fund from any source, public or 
private. The fund shall operate as a special fund whereby all deposits and payments thereto do 
not expire to the General Revenue Fund but shall remain in the account and be available for 
expenditure in succeeding fiscal years. Moneys in the fund, to the extent that moneys are 
available, shall be used solely to make loans to persons to finance site assessments and 
remediation of eligible brownfield sites and such other activities as authorized by any federal grant 
received or any legislative appropriation: Provided, That moneys in the fund may be utilized to 
defray those costs incurred by the division Department in administering the provisions of this 
subsection. The director Secretary shall promulgate rules in accordance with the provisions of 
chapter twenty-nine-a §29A-3-1 et seq. of this code, to govern the disbursement of moneys from 
the fund, and establish a state brownfields redevelopment assistance program to direct the 
distribution of loans from the fund, and establish the interest rates and repayment terms of such 
any loans: Provided, however, That amounts in the fund, other than those appropriated by the 
federal government West Virginia Legislature, and which are found from time to time to exceed 
the amount needed for the purposes set forth in this article, may be transferred to other accounts 
or funds and redesignated for other purposes through appropriations of the Legislature. Moneys 
from any other source, public or private, shall remain in the fund. 

In order to carry out the administration and management of the fund, the division Department 
is authorized to may employ officers, agents, advisors, and consultants, including attorneys, 
financial advisors, engineers, other technical advisors, and public accountants and, not 
withstanding any provisions of this code to the contrary, to determine their duties and 
compensation without the approval of any other agency or instrumentality. 

§22-22-7. Voluntary remediation agreement; required use of licensed remediation 
specialist; required provisions of a voluntary remediation agreement; failure to reach 
agreement; appeal to the Environmental Quality Board; no enforcement action when 
subject of agreement. 

Upon acceptance of an application, the director Secretary shall enter into an agreement with 
the applicant for the remediation of the site which sets forth the following: 

(a) A person desiring to participate in the voluntary remediation program must shall enter into 
a voluntary remediation agreement that sets forth the terms and conditions of the evaluation of 
the reports and the implementation of work plans; 

(b) Any voluntary remediation agreement approved by the director Secretary shall provide for 
the services of a licensed remediation specialist for supervision of all activities described in the 
agreement; 

(c) A voluntary remediation agreement must shall provide for cost recovery of all reasonable 
costs incurred by the division Department in review and oversight of the person's work plan and 
reports as a result of field activities or attributable to the voluntary remediation agreement, which 
are in excess of the fees submitted by the applicant along with a schedule of payments; 
appropriate tasks, deliverables, and schedules for performance of the remediation; a listing of all 
statutes and rules for which compliance is mandated; a description of any work plan or report to 
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be submitted for review by the director Secretary, including a final report that provides all 
information necessary to verify that all work contemplated by the agreement has been completed; 
the licensed remediation specialist's supervision of remediation contractors; and a listing of the 
technical standards to be applied in evaluating the work plans and reports, with reference to the 
proposed future land use to be achieved. The voluntary remediation agreement may also provide 
for alternate dispute resolutions between the parties to the agreement, including, but not limited 
to, arbitration or mediation of any disputes under this agreement; 

(d) No A voluntary remediation agreement may not be modified or amended, unless the 
amendment or modification is reduced to writing and mutually agreed upon by the parties to the 
agreement: Provided, That when the director Secretary determines that there is an imminent 
threat to the public, he or she may unilaterally modify or amend the agreement; 

(e) Upon acceptance of an application, the director Secretary and the applicant shall develop 
a remediation agreement. If an agreement is not reached between the applicant and the director 
Secretary on or before the thirty-first 31st day after the application has been accepted, either party 
may withdraw from negotiations. Should this occur, If this occurs, the agency retains the 
application fee. The applicant may appeal the failure to reach agreement to the Environmental 
Quality Board as established under article three, chapter twenty-two-b of this code §22B-3-1, et 
seq. of this code. By mutual agreement, when it becomes impractical to reach an agreement 
within thirty-one 31 days, the time limit may be extended in writing; and 

(f) The division Department may not initiate an enforcement action against a person who is in 
compliance with this section for the contamination that is the subject of the voluntary remediation 
agreement or for the activity that resulted in the contamination, unless there is an imminent threat 
to the public. 

§22-22-8. Voluntary remediation work plans and reports. 

After signing a voluntary remediation agreement, the person undertaking remediation shall 
prepare and submit the appropriate work plans and reports to the director Secretary. The director 
Secretary shall review and evaluate the work plans and reports for accuracy, quality, and 
completeness. The director Secretary may approve a voluntary remediation work plan or report 
or disapprove and notify the person of additional information needed to obtain approval. 

§22-22-9. Termination of agreement; cost of recovery; legal actions. 

 The person undertaking remediation may, in their his or her sole discretion, terminate the 
agreement as provided by the terms of the agreement and by giving fifteen 15 days advance 
written notice of termination. Only those costs incurred or obligated by the director Secretary 
before notice of termination of the agreement are recoverable, if the agreement is terminated. The 
termination of the agreement does not affect any right the director Secretary may have under any 
other law to recover costs. The person undertaking the remediation must pay the division's 
Department's costs associated with the voluntary remediation within thirty-one 31 days after 
receiving notice that the costs are due and owing. The director Secretary may bring an action in 
Kanawha County circuit court or in the circuit court in the county wherein the property is situated 
to recover the amount owed to the division Department and reasonable legal expenses. 

§22-22-10. Inspections; right of entry; sampling; reports and analyses. 
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(a) The director Secretary, upon presentation of proper credentials, may enter any building, 
property, premises, place, or facility where brownfield or voluntary remediation activities are being 
or have been performed for the purpose of making an inspection to ascertain the compliance by 
any person with the provisions of this article or the rules promulgated by the director Secretary. 

(b) The director Secretary shall make periodic inspections at sites subject to this article. After 
an inspection is made, a report shall be filed with the director Secretary and a copy shall be 
provided to the person who is responsible pursuant to the voluntary agreement for remediation 
activities. The reports shall not disclose any confidential information protected under the 
provisions of subsection (d), section four of this article §22-22-4(d) of this code. The inspection 
reports shall be available to the public in accordance with the provisions of article one, chapter 
twenty-nine-b of this code §29B-1-1, et seq. of this code.  

(c) The director Secretary may, upon presentation of proper credentials, enter any building, 
motor vehicle, property, premises, or site where brownfield or voluntary remediation activities are 
being or have been performed and take samples of wastes, soils, air, surface water, and 
groundwater. In taking such samples, the director Secretary may utilize such sampling methods 
as are necessary in exercising good scientific technique. Following the taking of any sample, the 
director Secretary shall give the person responsible in the voluntary agreement for remediation 
activities a receipt describing the sample obtained and, if requested, a portion of each sample 
equal in volume or weight to the portion retained. The director Secretary shall promptly provide a 
copy of any analysis made to the responsible person named in the voluntary agreement. 

(d) Upon presentation of proper credentials, the director Secretary shall be given access to all 
records relating to a brownfield or voluntary remediation. 

§22-22-11. Licensed remediation specialist, licensure procedures. 

(a) No A person may not practice as a licensed remediation specialist without a license issued 
by the director Secretary. Any violation of this provision shall be subject to the enforcement orders 
as set forth in section twelve of this article §22-22-12 of this code.  

(b) To obtain a license, a person must apply to the director Secretary in writing on forms 
approved and supplied by the director Secretary. Each application for examination for a license 
shall contain: 

(1) The full name of the person applying for the license;  

(2) The principal business address of the applicant; 

(3) All formal academic education and experience of the applicant to demonstrate professional 
expertise of the applicant; 

(4) If waiver of the examination is being requested, any license or certification that the person 
desires to be considered as part of the waiver request; 

(5) The examination fee; and 

(6) Any other necessary information prescribed by the director Secretary. 
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(c) The director Secretary shall establish the date, time, and location of licensed remediation 
specialist examinations.  

(d) The applicant must shall demonstrate that he or she possesses a practical knowledge of 
the remediation activities; procedures necessary to remediate a site; and the management of 
contaminants at a site, including, but not limited to, site investigation, health and safety protocol, 
quality assurance, feasibility studies and remedial design. 

(e) If the director Secretary does not certify the remediation specialist applicant, the director 
Secretary shall inform the applicant in writing of the reasons therefor. The director Secretary may 
not deny a license without cause.  

(f) It is the licensed remediation specialist's duty to protect the safety, health, and welfare of 
the public as set forth in this article, in the performance of his or her professional duties. The 
licensed remediation specialist is responsible for any release of contaminants during remediation 
activities undertaken pursuant to the approved remediation agreement, work plans, or reports. If 
a licensed remediation specialist faces a situation where he or she is unable to meet this duty, 
the licensed remediation specialist may either sever the relationship with the client or employer 
or refuse professional responsibility for work plan, report, or design. The specialist shall notify the 
division, Department if there is a threat to the environment or the health, safety, or welfare of the 
public. 

(g) A licensed remediation specialist shall only perform assignments for which the specialist 
is qualified by training and experience in those specific technical fields; be objective in work plans, 
reports, and opinions; and avoid any conflict of interest with employer, clients, and suppliers. A 
licensed remediation specialist shall not solicit or accept gratuities, directly or indirectly, from 
contractors, agents, or other parties dealing directly with the employer or client in regard to 
professional services being performed at the work site; accept any type of bribe; falsify or permit 
misrepresentation of professional qualifications; intentionally provide false information to the 
director Secretary; or knowingly associate with one a person who is engaging in business or 
professional practices of a fraudulent or dishonest nature. 

(h) A licensed remediation specialist shall not charge any special fees above usual and 
customary professional rates for being licensed.  

(i) The license issued by the director Secretary may be renewed every two years for any 
licensed remediation specialist in good standing. The director Secretary, by rule, shall establish 
license fees. 

(j) The director Secretary is authorized to may revoke a license; suspend a license for not 
more than five years; or impose lesser sanctions as may be appropriate for acts or omissions in 
violation of this article. 

§22-22-12. Enforcement orders for licensed remediation specialists; cease and desist 
order; criminal penalties. 

(a) If the director Secretary, upon inspection, investigation, or through other means observes, 
discovers, or learns that a licensed remediation specialist has violated the provisions of this article 
or any rules promulgated hereunder, the director Secretary may: 
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(1) Issue an order stating with reasonable specificity the nature of the violation and requiring 
compliance immediately or within a specified time. An order under this section includes, but is not 
limited to, orders suspending or revoking licenses, orders requiring a person to take remedial 
action, or cease and desist orders; or 

(2) Request the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the alleged violation occurred 
bring a criminal action as provided for herein. 

(b) Any person issued an order may file a request for reconsideration with the director 
Secretary within seven days of the receipt of the order. The director Secretary shall conduct a 
hearing on the merits of the order within ten 10 days of the filing of the request for reconsideration. 
The filing of a notice of request for reconsideration does not stay or suspend the execution or 
enforcement of the order. 

(c) Any licensed remediation specialist who fraudulently misrepresents that work has been 
completed and such action results in an unjustified and inexcusable disregard for the safety of 
others, thereby placing another in imminent danger or contributing to ongoing harm to the 
environment, he or she shall be is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined 
not more than $50,000, or imprisoned not less than one nor more than two years, or both such 
fine and imprisonment. 

(d) If any person associated with remediation of a brownfield or voluntary remediation site 
engages in fraudulent acts or representations to the division Department, he or she shall be is 
guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $50,000 or imprisoned 
not less than one nor more than two years, or both. 

§22-22-13. Certificate of completion. 

(a) The licensed remediation specialist shall issue a final report to the person undertaking the 
voluntary remediation when the property meets the applicable standards and all work has been 
completed as contemplated in the voluntary remediation agreement or the site assessment shows 
that all applicable standards are being met. Upon receipt of the final report, the person may seek 
a certificate of completion from the director Secretary. 

(b) The director Secretary may delegate the responsibility for issuance of a certificate of 
completion to a licensed remediation specialist in limited circumstances, as specified by rule 
pursuant to this article. 

(c) The certificate of completion shall contain a provision relieving a person who undertook 
the remediation and subsequent successors and assigns from all liability to the state as provided 
under this article which shall remain effective as long as the property complies with the applicable 
standards in effect at the time the certificate of completion was issued. This certificate is subject 
to reopener provisions of section fifteen of this article and may, if applicable, result in a land-use 
covenant as provided in section fourteen of this article. 

§22-22-14. Land-use covenant; criminal penalties. 

(a) The director Secretary shall establish by rule, criteria for deed recordation of land-use 
covenants and containing all necessary deed restrictions. The director Secretary shall cause all 
land-use covenants to appear in the chain of title by deed to be properly recorded in the office of 
the county clerk where the remediation site is located. If institutional and engineering controls are 
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used, in whole or in part, to achieve a remediation standard, the director Secretary shall direct 
that a land-use covenant be applied. The covenant shall include whether residential or 
nonresidential exposure factors were used to comply with the site-specific standard. The covenant 
shall contain a provision relieving the person who undertook the remediation and subsequent 
successors and assigns from all civil liability to the state as provided under this article and shall 
remain effective as long as the property complies with the applicable standards in effect at the 
time the covenant was issued. 

 (b) Whoever knowingly violates a land-use covenant by converting nonresidential property to 
residential property is guilty of a felony, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than 
$25,000, imprisoned for not more than five years, or both. 

§22-22-15. Reopeners. 

Any person who completes remediation in compliance with this article shall not be required to 
undertake additional remediation actions for contaminants subject to the remediation, unless the 
director Secretary demonstrates that:  

(a) Fraud was committed in demonstrating attainment of a standard at the site that resulted in 
avoiding the need for further remediation of the site; 

(b) New information confirms the existence of an area of a previously unknown contamination 
which contains contaminants that have been shown to exceed the standards applied to the 
previous remediation at the site;  

(c) The level of risk is increased significantly beyond the established level of protection at the 
site due to substantial changes in exposure conditions, such as, a change in land use, or new 
information is obtained about a contaminant associated with the site which revises exposure 
assumptions beyond the acceptable range. Any person who changes the use of the property 
causing the level of risk to increase beyond established protection levels shall be required by the 
division Department to undertake additional remediation measures under the provisions of this 
article; 

(d) The release occurred after the effective date of this article on a site not used for industrial 
activity prior to the effective date of this article; the remedy relied, in whole or in part, upon 
institutional or engineering controls instead of treatment or removal of contamination; and 
treatment, removal, or destruction has become technically and economically practicable; or 

(e) The remediation method failed to meet the remediation standard or combination of 
standards. 

In the event that any of the foregoing circumstances occur, the remediation agreement will be 
reopened and revised to the extent necessary to return the site to its previously agreed to state 
of remediation or other appropriate standard. 

§22-22-16. Duty of assessor and citizens to notify director Secretary when change of 
property use occurs. 

If an assessor in any county becomes aware of a change of remediated property use from 
nonresidential property to residential, the assessor shall check the land record of the county to 
ascertain if a land-use covenant appears to have been violated. Should it appear that a violation 
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has occurred, the assessor shall notify the director Secretary in writing of the suspected violation. 
If any citizen becomes aware of a change of property use from nonresidential to residential, the 
citizen may check the land record of the county to ascertain if a land use covenant appears to 
have been violated and may notify the director Secretary in writing. The director Secretary shall 
then investigate and proceed with any necessary enforcement action. 

§22-22-17. Public notification for brownfields. 

[Repealed.] 

§22-22-18. Environmental liability protection. 

(a) Any person demonstrating compliance with the applicable standards established in section 
three of this article, whether by remediation or where the site assessment shows that the 
contamination at the site meets applicable standards, shall be relieved of further liability for the 
remediation of the site under this chapter. Contamination identified in the remediation agreement 
submitted to and approved by the division Department shall not be is not subject to citizen suits 
or contribution actions. The protection from further remediation liability provided by this article 
applies to the following persons: 

(1) The current or future owner or operator of the site, including development authorities and 
fiduciaries who participated in the remediation of the site; 

(2) A person who develops or otherwise occupies the site; 

(3) A successor or assign of any person to whom the liability protection applies; 

(4) A public utility, as defined in section two, article one, chapter twenty-four §24-1-2 of this 
code, and for the purpose of this article, a utility engaged in the storage and transportation of 
natural gas, to the extent the public utility performs activities on the site; 

(5) A remediation contractor; 

(6) A licensed remediation specialist; and 

(7) A lender or developer who engages in the routine practices of commercial lending, 
including, but not limited to, providing financial services, holding of security interests, workout 
practices, foreclosure, or the recovery of funds from the sale of a site. 

(b) A person shall not be considered a person responsible for a release or a threatened 
release of contaminants simply by virtue of conducting or having a site assessment conducted. 
Nothing in this section relieves a person of any liability for failure to exercise due diligence in 
performing a site assessment. 

(c) The Secretary may, consistent with programs developed under federal law, make a 
determination to limit the liability of lenders, innocent purchasers or landowners, de minimis 
contributors, or others who have grounds to claim limited responsibility for a containment or 
cleanup that may be required pursuant to the Hazardous Waste Management Act §22-18-1, et 
seq. of this code, the Water Pollution Control Act §22-11-1, et seq. of this code, the Groundwater 
Protection Act §22-12-1, et seq. of this code, or any other applicable law. 
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(d) A person who is a bona fide prospective purchaser shall not be held liable for a 
containment or cleanup that may be required at a brownfield site pursuant to the Hazardous 
Waste Management Act §22-18-1, et seq. of this code, the Water Pollution Control Act §22-11-1, 
et seq. of this code, the Groundwater Protection Act §22-12-1, et seq. of this code, or any other 
applicable law, if: 

(1) The person did not cause, contribute, or consent to the release or threatened release; 

(2) The person is not liable or potentially liable through any direct or indirect familial 
relationship or any contractual, corporate, or financial relationship or is not the result of a 
reorganization of a business entity that was potentially liable; 

(3) The person exercises appropriate care with respect to hazardous substances found at the 
facility by taking reasonable steps to stop any continuing release, prevent any threatened future 
release, and prevent or limit human, environmental, or natural resource exposure to any 
previously released hazardous substances; and 

(4) The person does not impede the performance of any response action. 

(e) A person who is an innocent land owner who holds title, security interest, or any other 
interest in a brownfield site shall not be held liable for a containment or cleanup that may be 
required at a brownfield site pursuant to the Hazardous Waste Management Act §22-18-1, et seq. 
of this code, the Water Pollution Control Act §22-11-1, et seq. of this code, the Groundwater 
Protection Act §22-12-1, et seq. of this code, or any other applicable law if:  

(1) The person did not cause, contribute, or consent to the release or threatened release; 

(2) The person is not liable or potentially liable through any direct or indirect familial 
relationship or any contractual, corporate, or financial relationship or is not the result of a 
reorganization of a business entity that was potentially liable; 

(3) The person made all appropriate inquiries into the previous uses of the facility in 
accordance with generally accepted good commercial and customary standards and practices, 
including those established by federal law; 

(4) The person exercises appropriate care with respect to hazardous substances found at the 
facility by taking reasonable steps to stop any continuing release, prevent any threatened future 
release, and prevent or limit human, environmental, or natural resource exposure to any 
previously released hazardous substances; 

(5) The person does not impede the performance of any response action; and either 

(6) At the time the person acquired the interest, he or she did not know and had no reason to 
know, that any hazardous substances had been or were likely to have been disposed of on, in, or 
at the site, or  

(7) The person is a government entity that acquired the site by escheat or through other 
involuntary transfer or acquisition. 

(f) A person that owns real property that is contiguous to or otherwise similarly situated with 
respect to, and that is or may be contaminated by a release or threatened release of a hazardous 
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substance from real property that is not owned by that person shall not be considered liable for a 
containment or cleanup that may be required pursuant to the Hazardous Waste Management Act 
§22-18-1, et seq. of this code, the Water Pollution Control Act §22-11-1, et seq. of this code, the 
Groundwater Protection Act §22-12-1, et seq. of this code, or any other applicable law if the 
person did not cause, contribute, or consent to the release or threatened release, if the person is 
not liable or potentially liable through any direct or indirect familial relationship or any contractual, 
corporate, or financial relationship or is not the result of a reorganization of a business entity that 
was potentially liable, and if such person provides full cooperation, assistance, and access to 
persons that are authorized to conduct response actions at the facility from which there has been 
a release. 

(g) The provisions of this section shall not otherwise limit the authority of the Secretary to 
require any person responsible for the contamination or pollution to contain or remediate sites 
where solid or hazardous waste or other substances have been improperly managed. 

§22-22-20. Affirmative defenses. 

Any person who is alleged to have violated an environmental law or the common law 
equivalent, which occurred while acting pursuant to this article, may affirmatively plead the 
following in response to an alleged violation: 

(a) An act of God;  

(b) An intervening act of a public agency; 

(c) Migration from property owned by a third party; 

(d) Actions taken or omitted in the course of rendering care, assistance, or advice in 
accordance with the environmental laws or at the direction of the division Department; 

(e) An act of a third party who was not an agent or employee of the lender, fiduciary, developer, 
remediation contractor, or development authority; or 

(f) If the alleged liability for a lender, fiduciary, developer, or development authority arises after 
foreclosure, and the lender, fiduciary, developer, or development authority exercised due care 
with respect to the lender's, fiduciary's, developer's, or development authority's knowledge about 
the contaminants, and took reasonable precautions based upon such knowledge against 
foreseeable actions of third parties and the consequences arising therefrom. A lender, fiduciary, 
developer, remediation contractor, or development authority may avoid liability by proving any 
other defense which may be available to it. 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4967), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5127, Including Potomac State College in the definition of 
community and technical college education program for participation in the "Learn and Earn 
Program". 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5188, Relating to awards and benefits for duty related 
disability in the municipal police officers and firefighters retirement system. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendments to the bill, from the Committee on Finance, were reported by the 
Clerk, considered simultaneously, and adopted: 

On page two, section 17, lines 21-23, by striking out all of subsection (c) and inserting in lieu 
thereof a new subsection (c) to read as follows:  

(c) If the member is partially disabled, the member shall receive 45 percent of his or her 
average full monthly compensation for the 12-month contributory period preceding the member's 
disability award, or the shorter period if the member has not worked 12 months. If the member 
remains partially disabled until attaining 60 years of age, the member shall then receive the 
retirement benefit provided in §8-22A-14 and §8-22A-15 of this code.; 

And,  

On page two, section 17, line 24, by striking out the words "or partially".  

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5188), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. House Bill 5257, Relating generally to allowing the Supreme Court of Appeals discretion 
to create uniform pay scales for all levels of judicial support staff. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on Government Organization, was 
reported by the Clerk: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

CHAPTER 50. MAGISTRATE COURTS. 

ARTICLE 1. COURTS AND OFFICERS. 

§50-1-8. Magistrate court clerks; salaries; duties; duties of circuit clerk. 

(a) In each county having three or more magistrates, the judge of the circuit court or the chief 
judge of the circuit court, if there is more than one judge of the circuit court, shall appoint a 
magistrate court clerk. In all other counties the judge may appoint a magistrate court clerk or may, 
by rule, require the duties of the magistrate court clerk to be performed by the clerk of the circuit 
court, in which event the circuit court clerk is entitled to additional compensation in the amount of 
$2,500 per year. The magistrate court clerk serves at the will and pleasure of the circuit judge. 

(b) Magistrate court clerks shall be paid at least twice per month by the state. The annual 
salary of all magistrate court clerks is $52,296. Beginning July 1, 2023, the annual salary of a 
magistrate court clerk shall be $54,596 shall be determined by a pay scale established by the 
Administrative Director of the Supreme Court. Magistrate court clerks may receive any general 
salary increase granted to state employees, whose salaries are not set by statute, expressed as 
a percentage increase or an across-the-board increase, implemented after July 1, 2023. 
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 (c) In addition to other duties that may be imposed by the provisions of this chapter or by the 
rules of the Supreme Court of Appeals or the judge of the circuit court or the chief judge of the 
circuit court if there is more than one judge of the circuit court, it is the duty of the magistrate court 
clerk to establish and maintain appropriate dockets and records in a centralized system for the 
magistrate court, to assist in the preparation of the reports required of the court and to carry out 
on behalf of the magistrates or chief magistrate if a chief magistrate is appointed, the 
administrative duties of the court. 

(d) The magistrate court clerk, or if there is no magistrate court clerk in the county, the clerk 
of the circuit court, may issue all manner of civil process and require the enforcement of 
subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum in magistrate court. 

§50-1-9. Magistrate assistants; salary; duties. 

(a) In each county there shall be at least one magistrate assistant for each magistrate; 
however, the Supreme Court of Appeals may authorize additional magistrate assistants if the 
workload of a county's magistrate court requires extra staff support. Each magistrate assistant 
shall be appointed by the magistrate under whose authority and supervision and at whose will 
and pleasure he or she shall serve. If more than one magistrate assistant per magistrate is 
approved by the Supreme Court of Appeals, then the chief magistrate, or chief circuit judge if no 
chief magistrate is designated, shall appoint, supervise, and assign job duties for any additional 
magistrate assistant as needed for that county. The assistant shall not be a member of the 
immediate family of any magistrate and shall not have been convicted of a felony or any 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude and shall reside in the State of West Virginia. For the 
purpose of this section, "immediate family" means the relationships of mother, father, sister, 
brother, child, or spouse. 

(b) A magistrate assistant shall have the duties, clerical or otherwise, assigned by the 
magistrate and prescribed by the rules of the Supreme Court of Appeals or the judge of the circuit 
court, or the chief judge of the circuit court if there is more than one judge of the circuit court. In 
addition to these duties, magistrate assistants shall perform and are accountable to the magistrate 
court clerks with respect to the following duties: 

(1) The preparation of summons in civil actions; 

(2) The assignment of civil actions to the various magistrates; 

(3) The collection of all costs, fees, fines, forfeitures, and penalties which are payable to the 
court; 

(4) The submission of moneys, along with an accounting of the moneys, to appropriate 
authorities as provided by law; 

(5) The daily disposition of closed files which are to be located in the magistrate clerk's office; 

(6) All duties related to the gathering of information and documents necessary for the 
preparation of administrative reports and documents required by the rules of the Supreme Court 
of Appeals, the judge of the circuit court or the chief judge of the circuit court if there is more than 
one judge of the circuit court; 
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(7) All duties relating to the notification, certification, and payment of jurors serving pursuant 
to the terms of this chapter; and 

(8) All other duties or responsibilities whereby the magistrate assistant is accountable to the 
magistrate court clerk as determined by the magistrate. 

(c) Magistrate assistants shall be paid at least twice per month by the state. The annual salary 
of all magistrate assistants is $46,932. Beginning July 1, 2023, the annual salary of a magistrate 
assistant shall be $49,232 shall be determined by a pay scale established by the Administrative 
Director of the Supreme Court. Magistrate assistants may receive any general salary increase 
granted to state employees, whose salaries are not set by statute, expressed as a percentage 
increase or an across-the-board increase enacted after July 1, 2023.  

§50-1-9a. Magistrate court deputy clerks; duties; salary. 

(a) Whenever required by workload and upon the recommendation of the judge of the circuit 
court, or the chief judge of the circuit court if there is more than one judge of the circuit court, the 
Supreme Court of Appeals may provide by rule for the appointment of magistrate court deputy 
clerks. The magistrate court deputy clerks shall be appointed by the judge of the circuit court, or 
the chief judge of the circuit court if there is more than one judge of the circuit court, to serve at 
his or her will and pleasure under the immediate supervision of the magistrate court clerk. 

(b) Magistrate court deputy clerks shall have the duties, clerical or otherwise, as may be 
assigned by the magistrate court clerk and as may be prescribed by the rules of the Supreme 
Court of Appeals, the judge of the circuit court, or the chief judge of the circuit court, if there is 
more than one judge of the circuit court. Magistrate court deputy clerks may also exercise the 
power and perform the duties of the magistrate court clerk as may be delegated or assigned by 
the magistrate court clerk. 

(c) A magistrate court deputy clerk may not be an immediate family member of any magistrate, 
magistrate court clerk, magistrate assistant, or judge of the circuit court within the same county; 
may not have been convicted of a felony or any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; and must 
reside in this state. For purposes of this subsection, "immediate family member" means a mother, 
father, sister, brother, child, or spouse. 

(d) Magistrate court deputy clerks shall be paid at least twice per month by the state. The 
annual salary of all magistrate court deputy clerks is $46,932. Beginning July 1, 2023, the annual 
salary of a magistrate court deputy clerk shall be $49,232 shall be determined by a pay scale 
established by the Administrative Director of the Supreme Court. Magistrate court deputy clerks 
may receive any general salary increase granted to state employees whose salaries are not set 
by statute, expressed as a percentage increase or an across-the-board increase implemented 
after July 1, 2023. 

CHAPTER 51. COURTS AND THEIR OFFICERS. 

ARTICLE 2A. FAMILY COURTS. 

§51-2A-6. Compensation and expenses of family court judges and their staffs. 

(a) A family court judge is entitled to receive as compensation for his or her services an annual 
salary of $62,500: Provided, That beginning July 1, 2005, a family court judge is entitled to receive 
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as compensation for his or her services an annual salary of $82,500: Provided, however, That 
beginning July 1, 2011, the annual salary of a family court judge shall be $94,500: Provided 
further, That beginning July 1, 2020, the annual salary of a family court judge shall be $103,950. 

(b) The secretary-clerk of the family court judge is appointed by the family court judge and 
serves at his or her will and pleasure. The secretary-clerk of the family court shall be paid at least 
twice per month by the state. The annual salary of all secretary-clerks of the family court is 
$42,576. Beginning July 1, 2023, the annual salary of a family court secretary-clerk shall be 
$44,876 shall be determined by a pay scale established by the Administrative Director of the 
Supreme Court. Family court secretary-clerks may receive any general salary increase granted 
to state employees, whose salaries are not set by statute, expressed as a percentage increase 
or an across-the-board increase enacted after July 1, 2023. 

(c) The family court judge may employ not more than one family case coordinator who serves 
at his or her will and pleasure: Provided, That the Supreme Court of Appeals may authorize 
additional family case coordinators if the workload of a circuit's family court requires extra staff 
support. The annual salary of the family case coordinator of the family court judge shall be 
established by the Administrative Director of the Supreme Court of Appeals but may not exceed 
$54,576. Beginning July 1, 2023, the annual salary of a family court case coordinator shall not 
exceed $56,876 shall be determined by a pay scale established by the Administrative Director of 
the Supreme Court. Family court case coordinators may receive any general salary increase 
granted to state employees, whose salaries are not set by statute, expressed as a percentage 
increase or an across-the-board increase enacted after July 1, 2023. If more than one family case 
coordinator is approved by the Supreme Court of Appeals, then the chief family court judge of 
that circuit shall appoint, supervise, and assign job duties for any additional family case 
coordinator as needed for that circuit. 

(d) The sheriff or his or her designated deputy shall serve as a bailiff for a family court judge. 
The sheriff of each county shall serve or designate persons to serve so as to assure that a bailiff 
is available when a family court judge determines the same is necessary for the orderly and 
efficient conduct of the business of the family court. 

(e) Disbursement of salaries for family court judges and members of their staffs are made by 
or pursuant to the order of the Director of the Administrative Office of the Supreme Court of 
Appeals. 

(f) Family court judges and members of their staffs staff are allowed their actual and necessary 
expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. The expenses and compensation will be 
determined and paid by the Director of the Administrative Office of the Supreme Court of Appeals 
under such guidelines as he or she may prescribe, as approved by the Supreme Court of Appeals. 

(g) The Supreme Court of Appeals is authorized to create additional classifications of support 
staff that it deems necessary to adequately and efficiently staff the family courts of this state, 
including, but not limited to, receptionists, assistant case coordinators, and assistant secretary-
clerks. The Supreme Court of Appeals may determine the authority to hire and terminate, 
supervise, and assign job duties for these positions pursuant to its own employment rules, 
policies, and procedures. The annual salary of additional support staff authorized by this section 
shall not exceed the regular annual salary of a secretary-clerk and shall be paid by the state on 
the same basis established for secretary-clerks as provided in this section. 

CHAPTER 62. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE. 



2024] JOURNAL OF THE SENATE 129 
 

ARTICLE 1C. BAIL. 

§62-1C-1a. Pretrial release; types of release; conditions for release; considerations as to 
conditions of release. 

(a) Subject to the provisions of §62-1C-1 of this code when a person defendant charged with 
a violation or violations of the criminal laws of this state first appears before a judicial officer:  

(1) Except for good cause shown, a judicial officer shall release a person defendant charged 
with a misdemeanor an offense on his or her own recognizance at the initial appearance unless 
that person he or she is charged with:  

(A) A misdemeanor offense of actual violence or threat of violence against a person;  

(B) A misdemeanor offense where the victim was a minor, as defined in §61-8C-1 of this code; 

(C) A misdemeanor offense involving the use of a deadly weapon, as defined in §61-7-2 of 
this code; 

(D) A misdemeanor offense violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act involving a 
Schedule I or II narcotic drug or methamphetamine as set forth in chapter 60A of this code;  

(E) A misdemeanor offenses of sexual abuse;  

(F) A serious misdemeanor traffic offense set forth in §17C-5-1 or §17C-5-2 of this code; or 

(G) A misdemeanor offense involving auto tampering; petit larceny; or possession, transfer, 
or receiving of stolen property when the alleged value on of the property involved exceeds $250. 

(2) For the misdemeanor offenses specified listed in this subsection, and all other offenses 
which that carry a possible penalty of incarceration, the arrested person is entitled to a defendant 
shall be admitted to bail subject to the least restrictive condition or combination of conditions that 
the judicial officer determines reasonably necessary to assure that person will appear as required, 
and which that will not jeopardize the safety of the arrested person defendant, victims, witnesses, 
or other persons in the community or the safety and maintenance of evidence: Provided, That a 
magistrate may not release a defendant charged with a felony offense on his or her own 
recognizance at an initial appearance. Further conditions may include that the person charged 
defendant shall: 

(A) Not violate any criminal law of this state, another state, or the United States; 

(B) Remain in the custody of a person designated by the judicial officer who agrees to assume 
supervision and to report any violation of a release condition to the court, if the designated person 
is reasonably able to assure the judicial officer that the person defendant will appear as required 
and will not pose a danger to himself or herself or to the safety of any other person or the 
community; 

(C) Participate in home incarceration pursuant to §62-11B-1 et seq. of this code; 

(D) Participate in an electronic monitoring program if one is available where the person is 
charged or will reside; 
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(E) Maintain employment, or, if unemployed, actively seek employment; 

(F) Avoid all contact with an alleged victim of the alleged offense and with potential witnesses 
and other persons as directed by the court; 

(G) Refrain from the use or excessive use of alcohol, or any use of a narcotic drug or other 
controlled substance, as defined in §60A-1-1 et seq. of this code without a prescription from a 
licensed medical practitioner; or 

(H) Execute an agreement to forfeit, upon failing to appear as required, property of a sufficient 
unencumbered value, including money, as is reasonably necessary to assure the appearance of 
the person as required. The person charged shall provide the court with proof of ownership, the 
value of the property, and information regarding existing encumbrances of the property as, in the 
discretion of the judicial officer, is reasonable and necessary collateral to ensure the subsequent 
appearance of the person as required; 

(I) Post a cash bond, or execute a bail bond with solvent sureties who will execute an 
agreement to forfeit an amount reasonably necessary to assure appearance of the person as 
required. If other than an approved surety, the surety shall provide the court with information 
regarding the value of its assets and liabilities and the nature and extent of encumbrances against 
the surety's property. The surety shall have a net worth of sufficiently unencumbered value to pay 
the amount of the bail bond; or 

(J)(H) Satisfy any other condition that is reasonably necessary to assure the appearance of 
the person defendant as required and to assure the safety of the arrested person defendant, 
victims, witnesses, other persons in the community, or the safety and maintenance of evidence. 

(3) Proper The considerations in determining whether to release the arrested person 
defendant on an unsecured bond his or her own recognizance, fixing a reasonable amount of bail, 
or imposing other reasonable conditions of release are shall be: 

(A) The ability of the arrested person defendant to give bail; 

(B) The nature, number, and gravity of the offenses; 

(C) The potential penalty the arrested person defendant faces;  

(D) Whether the alleged acts were violent in nature; 

(E) The arrested person's defendant's prior record of criminal convictions and delinquency 
adjudications, if any; 

(F) The character, health, residence, and reputation of the arrested person defendant; 

(G) The character and strength of the evidence which has been presented to the judicial 
officer; 

(H) Whether the arrested person defendant is currently on probation, extended supervision, 
or parole; 
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(I) Whether the arrested person defendant is already on bail or subject to other release 
conditions in other pending cases; 

(J) Whether the arrested person defendant has been bound over for trial after a preliminary 
examination; 

(K) Whether the arrested person defendant has in the past forfeited bail or violated a condition 
of release or was ever a fugitive from justice; and 

(L) The policy against unnecessary incarceration of arrested persons defendants pending trial 
set forth in this section. 

(b) In all misdemeanors, cash bail may not exceed three times the maximum fine provided for 
the offense. If the person is charged with more than one misdemeanor, cash bail may not exceed 
three times the highest combined total maximum fine of the charged offenses for the offenses. 

(c) Notwithstanding any provisions of this article to the contrary, whenever a defendant person 
not subject to the provisions of §62-1C-1 of this code not released on his or her own recognizance 
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section remains incarcerated after his or her initial appearance, 
relating to a misdemeanor, due to the inability to meet the requirements of a secured bond,a 
magistrate or judge shall hold a hearing within five days of setting the initial bail to determine if 
there is a condition or combination of conditions which can meet the considerations set forth in 
§62-1C-1a(a)(2) of this code.  

(d) A judicial officer may upon notice and hearing modify the conditions of release at any time 
by imposing additional or different conditions. 

(e) A prosecuting attorney and defense counsel, unless expressly waived by the defendant, 
shall appear at all hearings in which bail or bond conditions condition is or are at issue other than 
the proceeding at which the conditions of release are initially set. 

(f) No A judicial officer may not recommend the services of a surety who is his or her relative 
as that term is defined in §6B-1-3 of this code. 

§62-1C-2. Bail defined; form selection of form by defendant; receipts; right of judicial 
officer to impose conditions on release. 

(a) Bail is the pretrial release of a defendant from custody upon terms and conditions specified 
by order of an appropriate judicial officer. Bail shall be set at a monetary amount determined by 
a judicial officer to provide adequate security for the appearance of a defendant to answer to a 
specific criminal charge before any court or magistrate at a specific time or at any time to which 
the case may be continued.  

(b) It may take any Except as provided in §62-1C-2(e), a defendant is entitled to and may 
select one of the following forms for making bail: 

(a) The (1) By the deposit by the defendant or by some other person for him or her of cash, in 
a manner consistent with rules promulgated by the Supreme Court of Appeals;  

(2) By executing an agreement to forfeit, upon failing to appear as required, real or personal 
property of a sufficient unencumbered value, including money, as is reasonably necessary to 
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assure the appearance of the person as required which shall be known as a recognizance. The 
defendant or person or persons owning the property shall provide the court with proof of 
ownership, the value of the property, and information regarding existing encumbrances of the 
property as, in the discretion of the judicial officer, is reasonable and necessary collateral to 
ensure the subsequent appearance of the defendant as ordered; or 

(3) By use of a bail bondsman, as defined in §51-10A-1 of this code, who shall post a cash 
bond or execute a bail bond with a solvent surety or sureties who will execute an agreement to 
forfeit an amount reasonably necessary to assure appearance of the defendant as required. If 
other than an approved surety is used, the surety shall provide the judicial officer with information 
regarding the value of its assets and liabilities and the nature and extent of encumbrances against 
the surety's property. The surety shall have a net worth of sufficiently unencumbered value to pay 
the amount of the bail bond. 

(b) The written undertaking by one or more persons to forfeit a sum of money equal to the 
amount of the bail if the defendant is in default for appearance, which shall be known as a 
recognizance; 

(c) Such other form as the judge of the court that will have jurisdiction to try the offense may 
determine. 

(c) All bail shall be received by the clerk of the court, or by the magistrate and, except in case 
of recognizance, receipts shall be given therefor by him to the surety. 

(d) Nothing in this article shall be construed as limiting a circuit court at any stage of a 
proceeding from imposing any condition or combination of conditions that he or she determines 
are reasonably necessary to assure that the defendant will appear as required, and that will not 
jeopardize the safety of the defendant, victims, witnesses, or other persons in the community or 
the safety and maintenance of evidence pursuant to the provisions of §62-1C-1a of this code, 
including, but not limited to, release of a defendant on his or her own recognizance. 

(e) A judicial officer, in his or her discretion, may set a cash only bail, in a manner consistent 
with rules promulgated by the Supreme Court of Appeals for the following offenses:  

(1) Violations of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act for manufacturing, delivering, or 
possessing with the intent to deliver a Schedule I or II substance as set forth in chapter 60A of 
this code; 

(2) All offenses included in §61-2-1 et seq. of this code; 

(3) All offenses included in §61-8B-1 et seq. of this code;  

(4) All offenses included in §61-8C-1 et seq. of this code; or  

(5) All offenses included in §61-8D-1 et seq. of this code. 

Senator Trump requested a ruling from the Chair as to whether he should be excused from 
voting under Rule 43 of the Rules of the Senate, as he is a candidate running for the office of 
Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia. 
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The Chair replied that Senator Trump should be excused from voting on any matter pertaining 
to the bill and, without objection, Senator Trump was excused from voting on any matter pertaining 
to the bill. 

The question being on the adoption of the Government Organization committee amendment 
to the bill, the same was put and prevailed. 

The bill (Eng. H. B. 5257), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5338, Relating to Safe Harbor for Cybersecurity Programs. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, and by unanimous consent, the bill was advanced to third 
reading with the unreported Finance committee amendment pending and the right for further 
amendments to be considered on that reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5405, Providing additional professional development and 
support to West Virginia educators through teacher and leader induction and professional growth. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on Education, was reported by the 
Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

CHAPTER 18. EDUCATION.  

ARTICLE 9A. PUBLIC SCHOOL SUPPORT. 

§18-9A-10. Foundation allowance to improve instructional programs, instructional 
technology, and teacher and leader induction and professional growth. 

(a) The total allowance to improve instructional programs and instructional technology is the 
sum of the following: 

(1) For instructional improvement, in accordance with county and school electronic strategic 
improvement plans required by §18-2E-5 of this code, an amount equal to 10 percent of the 
increase in the local share amount for the next school year shall be added to the amount of the 
appropriation for this purpose for the immediately preceding school year. The sum of these 
amounts shall be allocated to the counties as follows: 

(A) One hundred fifty thousand dollars shall be allocated to each county; and 

(B) Allocation to the counties of the remainder of these funds shall be made proportional to 
the average of each county's average daily attendance for the preceding year and the county's 
second month net enrollment. 

Moneys allocated by this subdivision shall be used to improve instructional programs 
according to the county and school strategic improvement plans required by §18-2E-5 of this code 
and approved by the state board.  
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Up to 50 percent of this allocation for the improvement of instructional programs may be used 
to employ professional educators and service personnel in the county. Prior to the use of any 
funds from this subdivision for personnel costs, the county board must receive authorization from 
the state superintendent. The state superintendent shall require the county board to demonstrate: 
(1) The need for the allocation; (2) efficiency and fiscal responsibility in staffing; (3) sharing of 
services with adjoining counties in the use of the total local district board budget; and (4) 
employment of technology integration specialists to meet the needs for implementation of the 
West Virginia Strategic Technology Learning Plan. County boards shall make application for the 
use of funds for personnel for the next fiscal year by May 1 of each year. On or before June 1, 
the state superintendent shall review all applications and notify applying county boards of the 
approval or disapproval of the use of funds for personnel during the fiscal year appropriate. The 
state superintendent shall require the county board to demonstrate the need for an allocation for 
personnel based upon the county's inability to meet the requirements of state law or state board 
policy. 

The funds available for personnel under this subdivision may not be used to increase the total 
number of professional noninstructional personnel in the central office beyond four.  

The plan shall be made available for distribution to the public at the office of each affected 
county board; plus 

(2) For the purposes of improving instructional technology, an amount equal to 20 percent of 
the increase in the local share amount for the next school year shall be added to the amount of 
the appropriation for this purpose for the immediately preceding school year. The sum of these 
amounts shall be allocated to the counties as follows: 

(A) Thirty thousand dollars shall be allocated to each county; and 

(B) Allocation to the counties of the remainder of these funds shall be made proportional to 
the average of each county's average daily attendance for the preceding year and the county's 
second month net enrollment. 

Moneys allocated by this subdivision shall be used to improve instructional technology 
programs according to the county board's strategic technology learning plan.  

This allocation for the improvement of instructional technology programs may also be used 
for the employment of technology system specialists essential for the technology systems of the 
schools of the county to be fully functional and readily available when needed by classroom 
teachers. The amount of this allocation used for the employment of technology system specialists 
shall be included and justified in the county board's strategic technology learning plan; plus 

(3) One percent of the state average per pupil state aid multiplied by the number of students 
enrolled in dual credit, advanced placement, and international baccalaureate courses, as defined 
by the state board, distributed to the counties proportionate to enrollment in these courses in each 
county; plus 

(4) For the purpose of supporting county-level implementation of the comprehensive systems 
for teacher and leader induction and professional growth pursuant to §18A-3C-3 of this code, an 
amount equal to 20 percent of the increase in the local share amount for the next school year 
shall be added to the amount of the appropriation for this purpose for the immediately preceding 
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school year. The sum of these amounts shall be allocated to the counties in a manner established 
by the state board which considers the following factors: 

(A) The number of full-time-equivalent teachers employed by the county with zero years of 
experience;  

(B) The number of full-time-equivalent teachers employed by the county who are less than 
fully certified for the teaching position in which they are employed; 

(B) (C) The total number of full-time-equivalent teachers employed by the county with one 
year of experience, with two years of experience, and with three years of experience; 

(C) (D) The number of full-time-equivalent principals, assistant principals, and vocational 
administrators employed by the county who are in their first or second year of employment as a 
principal, assistant principal, or vocational administrator; 

(D) (E) The number of full-time-equivalent principals, assistant principals, and vocational 
administrators employed by the county who are in their first year in an assignment at a school 
with a programmatic level in which they have not previously served as a principal, assistant 
principal, or vocational administrator; and 

(E) (F) Needs identified in the strategic plans for continuous improvement of schools and 
school systems including those identified through the performance evaluations of professional 
personnel. 

Notwithstanding any provision of this subsection to the contrary, no county may receive an 
allocation for the purposes of this subdivision which is less than the county's total 2016-2017 
allocation from the Teacher Mentor and Principals Mentorship appropriations to the Department 
of Education. Moneys allocated by this subdivision shall be used for implementation of the 
comprehensive systems for teacher and leader induction and professional growth pursuant to 
§18A-3C-3 of this code. Notwithstanding any provision of this subsection to the contrary, for each 
of the five school years beginning with the school year 2020 – 2021 and ending after the school 
year 2024 – 2025, from funds to be allocated under this subdivision, $100,000 shall be retained 
by the Department of Education to assist county boards with the design and implementation of a 
teacher leader framework to accomplish the teacher induction and professional growth aspects 
of their comprehensive systems of support for teacher and leader induction and professional 
growth pursuant to §18A-3C-3 of this code. The Department of Education may also retain an 
additional amount of funds to be allocated under this subdivision beginning with the school year 
2024 – 2025, not exceeding $15,000,000, to accommodate the participation by county school 
systems in regional professional learning cadres or teacher leadership networks established or 
supported by the Department of Education, to expand regional professional learning cadres or 
teacher leadership networks designed to support the full implementation of the Third Grade 
Success Act provided in §18-2E-10 of this code, to implement the Department of Education's 
academic initiatives, and to assist teachers who are less than fully certified for the teaching 
position in which they are employed as further provided in §18A-3C-3 of this code. Up to 
$2,000,000 of the $15,000,000 shall be distributed to county boards for the purpose of expanding 
the school districts' ability to contract with organizations that facilitate the school districts' 
participation in regional professional learning cadres or teacher leadership networks designed to 
support math and science improvement or to support teachers who are less than fully certified for 
the teaching position in which they are employed as further provided in §18A-3C-3 of this code. 
The $2,000,000 shall be distributed to the county boards under a grant program to be established 
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by the state board by rule pursuant to §29A-3B-1 et seq. of this code. The rule shall include at 
least the following: 

(A) A requirement and procedures for county boards to submit applications for a grant; 

(B) Criteria on which awards of the grants will be based on; and 

(C) A requirement for an external evaluation for any program funded by a grant. 

(b) Notwithstanding the restrictions on the use of funds pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2), 
subsection (a) of this section, a county board may: 

(1) Utilize up to 25 percent of the allocation for the improvement of instructional programs in 
any school year for school facility and equipment repair, maintenance, and improvement or 
replacement and other current expense priorities and for emergency purposes. The amount of 
this allocation used for any of these purposes shall be included and justified in the county and 
school strategic improvement plans or amendments thereto; and 

(2) Utilize up to 50 percent of the allocation for improving instructional technology in any school 
year for school facility and equipment repair, maintenance, and improvement or replacement and 
other current expense priorities and for emergency purposes. The amount of this allocation used 
for any of these purposes shall be included and justified in the county board's strategic technology 
learning plan or amendments thereto. 

CHAPTER 18A. SCHOOL PERSONNEL. 

ARTICLE 3C. IMPROVING TEACHING AND LEARNING. 

§18A-3C-3. Comprehensive system for teacher and leader induction and professional 
growth. 

(a) The intent of the Legislature is to allow for local-level implementation of comprehensive 
systems of support for building professional practice consistent with sound educational practices 
and resources available. In this regard, it is the intent of the Legislature that the comprehensive 
systems of support shall incorporate support for improved professional performance that begins 
with meaningful assistance for beginning teachers and leaders and also is targeted on 
deficiencies identified through the educator personnel evaluation process and other professional 
development needs identified in the strategic plans for continuous improvement of schools and 
school systems. Further, because of significant variability among the counties, not only in the size 
of their teaching force, distribution of facilities and available resources, but also because of their 
varying needs, the Legislature intends for the implementation of this section to be accomplished 
in a manner that provides adequate flexibility to the counties to design and implement a 
comprehensive system of support for improving professional performance that best achieves the 
goals of this section within the county. Finally, because of the critical importance of ensuring that 
all teachers perform at the accomplished level or higher in the delivery of instruction that at least 
meets the West Virginia Professional Teaching Standards and because achieving this objective 
at a minimum entails providing assistance to address the needs as indicated by the data informed 
results of annual performance evaluations, including the self-assessed needs of the teachers 
themselves, the Legislature expects the highest priority for county and state professional 
development will be on meeting these needs and that the comprehensive systems of support for 
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improving professional practice will reflect substantial redirection of existing professional 
development resources toward this highest priority. 

(b) Each county board shall ensure that the results on the comprehensive statewide student 
assessment for the students taught by each teacher are provided to that teacher so that the 
teacher can see the performance of the students he or she taught the previous school year. 

(b) (c) On or before July 1, 2018, the state board shall publish guidelines on the design and 
implementation of a county-level comprehensive system of support for improving professional 
practice. The purpose of the guidelines is to assist the county board with the design and 
implementation of a system that best achieves the goals of this section within the county. The 
guidelines may include examples of best practices and resources available to county boards to 
assist them with the design and implementation of a comprehensive system of support and may 
include guidelines for the design and implementation of a teacher leader framework committed to 
improving the quality of instruction. 

(c) (d) Effective for the school year beginning July 1, 2018, and thereafter, a county board is 
not eligible to receive state funding appropriated for the purposes of this section or any other 
provision of law related to beginning teacher and principal internships and mentor teachers and 
principals unless it has adopted a plan for implementation of a comprehensive system of support 
for improving professional practice, the plan has been verified by the state board as meeting the 
requirements of this section and the county is implementing the plan. The plan shall address the 
following: 

(1) The manner in which the county will provide the strong school-based support and 
supervision that will assist beginning teachers in developing instructional and management 
strategies, procedural and policy expertise, and other professional practices they need to be 
successful in the classroom and perform at the accomplished level. Nothing in this subdivision 
prohibits a school or school system that was granted an exception or waiver from §18A-3-2c of 
this code prior to the effective date of this section from continuing implementation of the program 
in accordance with the exception or waiver; 

(2) The manner in which the county will provide the strong support and supervision necessary 
to assist teachers employed by the county who are less than fully certified for the teaching position 
in which they are employed that will include an emphasis on grade-level content, standards driven 
instruction, research-based instructional strategies, and mentoring support consistent with the 
West Virginia Professional Teaching Standards.  

(2) (3) The manner in which the county will provide the strong support and supervision that 
will assist beginning principals in developing instructional leadership, supervisory and 
management strategies, procedural and policy expertise, and other professional practices they 
need to be successful in leading continuous school improvement and performing at the 
accomplished level or above; 

(3) (4) The manner in which the county in cooperation with the teacher preparation programs 
in this state will provide strong school-based support and assistance necessary to make student 
and resident teaching a productive learning experience; 

(4) (5) The manner in which the county will use the data from the educator performance 
evaluation system to serve as the basis for providing professional development specifically 
targeted on the area or areas identified through the evaluation process as needing improvement. 
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If possible, this targeted professional development should be delivered at the school site using 
collaborative processes, mentoring or coaching or other approaches that maximize use of the 
instructional setting; 

(5) (6) The manner in which the county will use the data from the educator performance 
evaluation system to serve as the basis for establishing priorities for the provision of county-level 
professional development when aggregate evaluation data from the county's schools indicates 
an area or areas of needed improvement; 

(6) (7) If a county uses master teachers, mentors, academic coaches, or any other approaches 
using individual employees to provide support, supervision, or other professional development or 
training to other employees for the purpose of improving their professional practice, the manner 
in which the county will select each of these individual employees based upon demonstrated 
superior performance and competence as well as the manner in which the county will coordinate 
support for these employees. If the duties of the position are to provide mentoring to an individual 
teacher at only one school, then priority shall be given to applicants employed at the school at 
which those duties will be performed; 

(7) (8) The manner in which the county will use local resources available, including, but not 
limited to, funds for professional development and academic coaches, to focus on the priority 
professional development goals of this section; 

(8) (9) The manner in which the county will adjust its scheduling, use of substitutes, 
collaborative planning time, calendar, or other measures as may be necessary to provide 
sufficient time for professional personnel to accomplish the goals of this section as set forth in the 
county's plan; and 

(9) (10) The manner in which the county will monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of 
implementation and outcomes of the county system of support for improving professional practice. 

(d) (e) Effective the school year beginning July 1, 2020, and thereafter, appropriations for 
supporting county-level implementation of the comprehensive systems of support for teacher and 
leader induction and professional growth pursuant to §18-9A-10 of this code and any new 
appropriation which may be made for the purposes of this section shall be expended by county 
boards only to accomplish the activities as set forth in their county plan pursuant to this section. 
Effective the school year beginning July 1, 2020, and thereafter, any employee service or 
employment as a mentor is not subject to the provisions of this code governing extra duty 
contracts. A county board may adopt a teacher leader framework designed to accomplish the 
purposes of this section related to teacher induction and professional growth and, if the county 
board adopts a county salary supplement pursuant to §18A-4-5a of this code to provide additional 
compensation to teachers who, in addition to teaching duties, are assigned other duties for new 
teacher induction, improving professional practice and furthering professional growth among 
teachers as set forth in the county's comprehensive system of support, then appropriations made 
for supporting the purposes of this section may be applied to that salary supplement and other 
associated costs which may include a reduction in the teaching load of the teacher leader: 
Provided, That effective July 1, 2024, and thereafter, any additional amount paid to a teacher 
pursuant to this section shall only be for the duration of any service provided under this section 
and not be considered salary for the purposes of the computation of an annuity under §18-7A-26 
of this code. 
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(e) (f) The Department of Education shall assist county boards with the design and 
implementation of a teacher leader framework to accomplish the teacher induction and 
professional growth aspects of their comprehensive systems of support pursuant to this section. 
The goals of a teacher leader framework are to achieve: 

(1) Increased student achievement and growth through the development of a shared 
leadership structure at the school level; 

(2) Broader dissemination and use of effective teacher strategies through an increase in 
teacher collaboration; and 

(3) Stronger and more positive school and district culture through the development and 
retention of highly effective teachers. 

(f) (g) The Department of Education may form networks among schools or school systems, or 
both, of comparable size and interests for the design and implementation of teacher leader 
frameworks that are shall be: 

(A) Driven by varying district and school needs; 

(B) Related to existing state and district initiatives; 

(C) Designed to improve student achievement and growth; and 

(D) Designed to fit district size, current culture for collaboration, and funding capacity. 

(g) (h) A teacher leader framework adopted by a county board must: 

(1) Create specific roles and responsibilities, eligibility requirements, and compensation plans 
for each teacher leader position, and clearly communicate these to teacher leaders, 
administrators, and other stakeholders; 

(2) Provide regular, targeted professional learning opportunities for teacher leaders, and 
encourage redelivery within their respective schools; 

(3) Provide time and opportunities for teacher leaders to collaborate with administrators, 
curriculum staff, other teacher leaders, and teachers; 

(4) Monitor and evaluate the effectiveness of the teacher leader program through surveys 
from school administrators and school faculty; and 

(5) Include teacher leaders in the school improvement planning process;  

(h) The Legislative Oversight Commission on Education Accountability shall review the 
progress of the implementation of the comprehensive systems of support for teacher and leader 
induction and professional growth and may make any recommendations it considers necessary 
to the Legislature during the next regular legislative session. 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5405), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5514, Enhancing training requirements for county boards of 
education members. 



140 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

The following amendment to the bill, from the Committee on Education, was reported by the 
Clerk and adopted: 

On page 7, section 4, lines 28 through 33, by striking out the proviso and inserting in lieu 
thereof the following: Provided, however, That a county board member who is in default of a 
training requirement established in §18-5-1a of this code shall not, until after the default is cured, 
receive compensation for any meeting held during the period of default. For purposes of 
compensation, a member in default of a training requirement may cure the default by completing 
the unfulfilled training requirements within three months of the default. Upon curing the default, 
the member shall receive compensation, without interest, for the meetings held during the period 
of default: Provided, further, That up to five paid meetings may be provided when planning for 
activities such as running an election for excess levy, construction bond hearings, school closure 
hearings, personnel hearings, student expulsion hearings, and in the case of a disaster: And 
provided further, That members shall be paid for up to two trainings.  

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5514), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. House Bill 5528, Relating to the renewable energy facilities program. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5544, Relating to requiring certain reporting from the 
Mountaineer Trail Network Authority each year. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, and by unanimous consent, the bill was advanced to third 
reading with the right for amendments to be considered on that reading. 

Eng. House Bill 5548, Relating to modifying requirements imposed on any owner, operator, 
or manager within a tourism development project. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, and by unanimous consent, the bill was advanced to third 
reading with the unreported Economic Development committee amendment pending and the right 
for further amendments to be considered on that reading. 

Eng. House Bill 5594, Exempting the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, West 
Virginia University and Marshall University from contracts, agreements, or memorandums of 
understanding with spending units in state government with exceptions. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time and ordered to third 
reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5604, Relating to procurement by state spending units. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 
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On motion of Senator Woodrum, the following amendment to the bill was reported by the Clerk 
and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

CHAPTER 5A. DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION. 

ARTICLE 3. PURCHASING DIVISION. 

§5A-3-10. Competitive bids; publication of solicitations for sealed bids; purchase of 
products of nonprofit workshops; employee to assist in dealings with nonprofit 
workshops; continuing procurements over $1 million. 

(a) A purchase of and contract for commodities, printing, and services shall be based on 
competitive bids, except when another method of procurement is determined to be in the best 
interest of the State. 

(b) The director shall solicit, on behalf of spending units, sealed bids for the purchase of 
commodities and printing which is estimated to exceed $25,000. The director may delegate the 
procurement of commodities, services, or printing estimated to be $25,000 or less to the spending 
unit. The director may set a higher or lower delegated procurement limit for a particular spending 
unit if the director determines that such action would be in the best interest of the spending unit 
and the State. In no event may the director authorize more than $100,000 of delegated 
procurement authority to a spending unit. 

(c) Bids for the purchase of technical infrastructure. Notwithstanding the provisions of 
subsection (b) of this section to the contrary, the director shall solicit, on behalf of spending units, 
sealed bids for the purchase of technical infrastructure as defined in §5A-6-2 of this code which 
is estimated to exceed $250,000. The director shall delegate the procurement of technical 
infrastructure estimated to be $250,000 or less to the spending unit. The director may set a higher 
or lower delegated procurement limit for a particular spending unit for the purchase of technical 
infrastructure if the director determines that such action would be in the best interest of the 
spending unit and the State.  

(d) Spending units shall not make an individual purchase in excess of the delegated 
procurement limit established in subsection (b) subsections (b) or (c) of this section, issue a series 
of requisitions for the same or similar commodity or service or divide or plan procurements with 
the intention to circumvent the delegated procurement limit established in subsection (b) 
subsections (b) or (c) of this section, or otherwise avoid the use of sealed bids. Any spending unit 
that discovers it has awarded multiple contracts for the same or similar commodity or service to 
an individual vendor over any 12-month period shall file copies of all contracts awarded or orders 
placed for the commodity, service, or printing in question within the 12 preceding months with the 
director upon exceeding the delegated limit limits, along with a statement explaining how either 
the multiple contract awards or orders do not circumvent the delegated procurement limit limits, 
or how the contracts or orders were not intended to circumvent the delegated limit limits. If the 
spending unit does not report to the director within a reasonable period, the director shall contact 
the spending unit to request such statement and may suspend the purchasing authority of the 
spending unit until the spending unit complies with the reporting requirement of this subsection, 
as determined appropriate. The director may conduct a review of any spending unit to ensure 
compliance with this subsection. Following a review, in consultation with the relevant spending 
unit, the director shall complete a report summarizing his or her findings and forward the report to 
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the spending unit. In addition, the director shall report to the Joint Committee on Government and 
Finance on January 1 and July 1 of each year the spending units which have reported under this 
subsection and the findings of the director. 

(d) (e) The director may permit bids by electronic transmission to be accepted in lieu of sealed 
bids. 

(e) (f) Bids shall be solicited by public notice. The notice may be published by any advertising 
medium the director considers advisable. The director may also solicit sealed bids by sending 
requests by mail or electronic transmission to prospective vendors. 

(f) (g) (1) The director may, without competitive bidding, purchase commodities and services 
produced and offered for sale by nonprofit workshops, as defined in §5A-1-1 of this code, which 
are located in this state: Provided, That the commodities and services shall be of a fair market 
price and of like quality comparable to other commodities and services otherwise available as 
determined by the director.  

(2) To encourage contracts for commodities and services with nonprofit workshops, the 
director shall employ a person whose responsibilities in addition to other duties are to identify all 
commodities and services available for purchase from nonprofit workshops, to evaluate the need 
of the state for commodities and services to coordinate the various nonprofit workshops in their 
production efforts, and to make available to the workshops information about available 
opportunities within state government for purchase of commodities or services which might be 
produced and sold by such workshops. Funds to employ such a person shall be included annually 
in the budget. 

(g) (h) For all commodities and services in an amount exceeding $1 million, if the procurement 
of the commodity or service is continuing in nature, 12 months prior to the expiration of the 
contract or final renewal option, whichever is later, the spending unit shall coordinate with the 
Purchasing Division on a new procurement for such commodity or service under the requirements 
of this article. This procurement shall be awarded or terminated no later than 180 days after the 
procurement specifications have been finally approved by the Purchasing Division.  

§5A-3-10f. Use of cooperative contracts. 

Any state spending unit may make a written request to the director to procure technical 
infrastructure pursuant to a competitively procured agreement. The director shall respond to the 
request within 30 days of receipt of the request. If the director does not respond within 30 days of 
receipt of the request, the director is deemed to have approved the request and the spending unit 
may procure technical infrastructure pursuant to the competitively procured agreement. 

ARTICLE 6. OFFICE OF TECHNOLOGY. 

§5A-6-2. Definitions. 

As used in this article: 

"Information systems" means a discrete set of information resources organized for the 
collection, processing, maintenance, use, sharing, dissemination, or disposition of information. 
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"Information technology" means any equipment or interconnected system or subsystem of 
equipment that is used in the automatic acquisition, storage, manipulation, management, 
movement, control, display, switching, interchange, transmission, or reception of data or 
information. 

"Information technology marketplace portal" or "IT marketplace portal" means a structured 
digital catalog that customers can use to find, buy, deploy, and manage third-party information 
technology products and services whose pricing and discount levels are set by the third-party 
providers.  

"Technology services" means professional services designed to provide functions, 
maintenance, and support of information technology devices, or services including, but not limited 
to, computer systems application development and maintenance; systems integration and 
interoperability; operating systems maintenance and design; computer systems programming; 
computer systems software support; planning and security relating to information technology 
devices; data management consultation; information technology education and consulting; 
information technology planning and standards; establishment of local area network and 
workstation management standards; and cloud computing. 

"Telecommunications" means the preparation, transmission, communication, or related 
processing of information by electrical, electromagnetic, electromechanical, electro-optical, or 
electronic means. 

"Chief Information Officer" means the person holding the position created in §5A-6-3 of this 
code and vested with authority to oversee state spending units in planning and coordinating 
information systems that serve the effectiveness and efficiency of the state and individual state 
spending units, and further the overall management goals and purposes of government: Provided, 
That reference to "Chief Technology Officer" in other articles of this code shall mean "Chief 
Information Officer". 

"Technical infrastructure" means all information systems, information technology, information 
technology equipment, telecommunications, and technology services as defined in this section. 

"Technology project" means a project where technology is a significant component and is 
either valued at $250,000 or more, or will involve sensitive or restricted data. 

"Steering committee" means an internal agency oversight committee established jointly by the 
Chief Information Officer and the agency proposing the project, which shall include 
representatives from the Office of Technology and at least one representative from the agency 
proposing the project. 

"Technology portfolio" means a strategic management process documenting relationships 
between agency missions and information technology and telecommunications investments. 

§5A-6-4f. Information technology marketplace portal. 

 (a) On or before September 1, 2024, the Secretary of Administration shall approve at least 
two IT marketplace portals for use by state spending units. Any IT marketplace approved by the 
Secretary must meet the following minimum qualifications: (1) Be as equally accessible to West 
Virginia-based third-party solutions as they are to national solutions; (2) offer real-time transaction 
capability; (3) offer third-party solutions in addition to a providers' own products; (4) have the 
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capability to apply negotiated contracts; (5) have the capability to search and filter by compliance 
frameworks; (6) have capability to view product security compliance in real-time; and (7) offer 
diverse solution types. Diverse solution types include, but are not limited to software, software as 
a service, machine learning algorithms, professional services, large data sets, and virtual images.  

(b) The Chief Information Officer shall determine if the procurement of technical infrastructure 
through an IT marketplace portal is advantageous for the State of West Virginia. The Chief 
Information Officer may utilize best value procurement when determining if using an IT 
marketplace portal is most advantageous for the State. 

(c) Upon the approval of an IT marketplace portal by the Secretary, a state spending unit may 
use the IT marketplace to procure technical infrastructure. 

CHAPTER 11. TAXATION. 

ARTICLE 8. LEVIES. 

§11-8-26. Unlawful expenditures by local fiscal body. 

(a) Except as provided in §11-8-14b, §11-8-25a, and §11-8-26a of this code, or subsection 
(b) of this section, a local fiscal body shall may not expend money or incur obligations: 

(1) In an unauthorized manner; 

(2) For an unauthorized purpose; 

(3) In excess of the amount allocated to the fund in the levy order; or 

(4) In excess of the funds available for current expenses. 

(b) Local fiscal bodies may not obligate funds beyond the current fiscal year except for 
contracts executed to procure technology licensing service agreements. Local fiscal bodies shall 
justify entering into multi-year technology license service agreements by maintaining 
documentation of material fiscal savings to the body. 

(b) (c) Notwithstanding the foregoing and any other provision of law to the contrary, a local 
fiscal body or its duly authorized officials may not be penalized for a casual deficit which does not 
exceed its approved levy estimate by more than three percent: Provided, That such casual deficit 
is satisfied in the levy estimate for the succeeding fiscal year: Provided, however, That in 
calculating a deficit for purposes of this section, account shall not be taken of any amount for 
which the local fiscal body may be liable for the unfunded actuarial accrued liability of the West 
Virginia Retiree Health Benefit Trust Fund or any amount allocated to the local fiscal body as an 
employer annual required contribution that exceeds the minimum annual employer payment 
component of the contribution, all as provided under §5-16D-1 et seq. of this code. 

The bill (Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5604), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

Eng. House Joint Resolution 21, Amending the Constitution to prohibit persons not United 
States citizens from voting in any election held within this state. 

On second reading, coming up in regular order, was read a second time. 
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The following amendment to the resolution, from the Committee on the Judiciary, was reported 
by the Clerk and adopted: 

By striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 

That the question of ratification or rejection of an amendment to the Constitution of the State 
of West Virginia be submitted to the voters of the state at the next general election to be held in 
the year 2024, which proposed amendment is that Section 1, Article IV thereof, be amended, to 
read as follows: 

ARTICLE IV. ELECTION AND OFFICERS. 

4-1. Election and officers.  

The citizens of the state shall be entitled to vote at all elections held within the counties in 
which they respectively reside; but no person who is a minor, or who has been declared mentally 
incompetent by a court of competent jurisdiction, or who is under conviction of treason, felony, or 
bribery in an election, or who has not been a resident of the state and of the county in which he 
or she offers to vote for 30 days next preceding such offer shall be permitted to vote while such 
disability continues; but no person in the military, naval, or marine service of the United States 
shall be deemed a resident of this state by reason of being stationed therein, nor shall any person 
who is not a citizen of the United States be entitled to vote at any election held within this state.  

Resolved further, That in accordance with the provisions of §3-11-1 et seq. of the Code of 
West Virginia, 1931, as amended, such amendment is hereby numbered "Amendment 1" and 
designated as the "Citizens Voting Amendment" and the purpose of the proposed amendment is 
summarized as follows: "The purpose of this amendment is to prohibit persons who are not 
citizens of the United States from voting in West Virginia elections."  

The resolution (Eng. H. J. R. 21), as amended, was then ordered to third reading. 

The Senate proceeded to the tenth order of business. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4753, Relating to providing health insurance coverage 
concerning biomarker testing. 

On first reading, coming up in regular order, was read a first time and ordered to second 
reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4975, Relating to establishing a foster parent information 
system. 

On first reading, coming up in regular order, was read a first time and ordered to second 
reading. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5609, Relating to confidentiality of child care records and the 
Foster Care Ombudsman. 

On first reading, coming up in regular order, was read a first time and ordered to second 
reading. 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for House Joint Resolution 28, Protection from medically-assisted suicide 
or euthanasia in West Virginia Amendment. 

On first reading, coming up in regular order, was read a first time and ordered to second 
reading. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the Senate returned to 
the third order of business. 

Executive Communications 

The Clerk presented the following communications from His Excellency, the Governor, 
regarding bills approved by him: 



2024] JOURNAL OF THE SENATE 147 
 



148 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE [March 6 

 



2024] JOURNAL OF THE SENATE 149 
 

The Senate again proceeded to the fourth order of business. 

Senator Grady, from the Committee on Education, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Education has had under consideration 

Senate Concurrent Resolution 36 (originating in the Committee on Education)—Requesting 
a study of School Building Authority including its funding sources, the types of projects it funds, 
its distributions by county, its distributions by type of project, and its methods for evaluating 
projects for funding. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it be adopted. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Amy N. Grady, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the resolution (S. C. R. 
36) contained in the foregoing report from the Committee on Education was then referred to the 
Committee on Rules. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4110, Authorizing certain miscellaneous agencies and boards 
to promulgate legislative rules. 

And has amended same. 

Now on second reading, having been read a first time and rereferred to the Committee on the 
Judiciary on March 5, 2024; 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4320, Relating to access for minor children's medical records. 

With amendments from the Committee on Health and Human Resources pending; 
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And reports the same back without recommendation as to passage; but with the 
recommendation that it first be rereferred to the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4320) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, ordered to second reading, and rereferred to the 
Committee on the Judiciary. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4399, Creating the equitable right to expungement. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4399) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. House Bill 4700, Banning certain persons from sport wagering activities. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. H. B. 4700) 
contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken up for immediate 
consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 
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Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4786, Delivery Network Company (DNC) Insurance Model 
Act. 

With amendments from the Committee on Banking and Insurance pending; 

And has also amended the same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass as amended by the 
Committee on Banking and Insurance to which the bill was first referred; and as last amended by 
the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4786) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Woodrum, from the Committee on Government Organization, submitted the following 
report, which was received: 

Your Committee on Government Organization has had under consideration 

Eng. House Bill 4793, Relating to moonshine. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Jack David Woodrum, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. H. B. 4793) 
contained in the preceding report from the Committee on Government Organization was taken up 
for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Grady, from the Committee on Education, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Education has had under consideration 

Eng. House Bill 4863, Patriotic Access to Students in Schools Act. 
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And has amended same. 

Eng. House Bill 5252, Requiring certain minimum experience for the director or coordinator 
of services class title involving school transportation. 

And has amended same. 

And, 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5553, To provide and change graduation requirements and 
change duties relating to academic content standards. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that they each do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Amy N. Grady, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bills (Eng. H. B. 
4863, Eng. H. B. 5252, and Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5553) contained in the preceding report 
from the Committee on Education were each taken up for immediate consideration, read a first 
time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Tarr, from the Committee on Finance, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Finance has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4883, Relating to increasing annual salaries of certain 
employees of the state. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Eric J. Tarr, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4883) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on Finance was taken up 
for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4911, Relating to the sale of raw milk. 

With amendments from the Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources pending; 

And has also amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass as last amended by the 
Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4911) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4951, To facilitate the interstate practice of School 
Psychology in educational or school settings. 

And reports the same back without recommendation as to passage; but with the 
recommendation that it first be rereferred to the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4951) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, ordered to second reading, and rereferred to the 
Committee on the Judiciary. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 4999, Creating exception to spousal privilege. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 
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At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 4999) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5084, Require retailers to verify identification and age upon 
purchase of vape products. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5084) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Maroney, from the Committee on Health and Human Resources, submitted the 
following report, which was received: 

Your Committee on Health and Human Resources has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5105, To eliminate the vaccine requirements for public virtual 
schools. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Michael J. Maroney, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5105) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on Health and Human 
Resources was taken up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second 
reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5232, The Business Liability Protection Act. 

And reports the same back without recommendation as to passage; but with the 
recommendation that it first be rereferred to the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
   Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5232) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, ordered to second reading, and rereferred to the 
Committee on the Judiciary. 

Senator Clements, from the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, submitted the 
following report, which was received: 

Your Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure has had under consideration: 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5238, Mandating that all courts provide adjudication for 
juvenile offenders for traffic violations to the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

And has amended same. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5287, Relating generally to traffic safety. 

And has amended same. 

And, 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5583, Permitting the Commissioner of the Division of 
Highways to issue a special permit to operate or move a vehicle or combination of vehicles of a 
size or weight of vehicles or nondivisible load exceeding the maximum specified. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that they each do pass, as amended.  

Respectfully submitted, 

  Charles H. Clements, 
    Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bills (Eng. Com. 
Sub. for H. B. 5238, 5287, 5583) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on 
Transportation and Infrastructure were each taken up for immediate consideration, read a first 
time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 
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Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5349, West Virginia Truth in Food Labeling Act. 

And reports the same back without recommendation as to passage; but with the 
recommendation that it first be rereferred to the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5349) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, ordered to second reading, and rereferred to the 
Committee on the Judiciary. 

Senator Tarr, from the Committee on Finance, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on Finance has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5435, Establishing the registered apprenticeship to associate 
of applied science program to be administered by the Council for Community and Technical 
College Education. 

With an amendment from the Committee on Education pending; 

Now on second reading, having been read a first time and referred to the Committee on 
Finance on March 5, 2024; 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass as amended by the 
Committee on Education to which the bill was first referred. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Eric J. Tarr, 
    Chair. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5510, Clarify law regarding the crime of witness tampering. 

And has amended same. 

And reports the same back with the recommendation that it do pass, as amended. 
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Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5510) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, and ordered to second reading. 

Senator Weld, from the Committee on the Judiciary, submitted the following report, which was 
received: 

Your Committee on the Judiciary has had under consideration 

Eng. Com. Sub. for House Bill 5668, Creating the Responsible Gaming and Research Act. 

And reports the same back without recommendation as to passage; but with the 
recommendation that it first be rereferred to the Committee on the Judiciary. 

Respectfully submitted, 

  Ryan W. Weld, 
    Vice Chair. 

At the request of Senator Takubo, unanimous consent being granted, the bill (Eng. Com. Sub. 
for H. B. 5668) contained in the preceding report from the Committee on the Judiciary was taken 
up for immediate consideration, read a first time, ordered to second reading, and rereferred to the 
Committee on the Judiciary. 

The Senate proceeded to the thirteenth order of business. 

The following communications were reported by the Clerk: 
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Under the provisions of Rule 15 of the Rules of the Senate, the following senator was added 
as a co-sponsor to the following resolution on March 5, 2024: 

Senate Resolution 67: Senator Caputo. 

Pending announcement of meetings of standing committees of the Senate, including the 
Committee on Rules, 

On motion of Senator Takubo, at 6:11 p.m., the Senate adjourned until tomorrow, Thursday, 
March 7, 2024, at 10 a.m. 

 

____________ 
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S. R. 68 - Designating March 7, 2024, as Recovery Community Day 

S. R. 69 - Recognizing month of March as National Social Work Awareness Month 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4190 - Relating to the establishment of an alert system for missing 

cognitively impaired persons - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. H. B. 4305 - Relating to granting in-state resident status to economic development 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4552 - To ensure party affiliation is consistent with candidate’s voter 
registration - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. H. B. 4721 - Require Surveyors to offer to record surveys of property - (Com. title amend. 
pending). 
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requirement for a high school diploma or general education development 
certificate. - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4851 - To allow for public and private schools in West Virginia to 
employ security personnel. - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4867 - Require pornography websites to utilize age verification 
methods to prevent minors from accessing content - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4880 - Relating to personal income tax social security exemption - 
(Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4882 - Extending in-state tuition rates to all members and veterans of 
the National Guard, reserves, and armed forces as well as their spouses and 
dependents 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4919 - Relating to the Promise Scholarship 

Eng. H. B. 4945 - Relating generally to the Hope Scholarship Program - (Com. amend. and title 
amend. pending) - (With right to amend) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4967 - Relating to the administration of the Voluntary Remediation and 
Redevelopment Act to provide new liability protections for persons and 



companies who wish to purchase and redevelop former industrial properties.  - 
(Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5127 - Including Potomac State College in the definition of community 
and technical college education program for participation in the “Learn and Earn 
Program” 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5188 - Relating to awards and benefits for duty related disability in the 
municipal police officers and firefighters retirement system 

Eng. H. B. 5257 - Relating generally to allowing the Supreme Court of Appeals discretion to 
create uniform pay scales for all levels of judicial support staff.  - (Com. title 
amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5338 - Relating to Safe Harbor for Cybersecurity Programs - (Com. 
amend. pending) - (With right to amend) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5405 - Providing additional professional development and support to 
West Virginia educators through teacher and leader induction and professional 
growth. - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5514 - Enhancing training requirements for county boards of education 
members. 

Eng. H. B. 5528 - Relating to the renewable energy facilities program 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5544 - Relating to requiring certain reporting from the Mountaineer 
Trail Network Authority each year - (With right to amend) 

Eng. H. B. 5548 - Relating to modifying requirements imposed on any owner, operator, or 
manager within a tourism development project  - (Com. amend. pending) - (With 
right to amend) 

Eng. H. B. 5594 - Exempting the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, West Virginia 
University and Marshall University from contracts, agreements, or memorandums 
of understanding with spending units in state government with exceptions. 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5604 - Relating to procurement by state spending units 

Eng. H. J. R. 21 - Amending the Constitution to prohibit persons not United States citizens from 
voting in any election held within this state 
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Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4110 - Authorizing certain miscellaneous agencies and boards to 

promulgate legislative rules - (Com. amend. pending) 

Eng. H. B. 4292 - Providing for enhanced damages for non-payment of royalties due from oil, 
natural gas, or natural gas liquids production - (Com. amend. and title amend. 
pending). 

Eng. H. B. 4297 - Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act  - (Com. amend. and title amend. 
pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4350 - Relating to appointment of candidates after filing period - (Com. 
amend. pending) 



Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4399 - Creating the equitable right to expungement - (Com. amend. 
and title amend. pending) 

Eng. H. B. 4700 - Banning certain persons from sport wagering activities - (Com. amend. and 
title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4753 - Relating to providing health insurance coverage concerning 
biomarker testing - (Com. amends. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4786 - Delivery Network Company (DNC) Insurance Model Act - 
(Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. H. B. 4793 - Relating to distilled liquor - (Com. amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4837 - Clarifying the duty of banks to retain and procure records - 
(Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. H. B. 4863 - Patriotic Access to Students in Schools Act - (Com. amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4883 - Relating to increasing annual salaries of certain employees of 
the state - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4911 - Relating to the sale of raw milk - (Com. amend. and title 
amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4956 - Creating the Oral Health and Cancer Rights Act - (Com. 
amends. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4975 - Relating to establishing a foster parent information system - 
(Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 4999 - Creating exception to spousal privilege 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5084 - Require retailers to verify identification and age upon purchase 
of vape products - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5105 - To eliminate the vaccine requirements for public virtual schools. 
- (Com. amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5158 - Relating to making technical corrections to the special 
education code - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5162 - Establish a program to promote creation and expansion of 
registered apprenticeship programs - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5238 - Mandating that all courts provide adjudication for juvenile 
offenders for traffic violations to the Division of Motor Vehicles - (Com. amends. 
pending) 

Eng. H. B. 5252 - Requiring certain minimum experience for the director or coordinator of 
services class title involving school transportation. - (Com. amend. and title 
amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5262 - Relating generally to teacher’s bill of rights - (Com. amends. 
and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5287 - Relating generally to traffic safety - (Com. amend. and title 
amend. pending) 



Eng. H. B. 5430 - Relating to per diem compensation and expenses of newly elected or 
appointed judicial officers receiving education and training prior to taking the oath 
of office.   - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5435 - Establishing the registered apprenticeship to associate of 
applied science program to be administered by the Council for Community and 
Technical College Education - (Com. title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5510 - Clarify law regarding the crime of witness tampering - (Com. 
amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5553 - To provide and change graduation requirements and change 
duties relating to academic content standards  - (Com. amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5561 - Relating to permitting the electronic execution of trusts.  - 
(Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5583 - Permitting the Commissioner of the Division of Highways to 
issue a special permit to operate or move a vehicle or combination of vehicles of 
a size or weight of vehicles or nondivisible load exceeding the maximum 
specified - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. B. 5609 - Relating to confidentiality of child care records and the Foster 
Care Ombudsman - (Com. amend. and title amend. pending) 

Eng. Com. Sub. for H. J. R. 28 - Protection from medically-assisted suicide or euthanasia in 
West Virginia Amendment - (Com. amend. pending) 

 



 ANNOUNCED SENATE COMMITTEE MEETINGS 
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 9:45 a.m. Rules (Room 219M) 


	ARTICLE 8B. SEXUAL OFFENSES.
	§61-8B-11b. Prohibiting sexual intercourse, sexual intrusion, or sexual contact, or intrusion against students by school employees; exception; penalties.

	ARTICLE 2. REGISTRATION OF VOTERS.
	§3-2-11. Registration in conjunction with driver licensing.

	CHAPTER 11. TAXATION.
	ARTICLE 16. NONINTOXICATING BEER.
	§11-16-6a. Brewer and resident brewer license to manufacture, sell, and provide complimentary samples.
	§11-16-11a. Nonintoxicating beer sampling.


	CHAPTER 60. STATE CONTROL OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUORS.
	ARTICLE 3A. SALES BY RETAIL LIQUOR LICENSEES
	§60-3A-3a. Liquor sampling.

	ARTICLE 4. LICENSES.
	§60-4-3a. Distillery, mini-distillery, and micro-distillery license to manufacture and sell.
	§60-4-3b. Winery and farm winery license to manufacture and sell.

	ARTICLE 6. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS.
	§60-6-1. When lawful to possess, use or serve alcoholic liquors.

	ARTICLE 7. LICENSES TO PRIVATE CLUBS.
	§60-7-2. Definitions; authorizations; requirements for certain licenses.
	§60-7-8a. Special license for a private fair and festival; licensee fee and application; license fee; license subject to provisions of article; exception.
	§60-7-8d. Where private clubs may sell and serve alcoholic liquors and nonintoxicating beer or nonintoxicating craft beer.

	ARTICLE 8. SALE OF WINES.
	§60-8-2. Definitions.
	§60-8-3. Licenses; fees; general restrictions.
	§60-8-6c. Winery and farm winery license to sell wine growlers and provide complimentary samples prior to purchasing a wine growler.
	All wineries and farm wineries also possessing a Class A wine license or private manufacturer club license may serve and sell wine as set forth in §60-4-3b and §60-8-3 of this code at any licensed fair or festival in the state of West Virginia, subjec...

	§60-8-32a. Where wine may be sold and consumed for on-premises consumption.
	(a) With prior approval of the commissioner, a Class A wine licensee may sell, serve, and furnish wine for on premises consumption in a legally demarcated area which may include a temporary private wine outdoor dining area or a temporary private wine ...


	ARTICLE 8A. MANUFACTURE AND SALE OF HARD CIDER.
	§60-8A-5. Winery or farm winery licensee's authority to manufacture, sell, and provide complimentary samples; growler sales; advertisements; taxes; fees; rulemaking.
	(a) Sales of hard cider. — A licensed winery or farm winery with its principal place of business or manufacturing facility located in the State of West Virginia may offer hard cider manufactured by the licensed winery or farm winery for retail sale to...

	3A. AMBER ALERT PLAN.
	§15-3A-7. Providing for the use of video image recording devices for search purposes during an Amber Alert or , Silver Alert, or Purple Alert Activation.

	ARTICLE 3B. SILVER ALERT PLAN.
	§15-3B-3. Establishment of "Silver Alert" program.
	§15-3B-4. Activation of Silver Alert.
	§15-3B-6. Aid to missing cognitively impaired adult or senior citizen; immunity from civil or criminal liability.
	ARTICLE 3F. PURPLE ALERT PLAN.
	§15-3F-1. Short Title.
	This article shall be known and may be cited as the "Purple Alert Plan".
	§15-3F-2. Findings and declarations relative to "Purple Alert Plan".
	(a) The Legislature finds that:

	§15-3F-3. Definition of Cognitive Impairment
	For the purposes of this article, "cognitive impairment" means a substantial disorder of thought, mood, perception, orientation, or memory that grossly impairs judgement, behavior, or the ability to live independently or provide self-care, and include...
	(1) Alzheimer's disease or other related dementias;
	(2) An intellectual or developmental disability;
	(3) A brain injury; or
	(4) Another mental disability not related to substance abuse.

	§15-3F-4. Establishment of "Purple Alert" program.
	(a) The Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security shall establish a "Purple Alert" program authorizing the broadcast media, upon notice from the State Police, to broadcast an alert to inform the public of a missing person who has a cognitive im...

	§15-3F-5. Activation of Purple Alert.
	The following criteria shall be met before the State Police activate the Purple Alert:
	(1) The person is believed to have a cognitive impairment;
	(2) The person is believed to be missing, regardless of circumstance;
	(3) An individual who has knowledge that the person is missing has submitted a missing person's report to the State Police or other appropriate law-enforcement agency;
	(4) The missing person may be in danger of death or serious bodily injury;
	(5) The missing person is domiciled or believed to be located in the State of West Virginia;
	(6) The missing person is, or is believed to be, at a location that cannot be determined by an individual familiar with the missing person, and the missing person is incapable of returning to his or her residence without assistance;
	(7) There is sufficient information available to indicate that a Purple Alert would assist in locating the missing person; and
	(8) The missing cognitively impaired person does not qualify for a Silver Alert or a Missing Endangered Child Alert.

	§15-3F-6. Notice to participating media; broadcast of alert.
	(a) To participate, the media may agree, upon notice from the State Police via email or facsimile, to transmit information to the public about a missing cognitively impaired person that has occurred within their broadcast service region.
	(b) The alerts shall include a description of the missing person, any known details of the circumstances surrounding the person becoming missing, and any other information as the State Police may consider pertinent and appropriate. The State Police sh...
	(c) The alerts also shall provide information concerning how those members of the public who have information relating to the missing cognitively impaired person may contact the State Police or other appropriate law-enforcement agency.
	(d) Concurrent with the notice provided to the broadcast media, the State Police shall also notify the Department of Transportation, the Division of Highways, and the West Virginia Turnpike Commission of the "Purple Alert" so that the department and t...
	(e) The alerts shall terminate upon notice from the State Police.
	(f) The Secretary shall develop and undertake a campaign to inform law-enforcement agencies about the "Purple Alert" program established under this article.

	§15-3F-7. Immunity from civil or criminal liability.
	A person or entity who in good faith follows and abides by the provisions of this article is not liable for any civil or criminal penalty as the result of any act or omission in the furtherance thereof, unless it is alleged and proven that the informa...


	ARTICLE 10. FEES AND OTHER MONEY COLLECTED AT STATE INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION.
	ARTICLE 5. PRIMARY ELECTIONS AND NOMINATING PROCEDURES.
	§3-5-7. Filing certificates of announcements of candidacies; requirements; withdrawal of candidates when section applicable.

	ARTICLE 13A. LAND SURVEYORS.
	§30-13A-10. Scope of Practice.

	ARTICLE 5. COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION.
	§18-5-51. Public school West Virginia Guardian Program.


	CHAPTER 49A. CHILD ONLINE PROTECTION and LIABILITY.
	ARTICLE 1. Liability for Publishers and distributors of sexual material harmful to minors.
	ARTICLE 21. PERSONAL INCOME TAX.
	§11-21-12. West Virginia adjusted gross income of resident individual.

	ARTICLE 22. VOLUNTARY REMEDIATION AND REDEVELOPMENT ACT.
	§22-22-1. Legislative findings; legislative statement of purpose.
	§22-22-2. Definitions.
	§22-22-3. Rule-making authority of the director Secretary.
	§22-22-4. Voluntary remediation program; eligibility application and fee; information available to public; confidentiality of trade secrets; information; criminal penalties; requirements of site assessment; rejection or return of application; appeal o...
	§22-22-5. Brownfields Revolving Fund applicant eligibility application; loans; remediation process; brownfield remediation; eligibility; application; remediation loan; and obtaining information from director public notification.
	§22-22-6. Voluntary remediation administrative fund established; voluntary remediation fees authorized; Brownfields revolving fund established; disbursement of funds moneys; employment of specialized persons authorized.
	§22-22-7. Voluntary remediation agreement; required use of licensed remediation specialist; required provisions of a voluntary remediation agreement; failure to reach agreement; appeal to the Environmental Quality Board; no enforcement action when sub...
	§22-22-8. Voluntary remediation work plans and reports.
	§22-22-9. Termination of agreement; cost of recovery; legal actions.
	§22-22-10. Inspections; right of entry; sampling; reports and analyses.
	§22-22-11. Licensed remediation specialist, licensure procedures.
	§22-22-12. Enforcement orders for licensed remediation specialists; cease and desist order; criminal penalties.
	§22-22-13. Certificate of completion.
	§22-22-14. Land-use covenant; criminal penalties.
	§22-22-15. Reopeners.
	§22-22-16. Duty of assessor and citizens to notify director Secretary when change of property use occurs.
	§22-22-17. Public notification for brownfields.
	§22-22-18. Environmental liability protection.
	§22-22-20. Affirmative defenses.


	CHAPTER 50. MAGISTRATE COURTS.
	ARTICLE 1. COURTS AND OFFICERS.
	§50-1-8. Magistrate court clerks; salaries; duties; duties of circuit clerk.
	§50-1-9. Magistrate assistants; salary; duties.
	§50-1-9a. Magistrate court deputy clerks; duties; salary.


	CHAPTER 51. COURTS AND THEIR OFFICERS.
	ARTICLE 2A. FAMILY COURTS.
	§51-2A-6. Compensation and expenses of family court judges and their staffs.


	CHAPTER 62. CRIMINAL PROCEDURE.
	ARTICLE 1C. BAIL.
	§62-1C-1a. Pretrial release; types of release; conditions for release; considerations as to conditions of release.
	§62-1C-2. Bail defined; form selection of form by defendant; receipts; right of judicial officer to impose conditions on release.


	CHAPTER 18. EDUCATION.
	ARTICLE 9A. PUBLIC SCHOOL SUPPORT.
	§18-9A-10. Foundation allowance to improve instructional programs, instructional technology, and teacher and leader induction and professional growth.


	CHAPTER 18A. SCHOOL PERSONNEL.
	ARTICLE 3C. IMPROVING TEACHING AND LEARNING.
	§18A-3C-3. Comprehensive system for teacher and leader induction and professional growth.


	CHAPTER 5A. DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION.
	ARTICLE 3. PURCHASING DIVISION.
	§5A-3-10. Competitive bids; publication of solicitations for sealed bids; purchase of products of nonprofit workshops; employee to assist in dealings with nonprofit workshops; continuing procurements over $1 million.
	§5A-3-10f. Use of cooperative contracts.

	ARTICLE 6. OFFICE OF TECHNOLOGY.
	§5A-6-2. Definitions.
	"Technology services" means professional services designed to provide functions, maintenance, and support of information technology devices, or services including, but not limited to, computer systems application development and maintenance; systems i...
	"Telecommunications" means the preparation, transmission, communication, or related processing of information by electrical, electromagnetic, electromechanical, electro-optical, or electronic means.
	"Chief Information Officer" means the person holding the position created in §5A-6-3 of this code and vested with authority to oversee state spending units in planning and coordinating information systems that serve the effectiveness and efficiency of...
	"Technical infrastructure" means all information systems, information technology, information technology equipment, telecommunications, and technology services as defined in this section.
	"Technology project" means a project where technology is a significant component and is either valued at $250,000 or more, or will involve sensitive or restricted data.
	"Steering committee" means an internal agency oversight committee established jointly by the Chief Information Officer and the agency proposing the project, which shall include representatives from the Office of Technology and at least one representat...
	"Technology portfolio" means a strategic management process documenting relationships between agency missions and information technology and telecommunications investments.
	§5A-6-4f. Information technology marketplace portal.


	CHAPTER 11. TAXATION.
	ARTICLE 8. LEVIES.
	§11-8-26. Unlawful expenditures by local fiscal body.



